BaDonna Jarvis Jeff Lerner Review

Meet BaDonna Jarvis. She Believes the ENTRE Institute isn’t just about making money it’s about personal development and how to be excellent. BaDonna is so thankful for all the support and training that has helped her avoid all the mistakes of a novice doing it on their own.

Welcome to another episode of Millionaire Secrets!


We’ve all heard the saying “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”.


No one proves this quite like Amberly Lago.


Her’s isn’t the usual tale rags to riches. It’s full of twists and turns that make her story truly unique.


After overcoming a traumatic childhood, she went on to become a fitness icon and a Nike-sponsored athlete.


She had a family and life was going well until one day, everything changed.


Amberly was involved in an accident that nearly cost her her leg.


Needless to say, for an athlete, losing a leg means game over. Everything she worked for until now could have been for nothing.


But Amberly is an optimist.


And a fighter!


Against a 99% chance of losing her leg, she fought to keep it. She proved that a 1% chance is all you need.


The fight wasn’t easy. It took 34 surgeries and a complete overhaul of her mental state but she’s come out the other side, stronger than she was before!


Amberly is a public speaker, author, and life coach who teaches resilience in the face of adversity.


She’s an inspiration to so many and a one-of-a-kind entrepreneur!


Having your life turned upside down at age 38 and having to start all over again takes a lot of courage and strength.


Amberly teaches other people to find that strength within themselves. She’s also the author of “True Grit and Grace: Turning Tragedy Into Triumph”.


If her story and her words won’t inspire you, nothing will!


💰 Claim Your Free 'Millionaire Shortcut' Book Here 👉 https://getentre.com/ZbkWq


Check Out More of Amberly’s Content Here 👇


💻 https://amberlylago.com/


📖 True Grit and Grace - https://www.amazon.com/dp/1733809007?ref_=pe_3052080_397514860


🎙️ True Grit and Grace Podcast 👉 https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/true-grit-and-grace-with-amberly-lago/id1488420537


📲 Text 👉 (818) 214-7378


ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/in/amberlylago


📺 YT 👉 https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1PfuUb5fgT90e29aDKB6nQ


🖥️ FB 👉 https://www.facebook.com/AmberlyLagoSpeaker/


⌨️ Twitter 👉 https://twitter.com/amberlylago


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/amberlylagomotivation/


BaDonna Jarvis Review

Extreme Ownership: How U.S. Navy SEALs Lead and Win

Audible Audiobook – Unabridged

Jocko Willink (Author, Narrator), Leif Babin (Author, Narrator), Macmillan Audio (Publisher)

4.8 out of 5 stars

22,344 ratings


"These guys are intense. And they bring that same fire to their narration in the audiobook. Listen to these insanely competent SEAL officers tell you exactly how to make a team successful through their firsthand experiences in business and combat." (The Hustle)

An updated version of the best-selling blockbuster audiobook on leadership that has taken America and the globe by storm. Two U.S. Navy SEAL officers who commanded the most decorated Special Operations unit during the Iraq War demonstrate how to apply their leadership skills across the business world and daily life.

The battlefield, which is the most challenging and challenging environment that can be imagined can teach the most difficult leadership lessons with everything on the line. Jocko Willink, and Leif Babin witnessed this fact by experiencing it firsthand on the most brutal and hazardous battlefield in Iraq. As SEAL Team Three's Task Unit Bruiser, their mission was believed by many to be impossible: to help U.S. forces secure Ramadi the insurgent-held, violent city that was deemed "all but lost." Through gripping, first-hand stories of heroics as well as tragic losses and victory that was hard-fought, they realized that leadership - at any level is the primary element in determining whether a team is successful or not. Willink Babin and Willink Babin returned home after their deployment and established SEAL training for leadership to share the harsh lessons they learned from battle to help develop the future Generation of SEAL leaders. After they left their SEAL Team, the duo founded Echelon Front, a company to impart the same principles of leadership to the leaders of businesses or organizations in civil society. Since then they have taught countless leaders and collaborated with hundreds of organizations in almost every industry all over all industries in the U.S. and internationally, instructing them on how to build their own high-performance teams as well as the most effective way to lead them to be the best on their battlefields.

Since its publication in October of 2015, Extreme Ownership has revolutionized the process of developing leadership and established a new standard in research on the topic. It is a requirement for listening in several of the top-performing companies It has now become an integral component of the official leadership development programs for a variety of businesses as well as military units and first responders. In describing the mindset and values that allow SEAL units to complete the most challenging combat missions, Extreme Ownership shows how you can apply these principles to any group or organization and in any leadership setting. An engaging story with powerful instructions and a direct implementation, Extreme Ownership encourages leaders all over the world to achieve their primary goal: to lead and be successful.


R. Ulisse

5.0 out of 5 stars

Don't judge this book by its cover. It has far more to offer than you may think.

Reviewed in the United States on December 15, 2016

Verified Purchase

If you were to judge a book by its cover, you would think that "Extreme Ownership: How US Navy SEALs Lead And Win" is a book which would only be applicable to military veterans and historians. You would be wrong.


This isn't a self-help book from some "gurus", nor does it provide an ideology or set of steps for how to approach specific problems. Extreme Ownership is a mindset which applies to everything you do. Authors Jocko Willink and Leif Babin have crafted a guidebook for success in all ventures of life. They explain hard-learned principles of leadership, which they experienced first-hand as US Navy SEALs, specifically in and around their 2006 deployment to Ramadi, Iraq, one of the most dangerous places and times in the war. These principles can be applied to any relationships or walks of life; they are simple enough for anyone to understand, and broad enough to use in any situation.


The book is separated into 12 chapters, each which highlights a principle of leadership. Each chapter is then broken into 3 seconds. The first section is an anecdote providing an example of how US Navy SEALs use their military experience to demonstrate each principle. The second section is how & why the principle works. The third section is an example of how that principle transforms from the battlefield, into world of businesses of all types & sizes, as experienced by the authors and their customers. It is very easy to read and understand, despite the regular use of military jargon (which is either footnoted or explained so even non-military readers can comprehend).


Military recruits & officers, parents, corporate executives, students, low-level management, spouses, shop foremen, independent contractors, and sole proprietors will all benefit from the lessons of Extreme Ownership.


If you feel you're stuck in a rut, lacking self-discipline, or perhaps know someone who simply needs to improve their lot, this book is an excellent starting point.


I have personally read & completed this book, but I will never be done with the concept of "Extreme Ownership". Being able to take ownership and be accountable for the things around me has truly changed my life for the better.

535 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Teresa KK

5.0 out of 5 stars

Will Make You a Better Person!

Reviewed in the United States on May 14, 2017

Verified Purchase

Most leadership books simply talk about how to lead those in your charge. This book reminds us to first lead ourselves, and own our actions. (This is more than leading by example.) Whether you are the Chairman of the Board or just graduating from high school, there is something in this book for you (male or female). The principles in this book will make you a better person.

133 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


MS

5.0 out of 5 stars

It will change your life for the better

Reviewed in the United States on August 26, 2017

Verified Purchase

If you want to be the best at something, start with the fundamentals. This is of course my personal opinion after a decade of working in a demanding profession where peoples lives are actually on the line. Mr. Willink and Mr. Babin have essentially compiled an orderly list of fundamentals to successful leadership.


For me, the book was enlightening in that, it finally revealed to me that which I have been searching for so long. I have spent countless hours deep in thought on what problems plague the organization I work for. What the root causes of dysfunction truly are, and how to fix them. In one fell swoop this book laid it out. The truth of it was somewhat too simple to believe at first. It can't all be the leadership after all, can it ? But, if you are open minded, and you truly dig deep and are able to embrace the concept, then you realize it would be difficult to cultivate anything other than success by using the strategies laid out within this book.


Remember, you are an example to others whether or not your are a chosen leader, or an informal leader. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of this book. Its not just about leadership in business or military, but leadership in your life. Here's to you and your chosen career path, and remember, the fundamentals always win !

64 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Wise Oracle

5.0 out of 5 stars

YOU owe yourself this book!

Reviewed in the United States on March 7, 2018

Verified Purchase

If you are looking at this book, it means somewhere inside, you wish to perform at a higher level. I have a book collection of over 800 books, most of them are business related. This is by far one of my favorites. So much so I wrote a book report that I can refer to on a regular basis so I'm implementing Jocko and Liefs advice.


What you can expect is great storytelling set in a life and death scenario (theatre of war) and useful and applicable lessons that helped Jocko and his fellow American soldiers thrive and accel in a near lose-lose situation. In my mind it is helpful that he used life and death, real examples to explain his lessons, it makes it that much harder to bitch about your own crisis or situations.


I think high Ds on the disc profile will especially enjoy this book. It's concise, actionable and will get you fired up. Don't pass up this book. Buy it now and when it arrives, crack it open and get to work!!!

37 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kevin

5.0 out of 5 stars

Prioritize & Execute. This book is the HIGHEST priority you have.

Reviewed in the United States on November 17, 2018

Verified Purchase

The ESSENTIAL book on Leadership and Ownership. Stop blaming others. Stop making excuses. Start getting after it. Start understanding ownership, how it applies to you, and how to incorporate it into YOUR life. Jocko's reputation speaks for itself, although those around him and that have served with him (if you listen to his podcast) do a good job of helping you understand that he isn't selling bulls**t. He wants us all to be better at everything we do. If you are looking for a great book for yourself of a family member, friend, employee, or team member - THIS IS YOUR BOOK! Maybe buy two. Plan on highlighting, marking up and adding dog ears for referencing later.


13 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abu

se

CNT

5.0 out of 5 stars

Leadership is simple, but not easy

Reviewed in the United States on February 3, 2019

Verified Purchase

One of, if not the best book on Leadership I’ve ever read. The title and cover of the book put me off from picking this book up because I was suspicious that it was going to be a very shallow book full of rah-rah military stories, ride off of the SEAL name, and give out B.S. bravado ‘leadership tips': ‘Go in EXTREME! Kick the door down! Kill the competition! RAHHHH!’. I don’t think that is good leadership, and I don’t really care to read about complicated situations boiled down into overly simplified ‘solutions’. Much to my surprise and mental pleasure, and despite the book title (which they admit in their 2nd book, may have given people the wrong ideas about what the book and true leadership is about), the book is not that any of these things. Okay, there are military stories.


The book focuses on four principles of Leadership and teamwork. ‘Cover & Move’ (Work as a team); Simple (Don’t over complicate plans); Prioritize & Execute (focus on the goals and achieve them); & Decentralized Command (Train & trust your subordinates). The authors break down and explain each of these principles giving real world examples of where they have used and learned these on the battlefield and in training, why and how they think the principles work, and then real world examples of where corporations have needed to deploy these principles. It is a book on theories of what Leadership is and how it works, but it also uses many real world examples of where they have put these into action and how they have learned from their own mistakes and mistakes of others. This is one of the few books on leadership that isn’t just a regurgitation of every other business book you have read. Seriously, one of the best leadership books I have ever read and I recommend the follow-up book ‘The Dichotomy of Leadership’.

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abu

se

Joseph O.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Buy it to improve your leadership qualities

Reviewed in the United States on October 6, 2021

Verified Purchase

I’ve seen a few reviews that say “this is just a war story book”. It is so much more than that. Jocko and Leif discuss their time in Ramadi, Iraq giving examples of the leadership/ownership qualities they’ve learned and implemented in the SEAL Team. Then they breakdown the principles and finally give examples to apply these qualities in business and life.


I highly recommend it especially if you’re getting started in a leadership position or for anyone wanting to do better in gener

al

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report ab

use

KW

5.0 out of 5 stars

Probably the BEST leadership book Ive ever read

Reviewed in the United States on January 27, 2018

Verified Purchase

Probably the BEST leadership book Ive ever read. Its a fast read, very succinct in material presentation. I loved learning about the real Navy missions and the courage and strength demonstrated by our SEALS. This is an essential read for all leaders, in any profession. In fact, I think EVERY TEENAGER today could benefit from reading it and it should be required at every level of high school!

14 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report ab

use

DREW

5.0 out of 5 stars

Most engaging content in a book about leadership!

Reviewed in the United States on February 2, 2020

Verified Purchase

I found so many situations in life where Extreme Ownership applies. It’s so easy to say, someone else will do it... it’s someone else’s fault. Jocko and Leif really present the BS in those attitudes.


It’s an engaging read, each chapter runs through a story of military lift encluding combat, further explanation of the content, and a business application.


I have bought this book for friends and colleagues.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report ab

use

Kevin H

5.0 out of 5 stars

The sooner in life that one internalizes these principles, the better!

Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2018

Verified Purchase

I make an ongoing effort to always be learning.


I just finished listening to this book on Audible (something I've taken to doing to eat up the miles on long drives). I wish I'd read (and embraced!) this when I was a young Lieutenant. And it would have helped me do a better job and be a better leader while I worked for various corporations and, later, when starting and running my own business.


I think smart, ambitious folks -- or, frankly, anyone starting or developing their career, or working in any capacity with others -- would do well to put this on their (and their teammates') required reading list. Whether one is going to manage/lead (or just collaborate within) small teams, larger departments -- or even a family -- the lessons and principles espoused herein will strengthen their effort and help those with whom they work.


This book pairs well with Mark Manson's book, "The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F**k," and the philosophy of #Stocism.

2 people found this helpful


Brian HawksTop Contributor: Photography

5.0 out of 5 stars

Fan-freaking-tastic. Close to the best book I have ever read.

Reviewed in the United States on December 15, 2018

Verified Purchase

Wow. Just wow. I am in a mid-level leadership role, and I've always thought I was decent at taking feedback and leading my team. Jocko Willink and Leif Babin taught me otherwise. I can't say enough good things about this book. I'll be 100% honest: I believe that almost every single "leadership" book out there is so full of brown stinky stuff that it oozes out the edges, and the majority of them are written with one real purpose: to make the author wealthy. This one is far and widely different. Willink and Babin take you through multiple combat operations, and direct principles which kept THEM alive, then show exactly how those same principles apply to the workplace with concise examples of how they directly watched those principles be implemented. They are simple, direct, easy to understand, yet well written enough that you truly care about what they are talking about, and are riveted by the examples (both the combat AND non-combat examples!)


Get the audiobook, it's freaking amazing, and is read by Willink and Babin themselves. In my company, which has some of the best leadership I have ever worked with, there is a list made by the senior executives of their favorite leadership books. This easily made the short list, as well as a couple other titles by Jocko, and it is easy to see why.


My leadership has improved as a result of this, and will continue to improve as I keep integrating what I'm learning and re-learning by reading and listening to this fantastic book.


Jocko and Leif have also done one thing that no other author/ celebrity has done to me: I now have an answer when someone asks "If you could have lunch with anyone, who would it be?" They fascinate me, and I feel like I could learn a LOT from them.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


METAL JEFF

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Must Read

Reviewed in the United States on June 14, 2021

Verified Purchase

Jocko Wilink is not just a former Navy SEAL officer . Jocko is also a Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu expert and he is also and English major . The Navy sent him to college at the age of 28 , he had already been in the Navy for nearly 10 years at that point as an enlisted man/SEAL. He chose English as his major because he knew it would help him in his administrative work as an officer . Jocko has a read a book per week for the last 30 years. Other reviewers are bored with the war stories. Seriously how could a war story be boring ? Also what did this people expect the whole purpose of the book was to show how leadership works and Jocko learned all about that during war ? He didn't learn leadership running a flower shop. I'm not done reading it but it has me hooked. Do yourself a favor . Before you decide to read a book written by a guy who spent 20 years in the military ,expect it to be heavy on military stuff. Really what where some of these reviews thinking ? Wow.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mike

5.0 out of 5 stars

The only leadership book needed!

Reviewed in the United States on March 27, 2019

Verified Purchase

I wish I had this book when I was 18 years old. There have been so many missed leadership opportunities in my past. Opportunities to do the right things. Unfortunately, I didn't know I was missing those opportunities. This book captures everything I've done right and everything I've done wrong. It's crazy simple. It's a fast, easy, entertaining read. It's completely applicable whether in your personal or professional life. It applies even if you are not in a leadership position as it discusses how to lead up and down the chain of command. That section, in fact, reminded me of the Harvard MetaLeadership model where a person leads up, down, and to the side, without overstepping their bounds. Trust me, you won't be disappointed with this purchase.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Justin Albano

5.0 out of 5 stars

A life-changing book

Reviewed in the United States on July 27, 2017

Verified Purchase

This book is a must have for anyone, not just those in a leadership position. This book is a much-needed change in the culture of today, both in daily life and in the workforce: Take ownership of everything around you. Don't blame others. Don't blame your boss. Don't blame your employees. Don't blame the schedule. Don't blame the competition. Don't blame your CEO. Own it and change it.


This book is not just a quick read on how to be a better leader. It will not provide some quick tips on how to magically be a better leader: It will hurt your ego to read this book, but it will be worth every ounce of pain. When you come out the other side, you will be a changed person. You will no longer look for scapegoats and complain about things outside your control. Instead, you will stand up tall and start taking responsibility to leading not only those below you but those above you as well.


This book is worth every cent.

24 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Wesley Johns

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book for leader ship skills. Even for pastors

Reviewed in the United States on August 10, 2020

Verified Purchase

If you're a sloppy leader who needs to tighten up your game but don't know how to do it, then this is the book for you. It helps in the area of multiple staff relations to get people to work together well without misunderstandings. The main thing that I like is the concept of how a military group of armed men divide into two groups and continually leapfrog past each other doing something called "cover and move". The idea is that one half of the take group take overwatch positions having one knee to the ground and with their rifles pointing at all types of directions to protect the group that is ahead as they are on their feet advancing. Soon they trade positions as the group in front takes a knee and points their guns in various directions taking on the overwatch duty while the group from behind moves forward past them. This leapfrogging happens over and over until Both groups get to where they're going as a cooperative united team.. This leap frog method keeps both of groups safer than usual in very hostile conditions. I believe churches and ministries could use this method by not doing anything serious without having the group doing the task being covered in prayer by an overwatch group nearby Who are actively praying for them them while they're also looking at them. So I suppose bible believers would use it for spiritual battles against the powers of darkness in the spirit realm

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


MMG7

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book made me a better person and a better leader- JUST READ IT!

Reviewed in the United States on December 27, 2017

Verified Purchase

I highly recommend this book for anyone. It should be required reading in B-schools instead of the fluff theory based management crap they push. This is THE crash course in actual effective leadership by two guys that know more than a business school could ever teach you. I am a young professional this book taught me what type of leader you should strive to be and as a result I feel like I am not only a better leader but a better person. This book will give you the simple tools you need to be able to effectively lead a winning team. Extreme Ownership is an especially important read for people of my age group/ generation whose personal code of ethics is absolutely zero personal responsibility or accountability for anything. If you are just starting out and have not yet reached the top of the leadership ladder read it before you develop those bad habits. In summary Read it. Learn it. Live it and learn to take extreme ownership! You won't regret investing the time to read this one.

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


1961SG

5.0 out of 5 stars

Should be required reading for any new leader

Reviewed in the United States on January 15, 2021

Verified Purchase

While not for everyone (as it utilizes SEAL stories to get the point home), this book provides strong foundational lessons in leadership and goes into topics most people have never been exposed to. I'm surprised by the number of reviewers who give this book one star saying, "It's the same as any other leadership book." It is not, and if someone is already familiar with and using the techniques in this book, well they're probably a pretty solid leader already. If you really dig into the chapters, you'll find much solid information that can help solve many problems leaders face. I'd say some of the business example stories can seem a little contrived, but they do help bring the points home. Again, it utilizes "war stories" illustrate the key themes which I believe do a good job of that, but if those aren't your thing you may find the first section of the chapters uninteresting. But overall, highly useful and solid information.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Randy Browning

5.0 out of 5 stars

The business/Team's cross pollinating application of experiences is worth reading the war stories.

Reviewed in the United States on December 19, 2020

Verified Purchase

I'm a friend with a handful of Team's guys, so I've heard and read the stories. They are extremely similar, as would be expected since war tends to repeat. But once the co-authors start applying ownership in the battle zone to business, things really start to make sense. In general, in my adult years, I've been in lockstep with their guidance, but I too was in the military. The military is an amazing place to learn personal responsibility, and to be honest prior to enlisting, I was somewhat of a centrist at best, and seldom accepted responsibility for my own actions. After the military, I had an entirely different perspective on responsibility, and taking ownership of my actions. In spite of being in the same camp as the advice of this book, there are some very good and applicable methods to help share and extend this mental disposition. There are a lot of repeats, with granular differences; read it for the business application differences.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


redfuddman

5.0 out of 5 stars

Good take aways presented in a clear manner

Reviewed in the United States on May 4, 2021

Verified Purchase

My first impression was that I wouldn’t get much out of this book since a significant portion of the book is about their combat experiences. But in the end I was surprised by how much I did gain and take away from the lessons learned. Now I am not saying what I got out of it was altogether new to me but maybe the different way of expressing the ideas caught my attention. The lessons are fairly simple and communicated clearly and in my opinion transfer very well into civilian life and business in particular. I bought both the book first and the audible version second as I did find the lengthy combat experiences somewhat overdone. In the audible version I was able to play those parts at a high speed rate to get through it quicker then slow it down for the take aways.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Pat H.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Fantastic read, life altering message. This can shake your core!

Reviewed in the United States on February 3, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book came recommended from a senior executive where I work. I read it and sent a copy to a buddy who then sent a copy to his brother and his boss. Who they sent copies to is anyone's guess. Point is, this book can change your life. It lays out simple principles that can be applied to your professional and personal life. To deliver their lessons, Jocko and Leif incorporate stories of their missions in Ramadi to keep your attention laser focused. The authors use each chapter to deliver a clear and concise message broken into 3 parts. They tell you a cool story about a mission they conducted, they tell you what they learned on that mission, then they tell you how to apply that lesson to your life. If you actively work to apply their principals to interactions in your life, the results are astounding! Jocko Willink is a role model and I'd encourage you to read and listen to any of his work that you can


Old Geezer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Extreme Ownership Will Change The Way You Think

Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2021

Verified Purchase

My son (flight paramedic) asked me to read this book. He (my son) is one of the most responsible persons I know, he's a real get-it-done and get-it-done right type of guy. I read the book and really enjoyed the combat descriptions but the concept of Extreme Ownership is phenomenal, it has changed the way I think about everything. Give it a read, you won't be sorry.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Scott Laverty

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Book For Leadership And Life Development

Reviewed in the United States on August 27, 2019

Verified Purchase

Wow! Based upon a simple foundation, this book provides the tools for everyone to build upon. It provides the foundation to not only strong leadership, but the making of a better person!


When this book came out, I was still a Lieutenant Colonel. I just recently retired and read the book. Having served multiple combat tours in Southwest Asia, not only did this book provide guidance to simple leadership/life skills, the words used to describe his experiences brought be back to the area in my own experiences where I could see the destruction, feel the sun, smell the various odors as the wind blew the heated fine grains of sand and dust against my face - the pride of serving our Country and stabilizing the region, a future better world. I only wished that I would have read this book when it first came out and my son (who at the time was in the Navy) had recommended it to me. My thoughts were that this was just another “SEAL Glory Book.” Far from it, this is a book on taking responsibility and not blaming others with examples of hard learned mistakes that many of us military leaders have experienced. The difference is that the author gets it and communicates the very basic foundation to leadership and life - take responsibility!


Now as one of the commanders with one of the largest law enforcement agencies in the world, I read this book. My Administrative Supervisor recommended the book to me having never served in the military but learned much from it. I got the book as I recognized that his leadership style was superb and I could learn from him. My only regret is that I did not buy/read this book years ago!


This book is an easy read, you won’t want to put it down until you finish it. A must read for all leaders and those who want to grow as individuals! Highly recommended!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


TheHobbyGuyTop Contributor: Cooking

5.0 out of 5 stars

An excellent, straight-forward way to approach leadership and maintain success for you and your team

Reviewed in the United States on May 22, 2016

Verified Purchase

Jocko Willink and Leif Babin have an excellent skill at taking a simple and intuitive mindset and communicating how this mindset is very key in succeeding at leading yourself or others to success. Whether its overseas or in an office high-rise they claim that this mindset will lead to higher success and growth as a person and they have convinced me of this claim through this book.


What I like most about this book is that a lot of the ideas in it are intuitive or already very well known. What makes this book special is the way in which they tie a lot of these simple ideas together into an easy-to-understand mindset. They do so in a straight-forward and honest way, backing up their claims from their time in combat or from the numerous consulting experiences with various companies. While it is obvious that Willink and Babin have a lot of experience in leadership, they do a great job at presenting the content in a down-to-earth manner that is relatable. I like that they even go into detail about mistakes they have made and how they learned from it themselves. Someone who can identify their own mistakes and learn from them, to me, shows a mastery of the willingness to learn and to grow as an individual. Anyone could benefit from learning from someone with this mastery and both of these men have it.


Pros:

*Written in a straight-forward, down-to-earth way

*Applicable advice for anyone in any situation

*Very good presentation and integration of intuitive or already-known ideas


Cons:

*None


Additional Considerations:

Jocko has a great podcast he puts out weekly. Leif has been featured as a guest as well. It is an excellent way to extend and enhance what you will learn from the book.


Overall: 5/5 stars (>=.5 rounds up, <.5 rounds down) => 5 stars


If you have any further questions regarding the product in my review please leave a comment below and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

38 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


H. Durham

5.0 out of 5 stars

Clear distinction between Leadership and Authority

Reviewed in the United States on December 11, 2021

Verified Purchase

While some critics ding this book as " common leadership concepts sprinkled with war anecdotes " I found more here than that. The work world today is rife with persons of authority who lack true leadership. They harrang compliance out of their direct reports rather than inspiring them to greatness. The military and business examples outlines herein relay a breadth of application missing from other books on leadership. The concepts are simplified for easy digestion, them exemplified for in-depth understanding. Because they are concepts, the ideas can be applied to vastly different disciplines. I highly recommend this book for those looking to inspire their colleagues and their businesses to new levels of productivity and life satisfaction. The audio book is well worth the investment too!

Helpful

Report abuse


R. Kang

5.0 out of 5 stars

Well written, inspirational

Reviewed in the United States on November 15, 2020

Verified Purchase

I'll read this again and again. These guys found the secret sauce for writing leadership and inspirational content. One of the best books I've read in this genre. The stories are short, very interesting, and very relevant. The lessons are pointed and right on the money. No foo-foo fluffy talk here, just down to earth impactful examples and simple constructive lessons. it is an easy read that keeps you interested the entire way through. I've recommended this book to dozens of coworkers and in LinkedIn posts and articles I've written. The title is catchy, I mention "Extreme Ownership" in my work meetings and it strikes the target right on and gets peoples attention. I find they start using the phrase in their conversations with some of my other coworkers. Well done Jocko and Leif!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


IC

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is an insightful collection of essays on leadership, for any industry or organization.

Reviewed in the United States on February 13, 2022

Verified Purchase

As the authors say in the book, and I believe, simple does not mean easy. Sometimes the simplest decision or task might be the hardest. They take simple leadership concepts and practices and explain them using their experiences in the military and in civilian business world (in multiple industries) to provide better insight in how to apply those simple principles. Their ideas, stories, lessons overlap with many principles and practices involved in High Reliability Organizations(HROs). I have read this book once. I have started to reread it, this time studying it as I go so it will stick inside me.


I have already started using some of the way they describe the different leadership concepts to improve my ability to lead without a title in my current role. I am impressed and even more appreciative of their ability to explain their ideas and how to put them into practice. I am grateful for their putting this book together to help others become better leaders. I look forward to reading Dichotomy of Leadership and learning more from them.


Read this book and decide for yourself. Their ideas and this work of theirs has had a profound positive impression and effect on how I approach what I do at work, trying to improve the safe delivery of care and work environment at the VA.


Thank you both for your service. Thank you both for the time and effort you took to write this book.

Helpful

Report abuse


Brandon

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book, poor binding...

Reviewed in the United States on March 30, 2019

Verified Purchase

My 5 star review is for content. The books binding however was not great on the copy I received. It was bound upside down...Even the slip cover was on upside down. It isn't a huge deal, kind of ironic when you think about it. A leadership book devoted to improvement and team success being bound incorrectly.

The lessons and content of this book are exceptional. As a military member there are obvious correlations and on the job applications for me to use at my own unit. Beyond that though, the authors provide real world applications to business situations. I would encourage anyone in need of lessons in sound leadership principles to read this book. It offers a unique take on leadership which is rarely addressed by using battlefield and battle tested practices to "win". The principles of extreme ownership are powerful, humbling and necessary for growth. As a petty officer it doesn't absolve me of my own mistakes by allowing me the convenience of blaming my enlisted and commissioned leaders, rather it pushes me to own my own short comings. By checking my own ego I am in a much better position to approach my leadership with questions I have regarding their decision making. This helps me to better organize and lead my own subordinates. This creates more team cohesion and a greater overall understanding of how we all accomplish mission success.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Arto

5.0 out of 5 stars

Multi facetted and expensive... but simple

Reviewed in the United States on September 30, 2021

Verified Purchase

I'm sure many have expanded already, but there is a hierarchical standard operating procedure that is easily remembered and accessed.


You can always go back to the top, you are responsible, and redefine the underlying manifestations from that core.


And a reminder to everyone of the quality of simple hardworking Americans, our armed services, the horror of war, and that we must be judicious in where we send our finest.


In their words, to engage "where we have overwhelming advantages".

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mike B

5.0 out of 5 stars

Simple, yet powerful

Reviewed in the United States on December 26, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is an absolutely great read. To me, there is not a greater sign of leadership than those brave souls who lead elite military groups. Not to undermine our fellow brothers and sisters in the healthcare industry, or any other where decisions are critical in life and death situations, but I feel like this is a tough as it gets. Image being in a foreign, hostile territory taking on heavy fire - surrounded by those who have a deep motivation to kill you, and every decision you make could be a life or death decision for yourself and the group you are leading.


Amazing insight and wisdom in this book, in my opinion. Thank you, Jocko, for sharing your experiences and inspiring me to become a better person and leader. Our society is forever in debt to you and all of the other insanely brave men and women who have fought and lived, fought and died, and those who are currently fighting for a better world. Get some!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Uncle Tony

5.0 out of 5 stars

Buy It. Own It. Love It.

Reviewed in the United States on April 3, 2019

Verified Purchase

I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book as my relationship with my wife desperately needed an adjustment. I anticipated positive reinforcement and steps towards little increments of change, but I couldn't anticipate what actually happened by applying the simple principles found in this book...


As soon as I started owning up to certain issues in our lives, my wife began to make a complete 180 in her attitude towards me. I still remember our first argument after reading the book, I skipped the stress of dragging out an argument, told her "she was right, and that it was my fault. I accept responsibility for so and so... blah blah." She couldn't believe my courage to take such responsibility.


Throughout the week, I began to notice her attraction towards me grew stronger, like our honeymoon phase at the start of the relationship. Then, one day after work, I arrived home to a naked surprise. We had the hottest sex of our lives all thanks to the kick in the ass this book gave me.


Thank you Jocko, thank you Leif.


Now GET AFTER IT and buy this awesome book!

One person found this helpful


tbd

5.0 out of 5 stars

You don’t know it until you know it

Reviewed in the United States on September 20, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book really reinforces the things that leaders already know based on the experiences they’ve gone through in life love and business. But it’s a definitely worth reading and putting into practice as much as possible. Recommended for everyone.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jason, Professional Chef

5.0 out of 5 stars

Get this book now

Reviewed in the United States on December 2, 2019

Verified Purchase

This book is clear, no BS principles that will make you re-examine how you view leadership and everyday life. No, this is not just “war stories” as some reviewers have stated... it is just how they learned their lessons in leadership while in the military. There are business examples after the principle is explained, driving home how to apply it in everyday work environments.


Yes, these principles are not rocket science and might be obvious to you. No one, however, has explained and demonstrated them this direct, clear and concise. No sugar coating either...you must face your own failures and inadequate skills.


If you like this book, grab its companion, the Dichotomy of Leadership. If you can apply both to your life, you will dominate!


Get after it!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Rex Inman

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is THE book that will make ANY team or individual succeed at life!!! A MUST READ!!!

Reviewed in the United States on October 14, 2021

Verified Purchase

This is an amazing book about leadership! It not only will help transform your work life but your overall life also!! The lessons can be used at home, with kids, at church etc. The authors pepper the lessons they learned, in what is most likely the toughest crucible of all, with stories to back up what is taught! They are not desk jockeys or MBAs reading and theorizing. They LIVED it and LEARED it first hand on the gritty and deadly streets of Ramadi, Iraq leading troops where mistakes and poor choices result in death! This should be mandatory reading for all business majors!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


WENDY

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Must Read!

Reviewed in the United States on September 3, 2020

Verified Purchase

I do not say this lightly that I think everyone should read this book! It is not just another self-help manual. The information it contains is applicable to anyone regardless of their station in life - both straight forward and easy to understand! This book is helpful for anyone trying to lead others but also for those trying to develop greater self-discipline. I highly recommend it to anyone!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Victoria

5.0 out of 5 stars

One of the best!

Reviewed in the United States on March 9, 2021

Verified Purchase

Been in management for 25 years and this is one of the books that summarizes leadership concisely and directly. You feel as if the author is speaking directly to you and, in no uncertain terms, holds you responsible as the leader for your team, no matter your position of authority. Highly recommended for those who have experience in management as the lessons become more relevant once you have been through different situations and managed different kinds of people.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Rhonda Litt

5.0 out of 5 stars

A military Trained Procedural Approach that makes common sense

Reviewed in the United States on April 11, 2019

Verified Purchase

I don't want to delve into what a combat soldier let alone SEAL goes through or has seen. I am 100% in awe of our military because I don't have the guts to enlist. The military is government run and full of SOP's and profoundly known for not taking care of their soldiers or veterans upon return. This book is so unique because it comes from a place of skepticism. The military is known to be a SOP, do not question, do not think outside the box, institution. This book transfers the training of a SEAL and melds it with any non-military situation you can think of. These authors have upheld the integrity of the military and enhanced civilian lives all over. Do Not Miss This Book

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mike H.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great lessons in leadership

Reviewed in the United States on November 27, 2019

Verified Purchase

The lessons and stories in this book resonate with me from both a prior military and private sector/commercial application perspective. You don't have to be a door-kicking ninja to get something great out of this book. The Audible edition is equally awesome given the authors are also the narrators.


If you think leadership is about titles, status, wealth/being elitist, delegating blame to others or benefitting through what you believe your subordinates should do for you since you are the boss...you may not get what this book is all about. I encourage you to read it anyway and try to learn at least one thing from it.


One good leader (or one bad one) can make all the difference.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Handle

5.0 out of 5 stars

Do you want a promotion?

Reviewed in the United States on February 26, 2019

Verified Purchase

Can’t stop talking about this book. It literally changed the way I lead/ live my life.

If you follow the book you will build relationship and trust with your employees.

The possibility will become endless. To build an environment that focus on solving problems not blame is priceless. I manage a facility of 159 employees. Watching my frontline leadership take ownership a create solutions has been amazing! They haven’t read the book yet. But your employees will follow the leader. If you want to build a better team start taking ownership of every single problem!


Buy the Book!!!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


SD

5.0 out of 5 stars

Study it!

Reviewed in the United States on October 9, 2018

Verified Purchase

JOCKO and LEIF did a wonderful job bringing lessons from the battlefield to tangeable applications for civilians. I feel like some of the lessons layered in here could be overlooked if you don’t pay attention, so don’t casually read this baby. Study it! I bought several to give to my Attendings in Trauma Surgery.


9 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse