Trevor Thomas Pline Jeff Lerner Review

Meet Trevor Thomas Pline. What brought him to ENTRE in January 2021 was his desire to get out of his job in a lower vibe field--working for the Department of Corrections. It made him self-reflect on if he was doing the best he could be doing in his own life, as he helped try to rehabilitate others. He found ENTRE and was really impressed with many of the programs Jeff has put together, like the Awesome Life challenge. He loves the momentum that starting with the 90-day challenge creates and is excited to keep going.

For today’s episode, I have been joined by the man who needs no introduction, if you know film and entertainment, you’ll know the name: Brad R. Lambert.


💰 Claim Your Free 'Millionaire Shortcut' Book Here 👉 https://millionairesecrets.com/BradL


Welcome to another episode of Millionaire Secrets!


For today’s episode, I have been joined by the great Brad R. Lambert—Producer, Talent Manager, and International Speaker based in Los Angeles.


It’s fair to say that he’s worked with some of the biggest studios in the industry: Disney, Warner Brothers, Sony, Universal...just to name a few.


But it doesn’t stop there!


Brad has also worked with some of the biggest NAMES in Hollywood too—from Chris Hemsworth to Robert Downey Junior.


Brad is a BIG deal but when asked what he does every day, his answer was simple and humble…


“I try to live out my passions on a day-to-day basis—that’s it!”


As any film nerd could tell you—he has certainly achieved his goals, but where did it all start?


Brad was born and raised in Pittsburgh and graduated from North Carolina State University.


Brad followed his passion for the Steelers and all things Pittsburgh and worked in that industry for almost 10 years!


After working with his favorite athletes, top sports franchises, and global brands, Brad decided to follow his other passion: Film.


Brad did what anyone with a passion for a film would do, he moved to Los Angeles!


But what he also did that not many people would be able to do is this—he hit the ground running with Robert Downey Jr. and managed Warner Bros. Digital Marketing campaigns winning 3 CLIO Awards.


Brad then went out on his own and has been an Independent Producer, Talent Manager, and International Speaker for the past few years, working—as always—with the top brands, studios, and celebrities.


So, how did he do it?


This is your chance to get an exclusive answer to this question straight from the Horse’s mouth…


Listen to the full interview here!




Check Out More of Brad’s Content Here 👇


💻 https://www.bradrlambert.com/


ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/in/bradrlambert/


📺 YT 👉


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_Yy3DCc3WUjBqSbz-PPGJA/


⌨️ Twitter 👉 https://twitter.com/bradrlambert


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/bradrlambert


Trevor Thomas Reviews

Trust Agents: Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust Kindle Edition

by Chris Brogan (Author), Julien Smith (Author) Format: Kindle Edition


4.6 out of 5 stars

11 ratings


This 10-year Anniversary edition Trust Agentshelps Trust Agents helpcompanies to get their feet back with their efforts to earn reputation, focus and confidence.

In the time since the authors Chris Brogan and Julien Smith first published their Trust Agents, theirgroundbreaking publication The Trust Agency Social media platforms have been flooded with unreliable, low-quality content. This has meant that many companies have suffered poor performance and damaged reputations social media campaigns. Social media's power is just as potent as ever, but businesses struggle to win back the trust and interest of their customers. This exclusive 10 anniversary edition of Trust Agents Anniversary edition of Trust Agentshelps businesses of all sizes get their reputation back and regain the trust and respect of their customers.

Celebrating 10 years in the printed edition the New York Times bestseller has been extensively revised and revised to reflect the latest business requirements of social media and the most advanced digital technology. The new content and the supplementary documents help business executives draw the appropriate level of attention, directly communicate to certain groups, and harness human creativity and innovation in the day and age of Artificial Intelligence and automation. From utilizing the latest social media platforms and apps to create trustworthy networks of influence to developing targeted marketing strategies that make it through the digital noise This essential guide is backed by real-world research studies, advanced theories and practical, actionable advice. This essential guide

  • Offers expert guidance on creating and expanding brand influence

  • Specific strategies are provided for small and non-profit organizations, small businesses and the hospitality industry corporations, and many more.

  • Examines the six principal principles of trust agents and their application

  • Explores online tools that help to build more relationships, higher sales, and higher profits

  • Explains the connection of trust and social capital and media

The 10 anniversary edition of Trust Agents: The 10 Anniversary edition The 10th Anniversary Editionof the Trust Agents: Utilizing the Web to build influence Enhance Reputation, Increase Influence, and earn Trustis an important source of


Trust Agents is widely acclaimed for its revolutionary approach to marketing online. This revised version, which has been updated social media gurus Chris Brogan and Julien Smith teach you how to make the most of social media to increase your brand's reputation, influence and generate profits. With high-level theoretical concepts and practical tips, they offer concrete strategies and cases that illustrate the ways that social media could benefit your business. Allow Trust Agents offer you the key to build trust with your customers online so that your business can thrive in the new channels and markets now!

It's not a secret it's true that the Internet has revolutionized the way we conduct business, particularly in the field of marketing. The consumer environment is lacking trust and are populated by people who are skeptical, smart and well-informed. While it's more convenient than ever before to connect with your clients, it's less likely that they'll pay attention. The most important online currency isn't dollars trust, but the word itself. In the same way the social media and personal connections can exert more influence over consumers than any advertising message ever could, unless your company knows how to harness them.

in the book Trust Agents two experts in social media show you how to harness the potential in these social networks and boost your brand's reputation, influence and revenue. Trust agents aren't always salespeople or marketers; they're experts in digital technology who make use of the Web to bring businesses to life through integrity, transparency and real connections. They can use their online influence to either build or destroy a business's image.

This audiobook will show you how to establish profitable connections with trust agents or even become one.

Read less



Marylene Delbourg-Delphis

5.0 out of 5 stars

Social Media -- "Business, it feels, is becoming an art"

Reviewed in the United States on August 23, 2009

Verified Purchase

"Do you see yourself as a Trust Agent?" I asked an entrepreneur. "Kind of," he responded somewhat coquettishly, immediately mentioning that he had thousands of followers on Twitter for his company. He "had a reputation," and he had "earned it." As if any reputation were a "good" one by default (the internet version of "any publicity is good publicity")! As if a "good" reputation at any given time entitled anybody or any company to be trusted in perpetuity. Madoff was a "Trust Agent" in his field, and remained so for a long time mainly because people are so scared at the idea of trusting people that they are even more scared at the idea of questioning the trust they have placed in them... All of this to say that this book addresses anybody: the perpetweeters who feel like inductees into the Web-pantheon -- yet could be dismantled as easily as any statues - and, of course, those who wonder how to expand their influence.


The book is structured around the six main features of a Trust Agent:

1. They make they own game. Nothing to do with ego packaging. They are the people who set new rules and provide a novel or interesting perspective on things.

2. They are "one of us." The expression "social media" maybe somewhat redundant, except that the Web can also be the playing ground of antisocial nerds and weirdos. Trust Agents are people we can relate to and care about others.

3. They understand the principle of the lever - or the Archimedes effect ("Give me a place on which to stand, and I will move the earth") and empower others.

4. They are marvel-ous connectors -- they have the power of an "Agent Zero." "No matter where they go, trust agents have a desire to connect good people together." They are not mere networkers and are more like relationship facilitators.

5. They are human artists. On the Web, we are deprived on 93 percent of all the human signals (38 percent vocal tones and 55 percent body movement), which exposes anybody to a number of blunders. They understand the subtle aesthetics and the etiquette of communication.

6. They know how to "build an army." You can't do it alone. But how can you best convince thousands of ronin and lone rangers to join in and follow? The loyalty of people is first and foremost your loyalty, as a Trust Agent, to them. The Kmart incident let the authors realize that "there are agreements, often implicit, between people and that these social contracts need to be clear and understood at all times."


The chapter "Build an Army" ends with an interesting statement: "Most of the meat of the business isn't in using these [social media] tools, but rather in how they are applied uniquely to your organization." The how requires a new type of skill, and tellingly enough, the conclusion of the book starts with an interesting statement: "Business, it feels, is becoming an art," the art of humanizing people that you may never see, and at looking at a random collection of people as real human beings emotionally connected by what the authors often call a "social contract." Push marketers are doomed to belong to another age, and social media marketing, still kind of a sidekick in marketing organizations, will be the cornerstone of the next marketing age - one governed by a completely new understanding of the value of customer service.


I like this book for many reasons. It's pragmatic and offers actionable advice to individuals and business leaders. I like the underlying assumption of a good-natured, transparence-driven popular sovereignty of digital natives that trust agents must respect to remain trust agents - and not turn into a body of traders controlling the social media business. I was interested by the fact that it is written by two authors who end up complementing each other as they express the complexity of a social media scene, the strange confluence of behaviors that we have caught from living on the Internet for the last 15 years, playing computer and video games (from the first SimCity to MMO games), reading American comic-books while still breathing in the real world.

10 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Dr. Yuval Lirov

5.0 out of 5 stars

A behavioral component of a four book series

Reviewed in the United States on July 22, 2010

Verified Purchase

Personally, the Presidential elections of 2008 got me interested in social media, as I saw how a skillful use of social media technology generated a network effect to successfully change the outcome of the elections.


Both the social media technology and the people habits using it continue to evolve daily. The amount of literature about social networking keeps growing in step with the changes in this domain. Unfortunately, none of the books can cover all of this topic alone. That's why these four books make a small course in this most important field starting from


1. Motivation (Gary Vaynerchuk, Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion ),

2. Etiquette (Chris Brogan and Julien Smith, Trust Agents: Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust ),

3. Practice (Tris Hussey, Create Your Own Blog: 6 Easy Projects to Start Blogging Like a Pro ), and

4. Encyclopedia (Darren Barefoot and Julie Szabo, Friends with Benefits Friends with Benefits: A Social Media Marketing Handbook ).


The degree of your own interest in the subject would suggest how many of these books would you read. If you are only interested in a general purpose introduction and an interesting application to wine sales, Gary Vaynerchuk's Why Now is The Time to Crush would serve the purpose.


If you want to know how to behave and what kind of response to expect when participating in the blogosphere, read Chris Brogan's and Julien Smith's Trust Agents. They explain the participant roles, the responsibilities, the approaches, and give plenty advice about how to succeed in commenting on other and writing your own blogs.


To figure out in precise detail how to build your own blog to promote your own product or service, read Tris Hussey's Create Your Own Blog. For a comprehensive reference book, skip the introductory texts above, buy Barefoot's and Szabo's Friends with Benefits, keep it close, and look it up frequently.


Yuval Lirov, Practicing Profitability - Billing Network Effect for Revenue Cycle Control in Healthcare Clinics and Chiropractic Offices: Collections, Audit Risk, SOAP Notes, Scheduling, Care Plans, and Coding

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Elizabeth H. Cottrell

5.0 out of 5 stars

A seminal work in the field of marketing

Reviewed in the United States on February 2, 2010

Verified Purchase

Chris Brogan is, in my mind, one of the great thinkers in the world of online marketing. He has teamed up with a technical maestro, Julien Smith, to get readers thinking way beyond the software or the hype or the sale...these authors want us thinking about ways that people and companies and brands become known and trusted using modern Web tools. It's not just image anymore; it's transparency and authenticity. It's not just thinking about how to sell yourself, but how to solve problems for others. It's not who you know, but who can you introduce to someone else to help them.


If you've got a business with an online presence, even a small one, you need to read this book. If you want to understand what all this technobabble is about, you need to read this book.


Bottom line: we've got amazing, ever-evolving, super-cool tools to help us meet and sell ourselves, our products, and our services to others, but we'd better know why we're doing it and be high-minded in our intentions and goals, or we'll never be Trust Agents and we'll never enjoy the level of success and satisfaction that a true Trust Agent will.


Trust Agents: Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust

Helpful

Report abuse


Stan Dubin

5.0 out of 5 stars

I hate the word "epiphany" but I'm going to use it here...

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2009

Verified Purchase

This is the first time I'm using the word "epiphany" and no, it's not because this is the first one I've had since hearing the word mentioned (and defined). I just got hit between the eyeballs early in "Trust Agents" and it has made a nice difference in my approach online.


How does one elicit trust online? On one level, it's really no different than how it's done offline: genuine communication, getting people effectively helped, giving people more than they paid for, etc.


A key to marketing online, at least for me, are those first contacts: the first time someone visits your blog/web site; the first time someone (really) meets you at a social media venue; how all of those bookmarks you've been creating are being viewed by your potential customers.


Probably the simplest way of stating it is:


"Trust Agents" helped me to upgrade my APPROACH to marketing online. Not how to make a site prettier, easier to navigate or how to get keywords to bring more traffic to my sites.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Tom Mullen

5.0 out of 5 stars

This Book is a Game Changer

Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2013

Verified Purchase

My author friend in southern California recommended this book to me during a reunion breakfast. Turns out - it's a game changer. The basic premise is that humans have pretty good BS detectors, and on the internet, these are turned on and tuned into what you do. So being honest and being genuine on the web is essential to selling your product. The book will change mindsets toward marketing. Basically, you want to be a normal person having a normal conversation with others, rather than to set out from the beginning acting as though you are in any way better than anyone else. It's about trust, and generating trust. I have an online bookstore and web log - and they will change, and likely improve, based on the contents of this book.

Helpful

Report abuse


Robert Metras

5.0 out of 5 stars

EveryDay Business Intelligence

Reviewed in the United States on August 22, 2010

Verified Purchase

Knowing both of the authors from listening to them on Media Hacks-part of the Six Pixels of Separation Podcast I enjoyed their storytelling. The message is universal throughout Trust Agents. Give more than you receive and you will benefit in untold ways. Chris is a consummate blogger and is always providing valuable content that one thinks of him at top of mind when you think of a modern marketer. The written dialogue between the two authors and their observations of each other are unique and give you a good view into their personalities. They both are "what you see is what you get kinda guys" who entertain as well as educate. Even though I have a couple of decades on them I enjoyed their repetition of what works in the business world, from the perspective of timelessness. A good read for any one who enjoys relationship marketing.

Helpful

Report abuse


Kindle Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

GREAT book gets to the heart of what's going on in social media

Reviewed in the United States on July 18, 2015

Verified Purchase

If this isn't an industry standard for people in the social media business, it should be. Brogan pulls back from all the "how many hashtags" pointers you usually see to talk about what's REALLY going on: that social media is about people. Your cachet depends on your ability to entertain, deliver value, and most importantly to maintain your integrity and reliability with your followers. Your customers are your community, and in a world of commodities, trust is still something you can't buy and sell.

Helpful

Report abuse


JD GERSHBEIN

5.0 out of 5 stars

It Takes a Trust Agent to Write About One

Reviewed in the United States on June 13, 2012

Verified Purchase

As one of the seminal figures and a prime influencer in social media, Chris Brogan knows a little something about building and leveraging online communities. Much more than showcasing an accrued experiential knowledge, his writings, teachings and talks all reflect a deep understanding of the etiquette involved in assembling social networks. For those aspiring to a deeper appreciation of all things digital, Brogan is a fascinating figure whose expertise runs the gamut from the latest techie toys to how to structure an email campaign to the finer points of time management.


For those wishing to carve out a path in social, he is at once a guiding light and a tell-it-like-it-is spokesman. He will let you know what he likes, what he doesn't, what works, and what sucks. At this point in the evolution of the revolution, failure of any would-be social media strategist to at least acknowledge Brogan's contributions to the industry (yes, social is an industry!) is akin to any African-American baseball player not paying homage to Jackie Robinson.


Brogan's natural gifts as a communicator are many, but where he separates from the rest of the pack is in his selfless promotion of others--itself, a foundation for any trust agent. As Adjunct Professor of Marketing at the Illinois Institute of Technology's Stuart Graduate School of Business, where I teach the school's first-ever course in social media marketing, I felt this book carried important lessons for my students. Hence, I made "Trust Agents" part of my required reading list. For specific study around network structure, social influence and relationship marketing, my students were charged with incorporating Brogan's work into their final written assignments and oral presentations.


Because I think that Brogan and Smith are on to something deeper here than just describing the nature of conversation-driven relationships, I recommend this book as a universal read for aficionados, practitioners and devotees of social media. It gets to the core of how a thought leadership platform is established and holds your interest from start to finish.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kathy Nicholls

5.0 out of 5 stars

Trust Agents: We need more of them

Reviewed in the United States on January 25, 2010

Verified Purchase

Trust Agents is written by Chris Brogan and Julien Smith, and is a book designed, by its subtitle about "Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust." The book talks about how the world of marketing has changed markedly in the digital age we now live in. Trust agents aren't marketers, but people who participate in the community, gain trust of those who follow them, and share ideas. And while all businesses do exist to sell something and make a profit, it really is about giving back more to the community than taking. They list six principles of trust agents:

1. Make your own game. Don't follow what others are doing, but find what works for you. Try new ways of doing things. It's important to think outside the box. It also means first movers have an advantage over those who stand back and wait to see how something will work out.

2. Be one of us. Be a part of the community, participate, and give to it. This one is really about not simply getting into a community with the goal of self-promotion. You can't take from a community until you have given. I think this speaks a lot to the issue of people who just join the social media networks to spam about their products.

3. Use the Archimedes effect. Archimedes believed if he had a long enough level and a fulcrum on which to place it, he could move the world. It's about leveraging your message.

4. Try to be Agent Zero. It's important to grow your networks and recognize the value of those networks. Also in this step is the importance of connecting with good people and with different groups.

5. Become a human artist. Learn to truly connect with people and empower them. Those connections will come by listening to the community and being sure you hear what they are saying.

6. Build an army. None of us can do things alone. Much like Seth Godin's book "Tribes," this speaks to the value of collaboration when building a group of people who can focus on a common goal.


I have been following Chris Brogan's blog for awhile now. I love it because he has good information and he is so down to earth. You get the feeling of sitting in the room with him and just having a chat. That could be because many of his blogs are actually video blogs where he is doing just that. His ability to connect with people is something I admire. I believe he has the points of being a trust agent down to a science.


The book is a reminder that all of the social media tools like Facebook and Twitter really are not about building business, but about building relationships. Without the relationship, you don't get the business. I have long believed that and this book reinforced many of the things I feel already. It is interesting to note that these ideas do not just apply to business, but to our lives in general.


If you are looking for ways to connect in the new world of social media, I suggest you get "Trust Agents" and read it. There are some great ideas that you can apply to change how you do things.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


JackieBiz

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent Book!

Reviewed in the United States on September 23, 2009

Verified Purchase

I have bought hundreds of books from Amazon.com but this is the first I am actually taking the time to review one. Why? Because I truly believe "Trust Agents" should be mandatory reading for anyone interested in Social Media. As a matter of fact, it should be part of all channel's TOS.


I love Twiter, Facebook, YouTube and all social media channels. They allow us to expand our universe beyond our neighborhood or our own community. Unfortunately in the quest for the "quick buck", many social media users are becoming a real burden in the system by trying to spam you or sell you something from the get go...it's like going to a party and when you meet someone, the first thing they do is take out their product brochure...duh!


This book will help many people correctly enter and use this medium. It will also help them understand how credibility and reputation is so important before they start and damage their own name. Kudos to Chirs and Julien for a job well done.

One person found this helpful


Nei Grando

5.0 out of 5 stars

I have posted a Brazilian Portuguese book review on my blog

Reviewed in the United States on September 5, 2010

Verified Purchase

I am Brazilian and I recently attended the course "Advanced Digital Marketing, Augmented Reality, Web 3.0 and Social Media at ESPM - Escola Superior de Propaganda e Marketing, conducted by Marcelo Negrini, where I got the book name. I really liked the book because it teaches us to make a difference on the Web, generating confidence in our target public and in our real and virtual relationships using correctly the best social networking sites, blogs, etc. When I finish reading it, I spent some time in the review of major concepts and I made a book review in Portuguese and I posted it on my blog.

Helpful

Report abuse


Ginger

5.0 out of 5 stars

More than 1 AH HA moment :)

Reviewed in the United States on November 18, 2010

Verified Purchase

There are many people who claim to be experts. Or, as Chris Brogan prefers - advisers. These guys know what they are talking about. Trust Agents is filled with useful information which helped us come up with a game plan to tackle social media. This book was recommended by a friend along with Chris Brogan's other book, Social Media 101. Both are worth the $ because they will save you a lot of time and energy.

Helpful

Report abuse


Lisa

5.0 out of 5 stars

Don't delay, get it today!

Reviewed in the United States on July 9, 2014

Verified Purchase

This is a great book for anyone who needs to understand how to properly use social media for business. I have been a long time follower of Chris Brogan, and the book didn't disappoint. I got this book to do a final project book review for grad school, and realized I should have picked it up much sooner.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mark Eldridge

5.0 out of 5 stars

Trust Agents delivers

Reviewed in the United States on August 14, 2009

Verified Purchase

Trust Agents gives great insight into the impact new media is having on society overall - just like when radio first came out, most didn't realize how much it would change communication and the world. Great engaging read, whether you're new to social media or an experienced pro it's a well written entertaining and informing book by obvious experts in the industry, Chris Brogan and Julien Smith.


Bottom-line, make your own game and have fun with it connecting with others better then ever previously possible in history and increase the Trust. And as they point out, it's always evolving not static (as is the case with the FriendFeed acquisition this past Monday), changes before their book even hit the bookstore shelf. Stay ahead of the curve and prosper.


You can Trust getting this well written, entertaining, action oriented book. Whether you're just now trying to figure out how to join in the conversations online and need to know what to do next... or a social media evangelist, this book is worth taking the time to read.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jim Kukral

5.0 out of 5 stars

This Book Is A Need, Not A Maybe

Reviewed in the United States on September 21, 2009

Verified Purchase

Play Video

Trust Agents hits a home run. You're going to want to read, and learn, from the theories and practices in this book. Why? Because you are either a person who needs to build trust/influence and be your very own "Trust Agent", or you're a person who needs to figure out how to build a relationship with a trust agent. Either way, you win.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Ashley

5.0 out of 5 stars

If you want to learn a little more about public ...

Reviewed in the United States on January 27, 2016

Verified Purchase

If you want to learn a little more about public relations in the business world, here is one of the books to read.

Helpful

Report abuse


Gretchen Gary

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very telling of the times

Reviewed in the United States on February 13, 2010

Verified Purchase

I found this book through Amazon recommendations while I was purchasing something else. I was pleasantly surprised to find this book not only incredibly insightful but also witty and a joy to read. Brogan and Smith offer real-world examples, tips and case studies to illustrate their 6-part definition of an effective "trust agent". Trust Agents is a must-read for anyone in marketing, public relations or business. This book offers a thought-provoking analysis of how the Web is changing the way we communicate and do business. "This is an amazing and unique time" indeed. [...]

Helpful

Report abuse


David & Sarah Wolfe

5.0 out of 5 stars

Lives up to the hype

Reviewed in the United States on August 18, 2009

Verified Purchase

If you've read any blogs in the past week, you've probably read a great review of Trust Agents. Well, it's all true!


If you're looking to understand why exactly social media is "the future", how on earth you should begin, or what you've been doing wrong, get this book.


If you're already familiar with ways to build trust over the internet, buy five or ten copies to give away to people you know need to hear this... but first read it yourself to be re-inspired to spend time being human on the internet.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Russell/Christine

5.0 out of 5 stars

I highly recommend this book

Reviewed in the United States on November 2, 2009

Verified Purchase

Chris and Julien have done a great job of laying out the "right" way to use the web to build influence, improve reputation, and most importantly, to earn trust. I am really looking forward to future more advanced pieces from them soon!

Helpful

Report abuse


Robert R. Mccalla

5.0 out of 5 stars

Trust Agents

Reviewed in the United States on November 8, 2009

Verified Purchase

This book is a real eye opener to changes going on in communciation and their relationship to our perception of people and companies. The impact of these changes are pertinet to everyone. In less you and your company want to be left behind this book is a definite read.


Danny

5.0 out of 5 stars

Good book

Reviewed in the United States on September 28, 2016

Verified Purchase

Good book

Helpful

Report abuse


Dr. Tony Croke

5.0 out of 5 stars

The Lonely Planet Guide to Web 2.0 social dynamics

Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2009

Verified Purchase

Ok, so I'm 40+ and haven't been keeping up with the whole Web 2.0 thing that diligently. Then I bought an iPhone, my wife got on Facebook and ... WHAM! I realised how out of the loop I was!


For those of you who, like me, let technology get away from you a bit: buy Trust Agents. It's like a Lonely Planet guide to the new Web.


For those of you who market anything - from a major international brand manager to a fruit stall vendor - there's stuff in here for you that might just spin your head around! I know it did for me.


I'm no Web 2.0 expert, but I get the sense that even people well-versed in the ways of social media will find this material useful.


These guys write in a smart, approachable and unashamedly nerdy style that entertains as it educates.


They're the Jedi knights of social media!


(Uh oh ... it's rubbing off on me!)

Helpful

Report abuse


C.C. Chapman

5.0 out of 5 stars

Trust Me and Read This Book

Reviewed in the United States on August 17, 2009

Verified Purchase

Julien and Chris have been in this space a long time and this book includes a lot of real life stories, research and all around insight into what makes people tick. If you have a product or service and want to increase sales then buy this book. Want people to hire you or have you speak more often, then buy this book. Want your lemonade stand to rock out more then the other kids, then read this book.


If you can't tell I'm a fan of both the authors and of the book. I've read it and recommend everyone else read it as well. Good from start to finish.

16 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kindle Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Five Stars

Reviewed in the United States on July 23, 2014

Verified Purchase

Great organization and great information.

Helpful

Report abuse


Alexandre Vinetti

5.0 out of 5 stars

Trust Agents

Reviewed in the United States on November 5, 2009

Verified Purchase

This is a book that has somehow managed to hit every nail on the head. I'm in sales and I have little experience using the web to market myself and the companies I work with. Oddly enough for me, Chris Brogan's style on the web is exactly my style in person, and for that it makes the book an easy read... and it makes applying the principals in the book a no brainer. I loved it.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


LISA MCGRATH

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great information and style

Reviewed in the United States on December 8, 2009

Verified Purchase

This book is a fast read ... but not taken lightly. I think there are tremendous lessons in this book and a lot to learn. Thanks to Chris and Julien for taking things that should be common sense and transforming them into a very interesting book that is helping me educate colleagues on why a change is necessary.

Helpful

Report abuse


Una Park

5.0 out of 5 stars

Detailed review on Trust Agents - make your game

Reviewed in the United States on March 23, 2011

Verified Purchase

Every year, Time magazine selects a `person of the year', who remained as the most influential human icon for the year being. Often, they are from diverse field but there is always one common to be found; They are creative.

Chris Brogan from Trust Agents is also a believer in the value of creativity. In his words, the trust agents - who stand out among others with high level of trusts built around them, is required to fulfill seven elements, whist one of them being the ability to `Make Your Own Game' (refer to Chapter2)


Make Your Own Game

According to Chris, there are three methods which trust agents can benefit themselves by observing the pattern of the system. First of all, trust agents shall figure out the structure of the system by `Playing'smart in the given pattern. Then, they shall look for ways of modifying existing structure, which is defined as `Hacking'. Finally, trust agents would create their own rules by `Programming' their own game.

Playing

Playing a game would involve understanding existing rules and discovering perfect situation to maximize productivity. In other words, `playing' is a learning stage for players and it may include simple settings such as stating a goal or discovering the most comfortable space for the game. (e.g. Café instead of office)

Hacking

Unlike the negative nature of the word, `hacking' involves improvement of the game by adjusting the given settings. If you have played SIMS by EA Games while being a member of their online community, you would understand how much more engaging the game could be with millions of items which are created by global users who are not the original developers.

Programming

Once players find themselves familiar enough to the game setting and also skilled enough to modify the settings, it is time to create an ultimate game that has new rules. Though this stage, the player would now be in charge of active role from their existing passive role.


From this chapter, the author used the term, `Player' and `Game'. Nonetheless, you, as a bright reader realize that the Game is only a metaphor for the real world we live in and the smart players are the faces that end up on the front cover of Time magazine.


So what would be the lesson to be learned here?

Unlike `Innovation for Dummies' (if there was such book for Dummy Series), `Trust Agents' by Chris Brogan do not tell readers the final step to success. While being deeply inspirational for its readers by suggesting a rule of successful people, the author also address the importance for readers to be active and thus leaves room for readers to create their own source of success (i.e. a chance to be a trust agent).

In other words, it is the reader who should discover their Gatejumping opportunities in the end and the book does not explicitly mention life-changing opportunities for them. Nevertheless, there is strong lesson to be learned from the book, which also comes from the quote of the Ralph Waldo Emerson. `Do not go where the path may lead; go instead where there is no path and leave a trail`.


Who are the real life trust agents? - Relation of concept to the reality

Mark Zuckerberg who marked the front page for the person of the year 2010, is a clear and well known example of a trust agent. From the concept of socialization, he created a virtual networking space and challenged the original setting by successfully inviting users to the whole new concept. Unlike traditional CEOs, he appealed himself as an endorser of the brand, and through the movie `The Social Networking' - which was also highly successful with its appeal to humanity issues over corporate values- he now is truly trusted by 3.6 million fans on Facebook. It is hard to comment if Mark has read the book Trust Agents or not, but the fact is, he is an marketer who has successfully created his own trail and now his trail would be thoroughly monitored with supports from people's trust.

(Disclaimer; within this article, Mark Zuckerburg is described as marketer as I personally believe that marketers can be anyone who understand value of brand and knows how to move strategically)


Question to the author and seven rules feedback

Trust Agents by Chris Brogan was an interesting and also engaging guide on `How to be better-heard by others'. It has identified keys to success and the commons of all time beloved social icons in seven details. However, if I was to apply seven rules to the real world, there are two areas of the concept that shall be questioned to the author; Start-up Connection and Timing issues.

While the book has cleverly answered to the most of the questions to be asked in being active, there has been less attention drawn on selection of right timing and emphasis on influence of start-up connection. For instance, recent increase in engagement towards smart phone was definitely one reason to Facebook's success and Sean Parker's helping hand for Mark Zuckerburg was definitely an asset for Mark to be a trust agent. If I was personally to start building my position as a trust agent, I would be in need of advices for a start-up which the book can be improved for.


Overall, the book was an excellent example of an accelerator to get reader motivated and moving. Through this book, I came to realize how my passive behavior can be improved and therefore I highly recommend this book to risk adverse people who has feared trying newer way of approaching themselves.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


A G

5.0 out of 5 stars

Only positive things to say

Reviewed in the United States on December 12, 2010

Verified Purchase

I could write a thousand words about the reasons people who want to understand building relationships and ultimately influence via social media, you must earn trust and this book details how.

Helpful

Report abuse


Eric A. Randolph

5.0 out of 5 stars

A homerun right out of the gate!

Reviewed in the United States on October 5, 2009

Verified Purchase

Brogan and Smith are 2 sharp cookies, and they share more in this book than just a surface level overview of all things web. From page one you get the sense that these guys actually care about you, that they want to see you succeed. They share what many would consider "secrets" to their success.


This book speaks to novice and moderate social media participants alike and can help accelerate your game considerably.

Helpful

Report abuse


Michael GreenGold

5.0 out of 5 stars

"Trust Agents...Trust" - A "MustRead" & Use for Social Media digitally savvy Web 2.0 Client & Prospect builders!

Reviewed in the United States on December 8, 2010

"Trust Agents:...Trust" is a guide that will transform,enlighten,empower,inform & inspire,etc! It is a "MustRead" / Use Trust Agents: Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust and more about Web 2.0,etc. It is for the digitally savvy who use the Web to humanize businesses using transparency, honesty and genuine relationships! Consumer environments are short on trust and populated by consumers who are cynical, savvy and informed! Today, they are easy to reach but less likely to listen! Now the most valuable online currency is trust!

"Trust Agents...Trust" starts with chapter one - Trust, Social Capital and Media.

"Trust Agents...Trust" is a six chapter step build,starting with chapter two, to becoming The Trust Agent. Two is Make Your Own Game. Three is One of Us. Four is the Archimedes Effect. Five is Agent Zero. Six is Human Artist. Seven is Build an Army.

"Trust Agents...Trust" - Chapter Eight ends on a summary positive high - The Trust Agent! Try something new and / or renew today! The Web 2.0 has leveled the field! It may just revolutionize what you do and how you do it!...there are no wrong ways but an infinite number of possible ways...Trust in what you have learned but most important trust in yourself...I do...Trust me!...Michael!

One person found this helpful


Robert Morris

HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE

5.0 out of 5 stars

A wealth of real-world information and practical advice needed to maximize human connectivity and interaction

Reviewed in the United States on November 17, 2010

As Chris Brogan and Julien Smith explain, "The idea for this book came out of our individual successes in achieving goals using the Web to work with people and out of our fascination with non-currency-based economies. We've taken what we've learned from our years as `digital natives' (people who have grown up inhabiting the various online haunts of the moment, combined with our understanding of games, people, and business as a whole, and followed it all up with information and ideas to help you better understand the mindset required to match these actions to your business needs." There seem to be at least two primary objectives that their book is intended to achieve:


1. To help their readers become "trust agents." That is, "power users of the new tools of the Web, educated more by way of their own experiences and experiments than from the core of their professional experiences, [and who] speak online technology fluently."


2. To help their readers think more strategically, to understand certain principles much better, and to master the aforementioned "new tools" to build influence, share influence, "and benefit from the other currencies that such exchanges of trust" deliver to them.


I appreciate Brogan and Smith's skillful use of reader-friendly devices such as "ACTION" sections throughout the narrative that serve two separate but related purposes: they emphasize key points and suggest how to apply them. For example:


"Build a Listening Station" (Pages 11-12)

"Start Figuring Out the Rules...Everywhere!" (Pages 45-46)

"Starter Kit fir Hacking Work" (Pages 61-62)

"How to Make Friends" (Pages 88-89)

"The Business Card Game" (Pages 161-162)

"Get LinkedIn" (Pages 177-178)


Brogan and Smith repeatedly stress the importance of being worthy of others' trust and respect, of building healthy, honest relationships. In Chapter 1, they identify the six characteristics of trust agents (e.g. "The Archimedes Effect" which involves effective leverage) and then devote a separate chapter to each of the six. Those in need of information and counsel to help them increase the scope and depth of trust in a workplace should seriously consider this book.

Helpful

Report abuse


Glynn Young

TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE

5.0 out of 5 stars

There's a Lot to Learn from Brogan and Smith

Reviewed in the United States on January 21, 2010

There's a lot to learn from "Trust Agents: Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust" by Chris Brogan and Julien Smith.


Brogan is a cofounder of PodCamp, a news media conference series that focuses on the use of social media to build both business and personal relationships. Smith is a trend analyst who has run web communities for more than a decade. They are well suited to talk about trust agents.


The book is written in that enthusiastic, rather breathless style often found in books about Web 2.0 and social media. The difference here is that it also contains considerable and significant content. These guys know what they're talking about, and while they're aiming at businesses here, what they say has equal application to individuals.


"There are people out there right now," they write, "working to understand these new technologies and learning everything about how to use them - from etiquette to audience building and beyond. They are learning the ropes. They are the pioneers, mastering the latest one-to-many communications methods. Like your kids, they know more about technology, and maybe even more about people, than you do; and that makes them very powerful. We call them trust agents."


They're trusted because they make sure it's "not about them." They work for others, linking, encouraging, providing information, teaching, leading, mentoring and helping.


Brogan and Smith go on to describe the six characteristics or actions of a trust agent: make your own game; one of us; the Archimedes principle (as in leverage); Agent Zero (who connects the web); human artist; and build an army. Along the way, the reader learns where so many companies go wrong with social media - they believe this is all about them, and use social media channels as means to publicize and promote themselves. That results in, like the Twitter hashtag says, #fail. They also point out that the need to trust people hasn't changed, but that the way we do that certainly has.


"Trust Agents" is easy to read, and more importantly, well worth reading.

Helpful

Report abuse


Gabriela Taylor

5.0 out of 5 stars

This books offers action steps that you can apply to leverage social media and to pull the trust agents to your side

Reviewed in the United States on October 24, 2012

In Trust Agents, Julien Smith and Chris Brogan reveal effective and practical ways to employ social networking sites to make your brand irresistible and to enhance your reputation. Trust is a big issue on the web and especially on social media but how do you get to influence your audience and to win their trust? Brogan and Smith show that by finding social network influencers (the trust agents) you can engage them, win their trust and in turn win over those who they influence.


I agree with the key premise of this book. It is not always easy to just get in there on Facebook or Twitter or any social network and win people over immediately. You need to earn their trust and one of the best ways to do this is to take advantage of those influential social networkers. These people will spread the word about your brand, gaining you visibility and influence in the process. The book does a good job of offering action steps that you can apply to leverage social media and to pull the trust agents to your side.


This is a recommended read for anyone looking to take their social media campaign to the next level.

Helpful

Report abuse


Olivier Blanchard

5.0 out of 5 stars

Solid introduction to social media and social business thinking

Reviewed in the United States on April 15, 2011

I've noticed that the reviews for "Trust Agents" are mixed. Some love it while others find the book disappointing because it doesn't go far enough into social media and social business insights. Here's the 411: Think of "Trust Agents" as an indispensable stepping stone on your reading list. If you are new (or new-ish) to the world of social media and social business, "Trust Agents" is one of the very first books you should read before moving on to more advanced books like Brian Solis' "Engage" and "Social Media ROI." And if you consider yourself an "advanced" user of social media for business and you somehow missed it, grab it and catch up on what you missed. You'll still get solid insights out of it.


In regards to some of the negative comments I have read here, let me say this: It is unfair to think of "Trust Agents" as being in any way inferior or less valuable to readers than more advanced books on social media because it is more accessible to beginners. Quite the contrary: The secret to the value of "Trust Agents" is precisely that it IS accessible to everyone, from advanced social business practitioners to social business newbies. Chris and Julien could have written an advanced book but opted instead to open up the world of social business to everyone. Kudos to them for that. This book should be on every business manager's reading list. Period.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Larry Underwood

5.0 out of 5 stars

The Social Media Marketing Revolution

Reviewed in the United States on October 12, 2009

We have slowly entered an age of transparency, where building a successful brand (for businesses or individuals) is developed through a savvy approach to using social media. With the proper strategy, positive relationships are established through trust; over time that translates to having a reputation of competency, honesty & integrity. With that solid foundation laid, the successful "trust agents" are able to influence potential buyers of their product or service, to build lasting and quite profitable relationships.


Authors Chris Brogan & Julien Smith have provided the blueprint for achieving this scenario, with practical guidance and useful tools to help anyone maximize their on-line marketing potential. This is the new way to advertise; the new direction of public relations.


For any business trying to succeed in this environment, it would be advisable to grab a copy of this book. Then get on Facebook, Linkedin or Twitter (my favorite) and start building trust; one tweet at a time. You can thank the authors later.

Helpful

Report abuse


Walter Akana

5.0 out of 5 stars

Want more career/life success? Read this book!

Reviewed in the United States on December 27, 2009

In his review of "Trust Agents," Christopher Penn makes a telling point in saying, "The people who need `Trust Agents' the most are the least likely to read it." Sadly, I think he may be correct. As a career coach, I routinely see people ignore the very advice that will help them be more successful in managing their career. And while there's no shortage of great advice to ignore, I believe passing up "Trust Agents" would be a huge missed opportunity.


Most people accept that relationships drive success; and most folks see the truth in the statement that people prefer doing business with people they "know, like, and trust." Seems reasonable and simple - perhaps deceptively so. While there are people who intuitively seem to know what to do, there are many who, despite their exposure to conventional wisdom about business networking, will struggle to get it right. Yet, getting relationship building right is fundamental to success in one's career and life.


What many people need is a framework that guides them in how to apply relationship skills in a way that leads to more success. And this, I think, is it. For this brilliant work by Chris Brogan and Julien Smith integrates conventional wisdom about networking and relationship building into a set of characteristics, or interrelated behaviors that drive trust.


Introduced in the first chapter, "Trust, Social Capital, and Media," the authors devote the bulk of their book to an in-depth discussion of these behaviors under six broad categories; specifically:


- "Make Your Own Game." Trust agents are typically "gate jumpers" or "hackers" who are able to find ways be original and to stand out.

- "One of Us." They are able to relate to a specific community that comes to see them as belonging, and therefore more credible.

- "The Archimedes Effect." They know how to leverage relationships and resources to expand opportunities and influence.

- "Agent Zero." They are typically at the center of wide and powerful networks, and often use their influence to help others connect.

- "Human Artist." Trust agents have polished interpersonal skills and understand people; they know how to work well with, and empower others.

- "Build Armies." They also know how to bring people together to accomplish more than they could possibly do alone.


In their powerful concluding chapter, "The Trust Agent," the authors discuss the implications of these behaviors to the emerging new world of business. In particular they outline the application of these behaviors to careers and provide perspective on how to use the book's lessons to make your own game - and to make a difference! On one level, it's fair to say that the last chapter is so powerful, that it could be a stand alone read that would benefit any reader. Yet, on another level, this is a rich book that brings fresh perspectives that take conventional wisdom about trust and relationships to a new level.


While the subtitle for "Trust Agents" suggests that it's a book about "Using the web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation and Earn Trust," it also applies to gaining trust an array of social circumstances. Indeed, as the authors point out, relationships that may start on line can become deeper and richer when meeting in person. I would add that to a great degree, the web also supports enrichment of relationships that start off line as well. Ultimately, what the authors provide is a framework for success in a world where achieving career and life goals increasingly requires being adept in building trust both on line and off. So, if you want to achieve more success read this book and apply its lessons. It's one of the best investments you'll ever make.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Thomas A. Catalini

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Great Primer on Social Media with good ideas, well-presented

Reviewed in the United States on December 29, 2009

Trust Agents presents the current social media environment in a compelling and thoughtful way. The authors approach the topic from a human perspective, and though specific action items are given and some tools are mentioned, the text speaks mostly about human to human interaction.


Many of the principles presented will not be considered new or innovative to many - seek to build influence and trust patiently over time by helping others, be honest & respectful, avoid saying things that will embarrass yourself or others, etc. Still, they are presented well and in the context of the web which is a unique environment where your message/brand/identity has a permanence and ability to spread that is very different from other environments. The authors do seem to have this well-digested and understood. Their sharing of their experience and ideas is helpful and may even prove inspirational to you. The reader is persistently encouraged to get involved throughout the book.


If you would like to understand the social media phenomenon better, or if you intend to become active in this space, you should buy this book. The minimization of hype and technical details make it a quick, easy and enjoyable read, while still allowing you to pick up a few important details on the specific tools and tactics used by those who have mastered the environment. If you've been wandering a bit aimlessly through the social media space, this book may prove a useful guide for moving forward.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Donald Mitchell

HALL OF FAME

5.0 out of 5 stars

Areas to Focus on for Having Positive Online Influence

Reviewed in the United States on December 11, 2009

"Let him not trust in futile things, deceiving himself,

For futility will be his reward." -- Job 15:31


The online world spins out ever-increasing amounts of videos, images, words, and Web sites. There may be needles in the middle of all those haystacks, they are getting harder to find.


Chris Brogan and Julien Smith look at this circumstance from the perspective of someone trying to create or improve a business and pose the useful question: How can you become and remain the person who is trusted most in your area of expertise? From there, you follow an exciting journey through lots of good stories and little tips that clarify how you can operate more effectively in the online world.


Here are my paraphrases of some of the key principles:


1. Use continuing business model innovation to create ways to develop and share useful information in ways that delight people with their novelty, freshness, and value.


2. Be viewed as someone who is just like the audience, not someone with a hidden agenda, a lot of arrogance, or a phony.


3. Energize online communities by providing them with choices they like from a point of authenticity.


4. Build genuine, positive relationships by seeking to provide value for everyone you interact with.


5. Be considerate.


6. Assemble large numbers of people to work toward a common purpose while meeting their needs.


I was impressed that the authors appreciate that the way to do these things will continually change, but the principles will probably remain the same. It's a useful book from that perspective. Most people who write about the online world assume it will always be like it is today . . . and optimize on things that don't last.


My only disappointment is that they didn't address more about what those who write book reviews on Amazon.com should be doing to be more helpful to more people. There are millions of us who would like to know.


Be trustworthy!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse