RACHEL PEDERSEN - "How To Be Authentic And Be Yourself!"

I have been using Jeff's affiliate system for 2 years now and I love it. It is a simple but effective way to make money online, no matter what your niche is. The program helped me to increase my cash flow even though I already run a successful business. Using the software has also improved my social media conversion and increased the lifetime value of my customers/affiliates.

From Survival Mode to Queen of Social Media...


💰 Claim Your Free 'Millionaire Shortcut' Book Here 👉 https://millionairesecrets.com/RachelP


I share my thoughts on how entrepreneurship is a portal into doing the hardest, deepest… Personal Work you can ever do.


‘Queen of Social Media’ Rachel Pedersen uncovers why selling is such a dirty word for some…


How you can choose to still be excellent during survival mode…


Learn how she is leading other social media managers to be excellent without sacrificing time away from family, friends, and dreams.


And how to still be authentic and be yourself while you do it!


Check Out More of Rachel’s Content Here 👇


💻 https://rachelpedersen.com/


🎙️ Social Media Secrets Podcast 👉 https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/s...


📒 Blog 👉 https://rachelpedersen.com/blog/


📧 Send an Email to 👉 hello@rachelpedersen.com


ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/in/themrsped...


📺 YT 👉 https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4p2...


🖥️ FB 👉 https://www.facebook.com/the.mrs.pede...


⌨️ Twitter 👉 https://twitter.com/themrspedersen


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/themrspeder...


📌 Pinterest 👉 https://www.pinterest.com/therachelpe...


🎵 TikTok 👉 https://www.tiktok.com/@themrspederse...


---------------------------

👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 Tired of struggling alone? Join ENTRE Nation - the Internet's #1 community of entrepreneurs and awesome life creators:

https://www.ENTREnation.com


--------------------------------

Subscribe to this YouTube channel for exclusive training on marketing, sales, entrepreneurship, and investing...

▶️ https://youtube.com/jefflernerofficia...


--------------------------------

Follow Me across Social Media for more free training and exclusive content...

🔔 https://TrainingWithJeff.com/social


--------------------------------

ENTREpreneur merch:

🛒 https://store.entrenation.com


--------------------------------

🤑 WANT TO BE AN AFFILIATE OF MY PROGRAMS? 🤑

https://affiliates.entreinstitute.com (free affiliate program)


#jefflerner #entrepreneur #business

9 months ago

Wow!! This video reminds me of my little fear that I always had as I am writing/illustrating my books; I was always told to never share my content until I have it copy written just to prevent people from stealing my art and story. The thing is that is in the back of my mind: "How else are people going to get to know what kind of books I'm writing? And how else are they going to know how good my art is?". I think as long as I share my stuff more and more, I will attract my true fans that are out there and they will know what I can bring to them. Thank you for sharing this video!! I'm enjoying everything from ENTRE. :)

Read more

REPLY

10 months ago

What an amazing podcast! You guys are for real! Talking about some real deep stuff when hitting rock bottom. So amazing to see how both of you overcame it like that achieving massive success!

REPLY

View 2 replies from Jeff Lerner and others

10 months ago

“Most of the important things in the world have been accomplished by people who have kept on trying when there seemed to be no hope at all.”


―Dale Carnegie


Have a Nice Day! 🖤

Read more

2

REPLY

10 months ago

Very similar back story here!! Thank you for staying true to yourself!! Very inspiring!!

REPLY

View reply from Jeff Lerner

10 months ago

Great interview. A lot of gems in this one.

REPLY

10 months ago

What a great interview

REPLY

8 months ago

Lead with value, love that

REPLY

10 months ago

"Everything in life is easier when you don't concern yourself with what other people are doing."


The chances of you seeing this comment is pretty low, but if you did, I hope you have an amazing day. 🖤

Read more

1

REPLY



RACHEL PEDERSEN

Unlocking Your Authentic Self: Overcoming Impostor Syndrome, Enhancing Self-confidence, and Banishing Self-doubt Kindle Edition

by Jennifer L. M.D. Hunt (Author) Format: Kindle Edition


4.6 out of 5 stars

179 ratings


Do you beat yourself up for even simple mistakes? Does criticism stick with you for months, or even years? Do you secretly wonder when you will finally be exposed?...that people will discover you aren't as good as they thought you were?

In Unlocking Your Authentic Self, physician leader and executive coach Jennifer Hunt teaches you practical and easily applied tools. The book offers realistic skills to overcome impostor syndrome and live your best possible life. Start your journey now and learn to:

  • Disarm your cruel inner critic and still strive for growth

  • Replace negative thought loops with 3 positive reframing tools

  • Let go of unhealthy perfectionism and crush procrastination

  • Find the pearls of truth in criticism without sacrificing self-confidence

What if a single book could give you a powerful new lens--to see yourself, your potential, and your gifts?

Well, this is it. This book is your personal Rx for spiritual, emotional, and professional growth.


"This is really ten books in one. It will be enormously useful to female physicians, and to everyone else for that matter."

--Douglas Stone and Sheila Heen, Authors, Thanks for The feedback


Mom of Two

5.0 out of 5 stars

From Self-Defeat to Growth

Reviewed in the United States on March 2, 2020

Verified Purchase

Unlocking Your Authentic Self changed my life. The world turned upside down when we moved to California. My job was the “same” but I was working in a new culture where I didn’t know the rules and had no alliances. Every critical voice or doubt I’d ever had was amplified in my head and heart. My inner critic was more powerful than it had ever been. The tools in Jennifer’s book moved me from being overwhelmed and incapacitated by some of the intense challenges to leading with authenticity and confidence again. I have continued to use these exercises to reframe my thoughts and move from self-defeat to growth. Jennifer Hunt is an incredible leader, physician, and woman. Her book opens your eyes to what is holding you back and empowers you to lead in the most fulfilling and authentic way. #shutupAlice #impostersyndrome

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Leilani Valdes

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent book for professionals in any industry!

Reviewed in the United States on February 28, 2020

Verified Purchase

Dr. Hunt is an incredible leader in the physician community and has much to teach anyone who desires to be a more confident and productive professional. Physicians and executives alike can benefit from her erudite counsel and her sage advice. This book is a must read for leaders and any stage of their career.

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


LauraLew11

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent tool for fighting imposter syndrome

Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2020

Verified Purchase

If you have imposter syndrome- run, don't walk, and order this book. It is clear and well-written. The author gives advice that you can use immediately and offers tools you can use over time to make real changes. She makes all the tools accessible from the electronic version with just one click, which is a life-saver for busy professionals. This book is an essential read for anyone with imposter syndrome, and for leaders and managers who will likely have people in their group fighting this battle.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Carla

5.0 out of 5 stars

Intelligent deconstruction of an important feminist issue

Reviewed in the United States on March 1, 2020

Verified Purchase

Overcoming imposter syndrome and Dr. Hunt's careful dissection of this important problem will hopefully advance this subject's discussion not only in the medical community but more generally to professional women. This is so much more than a self help book-this book looks at why we as powerful intelligent women can impede our own leadership and career trajectories. Just get the book but with a warning- it is not a quick read because there is so much good information to mull over. Well done, Jennifer!

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Fishingrl

5.0 out of 5 stars

Outstanding new resource for professional women!

Reviewed in the United States on February 28, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book walks you through not only how to recognize Imposter Syndrome but also how to control and overcome it. Dr. Jennifer Hunt provides her expertise in an approachable and often humorous way, making this book easy to read and digest. However, you will turn to it again and again as a valuable resource at different stages of your career. I cannot recommend it highly enough - buy a copy for your colleague, your boss, your niece or daughter! Everyone needs to read this!

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


N

5.0 out of 5 stars

“In what ways do you hold yourself to a higher standard than would other people?”

Reviewed in the United States on March 2, 2020

Verified Purchase

“In what ways do you hold yourself to a higher standard than would other people?” This is a quote that has stuck with me since I finished the book. I started reading it as a way to support so many of my friends who struggle with impostor syndrome. But as I delved into the reading and did some of the quizzes offered, I found out I still had A LOT of impostor tendencies myself.

My favorite part was the practical part of the book, where you actually begin to tackle different saboteurs. I loved the reflection activities, the free resources throughout the book & the tools offered to help you overcome different facets of your impostor syndrome. I found that I was already implementing a lot of the techniques she presented, which is why I initially thought I didn’t have impostor syndrome – I was already tackling it. That gave me SO much more confidence in the exercises, because they work!

I really appreciate the powerful framing of saboteurs as habits more than just personality traits. I have read the books she cites in the habit session and that framing made something click for me. I also LOVE the illustrations!! 100% would recommend for you that have impostor syndrome, or for you that like me was just trying to help someone else!

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


K

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book for Personal Development

Reviewed in the United States on March 2, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book is a great resource for those looking to advance their career but to learn not to hold back. I loved learning about Dr. Hunt's process for understanding your inner critic and recognizing when it approaches becomes a detriment to the thought process. Reframing negative thoughts helps to guide oneself into a different pattern of thinking and breaking the negative circuit and doubt. My biggest recognition and enlightenment was understanding and recognizing the saboteurs and how to work around these negative habits. The book offers a lot of resources to continue to develop and work on leadership skills.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Dr. Boss Lady

5.0 out of 5 stars

Required reading for every female physician

Reviewed in the United States on February 29, 2020

Verified Purchase

Dr. Hunt does a wonderful job of helping provide the vocabulary to what many female physicians have experienced at some point during the course of their career. Imposter syndrome is insidious and can occur at any time. Recognizing it’s symptoms is important as we look to change the landscape of leadership in healthcare which demands that our female physicians stay engaged and lead the way.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Cyndi

5.0 out of 5 stars

A great resource for women in Leadership Roles

Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2020

Verified Purchase

Unlocking your authentic self is a must read for women in any professional leadership role. Dr. Hunt provides practical coaching techniques on the ability to recognize our tendencies for "Self Depreciation", and provides us with techniques to overcome our inner critic. An invaluable resource to deal with the many facets of life, both professional and personal. It's an easy read, very engaging with plenty of examples that really resonated with me at different times during my career. I wish I had this book years ago!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Alice

5.0 out of 5 stars

Imposter syndrome, meet your match!

Reviewed in the United States on March 9, 2020

Verified Purchase

If you have EVER wondered, "am I good enough?" to be a leader, to be a boss, or even to be an equal in your particular work situation, this book is for you. Dr. Hunt is an accomplished physician leader, and coach, and she speaks from years of experience coaching and mentoring other women in the workplace. As a coach and physician leader (retired) myself, I can attest that a great many of our colleagues suffer from Imposter Syndrome. Dr. Hunt provides thorough explanations, and lots of practical ways for the reader to get that particular gremlin off your shoulder and become the best you possible. Stop letting the past stories you have told yourself, and the beliefs you hold keep you from accomplishing your goals! Read this book. Do the exercises. Thrive!


WeeWoo

5.0 out of 5 stars

See yourself in this book and tap into self-confidence that is accessible and true.

Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2020

Verified Purchase

Unlocking Your Authentic Self is written by a woman physician especially for women physicians, This easy to read, lighthearted, but seriously effective book give you the tools to control self-doubt and improve self-confidence. I see myself in so many of her examples. I'm already using the tools to improve and strengthen my relationship with myself and tap into self-confidence that was just under the surface. Do yourself a huge favor: buy this book.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Barbara Harcleroad-Jeffers, MD

5.0 out of 5 stars

Imposter Syndrome or "self-depreciation"

Reviewed in the United States on March 2, 2020

Verified Purchase

Dr. Hunt writes about a subject that is important for women as leaders and physicians to understand and overcome. Impostor syndrome or "self-depreciation" is real. This book helps women (and men) define it then assist them to change their mindset away from this. Dr. Hunt writes in an easy to understand way with illustrations and exercises for everyone. Thank you, Dr. Hunt!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Milene Argo

5.0 out of 5 stars

Homerun!

Reviewed in the United States on February 29, 2020

Verified Purchase

Dr. Hunt hit a homerun with her book. Understanding myself so much more as I read about my imposter tendencies. The exercises are simple yet insightful. This book will help me overcome my fears and empower me as a leader .

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Katherine mason

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Book for Emerging Women Leaders and Educators

Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2020

Verified Purchase

This well researched, insightful book on managing and mitigating Imposter Syndrome should be a must read for all emerging leaders and educators. Whether you read it for yourself or to help those that you mentor, coach, teach and oversee, it is a careful examination of the the factors that hold one back from reaching their full potential and performing as their best, most authentic self. There are actionable exercise to put the information into the readers' practice, a stellar array of references in neurobiology, cognitive science, behavioral psychology and more. Will definitely be on my "Mentoring bookshelf"

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Maricor Grio, MD, MS- Pediatric Nephrologist / Pediatric Urgent Care Physician

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read for accomplished people who secretly feel inadequate and insecure

Reviewed in the United States on March 6, 2020

Verified Purchase

If you are a strong, powerful woman or man who have accomplished much in life, yet still find yourself feeling secretly inadequate and insecure, this is a must read for you. It’ll help you understand yourself better and give you practical last minute powerful tools to cope and embrace your amazingness. Thoughtfully and thoroughly written by a brilliant, down to earth, Physican leader, Dr Jennifer Hunt, is on a mission to help women and men access the globe heal from Imposter Syndrome. Thank you, Dr Hunt for helping so many of us, for giving us the necessary tools to move forward to lead more effectively and become better versions of ourselves.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


AL

5.0 out of 5 stars

Engaging and practical

Reviewed in the United States on February 29, 2020

Verified Purchase

Am speeding through this book bc it’s so engaging. Very practical and well referenced. I plan to read this again and again and really use the lessons in it. Love the artwork sprinkled through the book as well. The links provided through the book are also incredibly helpful.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read for all women physicians or professional women in general

Reviewed in the United States on March 9, 2020

Verified Purchase

More than 50 % medical students are women but percentage of women physician leaders is not increasing. If we want too create work place equity, and decrease systemic undermining of women’s potential. They need to be armed with the tools to tackle their imposter syndrome. The book is an excellent tool which also follows the format of Dr. Hunt’s coaching on this issue. Dr. Hunt walks you through the diagnosis and treatment your imposter tendencies. This is an invaluable self help tool for a women physician or for any professional woman for that matter. I highly recommend it.

Helpful

Report abuse


Pablo

5.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing Toolbox

Reviewed in the United States on February 28, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book is an amazing collection of tools to help you combat your inner critic! I would highly recommend this for anyone who struggles with low self-esteem or self-confidence.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Sridhara sastry Yaddanapudi

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must buy !!

Reviewed in the United States on March 9, 2020

Verified Purchase

Have gone through the program unlocking the authentic self with author Dr Jennifer Hunt a year ago. This program was a life saver. The worksheets and tools are excellent to sush that Inner critic which keeps from reaching your full potential. This book helps in the same way to go over those same concepts and work on true true or authentic selves. The qualities which made you successful so far won’t be enough to take you further. This is a must buy to keep practicing on oneself.

Helpful

Report abuse


DRS32

5.0 out of 5 stars

Love love love this book!

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

Incredible book. I feel like a different imposterless person. Thank you, Dr. Hunt, for putting this together!!


ED. MD

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read for every doc who did not think she was "enough"

Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2020

Verified Purchase

Dr. Hunt is a thought leader in Imposter Syndrome. If you like Brene Brown, you will love Jennifer Hunt. Her writing style is fresh and readable. There are immediately actionable skills.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jill Young

5.0 out of 5 stars

I love this book. This is such a pervasive, yet not much (yet) talked about problem

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is a wonderful book with a variety of practical strategies. I can't begin to describe how grateful I am that Dr. Hunt is tackling this, both for me and the many others I work with who are struggling with these challenges. This both a practical and engaging book. This is the best money I have spent in a while and I will gift this book to many residents and colleagues.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Riyadh

5.0 out of 5 stars

Life changing

Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2020

Verified Purchase

Dr Hunt's course on unlocking your authentic self helped me understand my self and those around me. The book helped me become a better person and improved my confidence dramatically. Dr.Hunt's work changed my life.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


LKay

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read for professional women!

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is a must read for any physician or other professional women looking to build self confidence and learn to combat imposter syndrome. This book really makes you take a good, hard look at yourself and challenges you to make improvements. Dr. Hunt presents invaluable tools to help combat self-doubt and present your best self. I highly recommend!

Helpful

Report abuse


Hilary Fairbrother

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book, easy read!

Reviewed in the United States on March 9, 2020

Verified Purchase

Do you have imposter syndrome? This is a super helpful read. It gave me a lot of insight into why some of the mentees self-sabotage the way that they do.

Helpful

Report abuse


Dr. C

5.0 out of 5 stars

A MUST READ

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

Dr. Hunt’s book has something in it not only for every female physician but also for every female professional or executive. Practical, pertinent, personal. She hits it out of the park with this one!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


HeaLu

5.0 out of 5 stars

THE book for women physician leaders

Reviewed in the United States on August 27, 2020

Verified Purchase

Fantastic, well-written, well researched with extensive resources drawing on Dr. Hunt’s rich experience as a physician leader and coach. Spoke to me personally as young woman physician leader, but the book would be equally applicable to a broader audience interested in leadership.


DocBasia

5.0 out of 5 stars

Seminal book #ImposterSyndrome

Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2020

Verified Purchase

Jennifer Hunt MD TedX Speaker , Coach

Seminal book on #ImposterSyndrome

Give yourself a gift , unlock your inner critic and empower your authentic / true self , “lean in “.

Helpful

Report abuse


Damien Vu

5.0 out of 5 stars

Eye Opening

Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2020

Verified Purchase

This was eye opening. Everyone (I mean it, everyone) should read this book. It is spot on with the explanation of thought distortion and gives real strategies on combating Impostor Syndrome. I have already read it cover to cover and found myself nodding at every page as I recognized myself.

-CL

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Better yourself!

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

So far, I have genuinely enjoyed this book. As a resident physician, imposter syndrome is real! Looking forward to continuing this pursuit at bettering myself as a woman!

One person found this helpful


Tara Kumaraswami

5.0 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Resource

Reviewed in the United States on March 9, 2020

Verified Purchase

Dr. Jennifer Hunt is an amazing physician, coach and mentor and her work has helped me tremendously. This book outlines some very important concepts that many women may not even know are impacting their work life and even their personal life. I have found awareness of my inner critic to be important in creating change in my plans for career development. Thank you for writing this book!

Helpful

Report abuse


Francesca

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must-read for professional women.

Reviewed in the United States on March 7, 2020

Verified Purchase

Amazing book! Well written, practical, and teaches you skills that are invaluable in the workplace (and beyond!), particularly as a female professional.

Helpful

Report abuse


Lama El Zein

5.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing book

Reviewed in the United States on March 8, 2020

Verified Purchase

Excellent book. It was so helpful for me! Dr Hunt made it very clear , a lot of tools and resources to use ...

Helpful

Report abuse


E. Green

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great self help book

Reviewed in the United States on April 13, 2020

Verified Purchase

'Great book,

Helpful

Report abuse


Dhaval Shah

5.0 out of 5 stars

worth your time

Reviewed in the United States on March 8, 2020

Verified Purchase

life mantra

Helpful

Report abuse


Fariha Afzal

5.0 out of 5 stars

Imposter syndrome

Reviewed in the United States on March 9, 2020

Verified Purchase

Excellent read!!!

Helpful

Report abuse


N. D. Riddle, MD

5.0 out of 5 stars

Such an well written and supremely helpful book!

Reviewed in the United States on February 28, 2020

Dr. Hunt has committed her life to self-improvement and self-realization, not just for herself, but for everyone around her. With this book, she is now trying to help anyone and everyone be the best they can be. Impostor Syndrome is a real issue among professionals, especially women. In Unlocking the Authentic Self, Dr. Hunt breaks down some of the root causes of the issue, teaches skills to help us act and react the way that will best move our intentions forward, and provides tools to change our way of thinking about ourselves to be more in line with how awesome most of us truly are. And she does all of this while reminding us that there is still always more to learn and improve on...so we 1. Shouldn't beat ourselves up if we don't execute a discussion or plan perfectly every time and 2. Don't need to worry about suddenly becoming an egotistical monster without the sort of self-awareness necessary to remain humble and continue to grow. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in self-improvement and emotional intelligence.

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


P N

5.0 out of 5 stars

Outstanding book with practical path for gaining skill and backed by data

Reviewed in the United States on February 29, 2020

Dr Hunt outlines what imposter syndrome is and a multifaceted approach to recognize the contributors and steps to build skills in managing the contributors. The book is enhanced by supportive data and references. The path to recognize and learn to overcome the areas that hold many females back, is laid out with many practical behaviors. This book will be recommended to trainees I work with. Having this knowledge will enhance my and many others lives and careers. Thank you Dr Hunt!

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


N. D. Riddle, MD

5.0 out of 5 stars

Supremely helpful book!

Reviewed in the United States on February 29, 2020

Dr. Hunt has committed her life to self-improvement and self-realization, not just for herself, but for everyone around her. With this book, she is now trying to help anyone and everyone be the best they can be. Impostor Syndrome is a real issue among professionals, especially women. In Unlocking the Authentic Self, Dr. Hunt breaks down some of the root causes of the issue, teaches skills to help us act and react the way that will best move our intentions forward, and provides tools to change our way of thinking about ourselves to be more in line with how awesome most of us truly are.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Adee Sasa

5.0 out of 5 stars

Resourceful and high-yield; for anyone struggling with Impostor syndrome or self-doubt

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2020

Dr. Hunt's book is chock full of resources: I very much appreciate the multiple case examples she uses to illustrate her points, making the topics that much easier to comprehend. As a pathologist, she also makes successful use of clear illustrations throughout her text, which helps keep the reader's interest. Self-reflections are also integrated throughout, focusing on similar topics one might receive as homework assignments during CBT. She gives examples for guided visualization and encourages use of a separate journal for these exercises. Valuable, high-yield tools are referred to such as the Clance Impostor Phenomenon Scale and the VIA character strengths online with their accompanying reference website links are provided.

Such a text may be a helpful resource not only to physicians, but even patients (male and female alike) struggling with anxiety and/or depression. For example, she reviews healthy / unhealthy "fight or flight" response, "deep diving" rather than staying on the surface to properly identify and name positive and negative emotions (encouraging "distancing" and having a time limit on some of these). Resources relevant to this population she gives examples for include:

- Distraction techniques

- Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction resources

- Deep relaxation and breathing exercises

- "Power posing" / importance of proper posture, again with illustrations

- How to build up self-regulation and manage emotions

The importance of recognizing Impostor syndrome cannot be understated if we want to preserve having healthy and available physicians to care for the general population as a whole. As quoted from Dr. Hunt, "In my field of medicine, impostor syndrome has been shown to affect up to 66%. That means two-thirds of your doctors may feel like they are faking their own success, despite having exceptional credentials, expertise, and knowledge." and moreso, "impostor tendencies directly correlate with work-related burnout. In the published research, impostor syndrome has also been associated with increased psychological distress, anxiety, low self-esteem and a decreased sense of well-being".

2 people found this helpful


From the United States


Lori

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read for women in positions of leadership

Reviewed in the United States on February 28, 2020

Dr. Hunt is simply amazing. Her book helped me to realize that I am not alone in thinking that I am not deserving of the accolades I have received as a successful leader and female physician. Through her mentor ship and this book I now have techniques to help me with the feelings of inadequacy and to enhance my enjoyment of my career while pushing me to reach higher goals with the knowledge that I am deserving. Thank you Jennifer!

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


S

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great resource for leadership development!

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2020

Dr. Hunt's book is a wonderful, practical, and helpful resource to help optimize self-awareness and confidence. Not only does she provide useful exercises to manage the inner critic, but her book helps us recognize we are not alone in our challenges! Her wealth of lived experience as a highly successful physician leader, scientist, and department head helps inform both the content and tone of her writing - and as a scientist, I appreciate that the book combines anecdotes with referenced literature on the topics. A read that is both useful and enjoyable!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Dee and Vee

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Simple Clear Manual on How to Change Your Life by Freeing yourself from Imposter Syndrome

Reviewed in the United States on March 7, 2020

I had read a couple of life changing books on imposter syndrome such as “secret thoughts of successful women” and “presence”. What is different about Dr Hunt’s book is that it not only deconstructs these sometimes hard to wrap your head around psychological concepts, but it also functions as a workbook. You can’t undo your imposter syndrome by reading about it. You need to sit down and wrestle with your thoughts. If this book were a workshop it would cost thousands of dollars, but she just GIVES it to you. It kind of reminds me of the book “how to talk so little kids will listen: a guide for ages 2-5.” The authors of that classic parenting book similarly distill their knowledge from all of the workshops they have ever taught and just give it to you so it’s easy to understand. Just open up Unlocking the Authentic Self and read a little more every day. Watch the way you think about yourself change profoundly for the better. Watch the way the world just opens up for you.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


The Christian Book Critic

5.0 out of 5 stars

Love it

Reviewed in the United States on May 3, 2020

The bigger the storm, the brighter the rainbow. Dr. Jennifer H. Hunt’s novel ‘Unlocking Your Authentic Self,’’ is a self-empowering book geared towards professional women that suffer from ‘imposter syndrome.’ Imposter syndrome, aka self-under-appreciation syndrome, is defined as when “people under-value and under-appreciate their skills, talents, and value.” Have you ever sat in a meeting and looked around the table and wondered if people wonder why you are even there? If you answered yes, by definition, you suffer from imposter syndrome.

I liked all 438 pages of the book. I loved the layout and the techniques/exercises that the author provided. You do not need to suffer from imposter syndrome to find value in the mindfulness practice, distraction techniques, empowering poses (loved it- I’m posing now), and learning to speak with int