Jeff Lerner Review by Maribeth G

Lerner Review by Maribeth G

Taking this training was a real pick-me-up after failing in my last venture. I tried doing affiliate marketing and other types of online business opportunities but could never seem to get anything right. This was the first online training that showed the power of discipline and understanding how to create a business model and test your marketing strategies before you even spend any money. On top of that, Jeff is just an outstanding guy and has really really good energy on the videos and training. He gets me believing but I have it within me to create a successful online business. special thanks to the entire Jeff Lerner official team


Wondering how to get started investing in real estate? Wonder no more.


💰 LEARN The Fastest Way To Become A Millionaire HERE 👉 https://getentre.com/WV7g4


“Don’t wait to buy real estate, buy real estate then wait”.


As you might be able to guess, today we are talking about getting started in real estate.


I will be giving you the basic steps to get started with investing in real estate.


This really is one of my favorite subjects to discuss with you guys because I’ve been investing in real estate since my mid 20’s.


That’s almost 15 years!


I’ve found it to be the most stable and consistent income in my life. There were times where it felt like everything was going wrong and heading south but my trustee real estate investments always got me through.


There have been times when the only way I had enough money to have a roof over my head and food on my plate was from my property investments.


And these smart investments can get you through tough times too!


If you own real estate, you own part of the earth.


Real estate is the most precious asset you can own and by far how the most wealth has been made.


This is why I think that learning the basic steps to getting started is so important, it really can make a world of difference.


I will take you through everything you need to do in order to invest correctly in the world that we live in today.


Let’s get started with the first 4 steps to begin the journey of investing in real estate…


Sit tight and remember, knowledge is power!


---------------------------

👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 Tired of struggling alone? Join ENTRE Nation - the Internet's #1 community of entrepreneurs and awesome life creators:

https://www.ENTREnation.com


--------------------------------

Subscribe to this YouTube channel for exclusive training on marketing, sales, entrepreneurship, and investing...

▶️ https://youtube.com/jefflernerofficia...


--------------------------------

Follow Me across Social Media for more free training and exclusive content...

🔔 https://TrainingWithJeff.com/social


--------------------------------

ENTREpreneur merch:

🛒 https://store.entrenation.com


--------------------------------

🤑 WANT TO BE AN AFFILIATE OF MY PROGRAMS? 🤑

https://affiliates.entreinstitute.com (free affiliate program)


#jefflerner #entrepreneur #business



Related Marketing Topics and Book Reviews for Business Focus:

The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done

Audible Audiobook – Unabridged

Peter F. Drucker (Author), Jim Collins (Narrator), Timothy Andrés Pabon (Narrator), HarperAudio (Publisher)

4.6 out of 5 stars

1,478 ratings


The commemorative version of Peter. Drucker's classic work on leadership and management with a foreword written by Jim Collins.

What is it that makes an executive effective?

For many years Peter F. Drucker was widely considered "the dean of this country's business and management philosophers" ( Wall Street Journal). In this brief and powerful piece, he focuses on the most influential management position that is the executive.

The measure of an executive, says Drucker that the key to success is to "get the right things done". This is usually done by doing what people overlook and keeping clear of things that are not effective. The ability to think, be creative and experience can be lost in a job of executive without the accumulated habits of mind that transform into outcomes.

Drucker has identified five key practices to business efficiency that can and should be mastered:

  • Time management

  • Deciding what to give to the cause

  • Understanding where and how to maximize strength to get the best impact

  • Making the right choices

  • Then, you can knit them all together using a logical decision-making process

The book spans the history of both government and business Drucker showcases the unique ability of an executive. He also provides fresh insights into a myriad of seemingly simple business issues.



Reid McCormick

5.0 out of 5 stars

the economy of time...

Reviewed in the United States on February 14, 2019

Verified Purchase

“Executives are not paid for doing things they like to do. They are paid for getting the right things done.”


If you have read anything on leadership or management in the past few decades, you are probably already familiar with Peter Drucker. I first heard about Drucker a few years back while reading a book by a college president and over time Drucker’s name kept popping up everywhere.


It was difficult to determine which book to read first. He has written dozens of books, and all of them have been universally praised. I chose The Effective Executive because it seemed to have a simple, straightforward message and it was under 200 pages. However, I was a bit weary because the book was first published in 1967.


First, this book is amazing. It packed with great, applicable information. I actually think this book is more relevant today that it was when it was first written.


Second, the message is amazing. The overall message is simple, “effectiveness can be learned and must be earned.” There may be some individuals better suited for leadership roles, but to be an effective manager you need to develop the skill of effectiveness.


I will definitely be picking up more Drucker books in the future.


Here are some gems:

“Organizations are held together by information rather than by ownership or command.”

“Working on the right things is what makes knowledge work effective.”

“All in all, the effective executive tries to be himself.”

39 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Esequiel Contreras Jr

5.0 out of 5 stars

Know Thyself

Reviewed in the United States on May 31, 2020

Verified Purchase

Where and how do I spend my time?


Am I staying busy or achieving results?


What are my strengths?


Is there a system to my decision making?


Am I a reader or a listener?


These are a few of the questions asked on my reading of The Effective Executive.


Am I an executive?


In the true sense of the word, no!


In how I practice and diligently follow Drucker’s prescription for being an effective executive, yes!


Zeke Contreras

Sunday, May 31, 2020

San Antonio, Texas

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Ardis

5.0 out of 5 stars

Oldie but Goodie

Reviewed in the United States on June 13, 2021

Verified Purchase

So if you’ve been reading business books or just working for a long time you will be familiar with many of the concepts in this book. However, for me, reading it was extremely valuable because it is the source code for so much business thinking. After reading it you can see where Steven Covey expanded on Drucker and built a billion dollar empire and countless other business best sellers too I’m sure. Interestingly some of the ideas in this book have been validated using modern scientific analysis unavailable to Drucker in the 1960s, e.g., Zenger & Folkman demonstrating the importance of focusing on strengths and not weaknesses. Most importantly though, there’s a lot of really excellent and practical tools. For example, I’ve started using Alfred Sloan’s memo template for post meeting clarity, I use Drucker’s questions a manager should ask about needs for negotiations and 1 on 1 meetings. I definitely recommend you buy, read, and use this book.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Robert Morris

HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE

5.0 out of 5 stars

How and why, “like every other discipline, effectiveness can be learned and must be earned

Reviewed in the United States on January 13, 2012

Verified Purchase

Note: Amazon continues to feature reviews of earlier editions. What immediately follows is my review of the 50th anniversary edition published today, January 24, 2017. What then follows is my review of an earlier edition.

* * *


This is the 50th anniversary edition of a book first published in 1967. Jim Collins provides the Foreword and Zachary First the Afterword. In my opinion, Peter Drucker (1909-2005) is the most influential business thinker as indicated by the endless list of other thought leaders who continue to acknowledge his value and significance to their own work. He always insisted on referring to himself as a “student” or “bystander.” With all due respect to his wishes, I have always viewed him as a pioneer who surveyed and defined dimensions of the business world that no one else had previously explored.


Consider this passage in the Foreword: “Here are ten lessons I learned from Peter Drucker and this book, and that I offer as a small portal of entry into the mind of the greatest management thinker off all time.” These are the lessons that Collins cites and discusses:


1. First, manage thyself.

2. Do what you’re made for.

3. Work how you work best (and let others do the same).

4. Count your time, and make it count.

5. Prepare better meetings.

6. Don’t make a hundred decisions when one will do.

7. Find your one big distinctive impact.

8. Stop what you would not start.

9. Run lean.

10. Be useful.


“He was in the end, Collins adds, "the highest level of what a teacher can be: a role model of the very ideas he taught, a walking testament to his teachings in the tremendous lasting effect of his own life.”


As was true of Collins and will be true 0f everyone else who reads one of the several editions, they will have their own take-aways. Drucker provides a framework in the Introduction, stressing while discussing the importance of eight specific practices that all great business and non-profit CEOs are committed to, such as asking “What needs to be done?” and “What is right for the enterprise?” The first two enable them to obtain the information they need.


The next four help them to convert this knowledge into effective action:


3. Develop action plans.

4. Take responsibility for decisions [and their consequences].

5. Take responsibility for communicating.

6. Are focused on opportunities rather on problems.


The last two ensure that the entire organization feels responsible and accountable


7. Run productive meetings.

8. Think and feel “we” rather than “I.”


Yes, these are basic and obvious practices but they were not five decades ago. Until Drucker, thinking about management lacked order, structure, clarity, and focus. Borrowing a phrase from Oliver Wendell Holmes, Drucker developed thinking about management to “the other side of complexity.” To paraphrase, Albert Einstein, Drucker made management “as simple as possible but no simpler.”


In the Introduction Peter Drucker concludes, “We’ve just covered eight practices of effective executives. I’m going to throw in one final, bonus practice. This one’s so important that I’ll elevate it to the level of a rule: [begin italics] Listen first, speak last [end italics]”...And, like every discipline, effectiveness [begin italics] can [end italics] and [begin italics] must [end italics] be earned.”


The title of this review is a portion of one of Peter Drucker's most important insights: "The most serious mistakes are not being made as a result of wrong answers. The true dangerous thing is asking the wrong question."


* * *


I first read this book when it was originally published in 1967 and have since re-read it several times because, in my opinion, it provides some of Peter Drucker's most important insights on how to "get the right work done and done the right way." By nature an "executive" is one who "executes," producing a desired result (an "effect") that has both impact and value. As Drucker once observed in an article that appeared in Harvard Business Review at least 40 years ago, "There is surely nothing quite so useless as doing with great efficiency what should not be done at all." Therefore, the effective executive must develop sound judgment. Difficult - sometimes immensely difficult - decisions must be made. Here are eight practices that Drucker recommended 45 years ago:


o Ask, "what needs to be done?"

o Ask, "What is right for the enterprise?"

o Develop an action plan

o Take responsibility for decisions.

o Take responsibility for communications.

o Focus on opportunities rather than on problems.

o Conduct productive meetings.

o Think in terms of first-person PLURAL pronouns ("We" rather than "I").


The first two practices give executives the knowledge they need; the next four help them convert this knowledge into effective action; the last two ensure that the entire organization feels responsible and accountable, and will thus be more willing to become engaged. "I'm going to throw in one final, bonus practice. This one's so important that I'll elevate it to the level of a rule: [begin italics] Listen first, speak last." [end italics]


This volume consists of eight separate but interdependent essays that begin with "Effectiveness Can Be Learned" and conclude with "Effective Decisions." Actually, there is a "Conclusion" in which Drucker asserts that "Effectiveness Must Be Learned." I agree. The essays are arranged in a sequence that parallels a learning process that prepares an executive to "assume responsibility, rather than to act the subordinate, satisfied only if he `pleases the boss.' In focusing himself and his vision on contribution the executive, in other words, has to think through purposes and ends rather than means alone."


I highly recommend this to all executives who need an easy-to-read collection of reminders of several basic but essential insights from one of the most important business thinkers, Peter Drucker. I also presume to suggest that they, in turn, urge each of their direct reports to obtain a copy and read it. The last time I checked, Amazon sells a paperbound edition for only $11.55. Its potential value is incalculable.

94 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


PK

5.0 out of 5 stars

Should be required reading for any aspiring professional in a large organization

Reviewed in the United States on January 11, 2018

Verified Purchase

Excellent perspective, insight and coaching for development. I was amazed at the insight Peter Drucker had considering when this was originally written back in the 1960's. Other books that have been written even in the last couple years echo some of what is in here. The topics and advice are still very relevant today even though some of the landscape has changed with the computer and internet. I would say that this is still on point for today and should be required reading for any aspiring professional in a large organization.

9 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kindle Customer

VINE VOICE

5.0 out of 5 stars

Basic principles for effectiveness

Reviewed in the United States on March 19, 2021

Verified Purchase

The author, Peter Drucker, needs no introduction, as he is is well known in the management community. As anyone who knows his work would expect, this book is very well written: clear language, well structured, full of examples, and easy to read. The main points Drucker uses to define the effective executives are very straightforward: management of time, understanding of one's contribution, problem framing and decision taking. The book is old. But it is evident that its arguments are still as applicable today as they were when it was realeased. Any book that has passed the proof of time is worth reading. This one is no exception. If you want to know some basic principles for effectiveness, as stated by one of the brightest minds in management, I strongly recommend reading it.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

There's only one Drucker....

Reviewed in the United States on May 23, 2017

Verified Purchase

I'm a business book junkie, but this is the granddaddy of all executive self-awareness books.


It's also still the best.


Although his examples are dated, Drucker still lays out the cleanest explanation and game plan for anyone who finds themself in the position of leading a company. This book is about both leadership and management, and if you don't understand the difference, all the more reason to buy it.

10 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Diana Cheung

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must read and valuable insights

Reviewed in the United States on July 11, 2016

Verified Purchase

This book gives you a very clear understanding of the effective executive. The making, learning and training of him or her. The defining of the EE, how to identify, analyze, decide, improve, develop the traits and behavior of this EE. Great many cases in support of giving you the picture and how it affects the organization, process and outcome.

I would recommend this to anybody who wants to take responsibility over his or her decision making, critical thinking and leadership knowledge and skills.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Emily

5.0 out of 5 stars

Timeless insight on time management and focusing on strengths.

Reviewed in the United States on March 6, 2018

Verified Purchase

My first book by Drucker and I loved it. While it is clear how old this book is by the sole references to men as executives, the wisdom has not aged. I really appreciate the focus he encourages and emphasis on specific actions like time recoding. I could easily see myself coming back to this book.

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


JCTop Contributor: Guitars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Dated, but Apt

Reviewed in the United States on May 17, 2021

Verified Purchase

Dated but apt....it would be nice if someone brought this book into 2021, but the concepts are concrete. This is one of the most useful books I've ever read on management. Overlook the original publishing date and pronouns and you'll have a keeper.


Alessandro Piovaccari

5.0 out of 5 stars

Deep, honest and timeless

Reviewed in the United States on December 14, 2020

Verified Purchase

I find this book, written more than 50 years ago, not only actual but also refreshing. Not all the book, let’s say 10% is actually still applicable to today’s reality, but the remaining 90% is a timeless concentration of great wisdom. A must ready for every manager, of a team or ourself.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Andrew Hurst

5.0 out of 5 stars

Dated language, but good recommendations

Reviewed in the United States on August 4, 2021

Verified Purchase

The core structure of this book is great. The focus on contributions, on personal development, on making effective decisions, on building on people’s strengths.

Nowadays (2021), more than 50 years after it was written, the language is quite dated. It’s clearly written from the perspective of an upper class white cis man in the post-WWII years, and he assumes that most workers will be just like him.

If you can get past that, the core message is great.

Helpful

Report abuse


John James Thomas Cutter

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very helpful insights!

Reviewed in the United States on April 30, 2019

Verified Purchase

As soon as I saw the book title and cover, I didn't think much of it. But as soon as I picked this up, I was totally wrong! Anyone aspiring to be an effective executive should read this book before taking the position!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Chris Mcclure

5.0 out of 5 stars

A classic with insights for today

Reviewed in the United States on November 5, 2019

Verified Purchase

While this book has been around for decades it has many good insights for leadership today. You need to overlook the overly-male references, but do so in order to receive the gold nuggets.

Helpful

Report abuse


Matthew Eaton

5.0 out of 5 stars

Classic words on being effective

Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2017

Verified Purchase

While the words might be dated, the ideas are not. There is something to be said about being effective and doing the best thing. I encourage you to invest your time and be effective by reading this book.

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Emil B

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great advice on executive effectiveness

Reviewed in the United States on April 4, 2009

Verified Purchase

You know you read the writing of great thinker when the line of text in front of you is simple and yet powerful. Peter Drucker writes like that. The Effective Executive is one of those books that wake up your intellect: simple, unpretentious, direct, based on experience and well practiced art of detecting underlying principles hiding behind our mundane tasks.


Effective managers, according to Peter, follow eight principles:

- Ask "what needs to be done?"

- Ask "what is right?"

- Develop action plans

- Take responsibility for decisions

- Take responsibility for communicating

- Focus on opportunity rather than problem

- Run productive meetings

- Think and say "we" rather than "I"


I like for instance how he describes the taking of responsibility for decisions: a decision has not been made until people know: the name of the person accountable for carrying it out, the deadline, the names of the people who will be affected by it, and the names of the people who will be informed. Simple, isn't it?


A penetrating observation is that in large organisations people tend to be absorbed by what happens inside its boundaries and by perfecting a process regardless of the outside world. The removal of the executive from the customer base is fatal in the long run.


Other thought that I liked is that the effective executive does not make decisions by consensus, but by what is right, even if the decision is not popular. The executive makes a few decisions, but powerful, rather than many razzle-dazzle decisions.


I have this book handy, so that when I have time, I choose to read randomly a page or two. It's like doing meditation. It is simple, elegant and very sharp. I recommend this book to anyone interested in the subject.

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Josh Skousen

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very effective at teaching effectiveness

Reviewed in the United States on June 11, 2020

Verified Purchase

I recently found myself in a decision making position at my company and was unsure about how to make the right decisions. Luckily I had recently found this book as well and as I read I gained a lot of confidence in making better decisions that have a much greater impact. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is responsible for making decisions of any kind.

Helpful

Report abuse


Wayne Lobb

5.0 out of 5 stars

Still fresh after all these years

Reviewed in the United States on July 7, 2013

Verified Purchase

Some language and examples are dated, but the observations and techniques remain completely relevant. For example:

- First- and second-level managers nowadays usually don't know anywhere near as much as their people about the job's true challenges and solutions.

- It rarely works to try to make a person something that he/she simply is not. Capitalize on people's skills instead of trying to manufacture skills in them.

- If a person has a major weakness in his role, don't try to fix the situation by splitting the role with another person who has complementary skills and weaknesses. Both will struggle. Things will most likely worsen.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mr. D

5.0 out of 5 stars

A worthwhile read on the path to management nirvana

Reviewed in the United States on July 2, 2013

Verified Purchase

I would highly recommend this as a foundational component in the education of any manager or executive, and the first book to read of Drucker's body of work. The material in this book is easily applicable at any level of management and poses questions that ask the reader to think critically about what they do and how they do it. I found Drucker's exposure of common fallacies particularly enlightening, especially since he provides sound logic and rhetoric to substantiate his position on topics.


A perfect gift for the newly promoted manager or graduate business student.

Helpful

Report abuse


Billy Kangas

5.0 out of 5 stars

Timeless

Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2019

Verified Purchase

This is a great read. Very practical and still relevant over 50 years later. Worth reviewing every year or so


Craig Sturgis

5.0 out of 5 stars

Old but still incredibly relevant

Reviewed in the United States on January 9, 2019

Verified Purchase

If you can get past the dated part of the. text assuming that executives are male, every bit of this is just as relevant today. If anything concepts that were probably very abstract 50 years ago are obvious today but still effectiveness is not common and I found this book to be very action provoking

Helpful

Report abuse


Bette & Frank

5.0 out of 5 stars

A gift

Reviewed in the United States on January 14, 2019

Verified Purchase

We know that our son will get a lot out of this book as he is now in middle management and he certainly will want to continue to be an effective executive.

Helpful

Report abuse


A. Morgan

5.0 out of 5 stars

Pithy and spot on.

Reviewed in the United States on December 14, 2019

Verified Purchase

Good read. Drucker’s writing is brilliant. My copy is highlighted, underlined, and covered in notes.

Helpful

Report abuse


Sachmo

5.0 out of 5 stars

4.5 stars - good, still relevant book regarding being effective as a knowledge worker

Reviewed in the United States on April 28, 2013

Verified Purchase

There are a number of other reviews that summarize the contents of the book, so I won't attempt to do that here.


The big picture knowledge that the book imparts, are really the key aspects to being effective in any line of knowledge work (which is most jobs today).


These include:

1) Time management

2) Focusing on contributing value

3) Building on strengths as opposed to shoring up weakness

4) Focus on the priorities, don't let the pressures / inertia drive work output

5) Effective decision-making


Some of the few negative reviews seem to think this book is outdated. While occasionally it does feel this way (when it references how much better educated Americans are than everyone else - a throwback to the 60s), the big picture information is still 100% relevant I think.


While there are many books that may go into each topic specifically (such as time management or decision-making) I have not seen many other books that present as strong of a big picture snapshot of ALL of the key activities needed to be effective and how these might play together.


There were also some tidbits here and there that I found to be very true.


For example, the concept that a decision is not made until it has been effectively communicated to everyone in an organization that needs the information in order to carry it out and sustain it. Although this seems obvious, there are people who may be "boundary conditions" as Drucker calls it - that do not execute the decision but still need to be aware of the decision so that they are not acting against the overall objective. In my own line of work, directing my first project, this was actually something I had to consciously learn and reading this book put words to a concept I was aware of, but never could verbalize.


Also the idea to create appropriate yardsticks and measure the results of decisions and hold them against the intended result is very reminiscent of six sigma practices that came up much later. Good to see that this general practice is timeless.


There was a lot of key thinking - especially as related to an organization - that I haven't seen in other places, especially regarding decision making.


Some people may be put off by how general Drucker keeps the topic of discussion, but I think this does serve a purpose on keeping the concepts of the book at a big picture level which is good.


I do feel that the book was lacking in specific practices related to time management. This book would have received 5 stars if Drucker more clearly explained specific methods for managing time, as I think this is an especially difficult topic. Instead he shrugs this off and encourages you to figure it out for yourself. Well, I for one would have been curious as to the particular methods that some of the most effective executives that he interviewed in his consulting practice used to manage their time.


One other word of warning - this is really a book for someone who has at some point worked in a somewhat large organization (i.e. at least 100 people). If you have, much of what Drucker says will immediately 'click'. If you haven't yet accumulated serious work experience, or have only worked in very small companies (10 people or less), you may not appreciate the full value of this book.


A great read for anyone interested in increasing their personal and organization's effectiveness.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kindle Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

I should have read this long time ago

Reviewed in the United States on April 22, 2018

Verified Purchase

A book totally worth it. Especially for those working as knowledge worker. I will read this again. It has lot of gems for me

Helpful

Report abuse


Mike Cicchetti

5.0 out of 5 stars

Old School still Stands True

Reviewed in the United States on December 28, 2019

Verified Purchase

If you are in a leadership role and haven’t read this book, do yourself a favor and snag it NOW! Written in an easy to follow manner and topics still relevant in today’s corporate/private/public leadership roles. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Helpful

Report abuse


Animal Chin

5.0 out of 5 stars

If you only read one book about management

Reviewed in the United States on January 12, 2019

Verified Purchase

This is the one. Easy to read, yet inspiring in its clarity and focus on the importance of ruthless time management, managing to people’s strengths rather than weaknesses, and effective decision making. It is a quick book to read, and subsequent rereads yield new insights. I’m a fairly senior GM/VP and continue to learn from this book.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Héctor Hernández Curiel

5.0 out of 5 stars

First you, then you

Reviewed in the United States on July 12, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book focus on how to deliver effectiveness trough being aware and discipline. Every person should read this book from time to time, as a wake up call to focus on the things that really matters.

Helpful

Report abuse


Dan Wedin

5.0 out of 5 stars

Timeless, smart, countless takeaways

Reviewed in the United States on October 20, 2019

Verified Purchase

My favorite sentence says it all:

Ultimately, the effective executive must set a large number of posteriorities—tasks one chooses not to tackle—so as to focus with exquisite clarity on a small number of priorities.

Helpful

Report abuse


Thinker

5.0 out of 5 stars

If you have one shelf for books, this should be on it.

Reviewed in the United States on July 8, 2008

Verified Purchase

If you're looking for concise, simple dialogue on what it means to be effective and how to parlay that into your work life, here it is. If you are looking for a fashionable, faddy, flashy Seth-Godin-type mantra to chant, you will be vastly disappointed and fantastically bored.


To those who are serious students of business and it's execution and are willing to do what it takes to be leaders, this is one of probably 3-5 books on the required reading list. Read through it quickly at your own peril, for amazing gems are buried mid-paragraph in the most seemingly innocuous paragraphs.


Now for the love of effectiveness, please buy, read and apply this to yourself so I don't have to do business with you sloths anymore!


Balaji Iyer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must read for every manager

Reviewed in the United States on November 23, 2020

Verified Purchase

Clear guidance on how to be an effective manager. Focussing on results while managing the strengths of individuals, both yours and others, and keeping the eye on goals of the organization is key to success of a manager.

Helpful

Report abuse


Danielle Dean

5.0 out of 5 stars

Return - problem

Reviewed in the United States on August 27, 2018

Verified Purchase

I purchased this item for a faculty member, but then realized I could not share it with him under my account. He ended purchasing it himself. Can I please get a refund?

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

and it didn't disappoint. I've bought two or three other copies to ...

Reviewed in the United States on July 21, 2016

Verified Purchase

The first book on management I've read that isn't by Ralph Currier Davis, and it didn't disappoint. I've bought two or three other copies to give to friends who have hinted at maybe pursuing some kind of entrepreneurial endeavor. Peter Drucker is one of the management Gods. Also, its an easy read.

Helpful

Report abuse


Razz

5.0 out of 5 stars

The Effective Executive Book Review

Reviewed in the United States on August 22, 2008

Verified Purchase

I am still reading this book; there are so many insights that I find myself highlighting and writing them down; then I go back to review them over and over. For the person who wants to be an Effective Executive or just an effective individual I would recommend you read this book. You can just read this book you have to put the information into practice. It is a text book for the effective leader in you. You will go back to it over and over again to ensure you are doing the right things to become more effective.

Helpful

Report abuse


DOTX

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great advice

Reviewed in the United States on March 15, 2021

Verified Purchase

Dated but still great advice

Helpful

Report abuse


Saalih K. Muzakkir

5.0 out of 5 stars

... well before the expected due date and in the best of shape

Reviewed in the United States on February 10, 2017

Verified Purchase

This book was received well before the expected due date and in the best of shape. It is like a brand new book and I am very happy with this purchase, thank you!

Helpful

Report abuse


Valentin-Constantin Stanciu

5.0 out of 5 stars

Incredible book. To not read it would be a loss

Reviewed in the United States on September 2, 2019

Verified Purchase

Simple, direct, easy, efficient, effective. Read it to understand how the world and businesses work. With Drucker's advice you will be able to take your game to the next level.

Helpful

Report abuse


SUPERCAT

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is an eye-opening book on management.

Reviewed in the United States on July 31, 2020

Verified Purchase

The simple language is suitable for the profound truths Drucker lays out.

Helpful

Report abuse


Possum

5.0 out of 5 stars

Good Read

Reviewed in the United States on March 24, 2021

Verified Purchase

Good Information

Helpful

Report abuse


William P. Robinett

5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars

Reviewed in the United States on July 21, 2017

Verified Purchase