Gilda Martinez Jeff Lerner Review

Meet Gilda Martinez. She’s 26 years old, a military wife, a mom and she has a bachelor’s degree in business. Gilda joined ENTRE to learn new skills which would completely change her life. ENTRE has helped her realize how to push forward and how she can become successful. Gilda now knows the future is filled with great opportunities and that she’s not alone on this journey.

From getting fired from his own company to building a nine-figure success - this is Brandon Dawson’s story.


💰 Claim Your Free 'Millionaire Shortcut' Book Here 👉 https://millionairesecrets.com/BrandonD


Welcome to another episode of Millionaire Secrets!


For today’s episode, I have been joined by the serial entrepreneur and business leader with a passion for helping others to make their business dreams come true, Brandon Dawson!


Brandon founded his first company, Sonus, at just 28 years old where he served as the Founder and CEO for seven years.


It was during that experience that he learned all about raising money from high net worth individuals, private equity firms, and strategic partnerships.


With four separate equity raises totaling 38 million dollars, and negotiating 20 million in strategic debt financing, Brandon acquired some invaluable skills.


But Brandon also learned what NOT to do...


He went through some painful lessons which caused his untimely replacement in the company by a private equity partner who wanted to take the company in a new direction.


After they opted to replace me and sell the company, Brandon began his transformation and decided to start a new company, Audigy.


Brandon grew Audigy from a startup in 2004 to managing more than 650 locations and in excess of 1800 employees with $300 million in aggregate revenue. Audigy Group itself has grown from $500,000 in revenue in 2005 to approximately $35 million in revenue in 2016 when he sold it for $151 million.


Ever since Brandon lost his first company, his mission has been to empower other business owners to take control of their destiny and create substantive value for them personally, professionally, and financially.


Fast forward to today - Brandon is now a businessman, a father, a grandfather, and a partner to my loving fiancé.


He has a clear vision for his future and he’s helping one business person at a time to make their dreams come true.


Discover How Brandon Dawson Could Help You!


Check Out More of Brandon’s Content Here 👇


💻 https://www.cardoneventures.com/


💻 https://www.moneymakerstour.com/

💻 https://www.audigy.com/


✔️ https://thesummit2020reg.hubb.me/


📖 https://www.cardoneventures.com/emergency


💡 https://linktr.ee/cardoneventures


ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandonmdawson/


📺 YT 👉 https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkIBB4C6JxQxDQhtFVFfv7A


📺 YT Cardone Ventures 👉 https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCp9gvEEgqCRPCla7f_MLOLQ


🖥️ FB 👉 https://www.facebook.com/Brandon-Dawson-287077538856320


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/brandonmdawson/


📲 IG Cardone Ventures 👉 https://www.instagram.com/cardoneventures/


📲 IG Audigy Group 👉 https://www.instagram.com/audigygroup/


Gilda Martinez Review

SPIN Selling

Audible Audiobook – Unabridged

Neil Rackham (Author), Eli Woods (Narrator), McGraw Hill-Ascent Audio (Publisher)

4.5 out of 5 stars

1,418 ratings


The book was written by Neil Rackham, former president and the founder of the Huthwaite company, SPIN Selling is a must-read for anyone who is who is involved in the selling process as well as managing a sales team. The most comprehensively documented report of sales performance ever recorded and the outcome of the Huthwaite company's huge 12-year, one million-dollar study into the most efficient sales performance This groundbreaking book outlines the innovative SPIN (Situation Problem, Implication Need-payoff) strategy.

With SPIN Selling, Rackham delivers the first book that specifically look at selling premium products and services. Through the simple and practical strategies of SPIN the readers can dramatically boost their sales from their major accounts. Rackham responds to crucial questions, such as "What makes success in major sales?" and "Why do techniques like closing work in small sales but fail in larger ones?"

You'll discover why traditional sales techniques which were designed for smaller consumer sales won't be effective for big sales, and the reasons why traditional selling techniques are destined to fail in large sales. It is packed with real-world examples as well as interesting case studies supported by research-based data , SPIN Selling provides the essential to understanding and achieving records-breaking high-end sales.


GK

5.0 out of 5 stars

A book you can actually put into action

Reviewed in the United States on September 8, 2015

Verified Purchase

I feel like 99% of self-help books, be it self-help in work, love, friendships, what have you, are useless. They always have fluff chapters of 'act motivated and be motivated!' or 'think like a winner!' and various platitudes of that nature. You wind up finishing the book and realizing you read nothing but pseudo-motivational dribble that will wind up having zero impact on whatever you were looking to improve upon.


Enter 'SPIN Selling' - this book delivers where all of those other books have failed. In this book is a solid layout of how you should structure your sales calls, and not only that, but data to back up their claims and examples to on how to lead. Read this book, take notes, and I guarantee if you weren't already aware of how to sell in this style, your selling WILL improve.


I'm a novice to sales. Last year when I was interviewing for a sales position I was asked to put together a sales presentation and to sell a product. I was given the product brochure and 1 day to come up with something. Using 'SPIN Selling' as my guide, I put together a list of ideas and pitched them in my presentation. My interviewer was blown away. After I got the job, my manager told me he had never had someone deliver such a good presentation - everyone always focuses on selling the product, but they never try and sell the customer. Taking a note from this book, I asked the questions I needed to ask, developed them into problems for the buyer, and then walked them through the solution with their own words. It was a total and complete win.


I was tempted to give this book 4 stars because it really does falter in a few areas. For one, some of the research is tenuous at best - <100 sales calls that they then base their report on. That's frankly not enough data to prove or disprove anything.


Secondly, this book is very weak on opening/closing a sale, which are both obviously rather important. The book mentions briefly what you shouldn't do to open a call, but doesn't really expand on good ways to introduce yourself. Even worse, it has a whole chapter on closing, but doesn't give you specific advice on what to do! It gives you a whole lot of data on why you shouldn't constantly close, why the worst sellers are always trying to close, how it annoys customers, etc. It never actually says 'Here is the best way we found to bring a sale to the next level: A/B/C". It kind of boggles the mind because the book even shows a study where sales that had no closers in them had something like 20% the success rate - obviously a close is necessary, but the book skimps a bit on that aspect. I couldn't bring myself to give it less than 5 stars because the meat of the book is just so good.

74 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jeremey Donovan

5.0 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Sales Framework!

Reviewed in the United States on April 9, 2015

Verified Purchase

Great framework summarized as follows:


1. Pre-call planning:

a. Pre-determine your principal call objective. Data gathering and relationship building are necessary but not sufficient. Strong objectives must advance the sale.

b. Do your homework in order to minimize fact-gathering questions

c. “Before the call, write down at least three potential problems which the buyer may have and which your products or services can solve.”


2. Preliminaries

a. In a large sales, first impressions do not matter all that much.

b. Especially with senior people, do not dwell much on nonbusiness areas if at all

c. Avoid talking about your products and services until late in the call

d. Just establish who you are, why you are there, and gain permission to ask question.


3. Investigating (by asking open-ended or closed-ended questions)

a. Situation: Ask a very limited number of fact-finding questions. Just enough to setup/uncover a problem. For instance, “What system/process are you using at present?”

b. Problem: “The purpose of Problem Questions is to uncover Implied Needs.”

c. Implication: The purpose of Implication Questions is to increase the size of the problem in the customer’s mind. For instance, “If x is happening, could that lead to an even worse y?”

d. Need-payoff: Need-payoff questions are positive, solution-centered questions designed to have the customer express an Explicit Need. “How would you find (related benefit) useful?” Note: “The worst point to ask a Need-payoff Question is when the customer raises a need you can’t meet.”

4. Demonstrating capability:

a. “Make Benefits showing how your product/service meets Explicit Needs which have been expressed.”

b. “Benefits… involve showing how you can meet an Explicit Need… Unless the customer first says, ‘I want it,’ you can’t give a Benefit.”

c. “In larger sales, Features have a negative effect when used early in the call and a neutral effect when used later.”


5. Obtaining commitment

a. “Larger sales contain a number of intermediate steps that we call Advances.”

b. Use a very limited number of closing questions on only after ___’

c. “Sellers who were most effective… would… ask the buyer whether there were any further… concerns that needed to be addressed.”

d. “Successful salespeople pull the threads together by summarizing key points [especially benefits] of the discussion before moving to the commitment.”

e. Suggest as a next step “the highest realistic commitment that the customer is able to give.”


Other great tidbits:

- “Successful sellers concentrate on objection prevention, not on objection handling.”

- “In a multi-call sale, the most important discussions and deliberations go on when the seller isn’t present.”

- In large sales, costs to the buyer include money, effort, and reputation

- “The most important lessons come from the way you review the calls you make. … Ask … Did I achieve my objectives? What would I do differently?”

98 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Master Level Selling!

Reviewed in the United States on May 17, 2018

Verified Purchase

This book is amazing! If you like this book, you'll really love "Secrets of Question Based Selling" (2nd Edition!!!) - by Thomas Freese. Here's the deal, SPIN is the masters level, QBS is the doctorate level. The books are, in many ways identical, but only in the question format and theory sense. QBS goes much deeper into the psychology of questions, for example, emotional disposition, human tendency to autopilot responses, answering questions with questions (reverses in Sandler Selling terminology), and much more. He digs deeper into needs development, latent (unknown) needs vs active (known) needs - which include SPIN's implied needs and explicit needs. He covers how good low level questions (situational) can uncover these latent needs, something SPIN misses entirely. In all honesty, these two books really should be combined into one, along with "Asking Questions the Sandler Way" by Antonio Garrido, which does an even better job of explaining and demonstrating question reversing techniques.


CON: I got the Audible version, the recording volume is low, but that's a technical issue you can solve with better speakers.

17 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Rob S

5.0 out of 5 stars

Best Selling Book Out There!

Reviewed in the United States on October 10, 2014

Verified Purchase

I am a corporate sales professional. I have studied sales and have read many different sales books: zig Ziegler’s, Strategic Selling, Selling to VITO, Little Red Book, Challenger Sale, You inc, Relationship selling, among many others.

Neil Rackham has hit one out of the park with SPIN Selling. Once you understand his methodology and what SPIN stand for (Situation, Problem, Implication, Need Pay-off) , I truly believe you can sell the shoes off of someone’s feet. He arms you with many techniques to use on a sales call. On major concept he has is that you, as a sales rep. will never be there when the real decisions gets made. That’s why, you must arm your prospects/champion with the tools to represent your company and sell for you internally when you are not there.


This is a very easy book to not only read and understand but it is also very easy to go back and reference. The only other book I have felt has made a major impact is Strategic Selling. With these two books you will have everything you need to sell in a corporate environment. Honestly SPIN selling can help you sell in any sort of environment B2B, B2C, even C2C. This is a must read for any sales professional looking to improve their skill sets!

18 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


MadScientist

5.0 out of 5 stars

Best book on sales written - not theory but a study of those who are successful at it

Reviewed in the United States on April 13, 2015

Verified Purchase

There is a science to selling. There are 100 different "systems". I prefer to use a system that actually has been proven over time by successful sales professionals. That is exactly what this book is about. Instead of one high powered sales person creating a system that has worked for them, this book has compiled the key steps based upon interviews with a large number of successful sales professionals. That is the information that I want. Even though the book was written a while ago the principles will always be the same.


Xerox adopted this technique 25 years or so ago. I learned it there and use it to this day. When I don't use it I usually regret it and/or lose the sale.


I have met lot's of people who are defensive about their particular system which I have never understood. Maybe people in general don't want to imagine that their technique could be improved. They usually tell me that they have learned so and so's system and tweaked it and it works. If what you are doing is making you wildly successful then great. But if not, then why not read about how the wildly successful sales pro's do it? Nothing to lose and much to gain.

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Gus

5.0 out of 5 stars

The definitive b2b sales text

Reviewed in the United States on February 9, 2018

Verified Purchase

go on youtube or google the best sales books and see what sales professionals recommend. The one book you will find at the top or near the top is this. I have read a lot of sales books focusing on the b2b arena and the vast majority you see the route back to the concepts made in this book.


Don't get me wrong this is not the only Sales book you will ever need to read, but this is the back story that you have to have to make sense of all the other Sales books you will find.

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


RT

5.0 out of 5 stars

An excellent book for complex sales

Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2019

Verified Purchase

I particularly like the implied need section in crafting open ended questions. Suggest combining this book with Miller Heinemann's Strategic selling and Conceptual selling. This will allow one to effectively craft out strategy, tactics, and pre-meeting communications thoroughly. I use it for multimillion dollar technology deals, and it has been very effective. The three allow you to develop real value selling I have been using these around the world

Helpful

Report abuse


Pen Name

5.0 out of 5 stars

Best Book For Effective Selling

Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2019

Verified Purchase

I’ve read this book twice now and plan on reading it several times until I master the Spin technique of asking questions. Sales has always been an awkward proposition for me until now. I’ve always hated high pressure sales methods which often cost people some of their best relationships. Following the SPIN method eliminates all the sales pressure by helping the salesperson become more than just a money seeker. Yes, we are all in sales to make money but the most important thing is to provide a service for others. The SPIN method will help you become a problem finder and a problem solver. Isn’t that what true salesmanship is all about? I highly recommend this book to anyone who has a desire to make money through sales by helping others discover the impact of problems their having and then offering solutions to their problems.


Forever Grateful!!

Helpful

Report abuse


David Ashton

5.0 out of 5 stars

Ignore this book at your own peril

Reviewed in the United States on August 21, 2017

Verified Purchase

Being involved in big ticket items sales myself, this book supported what I have discovered and learned over the years - plus managed to teach me a few new tricks. Actually tricks isn't the right word, because with big ticket items buyer remorse can and often does kick in resulting in a no sale. If you want to improve your sales (not low end stuff) then this book is a must have. Though more importantly don't just read it, do as the author suggests and make it's suggestions become part of your habitual selling techniques. Hence, I find it amazing that some managers I meet believe in the trickeries and systems that this book has proven do not work (if getting the maximum results possible is your goal). Ignore this book and you are not only leaving money on the table, but doing a disservice to your customer and your company.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


life2great

5.0 out of 5 stars

Distilling successful behaviors

Reviewed in the United States on August 5, 2017

Verified Purchase

This book uses thousands of real life situations to analyze the most effective ways to sell goods and services. The answer lies. It in a strong personality or slick technique, but in using questions to uncover problems, expand them to understand their implications, then help the buyer describe what they need to solve their expensive problems leading to your goods or services.

2 people found this helpful


evildoer993

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book, easy read. Buy it and read it on your next four hour flight.

Reviewed in the United States on November 7, 2014

Verified Purchase

As someone who has worked in Sales and Marketing most of his adult life and focus primarily enterprise based sales with long cycles, this book provided some excellent ideas that have only improved my ability to close large deals.


As a sales person quality books are worth their weight in gold. Anyone can focus on improving their technical knowledge, but what will always help more is understanding the thought behind why the deal exists in the first place and what your customers are really looking for. It's too often that people throw a spec list out and expect to close based purely on spec. There are far greater factors than simply spec that will sell a product and this book will help you understand some of the thought behind it.


I was pretty happy to find that many of my own personal beliefs -- probably due to my experience with enterprise sales -- were covered in this book. That said -- I have absolutely learned and applied my new tricks already. I actually get kind of giddy when I get a chance to use one of my new tactics.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Tony

5.0 out of 5 stars

Gold

Reviewed in the United States on November 29, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book is based off of study after study after study, involving hundreds of thousands of sales calls, and millions of dollars.


Rackham WANTS you to apply what you learn and it really shows. SPIN Selling was written very practically, and I have never seen and could not have asked for more of an elegant and simple approach to learning this method.


This book shows that people sell MORE EFFECTIVELY with the SPIN method, than when using scammy business tactics like hard-closings.


I have struggled with figuring out the proper approach to selling my services as an aspiring virtual tour photographer. However, after having read this book, I am grateful that I finally have an approach: that is tried and true, that is flexible, that doesn’t make me feel terrible, and that I can work towards developing with 100% conviction.


God bless you, Niel Rackham

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Brilliant for sales

Reviewed in the United States on September 6, 2017

Verified Purchase

Brilliant for sales.

Except Dean graziosi says "People will love you, hire you and buy from you if you understand them." Not they understand you!

And he also mentions something like, silence after the sale.

Hope that helps!

Btw, the author doesn't mention if you could use the larger sales techniques for smaller sales, he just tells you what to do in larger sales.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Daniel Tolson

5.0 out of 5 stars

SPIN SPIN SPIN

Reviewed in the United States on January 17, 2020

Verified Purchase

I’ve sold small and large tickets items and the ideas here have made me realise the importance of different strategies for different sized sales. If I’d known this years ago I’d be in. Very different position today.


Excellent book. Well worth the time and investment.

Helpful

Report abuse


619PM

5.0 out of 5 stars

If You Are In Sales At Any Level...

Reviewed in the United States on July 5, 2016

Verified Purchase

If you are in Sales at any level, you should read this simple book. SPIN Selling is an easily outlined way to execute your sales process, whatever the product or service.


I have had several sales teams read this book, since introduced, and becoming SPIN Certified years ago. Having each team read SPIN Selling, going through it with them in weekly meetings, utilizing the guidebook, and repeating review of the simple process, has proven to be successful time and time again.


-P

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Tim Gier

5.0 out of 5 stars

learn how to actually close more deals.

Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2017

Verified Purchase

evidence based advice on how to sell "big ticket" items - if you're in sales and sell expensive stuff then forget everything you may have read about "secrets of closing the sale" and learn from this book instead.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Gary R. Schirr

5.0 out of 5 stars

Worth a second (or third) reading...

Reviewed in the United States on January 23, 2009

Verified Purchase

EVERYONE who sells or studies sales knows about SPIN questioning.


There can be a problem when an idea or term is ubiquitous: it becomes almost generic or commonplace. Everyone who has had a sales class -- at least mine -- can list the words that comprise the acronym. But it is valuable to return to the original source for insights.


It was a pleasure to recently re-read SPIN Selling. Rackman does a fine job of summarizing the results of a massive sales research effort. Anyone who has been a salesperson or has taught professional selling must be amused by his anecdote on p. 25 about a salesperson who diligently followed the closing procedure that he had been taught: (see if you can identify each type of close attempted!)


.....


Salesperson: So, Mr. Robinson, you can see that our product is clearly best for you -- if you just sign here.


Mr. R: Just a minute -- I don't see... I haven't decided.


Salesperson: But Mr. Robinson, I've shown you how we can improve the efficiency of your office and save you trouble and also money -- so if you can decide when you'd like delivery...


Mr. R: I'll do no such thing. I'm not making a decision this week.


Salesperson: But as I've explained, this model is in great demand. I can let you have one now, but if you wait for next week, there could be a several month delay.


Mr. R: That's risk that I will have to take...


Salesperson: Would you prefer a month's trial installation, or would be better for your budget to buy outright?


Mr. R: I'm going to throw you out of my office. Tell me, would you and your friends in the corner prefer to go of your own accord, or would you like me to call security.


.....


There are good stories and insights on every page. It is fascinating to understand how SPIN questions evolved.


This book should be on the shelf of every student of sales.

Helpful

Report abuse


Jose

5.0 out of 5 stars

Simple and yet, enlightening.

Reviewed in the United States on June 16, 2021

Verified Purchase

I gave it a five as I am just beginning in sales and I do not like the rushed, high pressure environment to sell quickly and mostly based on features. I want a deeper connection with my clients and I want to make selling something where both parties walk away feeling like they had a good transaction. Rackham studies real world interactions, and brings clarity to the world of sales. He brings clarity to a loud, high pressure and often confusing world, and I have already felt a shift in my approach to sales.

Helpful

Report abuse


Mike Sealander

5.0 out of 5 stars

I am an architect, and I read this book ...

Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2015

Verified Purchase

I am an architect, and I read this book knowing it was not specifically about selling professional services. Nevertheless, the book's message is clearly laid out, and compelling: the large sale benefits from a different approach than the small "retail" sale. Those who are put off by the crassness implicit in the idea of "selling professional services" may well benefit from this quick read.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Dutch Andre in the US

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book, explains some great basics to sales noobs (like me)

Reviewed in the United States on December 16, 2013

Verified Purchase

Working for a smaller company, 100+/- people, and selling towards larger companies is always a challenge. This book gives some interesting insights in do's and don't.


With the < 200 pages, it is easy to read, and understand what is explained. Not to much blabla: straight to the points the author want to make.


Specially with a technical background like I've this was an eye opener. Many moments of 'aha', making it easier to talk to the sales people in my company, but also understand what to do with the information Field engineers come back with.


R. Haynes

5.0 out of 5 stars

Forget objection handling and closing techniques

Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2015

Verified Purchase

This is THE definitive book on selling ... and it was written in the 80's. What's amazing is that despite decades of sales research, too many salespeople and sales trainers are STILL using outdated methods that don't work. If you're getting objections, those aren't "questions for more information" - they're evidence you either didn't qualify the prospect or didn't understand their needs properly. If you have to work on closing, again, you didn't do your due diligence. Don't believe me? Read the book.

Helpful

Report abuse


Andrew Furney

5.0 out of 5 stars

IF YOU SELL THAN A MUST READ

Reviewed in the United States on November 18, 2013

Verified Purchase

Having read a few books on sales recently in anticipation of starting a career in selling financial services, I loved reading this because it was a book that was not just stated in opinions, but was rather backed up by solid research and statistics. Selling is something that I have been looking up quite a bit lately and I must say the writer did a great job selling me on his research of what really sells in big $ sales. What I really love is he doesn't just say "hey this stuff is god and I'm right on everything," but rather does a great job at leaving things open and does a swell job of answering the exact questions that seemed to arise in my head as I read this book attempting to rebut the info provided to me. I cant say that this book alone will make you be extremely successful casue I cant say from expereince, but i can only imagine that THIS IS A MUST HAVE BOOK if your starting out a career or a season vet who might be slumping in performance

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


John H Watson

5.0 out of 5 stars

A Must Read For Relationship / Solutions Sales

Reviewed in the United States on February 14, 2018

Verified Purchase

This is my all time favorite sales book that I recommend to clients. It is a little dry to read, but the content is extremely useful and practical. I think the work is particularly useful for non-sales people like professionals who need to consult versus sell products. Highly Recommended.

Helpful

Report abuse


Art

5.0 out of 5 stars

Selling vs Marketing

Reviewed in the United States on September 1, 2010

Verified Purchase

There is a huge difference between Sales and Marketing. I can say this because I have been in marketing most of my career. I have been the VP of Marketing at two publicly traded companies and even been the VP of Sales and Marketing over a 300 person direct-store-delivery sales force. But as a marketing executive, I knew nothing about selling. That's why I needed SPIN Selling.


I now run a consulting firm where everyone in the firm has been a VP of Marketing at an operating company. But when it was time to sell our services, we realized that our marketers didn't know how to sell. We provide fractional or part-time Chief Marketing Officers to Growth and Mid-Size companies. We are therefore selling to CEOs and because we are selling experience and insights, feature and benefit selling is useless.


After reading SPIN Selling I purchased a copy for everyone in my company. The focus on structuring a sales call around leaning about your potential client and getting them to explain why they need us was golden. Just like the book says, the more we ask about the client's company, the more they believe that we care about their company and understand their problems. And the less time we spend telling them how smart we are, the smarter they think we are.


Art Saxby

Chief Outsiders

[...]

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Dr. Chuck J. Rylant

5.0 out of 5 stars

Well thought approch to selling

Reviewed in the United States on February 15, 2012

Verified Purchase

I've read many books on selling. Some good and some not so much. Most of the books are the same content with a slightly different twist. Spin Selling, however, is the first book I've come across with very detailed research behind it to support the theories.


The author spent years testing different, common sales strategies and tactics. Each of theories were tested and backed up with data to come up with the "Spin" formula to selling. Some of the results break common sales strategy myths.


This is an easy read that anyone selling at any level should read. It is particularly applicable to high-ticket sales.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


G. Austin

5.0 out of 5 stars

Foundational

Reviewed in the United States on January 29, 2022

Verified Purchase

This is a foundational recipe to success in large sales. It’s a must have manual that requires introspection and practice.

Helpful

Report abuse


MtnMan

5.0 out of 5 stars

Not Just Another Book on Sales

Reviewed in the United States on September 24, 2010

Verified Purchase

"SPIN Selling" is a welcome departure from the genre of books on selling. Actually, I found the book valuable as a good source of advice on the subject of "Persuasion". Many sales books focus on the same basic tenets in sales, the sales opening, closing, handling objections, or some aspect of them. Neil Rackham addresses "sales" where the decision to buy is not made in the presence of the one doing the selling. Much of the decision-making occurs without the rep present to handle objections in person or to enable him/her to make an effective close. As a consultant, many of my opportunities to "sell an idea, concept, or approach" occur over time and the ideas gain acceptance often without me present. Selling my ideas and convincing a client that my idea is better than someone else's contradictory idea requires the insights that Neil Rackham presents and he presents them in a light-hearted approach that enables a reader to convince himself that the ideas presented are effective and presents a way for the reader to use the advice in bits and pieces, an approach that was effective for me. As I used his concepts on a daily basis, and even from the start before I became more adept at using his concepts, I could see dramatic improvement in results, even when I recognized that I wasn't very good and needed more practice. His ideas may seem radical, but in the appropriate situations they are dynamic!

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Actual Purchaser

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great self help book

Reviewed in the United States on May 2, 2020

Verified Purchase

One of many good books that everyone should read:

Get more! You deserve it, right?!

Helpful

Report abuse


Mazahreh

5.0 out of 5 stars

You're not a salesman without it

Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2010

Verified Purchase

No wonder its Amazon's Bestseller book ever in sales. No sleazy techniques, no nonsense, no sweet talk, just a pure straight to the point technique that will change your life forever. If you feel you're blabbering about product features in the first meeting with the client, then finding it impossible to get to the second meeting with the client (let alone closing a deal), then this is the book for you. I'm an individual insurance salesman, and this book boost my closing from 15% to 35%. Do you have an idea what this means in terms of compensation?? Get it now, don't hesitate a bit, this is the definitive book on selling. I have also purchased SPIN selling field book, which is a must along with this book. This will teach you what to say in the presentation stage with the client, you can use it as well to get the appointment. It works whether you're in the retail or corporate sales. Thank me when you're done with it. If you want something to get the appointment, get Art Sobczak Smart Calling to complete the picture.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Wow

Reviewed in the United States on November 17, 2018

Verified Purchase

5 stars. Not only is this book about selling anything the right way thats not in anyway like a sleezy car salesman or a wallstreet trader, but it goes beyond to teach the reader real world mindsets and tools for any skill or practice. And those tools are so easy and clear that a child could do it. Pick this up if you care even a little bit about improving your life, career, or whatever.


Chris Webster

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great for new sales people

Reviewed in the United States on March 19, 2019

Verified Purchase

I’m new at sales and the techniques here have helped a lot. I’ve seen immediate results. Can’t recommend this enough.

Helpful

Report abuse


Kyle F.

5.0 out of 5 stars

New to sales - super helpful!

Reviewed in the United States on March 24, 2021

Verified Purchase

Crazy that these methods aren't more mainstream in today'software sales teams. I'll definitely be reading this again in the future.

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon420

5.0 out of 5 stars

Must read

Reviewed in the United States on December 25, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is a must read for every enterprise seller out there. 10 stars if I could...

Helpful

Report abuse


Snapbacks&Vlados

5.0 out of 5 stars

Finally, something different.

Reviewed in the United States on March 16, 2018

Verified Purchase

I’ve been in countless sales trainings and read dozens of sales books. All of them generally say the same things with their own little spin on it (no pun intended). This is the first sales book that I’ve come across that tackles sales from a fresh perspective. The last chapter on how to apply the techniques was one of the best payoff endings I’ve ever gotten from non-fiction literature.

Helpful

Report abuse


Anil Kappa

5.0 out of 5 stars

Absolute must read

Reviewed in the United States on January 6, 2003

Verified Purchase

intially the Name "Spin Selling" came across to be as some cheesy and manipulative model being taught by the author.

after reading various books and attending seminars and workshops i was consistently referred to this book.

also i researched some of the high-performance Sales Professionals and most of them had training on SPIN Selling, so

i finally decided to read Rackham's book "SPIN Selling" and

i'm glad i did and yes this book i feel is the Foundation of all the Modern Sales Training out there.

His Training is backed with extensive proof and facts and every single advice is backed by extensive research conducted by huthwaite. very impressed.

"Situation - Problem - Implication and Need-Payoff", these are the four types of Questioning you will learn and the Value and relative importance of each and in what order to be used effectively.

the biggest lesson for me is the Difference of a "Implied Need" compared to "Explicit Need" and how it all boils down to uncovering "Explicit Needs" and to communicate with customers about "Benefits". this book also clears a very common mistake a lot of us do, to look at a product or solution's advantages and convey that as Benefit to customer. As per the author a "Benefit" is one that solves a Customer's "Explicit Need".

don't be discouraged by any review that writes off the book's style of writing to be research oriented, the book is around 190 Pages and it's worth the weight in gold.

24 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Katherine Lewis

5.0 out of 5 stars

Awesome read.

Reviewed in the United States on November 3, 2019

Verified Purchase

Awesome book. Might be older but the fundamentals are SPOT on. Way ahead of its time. Worth the read. You’ll learn something. Doesn’t matter how seasoned you are.

Helpful

Report abuse


James Buckner

5.0 out of 5 stars

Sales book

Reviewed in the United States on May 3, 2021

Verified Purchase

Had to get this book for a course I took

Helpful

Report abuse


Stacey M.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Essential Book for Sales

Reviewed in the United States on November 19, 2018

Verified Purchase

If you are in sales, you need to read this book. AND even if you aren't in sales, you should read this book. In almost every business, we are always selling - why not have a formula to do it?

Helpful

Report abuse


alec latner

5.0 out of 5 stars

the spin on spin selling

Reviewed in the United States on May 11, 2014

Verified Purchase

I consider myself a smart man, but for me its really easy to get lost in a book.

Neil Rackham knows how to write. He gives you all of the details in some special way that doesn't

bog you down trying to play catch up.


He was a different approach to selling than most. but not so different actually.

I highly recommend this book. even if you don't imply the techniques its still a good read.

Helpful

Report abuse


Lee Johnson

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent Selling Strategies for the Large Sell

Reviewed in the United States on September 26, 2017

Verified Purchase

Moving from a smaller pharmaceutical sales environment to a larger diagnostics sells environment, this book was instrumental in assisting my transaction and orientation towards success. A must read for sales professionals of major and capital equipment.


Christian G.

5.0 out of 5 stars

The only sales instruction manual

Reviewed in the United States on November 14, 2019

Verified Purchase

Really good at taking a closer look at the mechanics of a sale. I went back to the drawing board with this book and I’m really happy with the results I am getting.

Helpful

Report abuse


Nancy

5.0 out of 5 stars

It works!

Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2019

Verified Purchase

We’ve adopted this philosophy at work

Helpful

Report abuse


Yale

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must for anyone in sales

Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2019

Verified Purchase

Learn the 4Qs and thats it. OUt dated but still practical.

-Yale Reardon

Helpful

Report abuse


Amir Syazi

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book have paid for itself

Reviewed in the United States on July 25, 2018

Verified Purchase

Easy to understand. Love the concept and the real life example call script. I learn a lot from this book. If really make sense when applying the method recommend theough SPIN model. I am using this method to interview my existing customer and applied in to create customer avatar for my social media advertising. It works !

Helpful

Report abuse


Rafael Funes

5.0 out of 5 stars

The most impressive book on how to really succeed on the major sale.

Reviewed in the United States on May 23, 2017

Verified Purchase

SPIN Selling is, like other successful thing in life, counter-intuitive. Takes you through a journey from what is evident, and wrong, to what lies beneath the surface, and is right. Written in a clear, straightforward style, keeps your attention throughout the journey to become the successful seller you are willing to be.