John Contos Jeff Lerner Review

Meet John Contos. He was dealing with procrastination for the better part of the year. And after six months, he finally started taking action in his ENTRE journey. Throughout that time, his advisor Jen Weiman was always on his side supporting him. And he wanted to make the video to thank her. Without her help, John wouldn't be here today moving towards creating a better future for his life.

Welcome back to another episode of Millionaire Secrets!


Looking back, could your life have turned out differently?


In today’s episode, I talk to entrepreneur and best-selling author Josh Linkner, who can answer that question with a resounding YES!


Just like me, Josh grew up with a love of jazz music. Also, like me, he was absolutely certain that jazz was his future.


But somewhere along the way, he got some advice and it would change his life forever!


This advice was instrumental (pun intended) in helping Josh achieve success. It helped him realize that music didn’t have to be everything in life. He could still succeed in other areas and still retain his love for music.


(I never got this advice and it took me another decade to arrive at the same conclusions!)


Josh was just twenty years old when he started his first company.


Since then, he’s gone on to start five different successful tech companies. These companies have sold for a combined value of over $200 million!


So how did he do it?


And more importantly, how could you do the same?


In this episode of Millionaire Secrets, we talk about the importance of creativity. Tapping into the creative parts of your mind will allow you to innovate and solve problems.


Needless to say, these are two of the most important things in business!


We also talk about how to get started in business, how to overcome the fear of taking chances, and how to weigh up the risk VS reward of starting your own company.


Josh has written four books, two of which are New York Times best-sellers!


If anyone has the knowledge and experience to help you start a successful business, it’s Josh!


Don’t miss this chance to hear the insights of a $200m tech innovator!


💰 Claim Your Free 'Millionaire Shortcut' Book Here 👉 https://getentre.com/wuMif


Check Out More of Josh’s Content Here 👇


📖 Big Little Breakthroughs - www.BigLittleBreakthroughs.com


💻 www.JoshLinkner.com


📧 Send an Email to 👉 Josh@JoshLinkner.com


ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/in/joshlinkner


📺 YT 👉 http://youtube.com/joshlinkner


🖥️ FB 👉 https://www.facebook.com/joshlinkner/


⌨️ Twitter 👉 https://twitter.com/joshlinkner


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/joshlinkner/


John Contos Review

The Social Entrepreneur's Playbook, Expanded Edition: Pressure Test, Plan, Launch and Scale Your Social Enterprise Expanded Edition

Audible Audiobook – Unabridged

Ian C. MacMillan (Author), James D. Thompson (Author), Don Hagen (Narrator), Gildan Media, LLC (Publisher)

4.3 out of 5 stars

80 ratings


VT Prof

5.0 out of 5 stars

A perfect combination of Nuts-and-Bolts and stories to exemplify points

Reviewed in the United States on June 14, 2014

Verified Purchase

I am a business management professor looking to get into social enterprise as I move on to my "second act." Whether social enterprise will be your "first act" career or second act this is a great book to read to ground you in either developing your own social enterprise or jumping on board one that exists.

Written by two Wharton business professors affiliated with it's social enterprise center, this book is top flight. Although the examples in the book are taken from the developing world, the Playbook can be applied to any social enterprise anywhere.

The book brings the reader from "breathing life" into the social entrepreneur's initial "big idea" to scaling up a successful startup for the next level. Along the way it informs the reader of many of the business basics needed to make hard nosed decisions. Using one of the authors' Discovery Directed Planning (read developing a living business plan that continually challenges critical basic assumptions) previously published in the Harvard Business Review for regular enterprises, the reader is introduced to a fairly wide range of business tools and concepts (e.g., return on sales, return on investment, etc.) in easily understood language and application and geared to the social enterprise in particular. For example, although the authors do not use the term SROI (social return on investment) they do an excellent job of introducing the reader to easily understood metrics in order to measure social impact, which is absolutely essential to get external funding from government or philanthropic sources. As another example, the authors fine tune applications of marketing and stakeholder assessment to the particular needs and challenges of social enterprises.

Any business professor will tell you that an entrepreneur's initial small business is often an act of love--an endeavor that often blinds him or her to the harsh realities and hard nose decisions that need to be made with blinders off. Social enterprises are subject to the same harsh realities but subject to even more blind spots because of the big hearts they bring to their creations. The Social Entrepreneur's Playbook gives the reader the "tough love" (in a loving way) the beginning social entrepreneur needs while providing those who are somewhat more developed to acquire the tools and techniques they will also find necessary for their work as they scale up.

I have been reading and reviewing at a number of books and articles, have been interviewing social entrepreneurs and enterprise workers, and have been investigating social enterprises worldwide in my "gearing up" for my second act (doing the typical "professor thing"). The Social Entrepreneur's Playbook ranks right up there with the top flight material I have come across.

If you are interested in social enterprise--buy this book.

11 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


C k

5.0 out of 5 stars

Perfect

Reviewed in the United States on October 26, 2020

Verified Purchase

Bought for class. Book in perfect condition

Helpful

Report abuse


WobbleyGobbley

5.0 out of 5 stars

The poor don’t need pity, they need a way out.

Reviewed in the United States on August 9, 2020

Verified Purchase

Food for thought and a reminder that the under privileged can pull themselves up with half a chance.

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Must-Read and Must-FOLLOW for anyone attempting to start their own Social Enterprise!

Reviewed in the United States on February 11, 2014

Verified Purchase

Finally a book that provides a full play by play of how to set up a SE, not just concepts and theories! It’s like having a thoroughly experienced mentor at your side each step of the way. To have guidance through the process of taking your idea live or as the authors say from possible to plausible to probable and finally to plannable is invaluable. I would highly recommend that anyone interested in starting or investing in a SE read this book and take seriously their pressure testing tools, utilizing the checklist and tough love test at the end of each chapter as a mandatory step in the process of evaluating the plausibility and marketability of the idea. The SEs that they highlight to provide genuine examples of their recommended actions make it all come to life and helps to illustrate clearly the potential issues that are likely to arise in the process of bringing your SE to market or to scale. This is definitely a must-read (and must-follow) for anyone involved in the SE space! --By Natalie Miller

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


JJ

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must Read for and Business Man or Woman

Reviewed in the United States on January 4, 2016

Verified Purchase

I had to purchase this book for a social venture class I had in college and I was extremely happy that I did. It is one of my favorite books at this point and more people need to learn about social ventures. I believe it will help society as a whole.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


makaveliagain

5.0 out of 5 stars

great

Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2015

Verified Purchase

As expected, great deal

Helpful

Report abuse


James Harding

5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars

Reviewed in the United States on November 11, 2016

Verified Purchase

Highly suggest!

Helpful

Report abuse


volleyballmom

5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars

Reviewed in the United States on April 5, 2015

Verified Purchase

good read

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


D. Chartier

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very timely and helpful for my startup

Reviewed in the United States on July 25, 2015

Verified Purchase

Very timely and helpful for my startup (HourVoice.com). Lots of frameworks and templates to prompt constructive thinking -- I have't completed all of them, but plan to!

Helpful

Report abuse


Ronnie W.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must Read for Social Entrepreneurs!!

Reviewed in the United States on December 20, 2013

Verified Purchase

I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking to start a social enterprise. This book is very easy to read, provides sufficient examples, and gives a step-by-step process to launch a venture with impact. As someone currently working in the field, I wish I would've read this book much earlier. The tools that this book provides are now indispensable to me and my team in our quest for social impact.

2 people found this helpful


Bill B

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent guidance for weeding out early those wonderful ideas that are doomed to failure

Reviewed in the United States on June 29, 2014

Verified Purchase

I was a part of one of those great ideas that did shut down, fortunately managed as a pilot with minimal funds expended. Although we did much of what the Playbook recommends, we probably could have pulled the plug earlier had we used the Playbook approach to ongoing assessment. It would have saved us many hours of effort, if not so much in dollars.

Helpful

Report abuse


josefmartin

5.0 out of 5 stars

Extremely Useful & Relevant

Reviewed in the United States on December 16, 2013

Verified Purchase

Being active in this field, I will be able to be far more effective - not just another "dry" academic treatise but a HANDBOOK in the true sense of the word - will be of great value in mapping our various projects and turning them from feasibility to reality. Looking forward very much to "Volume II!" Well Done & Thank You, Gentlemen!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Bahama Birder

5.0 out of 5 stars

Awesome (times 12)!

Reviewed in the United States on January 22, 2015

Verified Purchase

As a professor of social entrepreneurship, I have been looking for an thorough "how to" guide for would-be social entrepreneurs that would be easy for my students to understand. I wanted something that was not intimidating, but not 'Pollyanna' either. MacMillan and Thompson hit it out of the park with the Social Entrepreneur's Playbook. Their "tough love" approach, coupled with easy to use tools really do force the reader to thoroughly vet their ideas through a realistic (yet easy to use) process that results in a more viable social enterprise. I have poured through so many books on the subject that is very difficult for me to be genuinely impressed...and in this instance I have been blown away. Any social entrepreneur would be well-served to have AND USE this book in planning and launching a social venture.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mr. P

5.0 out of 5 stars

Practical, and Downright

Reviewed in the United States on November 13, 2013

I'm currently a student of Entrepreneurship in an MBA program, and quite recently discovered my love of social business as an approach to eradicate poverty and create wealth in developing nations. Coming from a developing nation myself I have experienced and remain aware the difficulties of navigating developing markets especially in Sub-Saharan Africa.


That being said. The Social Entrepreneur's Playbook is a timely and simple-to-understand guide for those of us with an inclination towards people-centered business. When I first learned of this book from Wharton's website, it intrigued me. I immediately downloaded the e-book and soaked up all that I could from it.


I'm currently using this book as a framework to "pressure-test" & develop my own social enterprise. I recommend it to anyone thinking of doing the same.


This book is an encouragement to both aspiring, and current social entrepreneurs with great great ideas that may either require tweaking for success, or outright abandonment altogether.


I'm a fan of Wharton's business materials and this book doesn't disappoint.


Buy it, read it, glean from it, and put it into practice!

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Ali Elt

5.0 out of 5 stars

Could NOT put this down

Reviewed in the United States on December 1, 2013

I run a non profit with a Social Enterprise arm. This nonprofit has MANY moving bells and whistles. I've been reading book after book (and spending quite a bit of money that I do not have) trying to figure out how to model my complex business. I had heard a bit of buzz about this book but was suspect about adding yet another book to my repertoire. Having read this - I would have gladly paid $100.00 for it. The case studies are sheer GENIUS. The idea of defining the outcome you WANT and essentially working backwards (this is all demonstrated) was a concept I had never seen. WHERE HAS THIS BOOK BEEN ALL MY LIFE. I followed the templates provided in the back and within the next week I determined that an idea I thought was a winner, was not.

This is the way forward for social enterprises, for-profits and non-profits. THANK YOU PROFS. MACMILLAN AND THOMPSON. Genius!

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mr. YBY

5.0 out of 5 stars

A MUST READ FOR ANY SOCIAL ENTREPRENEUR

Reviewed in the United States on January 8, 2014

My partner and I used this book as we began to design our business model and product. We used the "Tough Love Tests" as a measuring stick to test our ideas and product validation. It was through these tests that we changed our whole business plan and product development. This booked saved us tens of thousands of dollars and even more heartache. This is a must read for any entrepreneur, not just of the social variety, but anyone who wants to start a business should read this AMAZING book!

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Wendy

5.0 out of 5 stars

Thanks for a great book!

Reviewed in the United States on January 18, 2014

This was a terrific help in thinking through a new ventures and in engaging some colleagues in thinking through the steps to success i a logical way. The spreadsheets were especially helpful and "Addressing the Inevitable Sociopolitical" was a key chapter with information that I think often doesn't get nearly enough attention and thus leads to issues later on.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Erin

5.0 out of 5 stars

If you read one book before starting your social venture….MAKE THIS IT

Reviewed in the United States on April 1, 2014

If you read one book.


As someone who has used this book on a few different occasions, for different social ventures very close to my heart, it's the ultimate, bring me back to earth. Incidentally this book is also affordable in an e format. It asks all the right questions and ensures that project that may become your life's work is that RIGHT one. I've never had a book help as much as this one.