Can't Hurt Me Reviews 2

J-nursing student

5.0 out of 5 stars

Thank you!

Reviewed in the United States on December 1, 2018

David Goggins- I would like to personally thank you in my most sincere way. First, I thank you for your authenticity to help people. You could have easily went on with your life anyway and be fulfilled with your accomplishments but you chose to impart your wisdom with the hope of changing lives. If it’s any consolation, you have changed mine -permanently! I am now doing things I thought I couldn’t do. I would not go into details about what I am doing now. I know that I am not the same person anymore - I grow everyday and your ideas influenced my behavior/life. When you become famous (inevitable) please maintain your sincerity and honesty. Respect to you- David!

60 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


LunaLuna

5.0 out of 5 stars

Highly Recommended

Reviewed in the United States on February 8, 2019

Verified Purchase

The message this book has is priceless. There’s substance, heart, truth, and tactics to motivate you, not written in a self help book format, but through his experiences and insight on extraordinary feats. Before I purchased the book I read some negative reviews where the language was described as masoginist or inappropriate. I bought the book anyways. I’ve read it and can say these people must be very sensitive and easily offended. Nothing behind Goggins message is disrespectful, misogynistic, derogatory or offensive. These people were missing the point and knit picking in my opinion. This book is a breathe of fresh air. It puts the idea of effort, drive, and mental toughness on an entirely different level. There are no limits if you train your mind to believe that and find ways to cope, grow, endure through challenges and not seek comfort. The challenges he has after every chapter or so are my favorite! They are short and sweet yet meaningful. Goggins put his things into perspective in a way where anyone can relate and apply them to their own life.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Francesca

5.0 out of 5 stars

A great roadmap for those interested to change or implement their mental abilities

Reviewed in the United States on January 25, 2022

Verified Purchase

I came to write a review and I saw how many readers were concerned about Goggins language. I had no recall of that. I went back and quickly look at it, but I bought the Kindle version, maybe it was revised?...not sure.

As a scholar of human performance in extreme environments, I found this book extremely helpful. Mostly because Goggins let me in his mind at ease (almost no filters). I read many of his fellow SEALs books and I can see the same patterns, but Goggins spells them aloud for me clean and cleverly. I spent three days reading this book, I wanted to go slow because there was so much into that I didn't want to risk missing some good clue. It was very engaging and easy to read, he is a good storyteller. I called one of my fellows, and even though it is not her field, I told her "you have to read this...you are going to love this guy, he is so clever...so clever... he spells out a roadmap!!!" So I bought a copy and send it to her. Of course, it would take me quite long to explain why, but as a tip, I suggest paying attention to his internal dialogue, how it happens and how he wins over it. Additionally, do not focus on his "motivation" but on his "mindset" (if you want to know more about "mindset" I recommend looking at scholars like C. Dweck and A.J. Crum).

I can totally understand how some might perceive him as too rough or too addicted to pain, I guess this happens because we might naturally drop some biases due to our inability to relate to the intensity of the tasks he is engaging with. I am thankful because by exposing his thoughts and experience, people like Goggins offer us a great roadmap!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Tokolosh

5.0 out of 5 stars

Really good

Reviewed in the United States on January 22, 2020

Verified Purchase

That's a book that I recommended to my 20 years old son. The baseline is : work hard and go through pain and you'll reach new heights. Don't pay attention to pain. Ignore pain. Work harder. It's gonna be painful. Well, it's a good idea when you think about it, and I've included now in my lifestyle the idea that comfort is your enemy. Basically the journey is more important that the goal, and what type of effort you put in the journey is more important than the journey. If you think about a very long exhausting hike and at the end of the day you collapse on the floor while removing your shoes, and you are so tired that you can't actually enjoy a drink or a bath and your whole body hurts - that's when you know that you have outperformed yourself and your brain knows you are in a great place and you lived a meaningful day. So, yes, good book.

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Lady Kelly

5.0 out of 5 stars

Gave me new life.

Reviewed in the United States on January 6, 2019

Verified Purchase

I’m not a big reader but decided for 2019 I would read at least 1 book a month. I saw David Goggins on CBS this Morning and was intrigued. There was mention of cursing in the book and I immediately thought this is probably not the book for me. But, the cursing is not over whelming at all, even for someone like me who chooses not to curse. David’s story is so interesting and extremely motivating, I mean he was a normal person like most of us that just decided enough is enough I’m going to be the best of the best. He makes you feel like if he did it, I can surely do it. I haven’t been able to put his book down. This book has definitely motivated me to push harder, push pass my pain, push pass my comfort zone and even gave me a love for reading again. I will have my 29 year old son and also my 14 year old son read this book. Love it !

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Faith Tupuola

5.0 out of 5 stars

IMPACT

Reviewed in the United States on July 16, 2019

Verified Purchase

So, this was my first ever book I actually purchased that was not Science Fiction - I have been stuck in a rut for a bit and have been finding ways to get back to how I was (I settled and got used to my comfort zone). I started listening to motivational podcasts and one of them "The Mindset & Motivation Podcast by Rob Dial" mentioned this book along with Living with a Seal by Jesse Itzler (both purchased). Warning: A lot of F-Bombs and profanity however, that is how I liked it because I wanted to hear it from HIM and how HE would deliver HIS truth.


I have about two chapters left and I am purposely delaying the read because I fell in love with the book and a HUGE part of me doesn't want his words to end with me - yes I can re-read it but this feeling is different. I have an affirmation mirror, a vision board, a daily to do list, a dam routine and have cut off all social media because of this book, which is CRAZY for me. I view things and absorb things differently at work and home. I moved to a private location at work, have my own room and made sure I was the boxer prepping for her match every day and I know a LOT of people hate me for it but I have become better with my family, relationship, work and even health because of how this book has made me view things differently. I recommend the book but also know that this is HIS story - don't complain about the swear words he puts on there when he's delivery his life his way.


Jah Bless x

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Xannon Calvine

5.0 out of 5 stars

How one man overcame heartbreaking adversity and discovered his true capability.

Reviewed in the United States on January 9, 2019

Verified Purchase

I don't have much to say, as I feel that other reviewers have already gone into exhaustive detail about the content. All I want to say is that David Goggin's story is heartbreaking and insane while simultaneously being inspiring and motivating.


What really shines in this book is that unlike other biographies, which paint the subject as a prodigy, Goggins goes through great pains to show how, in his own words, "messed up" he really was as a kid and young adult.


I walked away from this book inspired to tame my mind. I actually followed up on this inspiration with a lot of action. I followed his advice for the past month and a half and have seen good results.


Overall, I recommend this book to anyone who will not become offended by cursing and is able to deal with reading about a very graphic, but honest childhood. The book does face the problem of some repetition, particularly after the halfway mark, but for me this served to drill in Goggin's points and really show his persistence.


This book is for a person who is looking for a way to toughen their mind against the struggles of life.

9 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Alexandrine

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book offers inspiration and useful advice

Reviewed in the United States on December 9, 2018

Verified Purchase

From time to time I enjoy reading an autobiography that inspires me and gives me new ideas for personal development. “Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds” by David Goggins was a great choice. I found his life-story engaging and a great example of resilience and strength of a human mind. It is worth appreciation when someone shares his point of view and knowledge with others. David Goggins is a retired Navy SEAL and a formidable athlete that ran in the most challenging competitions that I have ever heard of. In the book he shares what he went through as a child and a teenager, how he fought to achieve his life goals and conquered the odds. He gives advice on how optimize your daily schedule and shares techniques how to stay focused on your aims. I liked how honest and straightforward the author’s voice and advice was. The techniques he uses to discipline the mind need practice and dedication, but they work. The book inspired me to prioritize daily tasks, to look critically at my busy schedule and to find more time for the things I love doing. Now, I am more conscious that I shouldn’t waste my time and energy on watching TV or pointless chatter when I could do something much more useful and valuable with my time. I think that many readers will find some useful piece of advice in this book.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mark Twain

5.0 out of 5 stars

Not for the weak of heart, weak of mind or those who have not TRULY suffered.

Reviewed in the United States on March 24, 2019

Verified Purchase

Yes there is profanity. It is one of the ultimate underdog stories. Be glad he didn't take his anger out on society...most people would...instead look at how he not only climbed out of the impossible but gives every loser a way to do it too. Anyone who is whining about his book probably has not suffered to the degree he has. He holds nothing back just so you know "oh well, my story is different." Nope, he doesn't give you that excuse. The only thing he doesn't mention is sexual abuse...other than that, he had it all dumped on him. The only unbearable thing is that nothing is unbearable. Deal with it and do NOT become bitter. Buck Brannaman Faraway Horses is another good example but there is no profanity if that makes people want to lean Buck's way. Both men are worthy American heroes and both books can set you up to learn you are here to "Look in your own bathroom mirror" Sometimes you won't like what you see, sometimes you will." Why are you here? Pick up your crosses and start marching up the hill. Man, Woman, Black, White, Gay, Trans, Christian, Hindu, Muslim, Buddhist...Goggins doesn't care, he fought so you could be you and do your thing, let him tell his story because it is honest...and honesty is a rare thing these days. A+

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Alex M.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Wow, I never write reviews for books

Reviewed in the United States on November 1, 2021

Verified Purchase

I mean, there’s already thousands of reviews lol. Now I can see why. I can’t remember the last time I finished a book so fast.


I think the reason this book was so great to read is he goes into specific details but at same time. without adding in too much fluff. A lot of books, whether nonfiction or otherwise sometimes take awhile to get to a point. This book never does that.


Even the ends at each chapter don’t come off as corny or forced in.


Content wise? Wow, extremely inspiring, I ran cross country in high school so I do enjoy running longer distances, though I’ve never considered an Ironman or any ultra races. After reading this, I’m very interested in training for one of those races. I see several similarities between myself and Goggins. I know several reviewers didn’t like how he repeatedly mentioned suffering or talking intensely at one self. But I can relate to that mentality a bit. On tougher runs I get tough on myself, if I’m on a long run or bike ride and I’m feeling the pain and boredom, I got to give myself a kick in the ass. Reading how he used his own techniques in highly difficult situations was awe inspiring and fascinating to learn about.


It is a great read, I recommend it to anyone who wants to feel more fulfilled.


I will say in terms of the vulgar language, maybe because I’m used to, comfortable with it in my own life etc, but I was expecting much more vulgar language based off of what reviews said. How someone perceives vulgar language though is relative though.


There are a couple times, and literally only a couple, where he uses a woman’s reproductive anatomy as an analogy to feeling weak etc. I can see why that was criticized but other than those rare examples of choice words, (I think twice in the book) it’s a well written story of perseverance and survival.


One of the best books I’ve ever read without question.

One person found this helpful


SeanDogg421

5.0 out of 5 stars

Can't Stop Won't Stop

Reviewed in the United States on February 5, 2019

Verified Purchase

When one of the baddest mfers on the planet, David Goggins writes a book, you know I'm reading it...


Can't Hurt Me is the autobiography of David Goggins, a former elite special ops warrior who is now a wildland firefighter and one of the world's foremost endurance athletes. This is his story of how he overcame being born into a violent household, dealing with racism, and overcoming his own personal demons to transform his body, but more importantly his mind in order to become a Navy SEAL.


Goggins speaks plainly on the toughness required and the honesty one has to have with oneself to overcome the challenges life will present. And at the end of each chapter, he suggests a way for the reader to challenge himself, to seek out what is being left on the table, to truly give it your all. He is an inspiration as a man whom could have been broken by life numerous times, but instead has chosen to forge himself into something unbreakable by continuing to rise above a level that wasn't thought to be possible, and living a life of the uncommon amongst the uncommon.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Zek

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great message -- David Goggins has changed many lives for the better!

Reviewed in the United States on September 6, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book is compelling and very readable. Some people object to the language but I think such an objection is silly. Please, let's be grown-ups about this. Many military people use strong language, and the average fifth-grader hears worse every day in the school corridor. Pay attention to the message -- not the language -- because the message is vitally important and inspiring. David Goggins has accomplished so much even though he had so much to overcome. This story has taught many people -- myself included -- how to change one's personal mindset and overcome almost insurmountable obstacles. I commend David Goggins for his achievements and I want to say "Thank you, Mr. Goggins" for introducing me to a new way of thinking that has had a powerful and positive effect on my life. I strongly recommend this book to anyone, whether you are struggling with a problem or not. In the past, I never believed in "self-help" books -- most of this stuff is superficial and fraudulent, and most "motivational" literature is just a way for phonies to make money. But David Goggins' book is authentic -- real experiences and an intense voice. Like a true SEAL, Goggins leads from the front and sets an example for the rest of us. I have enjoyed reading this and the book has made a real difference in my life and my way of thinking. Buy it, read it, take it seriously. Put in the work, and you will notice the difference in your life. Also, David Goggins has many interviews and videos on YouTube. These are really worth viewing and bookmarking.

Helpful

Report abuse


PAT KELLEHER

5.0 out of 5 stars

Real, Dramatic, w/o the Drama

Reviewed in the United States on December 18, 2019

Verified Purchase

The author is very forward about his life experience and how challenging it had been, but didn't create a great deal of what I would call "drama" around it, he just shared what was, and his reaction, and then how he changed it up to create what I consider an amazing life. I'd put off buying the book for many months after reading reviews talking about swearing; however, those words, in my estimation, are few and far-between and don't detract from the volume of work, but enhance it. Someone's personal feminine "offense" taken when David used the word "pussy" was, in my opinion, uncalled for, as he simply used the word in place of some other vocabulary, such as "wussie", so it didn't come across as sexist to me, a female, at all. Of course I'm not a feminist, and was raised with six brothers in a home were occasional "colorful language" was used. I almost regret wasting time "pondering" whether or not to buy the book. If you're on the fence, BUY IT!!! It is real, dramatic, and life-changing...at the very least, it will give you a deeper perspective on success in the face of suffering, trauma, and self-doubt. Excellent book!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Olga Luepschen

5.0 out of 5 stars

Ignore the negative reviews

Reviewed in the United States on April 7, 2019

Verified Purchase

I am currently training for an Ironman race . I’ve been listening to the audiobook while biking. It’s so good I have to force myself off the bike at the end of the workout because I want to keep listening to more. I was initially hesitant to buy the audiobook due to the negative reviews regarding the curse words. Many writers throw in poor language gratuitously. Not David Goggins. Goggins candidly shares his horrible childhood and physical abuse. So what that he drops the f bomb. He’s speaking from the heart as he shares. Ignore those reviews. Just ignore the language and listen to his story.

Ps. This is book is so good, I purchased the hard cover book for my husband,who is also an Ironman, as a present.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Glover

5.0 out of 5 stars

If you’re hung up on the “cussing” you missed the whole point.

Reviewed in the United States on February 14, 2022

Verified Purchase

This man dissected his own mind to reveal his true self layer by painful layer & took a gigantic, vulnerable leap by publishing it just to help YOU develop the fortitude to do the same in your own way.


I was fat, drank every night, made lots of money & was nearly suicidal. Along with a lot of self-work, I used this book and Davis’s experiences as tools to perform a live autopsy (I guess that would be a vivisection) on my life and took the next step to IMPLEMENT the changes.


Now I’m literally a training triathlete attending medical school in my 40’s.


It’s not too late. Buy the book, get up, and take the first step.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Bryan Seijo

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book helped me a barrier!

Reviewed in the United States on September 22, 2019

Verified Purchase

This is a GREAT book. David Goggins story is very touching, and his determination to fight through what seemed impossible really makes you want to run through a wall. I'm not an individual that likes to read, but this is the first book that I've read from front, to back. I enjoyed every minute of this book. Two things will happen when you're done reading this book.. you either will thing hes crazy, or you'll realize what hes trying to show you, the human potential that we all have, and that we can all achieve despite of our education, race, weight. Honestly.. when I first started reading this book I could only run 1 mile.. using the tips this book gives you [for example being 10% better than you were last week, or "dont stop when you're tired, stop when you're done"] I managed to break this psychological barrier I put up on myself, and I touched what David talks about in this book and I some hoe without realizing it, without wanting too i ran 8.5 miles. So basically I could only run 1 mile on monday.. and Wednesday I somehow managed to run 8.5 miles. I hope this little break through I had thanks to this book touches whomever is reading this, and gives the book and all its knowledge a try.

Helpful

Report abuse


I Just Might be Batgirl!

5.0 out of 5 stars

Wife - And now a Superhero Fan

Reviewed in the United States on March 29, 2019

Verified Purchase

I bought this audio book for myself and then I bought a copy for my husband. I have been overlooking this book for months, because I was too fearful to listen to the words. I knew this was going to be some tough love type advice.


I love superheroes and seeing people succeed under extreme circumstances. Mr. Goggins is a superhero.


What we each needed to hear, especially me. I’ve gone from 12% body fat to likely 40%. My arrogance as a student-athlete is why I am here. Basketball has always allowed me to stay fit and to trash talk, but it is no longer my outlet, so I’ve allowed myself to become unfit.


What I knew I would love was the work ethic of Goggins. I found myself cheering and sad when he failed. I was sad about the short sections about his divorces from his wives. As a black woman that may shock some folks. I found myself just wanting to see him happy because nothing was easy.


I understand what he achieved wasn’t easy as a cop and a black cop that is vocal about police corruption, out to change the system. What I didn’t expect was to see a story that mirrored my husband’s. Oh my husband doesn’t have his military resume, but he’s a Gulf War Vet, a leader, and he too was beaten mercilessly by his father. When Goggins said in the beginning how abuse would essentially shape you into a survivor or a statistic I knew I would finish this book.


Mr. Goggins motivated me. I’m only a couple of weeks into my journey to drop 40lbs, but if he can achieve what he did with broken feet, a broken knee cap, I have no excuses.


I’m 10lbs down in two week. 🙌


All of the heroes he mentioned also motivated me. My mind is strong in most aspects of my life, but being overweight over the last 6 years of my life ends here. I am embarrassed by it, despite the support of my husband. Being fit and 6 feet tall to now being 6 feet tall with fat that surrounds your belly is hard on your body.


I’m ready to take the "souls" of anyone that stand in the way of getting fit.


Motivated Wife - Superhero Fan

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Emil Psakhov

5.0 out of 5 stars

A fascinating and inspiring book

Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2021

Verified Purchase

David Goggins shares his life story and all the obstacles that were and perhaps still in his way on discovering who he is and what he is made of. He found the beauty and enlightenment of rising stronger from suffering.


David did not attempt to write this book so that you can feel his pain and empathize and sympathize with him while continuing our mediocre lives. That would be the exact opposite he wishes for. He wants you to adopt his mindset, that of both a Navy SEAL and a warrior who never gives up, never backs down, always striving forward to find out what he os made of against the voices of self-doubt and external doubt. Against all challenges and obstacles. We are never given a challenge by the Universe that we cannot beat. There is no point in such a challenge.


While not everyone might seek to join the navy seals or do triathlons and ultras every weekend, as the path to Godhood is versatile and colorful, but everyone can find great ways in this book to develop a calloused mind to stand against whatever life brings to you in your journey.


Thank you David

Helpful

Report abuse


Mullo Bremen

5.0 out of 5 stars

Captivating, strong, unique. Must read.

Reviewed in the United States on December 14, 2018

Verified Purchase

I couldn't stop reading the book. It's unlike any other book I have ever read. David's childhood circumstances are unfortunate but not unique. The personality he built is absolutely amazing. David, thanks for sharing your story. Thank you for understanding that your story can help others. I would recommend this book to any person, especially young adults and even teens. Yes, the book contains strong words are used by adults, but that's how David naturally talks. So he kept it real. If you like fairy tales for kids using baby language, you should not read this book. Everybody else: you wont regret reading it!

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Joseph D. Seckelman

5.0 out of 5 stars

MY GOODNESS BATMAN!!

Reviewed in the United States on March 7, 2021

Verified Purchase

I’ve always heard being a Navy Seal was hard, difficult and near impossible. Mr. Goggins has demonstrated that a VERY difficult background growing up, being a disadvantaged minority and a guy on the fast track for failure can against all odds not only pass and become a Navy Seal but can go to tackle HUGE other hurdles.


The book is a good read, concise and extremely real and a great inspiration to anyone who has a touch of melancholy and is feeling sorry for themself.


Goggins yanks you up out of your confortable seat and puts you in the heart of the pain and extreme self-discipline Seals go through. This is followed up with his participation in Ultramarathon foot races such the very worst and punishing Badlands 135.


Read it, you won’t be disappointed.


Joe Seckelman

One person found this helpful


From the United States


AmazonJackson

5.0 out of 5 stars

This Book Has Changed My Life – – Forever!!

Reviewed in the United States on June 11, 2019

Verified Purchase

This tell-it-like-it-is, eye-opening, riveting book has changed how I see myself. I realize that I’m not even mediocre! I am simply an underachiever, pretty much, a loser.


Growing up, all I did was cry and moan about my circumstances for years, playing the victim, hoping someone would save me. I trudged through a foggy maze, not knowing where I was going, and barely knowing where I was coming from.


It wasn’t until later on in life, In my 40s, that I began to pick myself up by the seat of my pants and realized that no one was coming to save me. No one was going to magically make me OK. Not even God. I knew there was work I was gonna have to put in. But even then I wanted to take shortcuts. I wanted things to move fast and easy. It wasn’t until these last few months that I realize that I’m going to have to earn my way through life. No shortcuts!


David’s book yanked my mind out of the mud it was trudging in and made me look at myself in a new way. Staring at my mental reflection, It’s hard to admit it’s not pretty... I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me. But the beautiful part of it all is I’m still alive. No matter how old I am, it doesn’t stop me from being responsible for myself and turning my life around and facing those mysterious dark challenges that inevitably loom before me.


I’m rolling up my sleeves and I’m going in — not elbow deep — but all the way in! It’s not going to be pretty, but I’m tired of getting in my own way.


Time to get it-get it! Thanks, Goggins!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Zackery West

5.0 out of 5 stars

Changed my life

Reviewed in the United States on September 11, 2021

Verified Purchase

The idea that your brain has a ‘tactical advantage’ over you, and the attitude that warrior has to have toward his own self-lies and weakness, we’re game changers.


David bootstraps himself, starting at the beginning, with his physical body - from nothing. It’s a great object lesson in how we have all been domesticated and become soft.


Other ideas, like being true to yourself, eschewing tokens and trinkets, resonate with a truth for all ages, without being preachy.


If there are monks of physical discipline, this man is one of them. Watching his trajectory and brutal honesty, one can’t help but be moved.


If you want truth. The hard truth, this is the best place to find it.


I highly recommend a David Goggins Accountability group on Facebook. It is full of ugly and inspiring ‘before’ photos. People inspired to make their journey to improve not just their bodies, but recover from addiction, financial ruin - all is it.


This book came out at the perfect time, as we are victims of our own success, having traded dreams for security, having lost something wild and indomitable.


Boars basically turn to pink piggies when you put them in a pen. And the reverse is true, also. Humans absolutely *are* over-domesticated, thin-skinned, weak, and miserable.


Goggins has started a Paleolithic revolution with this book - though his intention was simply to pursue his personal dreams. As nomadic hunter gatherers, we are probably at the weakest form we have ever been in. Physically and mentally.


I recommend the audiobook for its bonus features. Strap in and prepare to have your brain rewired, tuned to a more primal and rewarding time.

Helpful

Report abuse


E. David

5.0 out of 5 stars

An Amazing True Story

Reviewed in the United States on January 2, 2019

Verified Purchase

This is the true story of a young man who grew up with a very abusive father, a lot of prejudice, poor grades in school and no incentive to do well at anything. Through his introspective mind he decided he was going to change all that and become someone special. And special he became. He he turned himself into one of the most highly decorated navy seals and much more. The book describes in great detail what it takes to become a navy seal and what it takes to set the world record in a number of physical activities. He became a much sought after speaker sharing his life story with thousands of people across the country.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Impressive life

Reviewed in the United States on February 4, 2019

Verified Purchase

Was captivated in reading the preview available for this book, and it kept me so through to the finish. Very hard driving man who did not fall back on victim status to improve himself. He hit on a theme I have long held to, that the most important battle is that within one's own mind. It did bother me that Mr Goggins did not reveal much of his relationships (other than those of the brotherhood of his fellow service mates), But part of that could be due to his service and is understandable (good opsec).It was also good to see that in the end he seemed to come to terms with his past, and his accomplishments were no longer an attempt to compensate for that past. We all have our demons to slay internally, and Mr Goggins appears to have avoided allowing defeating those becoming a demon unto itself. Very good book, Would recommend to any one who uses the words "I can't" or "I don't have the ability". Mr Goggins shows that you minds desire will trump those. A salute to you sir!

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


migueldelafuente

5.0 out of 5 stars

Extraordinary

Reviewed in the United States on January 9, 2019

Verified Purchase

David has become a heroin and an inspiration for millions. If you want to transcend the normal and reach your Full Potential as a human being you must read this book. This is not a typical book on motivation. This book is about extreme achievement, extreme work ethic, extreme Determination and reaching the highest levels of success. Its about becoming addicted to hard work.


This book is about how you can overcome any obstacle, any pain, any adversity, any excuse and become the person you are capable of becoming. Its about becoming the Hero in your own Movie.


I recomend you read this book in one day, full out. It will challenge many of the limiting beliefs you may have about life or yourself.


I recomend this book to any athlete in any sports, any CEO, or any entrepreneur trying to create an outstanding company. I recomend this book to anyone who is trying to reach something impossible by other people standards, and anyone who is suffering deep pain in their lives and don’t know how to go over it.


Miguel De La Fuente

TurboMind Book Club, TotalSuccess Diary App. High Performance Coach.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Susie Q

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great message, good book.

Reviewed in the United States on January 8, 2019

Verified Purchase

David Goggins is a "force of nature" who willed himself into being, despite every opportunity to be much, much less. Now it would be a mistake to think that by reading this book, you'll become Goggins or a Navy SEAL. These are elite things by definition, but the lessons about "callousing the mind" and "embracing the suck" in order to push beyond adversity and ordinary boundaries are very worthwhile. And if you keep embracing these lessons, who knows what you can achieve.


On a lesser note, this is not great literature. Although the folks complaining about his use of foul language are simply being way too prissy. The repeated examples of his athletic feats get a bit boring. But, it isn't that difficult to extrapolate his message about grit and determination in athletic feats to non-athletic feats (e.g. career, school, personal, etc.).

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Dan InGold

5.0 out of 5 stars

The most inspiring book about finding your true potential

Reviewed in the United States on February 23, 2019

Verified Purchase

I have gone through a lot of self-improvement books. None of them is of this kind. Most of self-improvement books are teaching people to be self-disciplined and follow routines. This one is about doing things that you think you could have never done before.


I give so much credit that he raised $2 million dollars by going through the harshest conditions to give college scholarships and grants to the children of fallen special operations soldiers. All these add another level of greatness to him. He was in a race finding his true potential by going through the most painful journey we could think of, then he goes beyond that to help his loved ones and other people. By going his experiments on himself and his helping others in the end, he proves again how much a human being can achieve and what is the true value of our mankind.


I agree with some reviewers that the cussing language is very uncomfortable, but you would feel weird if David Goggins tell something without using those words. I'm kind of wanting my young kids to listen to it together with me, but only if those words could be muted. Because, I think this book is so great that people of all ages can read it. I hope he can come up a book for kids in the future.

Helpful

Report abuse


treefrog family

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Book!

Reviewed in the United States on February 10, 2019

Verified Purchase

This is NOT a typical "self-help" book. It is one man's inspiring journey, spoken in his voice, reflecting on all of the internal/mental battles that so often derail most people from reaching their goals. What is most powerful in this book is how David Goggins has been able to use his pain and negative thought (that happens to everyone) in order to power himself through to achieve levels that most do not believe would be possible. He has been able to turn the pain, and associated negative thought, into fuel that allows him to break through to the other 60% of human capability that so often goes untapped by most. This is a very thought-provoking and insightful book.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Steven

5.0 out of 5 stars

Instant classic, and life altering masterpiece of a book.

Reviewed in the United States on December 28, 2018

Verified Purchase

An awesome book in every conceivable way. David Goggins' memoir is an honest and clear story on how he transformed himself through hard work, struggle and persistence. I could not stop reading this book and I was so sad when it ended. However, reading this book has inspired me to run more miles, lift more weights, work harder in my business and be a better person. Can't Hurt Me is a classic and one of the few books that can truly be called life changing. I rank it alongside the Autobiography of Malcom X, and Shoe Dog as the best memoirs I have ever read. Trust me, this is a book to be read and used, and you too will be a better and more effective person for having read David Goggins' incredible story.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Joe

5.0 out of 5 stars

Awesome Intense must read

Reviewed in the United States on May 10, 2019

Verified Purchase

This book is excellent. David Goggins must be the most intense person you would ever meet. This is not a night time reading book, unless you want to read something that will make you get off your couch and run a mile in the middle of the night. I usually read books in the even just to settle down and go to bed. I was staying up late every night. I had to force myself not to read on nights that I needed to get up early the next day. I would re-read sections just to make sure I took it all in. I love his drive and focus. Reading this book would psych me up so much that I would have to read something else to settle back down to go to bed. This should be require reading for those that like to blame others and make excuses. David has more available excuses than all of us yet he pushes ahead.


His language in the book is a little colorful. He drops plenty of F bombs just a head ups. I think if I had known that ahead of time I would have been hesitant to read this book. I would still encourage you to do the best to mentally bleep them out as you read. Honestly the message and motivation is worth it. I strongly encourage any adult to read it.


M. Hansen

5.0 out of 5 stars

Tough but highly effective.

Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2020

Verified Purchase

David Goggins is right.

I did most of the challenges in the book and I still working on it. I started from zero fitness to swimming 90 minutes a day within six weeks. I am well on track to reach 2 hours a day. Yes, your mind screams to give up, and yes your muscles fade all the time, but once your master your mind, you defy the odds and you do the seemingly impossible. That said, I suggest two complementary readings that make an excellent addition to Goggins:


1) Lanny Bassham - With Winning in Mind 3 ed.

2) Myra White - The superstar Roadmap


Two times Olimpic winner Lanny Bassham developed a highly effective planning system and you are going to need it whenever you go beyond brute-force military-style fitness. Harvard Professor White analyzed some of the most successful people in the world and discovered that nearly all of them have a certain mechanism in place to go from one success to the next one. I actually started to journal every day what exactly I have accomplished a day and after a while, I noticed that one success leads to the next one. It truly works, as long as you do the hard grinding Goggins gets you to do so effectively and as long as you have an effective plan as Lanny Bassham asks you to do. You can only win when you learn from a trio of winners.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Larry A

VINE VOICE

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent read. Awesome story, well told. Learn the game, how it's played and how to win!

Reviewed in the United States on February 19, 2022

Verified Purchase

This is one of my favorite and easiest psuedo self-help/autobiography book yet. David Goggins went from an abused kid heading nowhere to superhuman. The best thing is he tells you how he does it and his mistakes and shortcomings along the way. He has figured it out and spells it out in simple easy to understand terms. I think one reason I like this book so much is after having read many self help books loaded on theory and simplistic explanations David actually tells you what to do. SPOILER ALERT: It's all a mind game going on in your head. To win you have to do the work, gain control of your thoughts and beliefs and stay on it all the time. Key take away - the game/battle never ends! It's called your life and the ending is up for grabs. Make your choices and go write your story.


I highly recommend this book.

Helpful

Report abuse


Returntotheforest

5.0 out of 5 stars

COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN.

Reviewed in the United States on January 29, 2019

Verified Purchase

10 STARS

This book fired me up!! Since I started reading (now finished) I couldn’t put it down. I wake up at 4:30-5:00am and exercise, read a chapter, push past my ‘limits’, and take responsibility for every aspect of my life. Any adult on this thread that is complaining about “foul language” is missing the point by a long shot. I feel bad for people that let words hold them back from understanding. If THAT is where you are, I recommend studying taboos of the world, other languages, cultures and open your mind. Until then, you will remain judgemental, soft and bring pain into your own life. Stay hard. #canthurtme

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mpthewizard

5.0 out of 5 stars

If you are thinned skinned, buy a different book

Reviewed in the United States on April 7, 2019

Verified Purchase

If you are easily offended and think the world revolves around you then this book is not for you. If however you have a Warrior Spirit, have been looking for examples where someone has overcome to become and you want to use their fuel to create your fire then strap in and buy the book.


Yes, he swears, deal with and test yourself to see how many examples of overcoming are in the book. Challenge your psyche to see what things or attitudes he pulled on that you could apply to your life's challenges or to your kids or grandkids.


But, if you are one of the persons who focuses on the cuss words, then you are also one of the people who would ring the bell. We have enough soft people in the world, this book is about becoming, HARD, in the area of life you choose. If you‘re looking for a book that will be politically correct, this isn’t it.


But, hey that’s just my opinion/fact.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


foxylibrarian

5.0 out of 5 stars

A very inspirational book!

Reviewed in the United States on December 29, 2020

Verified Purchase

Your life journey brought up memories from my past. From my early educational years, to not settling with where I was in life's crazy journey. I decided to put everything on the line to better myself. Everyone thought I was CRAZY! All the negativity and doubt from family members to friends. I recall questioning my own self at times. I allowed their negativity to get in my head. The call came at age 40. Then nervousness of failure hit, could I keep up with guys half my age, the academics, being isolated for months? I knew If I failed I'd loose everything. I was determined to prove to myself and to others anything is possible if you set your mind to success. I still remember pushing through training with my inner self telling me to stop, you are past your limit! It is amazing what your mind and body can endure when pushed. Years later I look back and reflect on the pain my body endured, the academics struggles, and realized those are some my fondest memories in life's new journey. The risk vs reward definitely pays off. Loved your book! Thank You for Service!

Helpful

Report abuse


Cameron Schmidt

5.0 out of 5 stars

Wow!!! Just wow!!!

Reviewed in the United States on January 12, 2019

Verified Purchase

Goggins doesn’t disappoint. Like many, I’ve grown a fondness for the message and ideas that David Goggins is known for sharing. Every podcast episode. Every post he makes on social media. Mind blowing. I listened to the audiobook 4 times in December, and I very rarely read a book more than once.


This book came at an interesting time. Years ago, Goggins had ignited a spark for an idea. The idea was to run 100 miles. With how crazy his first hundred miler had been, I had hoped that I’d gain some clarity about myself, while also pushing my own limits. I did it about a week and a half before the book came out. It was a unique experience for sure. But it didn’t go how I’d hoped, and it felt incomplete.


Then I read the book. Wow!


David dives DEEP into his life. I can’t even begin to imagine the pain and struggles that he faced as a kid. The rawness, and true vulnerability, that he shares in here is crazy. I bought the book, and read the first chapter before deciding that I wasn’t going to be able to read it fast enough with a long drive the next morning. So I got the audio book to listen to. I finished the entire book within 24 hours, and would have gone straight through if I hadn’t had to work. Wow!!!


David, thank you for sharing your story, and for the exercises you share for all of us to get clear on what is holding ya back. It’s been a very uncomfortable process, truly breaking down my past to see how it’s led me to my current place in life.


Adam, thank you for crafting David’s thoughts and ideas perfectly. The way the book is written, it feels like David is sitting in the same room, sharing his life. He has an uncommon mentality, and you perfectly translated that onto the pages of this book.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jacob Wroblewski

5.0 out of 5 stars

BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ, NOT EVEN CLOSE!

Reviewed in the United States on April 12, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is by far not only the best “self help” book, but the best overall book I have read. At some points you stop and question the facts in this book and start doing some research, and it turns out that it is all true with many people confirming the details. With all the people crying about the swearing in this book, your paying attention to the wrong things! You are really complaining about cursing, when this guy is teaching you how to be uncommon, and transform your mentality and life. This book will teach you how to make yourself accountable, how to set up your days to be more productive, how to be mentally tough, and how to transform your life no matter where you came from. Anybody who feels like the world is caving in on them, and working against them, get this book ASAP!! I bought the hard cover and the audio. I was blown away by the audio because it’s not only a narration of the book, but Goggins himself sits down with the narrator, and at points in each chapter have a real podcast and Goggins goes into even more detail about the events that were just narrated. The only negative I have to say about this book, is that it wasn’t longer(and it’s a fairly long book!). It made me wanting more and more, and you don’t get that with a lot of books.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Musicgirl

5.0 out of 5 stars

Transformational human being! Better than anything I've studied on change & progression

Reviewed in the United States on October 2, 2019

Verified Purchase

I'm a white female, a Mom, a business woman, 2 degrees, married with a flock of kids, and this man has inspired me beyond anything I have read or seen! We limit ourselves so much--usually out of comfort or opinions. He has taught me to expand my thinking about the brain and our own capabilities. He shows that you can always get out of your circumstance and get to a better situation.

God bless Mr. Goggins and I hope he can endure the fame & wealth that has come his way!

* warning--his language is raw and descriptive Watch a video of him first, if you're not sure ;-)

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Bob De'Shmoe

5.0 out of 5 stars

No candy coating - straight to the point

Reviewed in the United States on January 6, 2019

Verified Purchase

A unique book and insightful read. If you are looking for action-packed shoot 'em up read, grab a Dickey Marcinco rag. If you want a self-help book that is packed with direct, heavy hitting insights that will change your mindset and push you to the next level, this is the book.


Goggins is wide open in this book, exposing his pains, fears, insecurities and what allowed him to use that as fuel to create a life long change to the point of now creating positive and impactful change in others. If you can't handle the colorful four (and sometimes five, six and seven) letter language, move onto a feel good Dr Seuss book.


A damn good read!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Greg Rogers

5.0 out of 5 stars

I generally dont enjoy reading "self help" books, but this is not what you're used to...

Reviewed in the United States on January 2, 2019

Verified Purchase

This book is excellent.


I powered through this book in short order. Thanks to the Joe Rogan podcast I "discovered" David Goggins, and ordered the book prior to its release date. I couldn't put it down once I started it. It so unique in its category because it is so genuine. I am forced to read a lot of self help, leadership, etc type books for different initiatives at work and loathe just about every one of them.


The narration and dialogue of the book is genuine Goggins and you cant help but hear the man's voice in your head as you read it. I don't often have a book that resonates with me to the extent this one has and I have recommended it to several friends and family already.

One person found this helpful


JM

5.0 out of 5 stars

The 40% Rule - You are full of untapped potential

Reviewed in the United States on August 19, 2021

Verified Purchase

While the nature of Mr. Goggins' transformation & mental toughness manifested in his physical accomplishments, there is so much in this book that serves anyone looking to adapt and overcome. You can ALWAYS do more and do better for yourself. This book really helps shape your perspective if there is a part of you that is ready to stop complaining, be accountable and start actually living to your full potential. Your goal may not be to be a SEAL or an Ultra Marathoner, but knowing that you are the only thing in your way from a better life SHOULD make you uncomfortable and so should a lot of this book if that's true. I loved it!


Edited on 8/21/21

Have to add to my review. I had admittedly not read the reviews on here since I read the book at the request of my husband. These reviews are really disappointing, but not because this book and this story are any less inspirational to me. It's because these people with the negative reviews (and yes they were read with an objective mindset) missed the point. You go in to each reading experience hoping to gain something for YOURSELF. People should check their own ego before claiming to be open to learning from others' experiences. My husband, much like Mr. Goggins experienced a very abusive childhood. Reading the reviews - not to pre-judge too harshly myself - I don't believe people realized that the minds/brains of people that grow up in severely abusive environments do not develop as those of people who grew up in more conventional families and environments. There is still a huge stigma surrounding mental health. So the one thing I can encourage readers is don't expect to learn from a perfect "role model" with these lessons, do not expect a man that has endured as much as he did to be eager to open his life up to you regarding his marriages and children. The story he wished to share was HIS story and what he overcame through these hard lessons was HIS experience. While what we each draw from this is subjective, your mind, your heart and intentions should most definitely be objective. There is mention of the foul language and misogyny. This is a testament to the fact that people only accept a message being received from someone like YOU. This is the opposite of getting out of your own way to learn something. It's not for the faint of heart or someone looking for a watered down version of someone's struggles just so you can walk away with enough inspiration to go drive your kids to school and go for your morning run. What a person like David Goggins had to overcome BEFORE mastering his own mind is more difficult than what most people achieve in a lifetime of privilege and comfort. His journey and story demands respect at the least. At best he is a HUGE inspiration to people who didn't have a shot in hell of making it let alone having an exceptional or even "normal life." The greater the pain the greater the gain.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Sean C. Sutton

5.0 out of 5 stars

You tired of excuses and losing? Read it!

Reviewed in the United States on December 9, 2021

Verified Purchase

I had seen Goggins on Rogan a while ago and liked his message- no nonsense and no excuses. I got the book this summer and it was the same demeanor and mind set. The easiest thing to do is make excuses, blame people, blame your childhood, whatever. He doesn’t ignor