GREG MCKEOWN - Achieve More Success By Doing Less With Essentialism

Jeff's Training System has been the most successful product I have ever purchased. It is a complete package and it really helped me to increase my affiliate cash flow. The system also helped me improve my social media conversion and increased the lifetime value of my customers/affiliates! Overall, Jeff's training system was a huge success for me as an online marketer!

Don't do more today than you can fully recover from by tomorrow!


Create the life you've always wanted! 👉 https://getentre.com/fFpEM


Essentialism helps you to focus on what really matters to use your time and effort wisely by doing less. That’s the secret to achieving more success in what you want!


Join us in this episode with Greg McKeown, leadership and business strategist, public speaker, and author, who talks about how to discern the absolutely essential so you can make the greatest contribution towards the things that really matter.


McKeown is a New York Times best-selling author and leads The Essentialism Academy, a place created for the smart investment of your time to help you live more deliberately.


You'll want to see this episode until the end!


Check Out More of Greg’s Content Here 👇


💻 https://gregmckeown.com/


📖 Essentialism - https://www.amazon.com/Essentialism-D...


📖 Effortless - https://www.amazon.com/Effortless-Mak...


💡 1-Minute Wednesday Newsletter - https://gregmckeown.com/#header-newsl...


🎙️ What's Essential Podcast 👉 https://gregmckeown.com/podcast/


ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/in/gregmckeown


📺 YT 👉 https://www.youtube.com/user/gregorym...


🖥️ FB 👉 https://www.facebook.com/GregMcKeownS...


⌨️ Twitter 👉 https://twitter.com/GregoryMcKeown


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/gregorymcke...


---------------------------

👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 Tired of struggling alone? Join ENTRE Nation - the Internet's #1 community of entrepreneurs and awesome life creators:

https://www.ENTREnation.com


--------------------------------

Subscribe to this YouTube channel for exclusive training on marketing, sales, entrepreneurship, and investing...

▶️ https://youtube.com/jefflernerofficia...


--------------------------------

Follow Me across Social Media for more free training and exclusive content...

🔔 https://TrainingWithJeff.com/social


--------------------------------

ENTREpreneur merch:

🛒 https://store.entrenation.com


--------------------------------

🤑 WANT TO BE AN AFFILIATE OF MY PROGRAMS? 🤑

https://affiliates.entreinstitute.com (free affiliate program)


#jefflerner #entrepreneur #business



GREG MCKEOWN

Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less

Audible Audiobook – Unabridged

Greg McKeown (Author, Narrator), Random House Audio (Publisher)

4.6 out of 5 stars

8,838 ratings


jane brewer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Useful at any age.

Reviewed in the United States on December 31, 2017

Verified Purchase

I am 72. I have taken parts of this book and applied them to my life. It’s never to late to learn new ways of making your life more satisfying. Read and re read this book frequently. It is a book to be studied as you become able to do less but do it better. Essentialism is amazing. It really feels like a Happy New Year. Make notes and review them often while you reshape your life.

20 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Tyson Rhudy

5.0 out of 5 stars

Truly transformative

Reviewed in the United States on August 5, 2019

Verified Purchase

In recent roles especially in technology I've been in positions that demand tremendous amounts of breadth and depth to cover areas of responsibility. Some of this comes with the territory in being involved with smaller organizations where you have to wear "multiple hats." Also, much of this comes from our pace of life, requiring energy being spent in all directions with personal, professional and family priorities often in competition with each other.


Essentialism was a special book in that it enabled me to more take comfort in the idea that less is more. The notion is to truly focus on being 100% committed to the activities and commitments that you take on and to be comfortable in the art of saying no. Both professionally and personally this has allowed me to be more focused, less frantic, more happy and more productive.


Saying no is no small task however. This process takes a constant practice of self-analysis, self-discipline and cruel priority assessments. In order to be in a more present mindset, to be more focused and to hit key milestones I’ve found it crucial.


Even the graphics of the book provide a powerful visual reminder of the process. Routinely, I find myself speaking of the process of simplifying, focusing and spending more energy on key priorities rather that covering all the bases in life. I often loan, recommend or have purchased this for those that I find have the same energy that when not focused correctly can lead to burnout or worse. Take a read, it will be worth it!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jason Wright

5.0 out of 5 stars

Best nonfiction I’ve read in years

Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2021

Verified Purchase

Effortless is a rare flavor of highly entertaining, page-turning non-fiction. I devoured the book in a day and I’m listening to it on audio now.


Few books are truly for everyone, but Effortless sure is.


Highly researched, with plenty of anecdotes to illustrate his principles, the book has actionable advice on every page. (Burnout is not a badge of honor!)


And the closing story, deeply personal and beautifully transparent on his family’s struggle with their daughter’s health, is worth the cover price alone.

Helpful

Report abuse


3fan

5.0 out of 5 stars

Fantastic read and re-read! 🙌

Reviewed in the United States on November 23, 2019

Verified Purchase

My favorite book to reread as a refresher in the pursuit of doing less but better! Especially the last chapter, so much insightful information! Thank you!! This book is a must read to anyone that but especially those who have worked hard to get where they are and the opportunities are coming in, which is fantastic, but also overwhelming and can easily take you off track.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jose L Santos

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is the book

Reviewed in the United States on February 8, 2021

Verified Purchase

Although I have read many books in my life, I rarely identify with one as much as aI did with Essentialism, the disciplined pursuit of less. It is obvious Greg invested a lot of time and energy in this book and made it a powerhouse of invaluable wisdom. I can honestly say this book made me a better person, a better professional and a better human being. Thank you, Greg! Keep up the good work. P.S. it is interesting to note that although I live in the U.S., I found out about this book while watching an online IT workshop in Brazil. One of speakers spoke highly about the book and it catches my attention.

Helpful

Report abuse


David R

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must-Read

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2019

Verified Purchase

I've read this book going on 3 times now and every single time, I take away something deeply impactful. As an entrepreneur, I am naturally susceptible to the "shiny-object" syndrome - or the idea that my attention is constantly fragmented by the "urgent". The author is helping me overcome this bad habit and prioritize what will actually move my life in the direction I want it to go.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


J. D. Schramm

5.0 out of 5 stars

Essentialism: an essential read

Reviewed in the United States on March 7, 2021

Verified Purchase

Rarely does a book so fully alter how I look at the world, but Essentialism did. Greg McKeown has a brilliant mastery of the English language and beautifully weaves research and narrative. I chose to read this in 21 days (okay, truth be told it took me 28) as a part of a two-person book group. It was a gamechanger for me to focus on what's the most important step for me to take right now. Give yourself a gift...read and act upon this book NOW...so you are ready for Effortless which is due out in April 2021. I cannot wait to dive in again on another McKeown book.


One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


BDS

5.0 out of 5 stars

Thought Provoking and Inspiring

Reviewed in the United States on July 4, 2018

Verified Purchase

This was a very good read. I’m walking away from reading this inspired to make real change in my life happen, which is something I can say of very few books. Essentialism is intriguing, but the possibilities it brings are exciting. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and everyone in a high stress job, anyone who feels overwhelmed, and anyone who has perfectionist or do-it-all tendencies.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Stephanie

5.0 out of 5 stars

integrate simplicity into your life :)

Reviewed in the United States on February 27, 2021

Verified Purchase

when things feel chaotic and stressful, I always keep this idea in mind! just creating space, purging, eliminating unnecessary tasks... all of this has helped me live more simply. the book really helps to understand what essentialism entails, so you can implement it into your own life.


of all the personal devt I've read over the years, there are a handful I've kept to re-read because of level of impact, and this is one of them!

Helpful

Report abuse


financegal

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book stirred my creative juices

Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2015

Verified Purchase

I really enjoyed reading this book. It enabled me to stand back and assess my business and personal life to determine what was important to me and how that might shape my actions going forward. It has inspired me to redesign my business from the bottom up and redesign my work week. The author's comment about using fun and fantasy to stir creative juices was particularly compelling to me. I also loved his tip that "if the answer is not a definite yes, than it should be a No.


Some other takeaways were to focus on the hardest things first and to try to make execution effortless. He encourages minimalism by urging us to consider the simplest possible product/service that we can provide to our customers. He notes that the most creative individuals use strict routines to free up their mind.


Probably the best business book I have read in awhile.

5 people found this helpful


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

How to Get More Done in Less Time

Reviewed in the United States on January 29, 2019

Verified Purchase

That's what Essentialism means to me. This book was full of practical ways to evaluate what is truly essential vs what is non-essential. Eliminate the non-essential so you can focus on what really matters to you.


It's not necessarily easy because you're going to have to learn how to say "no" more than you probably ever have before. And that makes many people at least a bit uncomfortable. Yet you are probably wasting a lot of time on things you don't really want to do because you don't say "no" to non-essential projects and activities.


If you're serious about eliminating the non-essential from your life and taking back control of your time and your life, then read this book.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Copper Top

5.0 out of 5 stars

Clearity of what's really important in life

Reviewed in the United States on April 25, 2021

Verified Purchase

In my mid 50's and thinking of retirement and where I'll be over the next 10 years, I started to notice all the stuff I accumulated over the years and if they really served a purpose or have purpose going forward in my life.


This book helped me realized that your quality of life is not based on Things and Stuff you collected and when you declutter those things from your life, you have a clearer picture and memories of things that are most important in life.

Helpful

Report abuse


Carrie

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must Read

Reviewed in the United States on January 4, 2020

Verified Purchase

If you’re goal is to do less but make more, this is the book for you. The philosophy taught in this book is, well, essential. While reading this book I’ve been able to reset my mindset to start only doing the things that truly matter to me and cut out all the BS that just clutters my life and prevents me from propelling into the life I dream of having. Very excited to see how the essentialism method shapes 2020 and each year following.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amy

5.0 out of 5 stars

Fantastic read - a keeper!

Reviewed in the United States on January 25, 2017

Verified Purchase

Fantastically written. I have found myself highlighting and taking notes along the way. Very clearly written and with the perfect balance of anecdotes and wisdom, very inspiring all around. I would recommend it to anyone who is like me and feeling overwhelmed much of the time. I used to say yes to things because I am enthusiastic and eager, but realize it is far more valuable to really hone in on what matters most.

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Tish Bouvier

5.0 out of 5 stars

Declutter your life

Reviewed in the United States on April 3, 2021

Verified Purchase

Excellent read for living a purpose and meaningful life without the clutter and the noise of everyday distractions. After reading this book, I am able to apply the essential principles to my work and personal life. Saying no, setting buffers, prioritizing, and putting what matters first has never been so is easy. Less is more equals success.

Helpful

Report abuse


Angel O

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book changed my way of thinking and doing!

Reviewed in the United States on January 11, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book came into my life at the most ESSENTIAL moment in time. I thought I had clarity but the things I were doing weren't clear to me, to what I wanted and decided to do. If that sounds like you, or you want to simplify your life, please read this book. It is easily digestible, has amazingly simple applications you can put into practice (I am a Notion user and I am creating my Notion Setup while referring back to this book.) If you're unclear or struggling to focus on things, these book can help you IF you are willing to actually put it into practice. Please don't let this be another book you read and forget. Do what's written for 1 month as I am and build up these essentialist habits and when they work stick with the ROUTINE that works best for you. It will only help you spend more time doing what you were meant to do and designed to do. You got this let's get it!

Helpful

Report abuse


fsma

5.0 out of 5 stars

The bigger YES

Reviewed in the United States on November 2, 2015

Verified Purchase

Essentialism is about "keeping the main thing, the main thing", "the bigger yes". A very different mindset that chooses certain direction and accepts that trade-offs are part of life. It requires saying "no" to many good, interesting options since we have said "Yes" to a choice we believe is the best aligned with our life mission. Ironically it also means exploring more before a choice is made. I teared a bit when I read the vivid example of Essentialism when a "date" between a speaker and his daughter Cynthia is much more worthy than saying yes to an invitation from an old acquaintance in San Francisco (Chapter 11 about the Graceful No).


Highly recommended reading to help us focus back on the Vital Few than Trivial Many.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Timothy Woo

5.0 out of 5 stars

How to use this book to take action if you're a business owner or employee...

Reviewed in the United States on December 12, 2016

Verified Purchase

Really great book on getting clear on what needs to get done. Entrepreneurs who have lots of "visions" and "ideas" could use this and supplement it with having a project manager to make their life easier. A project manager who can safely tell you whether an idea is worth doing or not is invaluable for getting more done in your business and life.


And for employees, you can use this idea to help your employer by offering to help them filter ideas and focus on one thing, one project that drives the business forward.


Great book, and highly executable if used properly.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


TheCondor25

5.0 out of 5 stars

Honestly the best book I’ve read this year!!

Reviewed in the United States on April 6, 2020

Verified Purchase

Honestly the best book I’ve read this year!! Greg McKeown shares his simple pattern for living a more abundant life. It isn’t always easy to change how you live your life and Mr. McKeown acknowledges that in his thoughtful writing. I have shared his beautiful book with many friends and colleagues. If you feel overwhelmed, undervalued, or overcome by the life you are living, read Essentialism and act.

As a school administrator, my faculty will join me in an Essentialism book study next fall. Mr. McKeown’s practical directives will offer them a roadmap to less stress and more effectiveness.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Tanis Coralee Leonhardi

5.0 out of 5 stars

What do YOU need

Reviewed in the United States on January 11, 2020

Verified Purchase

Not what do other people want you to read or what do other people want you to buy, what about what YOU want. Your life is your life, sometimes cutting back is helpful in realizing what it is we really need and want in our lives. And sometimes we realize it is not what other people are telling us. Essentialism is a good approach when sifting through things you have or things you do to find the core most important things to you. I have found it particularly effective when paired with slowing down.


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Clear, Concise, Transformative

Reviewed in the United States on December 30, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book is a great North star for determining what is essential and what to let go of. It is transformative--clear, concise, and life changing--not just for business but for life in general. It lets you see, and then eliminate things that are life-draining so that you can focus on what really matters. Highly, highly recommended.

Helpful

Report abuse


Christie3G

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is an amazing read for anyone who struggles with creating balance in ...

Reviewed in the United States on April 19, 2018

Verified Purchase

This is an amazing read for anyone who struggles with creating balance in their life.

I work in a hotel because I love the unpredictability of my day to day (and of course the travel!), but this can make creating balance seems more like a lofty goal than an action.

This book really helped me see how to create the right boundaries and focus on the essentials to be more productive and passionate with my work; therefore, giving myself the space for balance. Highly recommended, especially for all my hospitality friends.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Nichole

5.0 out of 5 stars

Life changing book!

Reviewed in the United States on July 29, 2019

Verified Purchase

This is a fantastic read of you are anything like me and have shiny object syndrome: you start one thing then get sidetracked or derailed before finishing. It also gave me the motivation to declutter my home and life- lots of great life changes from reading this!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Karen Seaton

5.0 out of 5 stars

Amazingly great read!

Reviewed in the United States on January 28, 2021

Verified Purchase

Essentialism is an awesome book. This book helps you to understand what’s most important and how to weed out all the other things in life. It tells how you can be more successful in life by doing what’s most important to you. It is an easy read and so helpful. Anyone wanting to work on themselves should read this book!

Helpful

Report abuse


S

5.0 out of 5 stars

Choose what is essential

Reviewed in the United States on October 23, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book was an eye opener for me. The author gives a great explanation of the difference between non-essentialist and an essentialist. I have noticed that I do non-essentialist things and want to focus on what is important. He provides great tips on how to become an essentialist and to live life simply and to the fullest. I highly recommend this book

Helpful

Report abuse


Eric Leszkowicz

5.0 out of 5 stars

Exactly the advice you knew but needed

Reviewed in the United States on January 8, 2016

Verified Purchase

The book is fabulously written and the audiobook narration is perfection. The advice in the book is advice you have heard in some form somewhere, but the presentation here is outstanding.


What I find most business books doing is rehashing tired and worn examples and giving a principle but failing to give an application. For example I dare you to find a marketing book that does not mention Starbucks or Apple.


Here in this book are multiple ways for you to apply essentialism. It breaks down and dissects very carefully what it is and how to become an essentialist. It is by far my favorite book that I have read in years.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Juan Arroyo

5.0 out of 5 stars

A very simple way to go back the figuring it what is priority

Reviewed in the United States on August 5, 2015

Verified Purchase

What a bold and challenging book. In these days of constant connectivity, this books help breakaway from the information overload and go back to "keeping the main thing, the main thing."


I'm still processing my notes on this book but there's too much to tell here.


What you'll find in the pages is a group of different questions and exercises that will help you identify which are your vital few. All concepts come with an example that illustrates the concept.


I also highlighted several of the questions used to explain the concepts in the book. These question were very specific and helped me move beyond excuses and really pinpoint possible solutions.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


info junkie

5.0 out of 5 stars

fantastic book!

Reviewed in the United States on April 27, 2021

Verified Purchase

I'm nearing retirement and found the advice in this book invaluable. I had picked it up a few years ago and coudn't get into it though. I think you have to be in the right mind-set, already predisposed to being an essentialist in some way. The author also has inspiring podcasts.

Helpful

Report abuse


Kristi

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great read!

Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book definitely reshaped my idea of how to prioritize, and separate essential from nonessential activities. I highly recommend this book to anyone that wants to change their life.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Janie Mora

5.0 out of 5 stars

Read this if you feel stretched thin with your time and life!

Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2020

Verified Purchase

This was a great read! Very applicable to life and inspiring life outlook. I learned a lot and will keep of those philosophies in my vision from now on! We can’t to everything and be successful at it too! Pick a couple of things that spark joy and become happy and have more time for things that are important to you!


Nathan Surges

5.0 out of 5 stars

Life-Changer

Reviewed in the United States on December 14, 2017

Verified Purchase

This book has been incredibly inspiring in so many ways. During and after reading, I kept asking myself, "Is this really important", and in doing so, I eliminated many negatives from my life. I realized that saying "No" isn't easy, but the benefits show in the long run. I went straight to my closet and donated most of my clothes that I didn't wear or need after realizing that I could live just fine with much less. A fantastic book in terms of opening your eyes. Highly recommend for anyone who has seen themselves fall into a hectic and busy schedule that is full of stress. I have no doubt that this book will help anyone in any situation.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Good Shopper

5.0 out of 5 stars

Focused. Better. Read it!

Reviewed in the United States on October 18, 2014

Verified Purchase

This is a great read for typical overtaxed American business men and women who say "You wouldn't believe how busy I am", but can hardly recall what exactly they accomplished 2 days ago. Sound familiar?? Great accomplishments rarely arrive without intentional, uninterrupted focus. Many refreshing ideas in here.


Jesus Christ (alone, above the rest, for good reason). Niels Bohr. Al Einstein. Brought Life abundantly. Brought an atomic model. Brought relativism 'into focus'. By staying on their ESSENTIAL course years... Redemption, Quantum Physics... Do you want to contribute your life for good? Read this book. Read the Bible. Give yourself for the essential.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


TIFFANY WILLIAMS

5.0 out of 5 stars

Awesome Book

Reviewed in the United States on February 14, 2018

Verified Purchase

This is an awesome book!! It makes you think of what is really important in your life. And truth be told there's not much that's really important in the grand scheme of things when you remove the unnecessary tasks and obstacles that are created by us humans. Whenever you are faced with any decision when you have to choose.... ALWAYS choose what's best for YOU!!! Your life will be better because of these choices!!! I'm on my way to becoming an Essentialist!!!! I CHOOSE ME 😍❤️😍❤️

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Imber

5.0 out of 5 stars

Total Game Changer

Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book offers you freedom from all the meaningless clutter of your life and gives you access to infinite access to the most important things, activities, priorities and relationships in your life.


POWERFUL!!!

Helpful

Report abuse


Read2Live4him

5.0 out of 5 stars

Revolutionizing

Reviewed in the United States on April 10, 2018

Verified Purchase

The truth is, we can’t have it all, do it all, or be all to everyone. Seriously, my life has always been in pursuit of finding ways to do more, faster and efficiently. However, what I was to really looking for is how to do less with more impact. Essentialism is a way of life that brings joy back through the simplicity of purpose. This book is perfect for cutting to the core and has helped me to take my life back -one Essentialist decision at a time. I’m simply grateful.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


sfescoto

5.0 out of 5 stars

Essential Reading!

Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2014

Verified Purchase

Creativity can be defined as taking a new look at old information. In his book, Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less, author Greg McKeown gives a fresh and up to date look at his self-management philosophy for success which to me, is a compilation and synopsis of many ideas that I've heard and studied many times in the past.


Is it worth a read? Absolutely! His book exemplifies his philosophy by focusing on many key elements of being successful in today's world, like the importance of sleep and how to protect your assets, without a lot of fluff and extraneous material.


Whether a novice or a seasoned veteran of self-improvement like myself, "Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less" is essential reading in my book. It might help to appy it as well!

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Robert L. Schultz

5.0 out of 5 stars

Clean The Clutter from Your Life.

Reviewed in the United States on May 31, 2014

Verified Purchase

Each and every one of us has been confronted at one time or another with an "offer" to help or take on a project that we really did not want to take on. We have priorities that rank from one-ten. Which one is most important? Greg McKeown helps us to "sort out" the "Essentials" in our lives without the fear of saying no to the many that are less than number one.


Learn to become an "Essentialist"; from uncluttered life; uncluttered closets; uncluttered circles of friends. Mr. McKeown shows us how to live the simple life in a rewarding way, without the clutter of the things that a less that the number on priority in our life. Do one thing and do it well. Life will be more rewarding and more rewarded.


I take this book to bed every night and read a chapter every morning. Build your life on simplicity. KISS to all!

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


J. Husband

5.0 out of 5 stars

Less is More. Figure out why.

Reviewed in the United States on January 22, 2021

Verified Purchase

Stop doing what doesn’t matter, and you’ll have time for what does. Details in the book.


Short, engaging, practical chapters. Fun to read. I’ll return to this one annually, but the basic idea is mine for life after one read through.


Help yourself out: read it.

Helpful

Report abuse


Andrew Abramson

5.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing book to simplify, but better your business and life!

Reviewed in the United States on December 22, 2015

Verified Purchase

This is an awesome book for anyone looking to simplify the way they run their life or business. My favorite quote is, "What is the obstacle that, if removed, would make the majority of other obstacles disappear?" The book really made me look at my small business and my personal life differently. The case examples are relevant and the author uses them well to teach you what Dieter Rams said, "Less, but better." This book should definitely be read with "The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing."

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Online shopper

5.0 out of 5 stars

This easy to read book has a timeless feel to it

Reviewed in the United States on May 8, 2016

Verified Purchase

Finding true north: This book helps reset your compass for life. Divided into 4 areas, this book invites the reader to define purpose and passion and using that, to focus on what really matters. Each of that define that for ourselves and through that filter, the non-essentials are eliminated more readily. This easy to read book has a timeless feel to it, fitting for any generation that truly wants to get out the crazy busy lifestyle into a meaningful, more focused, less busy lifestyle. The less is more mentality can help restore calm to chaos. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to simply and enjoy life to the fullest. I would hope that the next generation can grab on to these concepts and make the most of life from early on!

4 people found this helpful


Michael Roderick

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Must Read for Anyone Feeling Overwhelmed

Reviewed in the United States on February 14, 2016

Verified Purchase

Arguably one of the most useful books I have ever read. I recommend this one regularly to clients who are feeling overwhelmed and who are worried about disappointing others. If you are feeling like your life is not your own, you need to stop everything and buy this book. Cancel your upcoming meeting and sit down and read every page. The book is fllled with actionable steps that you can take to take control of your life and stop letting others dictate your schedule. As you'll read in this book, there are a lot of things that you don't really have time for, but you should make time to read this book. Doing so will give you more time and more discipline to guard your time.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kindle Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Essential reading

Reviewed in the United States on January 22, 2021

Verified Purchase

Greg has done a great job in summarising the why and how of becoming an essentialist. At times it felt like the points were be a bit drawn out but that's probably because they were familiar.


There is a definite need for essentialism and this book will help make that a reality.

Helpful

Report abuse


L Meinhardt

5.0 out of 5 stars

Essential for any one

Reviewed in the United States on April 25, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is a very interesting book, some aspects are not new, but always good to record them once again. Very easy reading, and the audio book makes it possible to make the reading anywhere, even when you are driving. I will probably re-read this book again in the future, as some bad habits tend to return.

Helpful

Report abuse


David C Perrine

5.0 out of 5 stars

Essential Reading!

Reviewed in the United States on October 22, 2021

Verified Purchase

Most of this wisdom will not come as a revelation, but as a reminder. Greg does an excellent job of relating the wisdom of many ancient faith traditions into our modern culture: the most essential being that of understanding what is truly important in the short time we have on this earth.

Helpful

Report abuse


George Bullard

5.0 out of 5 stars

Focus on Essentials!

Reviewed in the United States on July 9, 2017

Verified Purchase

I rate this book a 5-star not so much because every aspect of the book rates a 5-star, but because the core message of the book speaks into exactly where I am at the current time. I committed 2017 to a focus on essentials. Therefore, this book is of great value to me personally. When I came across this book while browsing through a book store, thumbed through it, and read a few paragraphs here and there, I knew I had to have this book and wanted to read it very soon.


So, I did what every able-bodied person would do in this day and age, I went home and ordered it on Amazon, and with my Prime account I had it in two days. (That gave me an opportunity to finish the book I was in the midst of reading) Here are some key highlights for me personally:


1. The concept on page 16 of the word :priority" historically being singular as in a priority is priceless and is "this-is-the one-idea-that-is-worth-the-price-of-the-book." It is not about priorities, but a priority. The big idea. Get it? I did, but to be sure that was a sound idea I researched it on the Internet from various perspectives to see what others are saying about it, and I an confident that this is true and not a projection of something that might be true. I am using that concept now in my work and ministry.


2. "The way of the Essentialist is the relentless pursuit of less but better." This is on page 5. It coincides with the long tradition of saying that excellence in leadership is not about doing many things right, but doing the right things. (It is like that current commercial that says, "It is not how fast you mow, but how well you mow fast.")