Can't Hurt Me Reviews - 3

Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds

Audible Audiobook – Unabridged

David Goggins (Author, Narrator), Adam Skolnick (Narrator), Lioncrest Publishing (Publisher)


Hannah Tyk

5.0 out of 5 stars

Ignorant 1 star reviews.

Reviewed in the United States on June 15, 2021

Verified Purchase

There are a lot of 1 star reviews where people say the “don’t care for the cussing.” There is a clean version of this book. If you can’t handle reading swears, then do a little bit of searching and realize that there’s a version for you. I also saw a 2 star review where a person complained that they couldn’t work 70 hours a week and run 8 miles a day without balancing their family life, so this book didn’t help them. David Goggins set out to become a navy seal, obviously it’s not directly applicable to your life, and you missed the point.


This man had an incredibly hard upbringing and despite that, he pushed himself beyond his perceived limits. And he challenges you to do the same in the context of your life. I even saw a couple 1 star reviews on the clean version, stating they gave it 1 star because they ordered it on accident. They even thanked him for his service at the end of this 1 star review they gave for their mistake. I also ordered the clean version on accident, cancelled it and got the original version. Why would I leave a bad review for my mistake.


Anyway, I saw these unfounded low star reviews and felt compelled to address them. They all come out of ignorance. The fact is, this book is a well written account of David Goggins’ life with all its trials and tribulations and how he kept pushing through to defy the odds and change his mind to become who he wanted to be. It is great inspiration for anybody who is trying to become who they want to be, which I think is most, if not all of us. I recommend it to everyone. And if you don’t care for swearing, there is a clean version for you :) Have a great day :)

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Chelsea L.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Inspiring and motivational.

Reviewed in the United States on March 22, 2019

Verified Purchase

This book has come in my life as a whim. I saw the title and told myself that this would be worth the read. It definitely is worth it. It is not a normal self help book. It is real and in your face, which is what people need. There is no sugar coating of information. He is true and that is what people need. I needed to read this book at this point in my life. I have been bouncing ideas off of what I want to do. Do I want to change careers or not? It’s been the battle that I have had inside my brain for years now. I started to read this book and realized that it had some hard truths that I needed to hear. I took a break from it and had some serious self evaluation. I picked it back up recently and realized that I need better and that meant I needed to get out of my comfort zone like David Goggins had done countless times. He talks about callousing your mind and you will find what your true potential is. There are cuss words in this book... a lot, but it didn’t stop me from putting this book down. I would recommend it to anyone that needs a little wake up call and to hear the cold honest truth. There is no need to sugar coat your battles, but instead look in that accountability mirror and find what you are truly capable of.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Trevor Lamb

5.0 out of 5 stars

book that kicks your a** for whining and being lazy, you have picked the correct book.

Reviewed in the United States on June 20, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is my favorite book that I have ever read. The way that David Goggins brings his hardships and triumphs to words to share with everyone who will hear him, to acknowledge their "only" so they can begin the battle of being what they want to be, and to break the cycle of mundane to begin the path of discipline to achieve those dreams. On a side note, I also got the audiobook, it has the added bonus of basically a podcast built-in, the author who helped David write the book stops every chapter or so to have a deeper conversation with him about that subject, in that audiobook, there is hidden stories and insight from Goggins that I haven't heard or read anywhere else. Overall the Audiobook is the best deal, however I do like having the hardback as well easier to share with someone, and if I ever get the chance to get him to sign it I will have it.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Omi Barbosa

5.0 out of 5 stars

Extremely Motivational at my 42

Reviewed in the United States on September 20, 2021

Verified Purchase

I could relate to so many phases of Davids life that I couldnt stop reading until the end in 7 days.


This book will propell you and make it clear for you that nothing is impossible and eveything is at your reach with the right focus, power of will and mindset specially in the moments of pain and defying challenges.


I'm 42, an entrepreneur with various businesses, but after finishing the book it made it clear to me that Im and addict to challenges and the frase "What if..."


Love it!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Gardenweeble

5.0 out of 5 stars

True AF

Reviewed in the United States on January 26, 2019

Verified Purchase

I was drawn to Groghins after reading Itzlers 30 days living wth a seal. This isn't as hilarious as Jessie's book. But it is just as real and interesting. And more inspiring.


For those who complain about the language - grow up. He's a Navy SEAL - military guys cuss. Guys who grow up like he did cuss. I find the language authentic. Let him have his voice.


I'm going to try the accountability mirror. Time to own this.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Natalie Edwards

5.0 out of 5 stars

Powerful

Reviewed in the United States on August 14, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book is powerful. Reading David’s story and how he overcame abuse as a child to become they absolute best version of himself he could possibly be is inspiring and powerful. It makes you want to better yourself. It makes you dive in and think of all the bullshit excuses we tell ourselves daily. I really loved this book and can see myself rereading this when I need a swift kick in the butt to get myself back in gear. The language didn’t bother me, but I was in the military myself and my husband is currently serving so maybe I am just use to it. But, honestly, it’s not as bad as some of the reviews make it seem.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


J. Finder

5.0 out of 5 stars

Portrait of a driven man

Reviewed in the United States on June 26, 2021

Verified Purchase

David Goggins is apparently a somewhat controversial figure among his peers. As he puts it a number of times in this book, his goal was to be an outstanding man among outstanding men. Overcoming a difficult childhood and poor early education, through hard work and determination he met and surpassed one goal after another to become a Navy SEAL and then an elite ultra-triathelete. He's also the only one to also graduate the Army Ranger training as well as the Air Force equivalent! However, that drive came at a cost to relationships and health. That intensity also apparently separated him from his cohorts, as he eschewed much of the camaraderie that builds teamwork for intense individual training, something he acknowledges as well.

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great stories, the personal growth is a huge bonus!

Reviewed in the United States on May 11, 2020

Verified Purchase

First, the language. Yes. There is “vulgar” language. But if that is what you take away from this book then you really have no business reading it in the first place. And I wouldn’t be surprised if many of those complaining about the language use those words themselves.


Goggins puts his experiences and life lessons out there for us to learn from. He does an amazing job of recounting each era of his life and demonstrating his growth throughout. The stories are gripping enough of their own and then you get the bonus of understanding his growth and it puts you in a place where you want to get better as well.

Get the book for the stories and you won’t be disappointed. Learn something from it and it’s a bonus. Highly recommend.

Helpful

Report abuse


Steven B Orrico

5.0 out of 5 stars

No More Excuses

Reviewed in the United States on August 22, 2021

Verified Purchase

After having a heart attack which led to a triple bypass, I struggled to get back to a healthy lifestyle. I weighed 214lbs and could barely walk one mile. I came up with every excuse there is. Too old(59), not enough time, too tired, etc. Then a friend recommended this book and so I began reading it. When I learned what this man went through in his life and what he was able to overcome, it made me realize that all my excuses were BS. I had to decide then and there if I was going to control my life or let life control me. I started walking a little each day and would not let anything prevent me from doing that. In 8 months I lost 47lbs and have kept it off for over a year. I have purchased this book for a friend.

Goggins is an amazing man and his story is one that will stay with me for the rest of my life. If you are looking for real motivation and not some “quick fix”, this book is for you, but be prepared because it will make you face yourself right down to your soul, and not everyone is ready for that.


Jerry

5.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing book

Reviewed in the United States on August 1, 2019

Verified Purchase

I have listened to podcasts with David throughout the years. This book goes into so much more detail and really opens your eyes to the challenges he faced. This book is centered around you improving yourself. At the end of each chapter, David gives you a task to perform. You will be required to look within yourself and write down various things. The book is extremely motivating and should help ignite a spark in you to do better. Highly recommend.

One person found this helpful


jeff kuchak

5.0 out of 5 stars

Change your life!

Reviewed in the United States on May 14, 2019

Verified Purchase

Amazing book. Drips truth from every page. As an introvert, I truly appreciate him spelling out his process for dealing with what life throws at you.

He is honest, with you and with himself, this comes through in every page.

The challenges are made to challenge you, they are not easy to do (they are challenges). But to faithfully follow them, you will come out on the better side a better person.

I cannot thank him enough for writing a book that I hands down recommend fully. Thank you.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Peter V

5.0 out of 5 stars

Ignore the SILLY 1-Star Reviews

Reviewed in the United States on July 30, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is not a book of inspiration, this book is the TRUTH. I took my time reading this because Mr. Goggins put his life on every page of this book. It is not egotistical or fluffed it is 100% real. It will make you look at yourself differently and face that which you fear the most. Yourself. The only pause I had after watching interviews of him was these SILLY 1-star reviews regarding the language. Don't hesitate, buy this if you want to know how regular, broken, people find the way to overcome what seems impossible. Thank you Mr. Goggins for putting who you are into this book and being honest with yourself. It has changed the way I see myself when I look in the mirror.

Helpful

Report abuse


Musashi San

5.0 out of 5 stars

Real, often raw, doesn't get better than this!

Reviewed in the United States on August 24, 2019

Verified Purchase

Just finished reading "Can't Hurt Me" by David Goggins. His personal story is mindblowing, challenging, and inspiring. The story begins with the physical and mental abuse he and his family suffered at the hands of his father. I started the book on Father's day and actually had to stop because it was pretty raw (especially since I have two beautiful little boys). His childhood and early adult life were colored by these experienced and racism. However, this only sets the stage for his amazing transformation to become a Navy Seal, Army Ranger, and competitive ultramarathon runner. Equally impressive is his personal journey as he deals with his past, addresses his weaknesses, and pushes himself to learn what the human body and mind are capable of. Highly recommend this book to anyone!*


*One caveat: there are graphic and heartwrenching moments in this book and his inner dialogs are appropriately laced with profanity. If you are quick to judge, easily offended, or seek to live an easy/comfortable life this may not be your cup of tea.

Helpful

Report abuse


Jenny B

5.0 out of 5 stars

Wow!

Reviewed in the United States on December 26, 2018

Verified Purchase

I find that God often places the right book in my hands at the right time. This was one of those moments. After having the courage to break out of my box, I experienced failure. Thank you, David, for telling me what I need to do. I need to do an autopsy on my failure. Learn from it and "get after it". You are an amazing person! As I recreate myself, you will be right there with me via youtube!


This book is more than very good, it is an inspiration. I highly recommend it. I may even buy it in hardback for visible inspiration.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Hermès Trismegistus

5.0 out of 5 stars

Stay Hard!

Reviewed in the United States on July 21, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book is totally inspirational! David Goggins tells the story of his challenging life all the way from his early childhood to his mid 40s. He explains how he developed the mental toughness necessary to become a world famous Navy SEAL and ultra runner. Each chapter of the book covers a time in David Goggins life. Each chapter also ends with a challenge for the reader to take in order for the reader to improve their life as well. If you’re a fan of David Goggins, but this book! If you want to improve your life, but this book! If you’re tired of making excuses, buy this book! If you’re ready to challenge yourself, but this book!

Helpful

Report abuse


Don

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book will change your life.

Reviewed in the United States on March 14, 2019

Verified Purchase

OK, so he's a bit, maybe a lot, over the top. Taping your broken ankles to complete a 100 mile run is not something I would recommend. BUT, he changed my complete attitude toward outside interference and toward my own internal attitude. I have lost 40 pounds, have pushed through minor aches and pains, and have ignored negative input from outsiders all to feel better and make personal gains in my life. Thank you, Dave Goggins!! Read this book with an open mind and a willingness to embrace the attitude changes and you will benefit tremendously.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Clark

5.0 out of 5 stars

STAY HARD!

Reviewed in the United States on April 29, 2021

Verified Purchase

I saw this guy on YouTube and then found this book. Needed some motivation and got it. He is one of those men that live to defy the odds. It costs him personal relationships and had to sacrifice along the way, but he never loses his focus. His mantra of "STAY HARD. STAY SAVAGE" and to not become comfortable is something everyone at any age can apply.


I hated the whole self promotion stuff, when he "challenges" you to go on FB and use his hashtags to promote his book. That is weak and unlike him, but, I am sure he was told to do that by the publisher. He even says in the book how much he dislikes social media. So all the challenges part of the book I would ignore, but the story part was great and gets you fired up.

Helpful

Report abuse


Star Quest

5.0 out of 5 stars

This man knows how to keep it real

Reviewed in the United States on August 10, 2019

Verified Purchase

This book is incredibly powerful. When one wonders how a human being can accomplish so many incredible races and physical obstacles, David Goggins will not shy away from being brutally honest and candid. I think the fact that he had a very difficult and disturbing childhood with a very abusive father had a tremendous impact on his motivation and mental focus to overcome so many incredible challenges in life. This includes let becoming a Navy SEAL, successfully complete Army Ranger training, overcoming severe medical issues, breaking the world record for pull-ups and running multiple ultra marathon’s.

What I appreciated the most was a challenge page at the end of every chapter. It helped me dig deep into my life experiences and process them. I read the first two chapters on a flight from San Francisco to Philadelphia and typed out several pages of stuff to process. Not only did it feel like the fastest coast-to-coast flight ever, I felt incredible mentally strength and confidence after processing my own shortfalls and struggles. I really appreciate how David Goggins challenges the status quo and accepts failure, only to come back and win later. Some parts of the book are too intense for me, but I respect David’s decisions and choices. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn how to keep it real and learn to overcome any obstacle.

Helpful

Report abuse


Melissa

5.0 out of 5 stars

Much more than about fitness!

Reviewed in the United States on November 8, 2019

Verified Purchase

If someone has ever gone through true trauma, this is a book I never heard of this guy until last year. I saw a brief part of an interview with him on YouTube video and I didn't like his demeanor and refused to see / hear anything related to him. Nevertheless, I had a weird feeling I was going to change my mind one day. A few months ago, I saw a preview from an interview he did and I knew instantly I judged him too quickly. This is an amazing book about his life, how far he has come. I love the challenges he has at the end of each chapter.

Because of his amazing physical accomplishments, many tend to think his message mainly relates to fitness / ultra-marathons, but it is SO much more than about that and I wish people could get that.

Helpful

Report abuse


Lorrie A. Oyer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Learn what you can from this book

Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2020

Verified Purchase

There's no single book that contains all you need to know about success. What works for one person may not work for you. I believe the principles outlined this book can work for nearly everyone. You just have to find a way to do them. Obviously at 59, I am not going to be an Army Ranger or a Navy Seal. But I began to see the flaws in my everyday thinking that were causing me to fail. That failure manifested itself in settling for jobs I hated and in neglecting myself.

When you follow his steps, one of which is writing things down in a journal, you can't hide from the truth. You'll either do what it takes to change, or you'll live with your problems forever. I appreciate more and more that the author didn't sugar-coat the process. It's a lifetime commitment to yourself, not a 30-day guarantee of wealth, beauty and all that b.s. that a lot of self-help "gurus" promise.


Joann Everett

5.0 out of 5 stars

Inspiring. Loved it from start to finish

Reviewed in the United States on December 31, 2019

Verified Purchase

Very inspiring. David Goggins does not sugar coat the material in his book, so if you are offended by cussing, and have been living under a rock and do not know how sailors talk, this book is not for you.

I am so grateful for David Goggins sharing his life with us-the struggles, and the cookies he earned in his cookie jar. Thank you for showing us that it’s ok to be yourself. We all have struggles to overcome, and we can should we put forth the effort. I laughed audibly several times from his descriptive language-especially when he spoke about jacking steel in the gym with SBG. Well done David Goggins!

Helpful

Report abuse


Oliver Wu

5.0 out of 5 stars

10 Stars

Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2020

Verified Purchase

If I could give it 10 stars I would. Perhaps it was reading this book at this journey in my life, but I resonated with his upbringing, a tough and complex sometimes unrelenting life. But Goggins exemplifies grit and determination. I appreciate how he tells his story and drives others to elevate above motivation, past momentary success and ultimately to callus the mind and persevere through lives unfair challenges!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


wastudiomom

5.0 out of 5 stars

So unexpected

Reviewed in the United States on January 5, 2022

Verified Purchase

My son suggested I read this, it took a while because with all the reality of life I enjoy relaxing with a HEA book but this was enlightening. I think every angry teen who feels less than should read this or anyone who had been underestimated/discounted. Especially if they are a different.

I don't know how my son found this but it is absolutely worth the time. Don't give up, I got thru the first quarter quickly but the middle - while important was difficult. The last quarter was quick too. Well written, I will absolutely keep these lessons in mind to achieve some goals I have been putting off.

Helpful

Report abuse


JR

5.0 out of 5 stars

Strong book from a strong willed man.

Reviewed in the United States on January 16, 2019

Verified Purchase

Disregard the naysayers. This book is a no nonsense crash course into self improvement.

Negative comments: it's misogynistic, and foul language.


Response: look at the content of the parcel, not the wrapping paper. People sometimes get lost on how things are worded instead of what is being said, and in doing so miss the point all together. Offense takes acquiescence and in doing so have shorted themselves a valuable opportunity for growth and self actualization.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Cindee

5.0 out of 5 stars

Perfect timing

Reviewed in the United States on April 4, 2021

Verified Purchase

I needed to read your story. After 62 years of abuse, molested at the age of eight, raped at 22 in front of my 2 1/2 year old daughter, punched, strangled, pushed down the stairs, wasn't good enough & never will be...I never knew what love looks like, much less what it feels like to just be loved for being me. I was also born with an ASD, discovered at the age of 45, when I had my first stroke, I have had two. Open-heart surgery was needed to repair the defect, but due to a surgeon's error, my sinus atrial node was damaged, resulting in 3rd degree heart block. 9 days post-op, I became battery powered with pacemaker implantation. I am now 66 years old, divorcing my 4th abusive husband. In therapy for PTSD, the psychological, emotional, & financial destruction is overwhelming. Tired of the fighting to be abuser free...and then I found your book. It allowed me to remember the battles I have won, because I fought back. I am not a quitter. Battery powered with " stroke brain" I learned to drive a semi at the age of 56, become a licensed massage therapist at 62, a certified master health & life coach, a certified esthetician, & a certified personal trainer at 66. Your story allowed me to see MY story. To truly see me, not just a reflection in the mirror, but to see me, as I am...I don't give up! Thank you for sharing your story. It's time for me to write my next chapter.

Helpful

Report abuse


Jennifer M P

5.0 out of 5 stars

He’s a badass yet humble and inspiring

Reviewed in the United States on January 30, 2019

Verified Purchase

His story is unbelievable. At times you would even think you’re reading a fictional tale. The writing was authentic, engaging and inspirational. His words will certainly leave an impression on you.


As many mentioned, I’ll agree that the vulgarity was a little overpowering at the beginning, but as I continued to read it no longer phased me; as you learn that is who he is as a person. Don’t let those reviews steer you.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Galt137

5.0 out of 5 stars

Best Book I've Read In Years

Reviewed in the United States on December 11, 2018

Verified Purchase

I read a book a week (all non-fiction). This book has impacted me more than any other that I can remember in recent years. Sometimes you need a kick in the teeth to straighten yourself out, and Goggins does this.


If you really want to change your life, read this book, study it, and do what he says. Goggins has gone through some extreme lows in life, and on the flip-side, achieved extremely remarkable and rare things. The man is an outlier. And that's precisely why what he says is valuable.


This isn't some self-help book written by someone who hasn't accomplished anything significant (like most self-help books). This man has done and experienced things that very few ever will.


Lots of people will read this book. Most will love it. Some will act on it the way Goggins intended.


If you one of the few who will act, your life will never be the same - your goals will be higher, and your body and mind will be healthier. Your new lifestyle begins with Can't Hurt Me.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Joker

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book. Can't Hurt Me

Reviewed in the United States on January 14, 2021

Verified Purchase

Absolutely amazing. I just received the book today & in a couple of hours I'm already over 100 page's in!!! Had to force myself to take a break & absorb all the the great advice in it!! It's a great but & read!!!!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


MagicMike

5.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing and inspirational story

Reviewed in the United States on October 29, 2020

Verified Purchase

I want to run through a brick wall after reading this book. This is not only an incredible story, but the book is written very well too. Not only will you be inspired by hearing David’s story, but the book features practical life advice for the general population as well.


Also, for those rating this book one star because of the language: shame on you. You should not be hurting the score of this incredible book because of your weakness and sensitivity. Tough men talk like the language in this book. And without these tough men, you would be a lamp shade. Not everyone had as easy and privileged of an upbringing as those of you that can’t handle a “bad” word. It is stunning to me that the content of this book was fully offset by use of the F word in the minds of some people.

Helpful

Report abuse


Mario Carlos

5.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Reviewed in the United States on December 4, 2018

Verified Purchase

What an amazing book. It will drive you to much more in your life.

10 people found this helpful


Crawford A. Wilson III

5.0 out of 5 stars

a MUST especially for those believe they "CANT"

Reviewed in the United States on September 30, 2019

Verified Purchase

With exception of the salty language used from time to time, the words and experiences in this book are a MUST for those who believe they CANT and have a "victim" mindset. As a teacher, I use mindset in class and am actively trying to get my students to understand it and grow out of it. This book has all kinds of GEMS and is a perfect plan to overcome ALL obstacles one has placed in their OWN way!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Charlie

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is what I needed.

Reviewed in the United States on September 17, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book is on point in so many ways it’s not even funny. He has done so much crazy ass shiat, yet as he says it’s available to us all to look for that mindset that will break through to remove the governor off of our minds and push ourselves. If we would actually do this it would show us that on the other side of pain and suffering is a whole new world. Thank you David, I started walking a week ago at 2 miles at 3am & 5pm, I’m now up to 7, not quite running yet, but I’m going to get there. Now I need to learn how to stretch. Keep on keepin on brother.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


ParadoxicalTree

5.0 out of 5 stars

It's not too bad. Fastest book I finished in 5 years.

Reviewed in the United States on January 15, 2021

Verified Purchase

I've been trying to get back into reading for a while now and this is probably the fastest book I've finished in over half a decade. Bought it on the 13th, finished it on the 15th. Here's my honest opinion of the book.


If you're after a traditional self-help book, this book isn't for you. It's narrative-drive and autobiographical in style. You get a deep peek into the life that is David Goggins. In a way, it was like reading a novel, except it's about a real person and written by the man himself. The details are raw and real, with no fluff or pandering to the politically correct. Profanity-wise, it's not that bad. Sure, there's a few here and there but it's not on every page and every sentence like how other reviews are making it out to be. The profanity is pulled out where it counts.


The lessons in the book are different but similar to other self-help books - except Goggins' story makes them feel fresh.


The only real negative thing I felt about the book was that his army career narrative did get a bit repetitive. Yes, he did the SEAL training, then he did a bunch of other ones. But after a while, all the training started to sound the same - hard, designed to break a person and how he moved through them. There was a brief moment of boredom trying to read them but they eventually passed and we moved onto other parts of life narrative. The variety and growth came when he did the different ultras.


Overall, I did enjoy the book and it has moved me to reassess myself, what I want from my life and why I do the things I do. I like the no bs kind of language and the lack of fluff that traditionally structured self-help books have.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Tyler

5.0 out of 5 stars

Powerful Book - No BS

Reviewed in the United States on December 13, 2018

Verified Purchase

Have been following David Goggins for a while and was excited for this book. Expected a great book but this one blew my mind. From page one to the end it is real, inspiring, gritty, encouraging, but remains true to Goggin's tough upbringing and life. My heart pounded reading this book. You get placed in his world and you feel you are right there with him. You feel the anger, rage, sadness, defeat, and victories with him. I am glad that this book has come out in the age of "self-help" gurus and "life-hacks" Goggins lays out his belief through suffering comes victory. This book doesn't make you want to run through a brick wall, it actually makes you believe you can! I cannot say enough about this. To put things in perspective, I got this book Friday night and finished by Monday. I skipped watching football to read this book. Everyone should read this!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Travl_grl

5.0 out of 5 stars

One of the most life-changing books I've read

Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2020

Verified Purchase

Wow! What a great story of perseverance, commitment, and failure, then to final mental resurrection & success.

I found David from motivational video clips of him on YouTube and fell in love with his no b.s. attitude and small, yet significant, mental anecdotes. I lost 15 pounds in 6 weeks after reading this book and watching him in his facebook and YouTube videos. I listen to him when I run and then I don't stop until my goals are met. I've NEVER been able to do that before.

Is the book cheesy in some parts? Of course but it's also logical and encouraging because of his background and strong example of his mom. We all have struggles that no one sees or can understand and most of his trials are applicable to me, in one way or another.

Guilt, shame, disappointment, regret, and negative self-talk are a few of the most damaging trials we all deal with throughout our lives and I realize from his outstanding example that he's setting the precedent for success of anyone and everyone.

His mantras are played over and over in my head throughout each day as I deal with difficult people and I've been able to harden my mind against toxic people, not letting them occupy space in MY head any longer. That's helped me spend more time on me and got me to another level.

I think this book can help anyone if they crave change as I did. There is good to gain from good books and anazing people and take those nuggets of good and use the hell out of them to make yourself better.

Stay Hard.

Helpful

Report abuse


Reed Reynolds

5.0 out of 5 stars

No BS. Just the raw, sometimes uncomfortable, truth.

Reviewed in the United States on May 7, 2019

Verified Purchase

Love everything that Goggins stands for. This book will make you realize that there are no good excuses to avoid doing hard, meaningful work. It will motivate you to push yourself harder, even if you think you're already working hard. His motto to be uncommon amongst uncommon people is such a great way think about your life goals.


For all the people who were butthurt by all the cussing and foul language and gave this book 1-star: this is the EXACT weak and soft mindset that has become so pervasive these days, and what Goggins is explicitly telling you to overcome! The fact that you were so bothered by some swear words on a page of book, that you took the time to give a 1-star review, pretty much screams "I'm soft!" It seems you are the exact people who could benefit most from this book!


Stay hard!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mel2112

5.0 out of 5 stars

A good book if you want to become stronger.

Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2019

Verified Purchase

I’m glad I didn’t listen to all the comments of reviewers. Sensitive people who are offended by swear words.

Clearly they are all the other 99% who haven’t been to hell as kids.


So don’t listen to them , some feminists, others puritans,

They are the ones that talk bad behind people’s backs at work and church.


It is a great audio book.

Congratulations David

Oh and by the way p**sy is someone who is fearful he’s not referring to a vagina. Lol.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


John C.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Bottom line- are you done living at 30%-40% of your potential?

Reviewed in the United States on September 21, 2019

Verified Purchase

A- #1, life changing, or life affirming. Depending on either how honest you have been with yourself over the years, this book will either confirm you or challenge you. If you’re completely delusional, you’ll walk away offended, or underwhelmed, because this man is not selling a dream- he’s bitchslapping delusionals, slackers, whiners, complainers, excusers, etc., and proving his only point the whole way- pointing the finger at self is ALL real winners focus on.

An obsession with self analysis, self motivation, mastery of one’s own mind, emotions, decision making process improvement, walking in courage and leaving fear, excuses and circumstances behind. Time to grow up, get hard and stay hard. #canthurtme

Helpful

Report abuse


L. Barrell

5.0 out of 5 stars

You Can Be Far More Than You've Ever Imagined....

Reviewed in the United States on September 17, 2019

Verified Purchase

Years ago, I saw David Goggins jump out of an airplane before the start of the Ironman World Championship in Hawaii; hours later, I saw him cross the finish line. Just two months ago, I happened upon a YouTube vid of him giving one of his many messages about resolve and discipline and truefacedness. Then in August, I was volunteering at the Leadville 100 and suddenly had him at my aid station, running one of the toughest ultras on the planet. "Can't Hurt Me" will challenge you and haunt you if you let it.... it will open a path to reckless abandonment to being your very best self, and not caring about the opinions or judgments of others. How freeing!! I'm still early in this journey, but can't recommend this book highly enough!! Get it today!!!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jason

5.0 out of 5 stars

The Story of a Real Life Hero

Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2019

Verified Purchase

I have never written a review before. But I had to for this book because it moved me so much. This is the non-fiction version of any fantasy hero story you have ever read. A journey of a man starting at the lowest point, the worse circumstances, and he fights to rise above. he has not hidden super power. He has no special talents. But he develops one through sheer willpower of not give up or give in. Incredible. READ THIS BOOK! Doesn’t matter what we have been through in life Goggins Probably went through worse and if he can get through it we can too.

2 people found this helpful


Kristy Von

5.0 out of 5 stars

It’s a must read book! Life changing

Reviewed in the United States on April 23, 2021

Verified Purchase

He gets raw and real in this book. I love it because he isnt afraid to be real and lay it down without any sugar coating. I love the way he writes this book, as if your friend is telling you a story. I keep seeing these bad reviews condemning him for using some cursing in his writing.. if that's all you got from this book, you need a reality check. It’s raw and real! Life isnt always rainbows and sunshine. I actually found it very refreshing. True emotions put on paper. This book is so powerful and there is so much this book has to offer. I commend him for his strength. This book was life changing for me. I would recommend doing the audio version. You get so much more content from the Author and it’s pure gold. Thankyou David for your raw truth and Thankyou for the inspiration.

Helpful

Report abuse


Mj B.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Truly amazing book! It will exceed your expectations!

Reviewed in the United States on September 24, 2019

Verified Purchase

This book is not filled with arrogance or pompous words. It was written as if the author is your next door neighbor telling you his life story during a bbq. I thought the words chosen to depict his story made it sound more down-to-earth and not superficial. There's nothing superficial about this guy, he's beyond amazing. The advice he gives is legit, it's not riddled with politically correct b.s. it's heartfelt and genuine. I loved the book more than words can express and I now have put this young man as one of my heroes. I savored every story and have recommended this book to all my family by now. It's inspiring, and will get you thinking and doing, it will get you off your butt, most importantly. Buy it asap, you won't regret it!!!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jennifer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must read

Reviewed in the United States on January 30, 2021

Verified Purchase

In personal journey, I am still coming to realize that motivation is a short-burst of energy. Brute forcing yourself to conquer discomfort is how goals are met. David Goggins is a prime example of how sheer determination WILL propel a person to succeed. If everyone were to function at a fraction of his level, we’d all be spartans. Goggins is set apart from survivors, by the way. His battles and ultimately his war is not to flee an enemy and wasn’t brought on by a crisis. He made a war with himself. He wins some, he loses some, but he is constantly fighting, zero tolerance. He is a modern day warrior. You simply must read his story. It’s inspiring.

Helpful

Report abuse


Larry Mullins

5.0 out of 5 stars

The Number One Book on the Kennedy Assassination

Reviewed in the United States on February 21, 2019

Verified Purchase

Mark Lane's brilliant chronology of how he turned the tables on the CIA and defeated them in a Florida Courtroom. In the words of the Jury forewoman, Leslie Armstrong : "Mr. Lane was asking us to do something very difficult. He was asking us to believe that John Kennedy was killed by our own government. Yet when we examined the evidence, we were compelled to believe that the CIA had indeed killed President Kennedy." Yet the mainstream press failed to acknowledge this groundbreaking achievement.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Ano Negasi

5.0 out of 5 stars

More than hype

Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2021

Verified Purchase

I slept on this book for the longest being satisfied with his (Goggins’) clips and interviews on YouTube and Instagram. However having pending a surgery I am currently recovering from I decided to buy this book because I figured it would help pass the time healing up as bad figured I’d like it since I already liked him from the aforementioned clips and videos. Fortunately (and unfortunately) I ended up loving this book because it provided so many life lessons and it was on no preachy vibe either. This book not only provided lessons that were relatable but he also stopped to put it into them into PRACTICAL chapters that I made sure to bookmark with the Kindle app and so that I could come back later to utilize. The unfortunate part about this book being beyond the hype and actually being worth someone’s time to read is the fact that the way he told his stories not only made you believe him but it kept you and held you their captive making it hard to put down the tablet or phone and go to sleep or do chores.


This book was simply amazing and beyond the hype. The cursing made it that much authentic and if you are sensitive and/or don’t want kids to read it then try to find the edited version or something because it’s raw and unfiltered.


Respectfully,


Ano

Helpful

Report abuse


BESTPHX

5.0 out of 5 stars

Military no B.S. Motivation

Reviewed in the United States on May 23, 2020

Verified Purchase

To the reviewers (snowflakes) who were "offended by the cussing" get over it. You know you're reading a book by a man who served in the military. Anyone who knows the military understands that the military doesn't use flowery politically correct language. Get over the cuss words, get over yourselves and be mature enough to read the message and motivation in the book. How about embrace the "You Can't Hurt Me" title by reading it with a mature mind and not getting butt-hurt by a few bad words. Maybe that's the weakness of many people looking for strength in a book, because you can't even get past a few small things. Also check out David's YouTube videos if you're interested in hearing him speak and talk about not only his life, but running, the physical issues he's overcome etc.

Helpful

Report abuse


Dameek11

5.0 out of 5 stars

Read this book an it will inspire you

Reviewed in the United States on April 4, 2020

Verified Purchase

David Goggins is an absolute beast! His no BS, straight talk, tell it like it is approach is what most people need to hear and never do. David is not about excuses but getting it done. This book is very powerful and provides a blueprint for improving your life in whatever condition it is. His message applies to everyone and can be used by anyone. Simply put, David is an inspiration and his message has certainly reached me and others that have read it. Don