BRAD GIBB | The DANGEROUS Truth About Mentors

I really enjoy listening to Jeff's Podcast. It is very insightful and informative. I learn so much from the information he provides in his podcasts, especially about SEO and social media marketing. I've been using some of the techniques that are covered on Jeff's podcast for a few months now and it has helped me grow my business tremendously by improving my website traffic, increasing search engine rankings and boosting social media engagement with clients/customers. The best part is that this whole process can be done within minutes! If you're looking for an easy way to improve your online presence, then definitely check out this podcast!

If you’re longing for financial freedom, this one's for you!


You can Rise Up and Live Free, just like Brad.


💰 Learn The Fastest Way To Become A Millionaire 👉 https://millionairesecrets.com/BradG


Welcome back to another episode of Millionaire Secrets!


Today I’ve been joined by Brad Gibb - Co-Founder of Cash Flow Tactics!


From Goldman Sachs, partner at an accounting firm, to investment millionaire, Brad has seen the financial system from a perspective many will never see.


If you’re longing for financial freedom, this one's for you!


Are you ready to own your time and take control?


Decide what you get paid and when?


If you’re in the same position as Brad once was, stuck in the 9-5 rat race, you're playing a dangerous game.


You can Rise Up and Live Free, just like Brad.


Here’s how...



Check Out More of Brad’s Content Here 👇


💻 https://cashflowtactics.com/


🎙️ Rise Up. Live Free. Podcast 👉 https://cashflowtactics.com/listen/


💪 Join The CHALLENGE 👉 https://go.cashflowtactics.com/optin3...


📒 Blog Cash Flow Tactics 👉 https://cashflowtactics.com/blog/


📺 YT 👉 https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVar...


📲 IG Cash Flow Tactics 👉 https://www.instagram.com/cashflowtac...


🖥️ FB Cash Flow Tactics 👉 https://www.facebook.com/cashflowtact...

ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/in/bradley-g...


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/thebradgibb/



---------------------------

👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 Tired of struggling alone? Join ENTRE Nation - the Internet's #1 community of entrepreneurs and awesome life creators:

https://www.ENTREnation.com


--------------------------------

Subscribe to this YouTube channel for exclusive training on marketing, sales, entrepreneurship, and investing...

▶️ https://youtube.com/jefflernerofficia...


--------------------------------

Follow Me across Social Media for more free training and exclusive content...

🔔 https://TrainingWithJeff.com/social


--------------------------------

ENTREpreneur merch:

🛒 https://store.entrenation.com


--------------------------------

🤑 WANT TO BE AN AFFILIATE OF MY PROGRAMS? 🤑

https://affiliates.entreinstitute.com (free affiliate program)


#jefflerner #entrepreneur #business

1 year ago

Now having an Entre coach has been the best decision I've made in my whole life, amazing podcast !

1

REPLY

1 year ago

After absorbing dozens of these bad boys, this one was friggin awesome and super insightful. The way you guys discuss the difference between emulating a mentors formula as opposed to copying their results is spot on! Smashing convo 😂! #entrenation #questforexcellence

REPLY

1 year ago

You are awesome Jeff and I am glad I am with Entre.

REPLY

1 year ago

Wow! Brad Gibb Mic drop! Whew!!! This conversation was PACKED with VERY VALUABLE LESSONS AND INSIGHTS. I'm glad to be a new member of Entre and I'm Jeff Lerner's newest biggest fan. (-Steven Santoyo)

REPLY

View reply from Jeff Lerner

1 year ago

it is risky to just get one perspective. reminds me of an election and a president lol. i appreciate the reason you guys did this video!!!

REPLY

1 year ago

Listened carefully; understood. 75--zero family; zero debt(consumer and/or commercial). 10 years ? Might not be around in ten years. It would be a "last ditch" fight.

REPLY



BRAD GIBB

The Coaching Habit: Say Less, Ask More & Change the Way You Lead Forever Paperback – February 29, 2016

by Michael Bungay Stanier (Author)

4.6 out of 5 stars

6,709 ratings

In Michael Bungay Stanier's The Coaching Habit Coaching becomes a routine and informal part of your workday, so that management and teams perform less work and make greater impact.

Based on his the years of experience in teaching more than 10,000 busy executives across the world in everyday, practical coaching, Bungay Stanier reveals how to unleash your team's potential. He explains seven essential coaching questions and demonstrates how -- by speaking less and asking more, you can create coaching strategies that yield great outcomes.

  • Be direct and concise in any conversation by using the Kickstart question.

  • Keep track of your progress during any contact with The Awe Question.

  • Spend less time on yourself by using the lazy question and save the hours for others by using The Strategic Questions

  • Find the root of any internal or interpersonal problem through The Focus Questions as well as The Foundation Question.

  • Also, ensure that other people appreciate your coaching just as much as you did with Your Learning Question

A new and innovative approach to the classic how-to guide This book is a combination of details from insider sources with research on behavioural economics and neuroscience and interactive training tools to transform advice from the practical into habits that can be implemented. Informative and humorous, The Coaching Habit can transform your workplace from good to outstanding.


"Coaching is an art and it's far easier said than done. It takes courage to ask a question rather than offer up advice, provide and answer, or unleash a solution. giving another person the opportunity to find their own way, make their own mistakes, and create their own wisdom is both brave and vulnerable. In this practical and inspiring book, Michael shares seven transformative questions that can make a difference in how we lead and support. And he guides us through the tricky part - how to take this new information and turn it into habits and a daily practice." -- Brene Brown Author of Rising Strong and Daring Greatly


"Michael Bungay Stanier distills the essentials of coaching to seven core questions. And if you master his simple yet profound technique, you'll get a two-fer. You'll provide more effective support to your employeesand co-workers. And you may find that you become the ultimate coach for yourself."

-- Daniel H. Pink The author of To Sell Is Human and Drive


"What can you do to become a better leader? Michael asks and answers this question by offering aspiring leaders seven thoughtful questions that will change their leadership habits. This book is full of practical,useful and interesting questions, ideas and tools that will guide any leader trying to be better."

-- Dave Ulrich , co-author of The Why of Work and The Leadership Code


"Michael's intelligence, wit, articulateness and dedication to the craft of coaching shine forth in this brilliant how-to manual for anyone called to assist others. Even after four decades of my own experience in thisarena, The Coaching Habit has provided me with great takeaways."

-- David Allen Author of Getting Things Done


" The Coaching Habit It's funny, clever practical, memorable, and grounded in current behavioral science. I found it very useful to my own research and collaborations."

-- James Slezak , Executive Director of Strategy, New York Times

John W. Pearson

5.0 out of 5 stars

The Best Coaching Question in the World

Reviewed in the United States on February 27, 2016

Verified Purchase

Oh, my.


MEMO TO EVERY PERSON I’VE PRETENDED TO COACH OR MENTOR: I’m so, so sorry! Honest!


Here’s why. This month I was a learner in a seminar with CEOs and board chairs. The highly energetic, wise and witty facilitator was Michael Bungay Stanier, the author of the hot-off-the-press book, “The Coaching Habit.”


At a coffee break, halfway through the three-hour, how-to-coach practicum, I told Stanier that—already—the seminar was on my Top-10 list of best workshops ever attended (and I’ve attended my fair share). Here’s why I gave it a 10:


Three memorable points on coaching:

--BE LAZY: Stop working so hard.

--BE CURIOUS: Stop giving so much advice.

--BE OFTEN: Stop waiting to coach.


And how’s this for role reversal? I’m usually reading snippets from books to my wife. She picked this up first and is still reading—and reminding me—on what effective coaching looks like, especially the “stop giving so much advice” poke-in-the-ribs. Ouch.


Stanier notes that “Harland Howard said every great country song has three chords and the truth. This book gives you seven questions and the tools to make them an everyday way to work less hard and have more impact.” The seven essential questions:

--The Kickstart Question

--The AWE Question

--The Focus Question

--The Foundation Question

--The Lazy Question

--The Strategic Question

--The Learning Question


Stanier says the best coaching question in the world is the AWE question: “And What Else?”


In a four-minute drill with another board chair, I was instructed to ask four questions displayed on the seminar room screen. Stanier says “the first answer someone gives you is almost never the only answer, and it’s rarely the best answer,” so the AWE question is the perfect follow-up.

--Q1: What’s the real challenge here for you?

--Q2: And what else?

--Q3: And what else?

--Q4: So what’s the real challenge here for you?


In just four minutes—it was almost magical. I stuck to the bargain (whew—very hard) and just asked questions of my board chair partner. He responded to each question—and increasingly, in response to “And what else?” he dug deeper and deeper and—BINGO!—answered his own question and solved his own challenge.


Where was this book when I was pretending to coach team members, clients, my son, my grandkids, and many, many others? Yikes!


I’ve underlined gems on almost every page:

--Although coaching is listed as one of the six essential leadership styles in Daniel Goleman’s article, “Leadership That Gets Results” (a Harvard Business Review classic), “it was the least-used leadership style.”

--“You can build a coaching habit” and “You can coach someone in ten minutes or less. And in today’s busy world, you have to be able to coach in ten minutes or less.”

--“Coaching should be a daily, informal act, not an occasional, formal ‘It’s Coaching Time!’ event.”


Stanier’s humor sneaks up on you! As you embark on what he calls the “coaching habit,” he suggests you start somewhere easy:


“If you’re going to manage someone differently, pick someone who might be up for it and is willing to cut you some slack. Or pick someone with whom it’s all going so badly that you’ve got nothing left to lose.”


ANOTHER AHA! The author says there’s a huge difference between coaching for performance—and coaching for development. “Call them forward to learn, improve and grow, rather than to just get something sorted out.”


A gargantuan fan of questions—versus answers—he quotes Nancy Willard: “Answers are closed rooms; and questions are open doors that invite us in.”


“CUT THE INTRO AND ASK THE QUESTION” is another shot over the bow. He notes, “No James Bond movie starts off slowly. Pow! Within 10 seconds you’re into the action, the adrenaline has jacked and the heart is beating faster”—so “cut the preliminary flim-flam” in your coaching process. In 72-point font on page 52, Stanier shouts: “If you know what question to ask,

get to the point and ask it.”


TAME THE ADVICE MONSTER! “We’ve all got a deeply ingrained habit of slipping into the advice-giver/expert/answer-it/solve-it/fix-it mode.” (One study revealed that doctors interrupt patients with advice within 18 seconds. Ditto, perhaps, the rest of us.)


Slow down and take a breath, says Stanier. “Even though we don’t really know what the issue is, we’re quite sure we’ve got the answer they need.”


VP OF BOTTLENECKING. If your employee name badge should read “VP of Bottlenecking,” you must read this book. These seven essential coaching questions will help you coach others, and as Stanier perceptively writes, “Focus on the real problem, not the first problem.”


There are dozens and dozens of more gems in this fresh, easy-to-read format (plus almost 50 full-page quotations—all PowerPoint-worthy). I just ordered eight books for colleagues who are coaching boards and CEOs this year.

752 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Joel C. Small

5.0 out of 5 stars

SIMPLE, YET EFFECTIVE.

Reviewed in the United States on February 22, 2018

Verified Purchase

I am a board certified executive coach in the healthcare industry. For some time now I have been searching for a way to provide my doctors with coaching skills they can use within their clinical practices. Creating coaching cultures within organizations is currently a very hot topic in the coaching world, so when I became aware of Michael Stanier's book I immediately downloaded it to my kindle. I found his book to be remarkable because of its simplicity and powerful message. After struggling trying to decide how to impart all of a coaches knowledge and skill to my clients, Michael's book provided the realization that most clients do not need to be full fledged coaches to transform their existing practice culture to a coaching culture. Michael's book provides basic, yet simple, techniques that anyone can use to begin coaching their people.

The most powerful message found in this book is that we must move away from being "problem solvers", and concentrate our efforts on

becoming "people developers". By doing so we challenge our people to become the best they can be, and in the process we become much better leaders.

75 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


David A. Wachtel

5.0 out of 5 stars

especially the ones that like to give advice because it's easier

Reviewed in the United States on August 14, 2017

Verified Purchase

I train coaches, especially the ones that like to give advice because it's easier. For a lot of reasons. As a result, I got a kick out of the haiku on page 59

"Talk less and ask more

Your advice is not as good

As you think it is"

This really takes what, for many is a complex and intimidating process and simplifies it. I got the book on Saturday, and had it read before I went to bed. It's not short...it's just that good.

Too many managers have been "trained" by imitating what their manager did and they replicate behaviors that really do not improve the development of their teams. But it gives them the sense of being in charge or control. Or the example I like to use is, "do you want to be a firefighter or a rainmaker?" Would you prefer to employ fire prevention, or always be putting out the fires after they have started?

I'd recommend this to managers and to leaders looking for ideas on how to explain this coaching thing.

49 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Get this book NOW!

Reviewed in the United States on July 8, 2016

Verified Purchase

I read a lot, like 5 books a week, and I can't say enough about this book.


First off when you pick up this book, it just feels light and beautiful.


The way it's presented is just plain amazing and simple. The words and writing isn't clutter or "filled" up. You get actionable steps to put into practice for yourself and clients. Not many coaching books or books in general really get to the point. He doesn't talk about meaningless things that bore you.


Michael knows exactly what he's talking about and demonstrates it beautifully with the way he describes the process of the coaching questions to use. Whether you're new or a vet to coaching, hell even if you don't coach, this book is more than just a book.


Imagine a $3,000 3 day workshop packed into a home course that you can take anywhere. This is it!

60 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


TilTuesdayGirl

5.0 out of 5 stars

Exceptional Resource - A 'Must Read' for Any Leader

Reviewed in the United States on August 20, 2019

Verified Purchase

I originally ordered/received this book in January 2019. Despite best intentions, it landed on a shelf amidst other management style self-help type books (so many out there)….many purchased with those same best intentions only to languish on that shelf. But ‘finding the time’ to actually read them(???), ever the challenge.


That time recently manifested while between professional opportunities after deciding to walk away from a new but unfortunate, short-lived endeavor out of a 30-year career in leadership. In my effort to stay relevant, bolster skills and continue growing, I turned attention to those well intended books, consuming one or more daily. Besides, there are only so many cabinets, drawers and closets that I could reorganize in my house…it was time for some dedicated professional reading unlike rushed or half-hearted past efforts.


Apart from a great opportunity in self-development and reminder to do a better job ‘making’ versus ‘finding’ time going forward, The Coaching Habit was a true delight and page turner. He basically had me at ‘stop working so hard’. I finished it in a few hours.


It read easily with simple, straight-forward concepts and language. And, the content is well-organized into a logical flow of material and those chapters in delivering the information. I was encouraged and remained engaged in that the concepts were (1) not overly basic or elementary, (2) not unrealistic or off point, (3) not cliché, too cutesy, ‘hokey’ or preachy, and (4) not lost or overburdened amidst repetition, storytelling or humor. All while packaged in a clean, simple format, which flowed easily and was attractive aesthetically, free of overfilled, text laden pages or in smaller font (important for some of us).


Michael Bungay Stanier seamlessly correlates familiar workplace challenges and offers those in absorbable, useful bite-sized chunks with practical, specific approaches to counter or corral those and bring success. His delivery is very ‘real’, pragmatic and resourceful. It was especially insightful to distinguish between coaching for performance versus coaching for development. His recognition of best intentions from The Advice Monster and roles within the Drama Triangle offered keen insights and perspective, including how these trip us up in our professional (or personal) relationships – most importantly how to increase self-awareness and better self-manage those.


The Coaching Habit references multiple other helpful resources, including credible recommendations for related literature or publications (appreciating the author’s including those, making them pertinent, sharing his observations and/or quoting specific items). I’ve ordered a few of those, which will not land on my shelf this time. The author is exceptionally well read in the genre, indicating he reads an estimated 100 business books a year. I’ve joined his LinkedIn group and downloaded a couple of goodies (via link) included among the book as well. I highly recommend The Coaching Habit.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Steve Gladis

5.0 out of 5 stars

Smart Stuff

Reviewed in the United States on June 19, 2019

Verified Purchase

This book encourages us to replace a telling leadership style with a coaching one—and making it a habit. Nearly 45% of our actions are habitual; so, making coaching a new habit requires knowledge and practice. The author offers what he calls The 7 Essential Questions. #1. The Kickstart Question: What’s on your mind? #2. The A.W.E. Question: And, what else? #3. The Focus Question: What’s the real challenge here for you? #4. The Foundation Question: What do you want? #5. The Lazy Question: How can I help? #6. The Strategic Question: If you’re saying yes to this, what are you saying no to? #7. The Learning Question: What was most useful to you? Creating questions slows people down by making them reflect, and that reflection leads to better decisions and learning.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Utkan Uluçay

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very concise, impressive!

Reviewed in the United States on August 11, 2017

Verified Purchase

A very good book for me. Friendly, fun to read, several times AHA moments.

structured way of presenting ideas, reasonable repetitions, briefings at chapter ends.

A very good website accompanying the book, referenced videos by pages, worksheets, additional small ebook formatted reports, all FREE!

I had a basic certification by ICF for coaching, I had completed 60 hours of classroom training and an audio coaching session as a test.

Now I feel that training could have been more direct and time could have been devoted to more practice..

I keep repeating 7 questions by myself and restless to practice within my family first :)

Great book, must read.

For coaches, students, employees, managers, leaders, fathers, mothers,.... I love it!

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


OERA1

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read for all managers and teachers.

Reviewed in the United States on August 21, 2016

Verified Purchase

One of the best books I have ever read--The author provides a nice and simple guide so that we can become better managers for those of us working through other people. I can definitively see myself in many of the examples about the things we do and don't do--I love the seven questions and his way about explaining each of them...as well as the ability to make our own notes.


I sure have many habits I need to replace, with better ones.


Strongly recommend it to anyone trying to become a better manager, a better teacher--or a better person.

18 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Michael Helms

5.0 out of 5 stars

This Book Could Easily Be Called The "Life Habit"

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

Michael Bungay Stainer's book "The Coaching Habit" could just as easily be called the "life habit," because much of what he discusses isn't just about coaching, but rather about being a good listener. Far too many people have a preoccupation with dispensing advice on anyone that will listen (and anyone that doesn't want to listen, but finds themselves listening out of politeness), and this book is a wonderful antidote to that tendency. The clear and concise points that he makes in this book can be implemented immediately, and the results are similarly instantaneous: in my own interactions, I've found that people have opened up to me more, that my communications with them are more meaningful, and that people now seem to be seeking out my advice more (which was something I was completely unprepared for). A quick and excellent read, and one that I think can benefit anyone with an open mind and a desire to form more meaningful connections with others.

Helpful

Report abuse


Tracey Krska - Prime Member

5.0 out of 5 stars

Practical and Easy to Follow

Reviewed in the United States on May 11, 2021

Verified Purchase

To those reviewers who absolutely have the right to their opinion on this particular work, I would challenge their viewpoint. If you are a licensed coach fully trained and out there coaching others--this is not the book for you.


There are those of us who don't know a lot about use of coaching style in management positions, and this was a very helpful, practical start. It gave a little bit of a lot that I could use right away. It made me want to reach out for deeper and more learning to move forward. I'd call that a success.

2 people found this helpful


Rob Darrow

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is a great book that I could not put down!!!

Reviewed in the United States on February 4, 2017

Verified Purchase

To hammer this point home I'll tell you a brief background of my reading history, which is easy, because it was none. I didn't read my first book until college (fiction or non-fiction) and yes I failed a lot of English classes in Highschool. I would be perplexed every time someone spoke of a book "they just couldn't put down", they all seemed to heavy for me to even pick up. Once I started my professional career I started reading more and more non-fiction books, starting with Crucial Confrontations. I have to admit I finish very few. The Coaching Habit, I COULD NOT PUT DOWN. the writing style that was a combination of putting things in small, understandable chunks and just the right sarcastic humor worked wonders for me. Most importantly, I immediately put the AWE question and the Focus question into place at work. As the book described, the effects were immediately felt! I could see people light up when I asked.


I bought the paperback, I am going to buy the audio book for my 2.5 hour commute I have going over the next couple of months, just to really ingrain the information in my head.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Michael Duncan

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must-read practical guide for managers and leaders

Reviewed in the United States on October 12, 2019

Verified Purchase

I was looking for the best possible book on coaching / mentoring as it has been some time since I last read up on the subject. In searching the internet, this book seemed to come out on top, so I decided to purchase it.

I found the audio version particularly helpful - it was very clear and easy to follow.

In fact, I would heartily recommend the book to anyone who is charged with managing one or more people. The very practical tips (with practice of course) are easy to understand and make total sense. In essence, the book teaches you to ask questions rather than jump in with advice or solutions (the trap that most of us fall into). This is the only way we will be able to develop the colleagues reporting to us.

I am really pleased that I purchased this book!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Travis S. Collier

5.0 out of 5 stars

Simple Does Not Mean Easy.

Reviewed in the United States on January 20, 2017

Verified Purchase

I've had the audiobook version on repeat. The number one lesson I've learned--coaching isn't just a job I do, but it's a leadership approach integrated into my lifestyle. I'm an active duty, military officer--who's also started a part-time coaching practice on the side. It's been hard for me to keep the two leadership perspectives separate--I hadn't been using my coaching approach or skillset in the military, but it's all I use when I coach & consult others.


What I learned from this book--coaching is reduced down to a simple set of tools. What's hard? Coaching is a lifestyle change--simple doesn't mean it's easy to apply. And as I take 2017 to reorient my leadership approach to be 100% coaching based--this book has been a perfect alignment tool to help me reinforce my practice.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Donna

5.0 out of 5 stars

So Helpful and Well Laid Out for Implementation!

Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2018

Verified Purchase

I gained a lot of insight from this book. As someone who grew up with a helper for a mom, I think I probably took on that role myself and find myself giving a lot of advice and feeling like I know the answers to help people. This book helps me practice a hard stop to start helping people realize they have the answers to their challenges within themselves and helping them learn how to get there. It is a simple book, not very long, and attractively laid out with some large and bold quotes, exercises where you fill in the blanks for yourself, and short chapters. The videos at their website and the other listening things they reference you two are also helpful if you want more information. Definitely a great book I am glad I read.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mike Grabarek

5.0 out of 5 stars

A coaching book for the reality of today

Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2016

Verified Purchase

This is an outstanding book for not only supervisors, but also for anyone who wants to improve their conversations with those around them (co-workers, family and friends). As a director of learning and development, I spend part of my time coaching people and also facilitating workshops on improving conversations.


This book is DEFINITELY for the current times where supervisors struggle to find the time for formal one-on-one conversations. Using the guidance in this book, you can throw away these formal meetings and integrate coaching throughout your entire day. How liberating is that?


While this book won't replace an intensive year-long coaching certification, it will rapidly get you 80% of the way there with a bit of practice - and wow you with how much easier it is for you to have meaningful and satisfying conversations that encourage buy-in and ownership with those around you.

18 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Juan Pablo

5.0 out of 5 stars

Dungay is practical and practical so practical

Reviewed in the United States on September 1, 2021

Verified Purchase

A must have guide for coaches, managers and leaders at any level, in his very entertaining and engaging style, Dungay goes all the way teaching his easy to implement and easy to stick information with no psychobabble, no nonsense everything is usable, field proof, and you'll enjoy every minute of this book, yes really! so much that when you finish it, youll wonder "that was a lot of fun"! ....But wait I've learned a lot, mmm lets see, I will go back to the lazy question chapter.... and there you know it, Dungay got under your skin, and you have are now into the language and behaviors, so now build your habits and make others be great under your tutelage!!! I cant wait to see what he is bringing us next!!!

Helpful

Report abuse


Dr. Jackson

5.0 out of 5 stars

Quick Read - Great Info - Worth the Time

Reviewed in the United States on January 6, 2022

Verified Purchase

I really enjoyed this book. It's clear and concise. There are seven questions in order to help with your coaching, and each is explained in a fun, smart way. The author is funny and has a good style to get the point across. I have already started using a couple of the questions - #2 and #7. (You'll have to read the book to know what I'm talking about.) I already knew about Question #2 and just needed a reminder. The last question was an "ah-ha" for me and it seems to be well embraced for my team so far. This one is helpful. Get it, read it, use it.

Helpful

Report abuse


Juan Pablo Gómez

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent, fun to read and very useful

Reviewed in the United States on November 14, 2018

Verified Purchase

This book is a little bit confusing at the beginning because of the way each chapter ir organized, you don’t really know if you are in the first the second or the third question. Once you are through with that it’s because that really doesn’t matter that much and you just want to keeping reading and learning. The trigger/old habit/new habit dynamics are the best, they really force you to assess yourself and make those old habits disappear. The webinars are fun to watch. I recommend to take notes both on the trigger/old habit/new habit dynamics and the webinars. I explained each of the essential questions to my wife and then practiced with her, that may help you, too. I wish I had read this book 1 year ago, not only did I lost a lot of time ‘giving advice‘, but I also made other people lose their time with my ‘advice’. Hopefully this is my last advice: read this book!

Helpful

Report abuse


TXOURF

5.0 out of 5 stars

What If We Developed Better Leaders by Asking Great Questions?

Reviewed in the United States on February 9, 2017

Verified Purchase

There is a clear propensity in today's fast paced business cultures to simply pass out answers so we can quickly move onto the next fire fight. The question becomes, "how many casualties are we losing along the path?" If we grow our people then we'll grow our business and are we really pulling them forward towards their potential by being the answer guy. "The Coaching Habit" helps break us out of that mentality by simplifying an approach of asking key questions that fosters a higher level of engagement with team members, while growing their problem solving awareness to a new level. My mentor John Maxwell wrote a book about leaders asking great questions. Michael has now provided a text for what those questions should look like. We're currently using this great resource as a Mastermind/Book study with 35 Lean Champions to develop better coaches, who in turn strengthen their teams. I also like the difference in formatting of the chapters, which contributes to us moving out of the norm. In a world where we need to simplify, while adding value to others, "The Coaching Habit," will be an excellent tool in helping fuel change.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


John J. Knight

5.0 out of 5 stars

Be a better Coach

Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2016

Verified Purchase

Really great book with thoughtful and simplistic ways to enhance your coaching style (habits). I am going to try and start these and see how comfortable I am with them. I think trying to stop "giving answers" straight away will be the biggest hurdle, but the strategic questions provide a way to work thru that impulse. If you manage people I recommend this books, it really does provide a different and straight forward way of thinking.

3 people found this helpful


Jeffrey

5.0 out of 5 stars

A GREAT book destined to be a classic!

Reviewed in the United States on May 12, 2017

Verified Purchase

I am genuinely impressed with how simple and effective this book is. I'm a life and business coach, and podcast host, so I'm always looking for ways to take my curiosity and question crafting to the next level. This book did all that and more.


Here is just a few things I loved about it...


If you've ever tried to create a new habit, you know there is an art to it. Right in the beginning, Michael addresses this in a very simple 3 frame formula to understand how to successfully integrate each question as a habit. Then at the end of each chapter he gives example of how to do this making it crystal clear.


Each of the 7 questions really help to create an open platform of communication and helps the asker/manager/parent/coach direct the person being asked into their own experience and begin to find the solution for themselves. This is super empowering for the individual and a huge relief for the asker.


This is NOT just for business, the tools this book have helped me as a parent, a husband, and a friend. It's amazing what can happen when we stop trying to be the wellspring of knowledge with all the answers and shift into truly caring about helping someone arrive at their own conclusions. Yes, advice has it's place, BUT as the saying goes... You have two ears and one mouth, use them proportionately :)


Thank you Michael for such a great book that is sure to be a classic!


Jeff

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


S.Bent

5.0 out of 5 stars

Less advice, more questions.

Reviewed in the United States on November 28, 2021

Verified Purchase

I am a master teacher and my principal recommended this book as I was prepping to take a coaching job. There’s coaching to improve the human capital of others and there’s making those you Coach feel like crap. This books gives you the strategies and talking points to elicit thoughts and reflections of the staff without constantly dumping your advice on them. Allow them the space to reflect and see where they can improve while you work collaboratively with them to build on that. I’m not saying it’s easy; I’m saying this makes it a bit more feasible.

Helpful

Report abuse


ThisDude

5.0 out of 5 stars

Best book on developing associates you lead!

Reviewed in the United States on April 6, 2020

Verified Purchase

The most accurate management book in my library. Some critics say it's too short, some say it's too superficial. The reality is this book is a broad, easy to read, well rounded system for leading. It's a communication system and one worth memorizing.


On another note, the recommended books on his website are very good. My only disagreement is that 'Atomic Habits' is a better book than both of his books on building habits.

Helpful

Report abuse


Ilaria

5.0 out of 5 stars

Coaching as an habit, by improving your listening skills

Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2017

Verified Purchase

I loved the clear format, the simplicity and the wittiness of the language, and most of the power of Bungary Stanier's message.

Coaching as an habit, as something that you can possibly do in 15 minutes and where you as a coach/manager don't rush into the "rescuer/fixer" role but rather actively and curiously listen to the person you are coaching and ask 7 powerful questions. The way these questions are posed compel the person seeking coaching to get down to the real problem and find out his/her own path to solve it. And, in agreement with Bungary Stanier, I believe this is the ultimate way to help this person develop and grow within an organization.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


StephenM

5.0 out of 5 stars

Brilliant! So Helpful!

Reviewed in the United States on September 10, 2017

Verified Purchase

I don't believe anyone is a "born" manager. It's a skill that's cultivated over time. Unfortunately, most of us learn from less-than-stellar managers. Michael's book solved so many profound challenges I've had as a manager and coach. The 7 questions he lays out serve as a beautiful platform to help team members authentically, in an empowering, humane way. I especially appreciated his insights on the types of thoughts managers often have in the moment of coaching, and his advice on how to not give in to the old habits that sabotaged many well-meaning coaches and managers. Written in a witty, breezy, conversational style, you'll laugh while learning. Please. For the sake of the crappy work cultures out there. And for your own sake of avoiding another miserable coaching session: BUY THIS BOOK.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Cendie S.

5.0 out of 5 stars

I’m going to call you the question master

Reviewed in the United States on January 10, 2018

Verified Purchase

I bought 3 copies - 1 for my home - 1 for work - and 1 I gifted to a coworker after reading it. I finished this book within 3 days and immediately started using the 7 questions. Below is a text message I received from one of my employees who observed me using the questioning techniques (she didn't know about the book at the time)


"Cendie, I wanted to tell you that I’ve noticed and want to emulate how you ask question in a way that really requires reflective thinking. I noticed when you did that with me during our rubric convo and I saw it again with our "student" today. I’m going to call you the question master lol"


Michael's approach in this book is sticky, humorous, and applicable. I feel like my brain has so much more "oxygen" now that I use these simple questions to help my employees solve their own challenges.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


M. Montgomery

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great for work - and for home

Reviewed in the United States on August 6, 2021

Verified Purchase

The framework of questions is easy to understand and a great job of laying out WHY they fall into a particular order.


Clearly spells out why my teenager is mad that I'm giving them advice when I am just asking questions. I'm not asking questions - I'm giving advice in the form of a question and now I can frame that discussion differently. Recommend for leaders, parents, or anyone that has to interact with other humans that they need to collaborate with for results.

Helpful

Report abuse


Zachary Sexton

5.0 out of 5 stars

My Playbook

Reviewed in the United States on October 20, 2017

Verified Purchase

The Coaching Habit fundamentally changed the way I connect with my clients. I used to come into meetings with a ton of ideas I thought they should implement. I spent most of the time talking at my clients and failing to listen to their problems. Not a good strategy if you want to get to the heart of the issue quickly.


Now I use Michael Bungay's 7 questions to let my clients do most of the talking and thinking. As a result, I get more context to their problems and can be much more specific with the solutions I offer.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kristin N Smith

5.0 out of 5 stars

Simple, Effective, Necessary

Reviewed in the United States on April 13, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book is one of my go-to recommendations when people I encounter need to become better coaches. I like the concepts in this book because they are simple and few in number. There are only seven questions you need to ask and TONS of research backing those questions up. Additionally, the questions, when used as recommended, are quite effective. They encourage people to think for themselves while allowing you to create that space for them. Finally, this book is necessary if you coach others, if you help people become better coaches, or if you just want to be a better human being. It's thoughtfully written, funny, and intriguing. What else do you need in life?

Helpful

Report abuse


Stephen Howell

5.0 out of 5 stars

Lead with "what" instead of "why"

Reviewed in the United States on June 18, 2017

Verified Purchase

This is one of the most important business books I've read in a very long while - and - will likely be one of the most important ones you'll read during your career. I only wish that I had stumbled onto this book earlier - what a difference it would have made for the people I've manage on the teams I've run. The good news is after reading this book, I am now better equipped to lead my current and future teams. I will now be able to re-frame my coaching using the seven questions to better team results.


Doug

5.0 out of 5 stars

A book for anyone that works with people

Reviewed in the United States on October 5, 2016

Verified Purchase

If you manage people...parent kids...or you're a professional coach, this book is for you. For the novice, it teaches you how and why the art of questioning is a powerful in helping and leading others. If you are a coach, The Coaching Habit will re-direct your skills back to the foundation of what makes a coach great. I highly recommend this book.

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Linda S. Savanauskas

5.0 out of 5 stars

The Coaching Habit – Habit Forming

Reviewed in the United States on May 4, 2017

Verified Purchase

The Coaching Habit – Habit Forming

What I love about this book, I purchased as audio book first, and I have listened to it over and over again. I am not done listening, as I continually hear more each time. I love the simplicity of the 7-questions and the acronyms as they help me remember so I can put the coaching habit into my own practice of self-improvement. I love all the additional support items, your treasure trove to keep me engaged in your practice. I bought the physical book to be on my top shelf! Thank you for sharing!

The Coaching Habit: Say Less, Ask More & Change the Way You Lead Forever

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


K Fiery

5.0 out of 5 stars

Really great advice for School Admin

Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2021

Verified Purchase

I was looking for a short read that would give me practical advice to use as an Assistant Principal, and this book was exactly what I needed. I now have the seven questions taped to my desk and whenever someone comes in with a complaint or problem, I use those questions to guide me. Excellent read—finished in a few hours and will use the advice for years to come.

Helpful

Report abuse


Reader Boy

5.0 out of 5 stars

read it right away and thought it was good. Then I got access to the videos from ...

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2018

Verified Purchase

I pre-ordered this book, read it right away and thought it was good. Then I got access to the videos from BOC that went along and explained and put a greater emphasis on "habits" then I re-read the book, wow, that is when it all came together. I had read most of the books Michael referenced but he is exceptional at recognizing and combining materials in a coherent and useful way. This is one of my top ten most favorite books still. I am striving everyday to make my coaching skills a habit, using great questions, being lazy, curious, and often!!

Helpful

Report abuse


ViaVija

5.0 out of 5 stars

Immediate impact on your leadership and business: the content is superb and the writing even better.

Reviewed in the United States on June 25, 2017

Verified Purchase

I don't write a lot of reviews. I'm busy and am growing a business. So every once in awhile a business book will come around that is a game changer, and when it does I take the time to write a review. This is one of them. Not only is the content superb (and immediately implementable--like you can implement while reading the book), the writing and humor is excellent. I'm a big fan and have pages of notes. This book won't be dusty on my bookshelf.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


scoobiedoo

5.0 out of 5 stars

One of the best coaching books!

Reviewed in the United States on July 12, 2019

Verified Purchase

wonderful book! - very well written and thought out - I use his basic questions in my coaching practice - his chapter on the key issues facing business owners - overwhelm, disconnect and over dependence - is so true in my experience - I would recommend anyone read this book who is interested in coaching in the work place and and personal coaching!

His heart is really in the work that he does and it shows - a good example of why coaching is so needed in these times!

Helpful

Report abuse


<