Dan Harrell Jeff Lerner Review

Meet Dan Harrell. He’s building a business with the help of his ENTRE mentor —Rob. Dan is excited to have a piece of digital real estate which will pay him for life. If you want to build an online business, Dan highly recommends ENTRE’s training & mentorship!

Unlock Your Ultimate Self-Confidence With Marisa Peer!


Claim Your Free 'Millionaire Shortcut' Book Here 👉 https://millionairesecrets.com/MarisaP


Welcome to another episode of Millionaire Secrets!


For today’s episode, I have been joined by the wonderful and insightful Marisa Peer.


Marisa is the creator of Rapid Transformational Therapy, the Founder of IAmEnough.com, author, motivational speaker, an expert on personal development, therapy to the stars, and has trained over 5000 people all over the world…


Is there anything that Marisa can’t do?


Marisa is a pioneer in the world of therapy and psychology and she is transforming the way we think and feel.


After training to be a child psychologist but stopping that route to work for Jane Fonda, her successful career has been built on many moments of realization.


Realization of how many people need to work on themselves and how they feel about themselves.


After witnessing the effects that lacking in confidence has on people firsthand, Marisa began the ‘I Am Enough’ movement.


Following that great success, Marisa has continuously worked to create a race of confident and happy people who feel great about themselves.


Marisa’s work is transforming people’s lives with every step she takes and now she’s training thousands of people so that her legacy lives on.


Find out how you can feel enough with the mastermind that is Marisa Peer!




Check Out More of Marisa’s Content Here 👇


💻 https://marisapeer.com/


💻 https://iamenough.com/


💻 https://rtt.com/


📖 https://marisapeer.com/books/


💡 https://www.mindvalley.com/uncompromised/


🎙️ Master Your Mind With Marisa Podcast 👉 https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/master-your-mind-with-marisa/id1548923376


📒 Blog 👉 https://marisapeer.com/blog/


ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/today/author/marisa-peer


📺 YT 👉 https://www.youtube.com/user/MarisaPeer1


🖥️ FB 👉 https://www.facebook.com/marisa.peer.therapy/


⌨️ Twitter 👉 https://twitter.com/marisapeer


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/marisapeertherapy/


Dan Harrell Reviews

Contagious: Why Things Catch On

Audible Audiobook – Unabridged

Jonah Berger (Author), Keith Nobbs (Narrator), Simon & Schuster Audio (Publisher)

4.7 out of 5 stars

4,345 ratings

Goodreads Choice

Award nominee


ryan sansing

5.0 out of 5 stars

Do you ever wonder why some advertisements are so annoying and corny

Reviewed in the United States on October 16, 2016

Verified Purchase

Do you ever wonder why some advertisements are so annoying and corny? Many of us imagine that ad writers lack our higher level of taste. How is it that some important news stories are ignored, while a video of a grandmother dancing drunk on the table gets millions of views? In his award-winning, New York Times best seller Contagious Why Things Catch On, author Jonah Berger gives countless real-life examples of the mysterious methods employed to capture the logic defying attention of the masses. The chapter on social currency describes how you can yoke your product to your customers desire to improve their image making word-of-mouth, and web, your best form of marketing. Next he explains how subconscious triggers lead to surprising results. One example is the horrible book review that leads to thousands more copies sold. Directly manipulating the emotions is another strategy. What sells more, happy emotions or sad? The answer is according to Contagious is both, as long as it is emotional arousal, anxiety, anger, or bright joy. The chapter on the public is all about how to make people show your logo everywhere. Good old-fashioned practical value is also described as we love to share those genuine life hacks with our friends and family. If we believe we can help others save time or money, we will spread the word. Finally we learn the power of narrative. If we can tie a product or service to a good story, then we ride the waves of idle chatter. The author peppers his lessons with juicy examples that are surprising and interesting. Overall the book will change the way you see viral marketing and communication in our modern age and is genuinely fun to read.

33 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Steve Gladis

5.0 out of 5 stars

Follow these STEPPS!

Reviewed in the United States on April 27, 2017

Verified Purchase

With entertaining stories and compelling experiments, Jonah Berger, a professor from Wharton, captures the essence of what makes things contagious—catch on. The six STEPPS principles are 1. Social Currency (we share things that make us look good); 2. Triggers (we share whatever is top of mind—and becomes “tip of tongue”); 3. Emotion (we share what we care about); 4. Public (we share what’s visible and shows); 5. Practical Value (we share what’s useful); and 6. Stories (we share what gets carried in stories). This book is an informative and entertaining read.

13 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Gregorio Cavazos

5.0 out of 5 stars

I paid less than $10 for this book, I received the knowledge of a $5,000 course.

Reviewed in the United States on May 23, 2017

Verified Purchase

I'm an entrepreneur and an avid reader. I've read everything from Rich Dad Poor Dad's series to Trump University's collection to Michael Gerber E-Myths. I recommend all of those books. But this book was different. I actually took it slowly and took notes which I'm using to modify my product.


Will be reading this again at least once a year.


Thank you Jonah Berger, I would love to know more from you.

26 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Beth

5.0 out of 5 stars

A deeply insightful and practical guide to why things go viral

Reviewed in the United States on April 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

It’s a bit strange reading a book called Contagious at a time when the COVID-19 virus is in full swing. In my defense, I started reading this book a month ago after hearing Berger, a Professor of Marketing at the University of Pennsylvania, conduct a webinar. Contagious discusses viral marketing and is both insightful and practical at the same time.


Berger shares many examples throughout the book of viral campaigns which made me interrupt my reading to check out some of these examples online. Spoiler alert. Check out Ken Craig’s corn video.


To summarize the key points in the book:


Any product or behavior can go viral, so there is no excuse that your brand, product or service is just not capable of becoming contagious.

Next time you think you need to hire a celebrity or social influencer, think again. These people are NOT the reason something goes viral. Berger states, “…social epidemics are driven by the products and ideas themselves.”

The characteristics that are most likely to cause a product or service to be shared or talked about are captured in Berger’s “STEPPS” acronym.


Social currency - -people like to share things that make them look good (i.e., smart, cool hip)

Triggers – If something is top of mind people will talk about it. Triggers help keep things top of mind. A song called “Friday” gets a lot of airplay on what day? You guessed it – Friday!

Emotion – when we care, we share things with others and when we are “riled up” about something we overshare. How can you get your audience “riled up”?

Public – the product or service must be a public behavior in order to be shared. If your product or service is private (i.e., the toothpaste you use, the pantyhose you wear), you must determine a way to make it public.

Practical Value – people like to help one another. If you have practical information that can help someone, then a person is more willing to share that information, especially when the information is about a narrower topic. Although it is counterintuitive, sharing a narrower topic will be more likely to trigger someone to share information.

Stories – information travels through stories and chit chat, just make sure that the story can’t be told without mentioning the product or service.


Berger has just released another book called The Catalyst which is about getting people to change their minds. Based on how interesting and digestible Contagious is, I can’t wait to read his next book.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Beckilicious

5.0 out of 5 stars

Useful to Artists Trying to Go Viral

Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2016

Verified Purchase

I am a musician and while I have built a pretty good social media and Internet following over the past two years this book provided me with lots of really good insights about why things get shared, who shares them, and how to design something for maximum shareability. It is easy to read, and most of the information can be applied pretty directly with a little bit of thought. I would recommend it to anyone who is familiar with the basics of marketing and wants to take it to a more effective level.


To be very honest I would not recommend this for someone who is just beginning figuring out social media or personal marketing. It is more of a book about concepts that you can take and apply to systems you already know.


Very happy with this purchase. I own both the audiobook and the physical copy. I go back to it regularly as a reference book.

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Maxwell Edison

5.0 out of 5 stars

Absolutely incredible. One of the best books I've ever read

Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2021

Verified Purchase

After reading Contagious, I felt the need to buy Invisible Influence and The Catalyst. I love Jonah Bergers writing style. Very easy read. Each topic is broken down by chapters and each chapter is full of real world studies and examples. I have recommended all three of these books to many people now. Whether you work in advertising/marketing, own a business, or just have a genuine interest in the human psyche...these books are absolutely worth owning. Stop reading my review already and buy it. As a matter of fact, order multiples, so you can give some away. After I read them I immediately went back and bought more so I can keep copies to give to people. That's how good they are.


RGrayless

5.0 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend!

Reviewed in the United States on October 20, 2019

Verified Purchase

I first read this book while on the marketing team at a tech company in Boulder, Colorado. I was so impressed by the book that I presented the six key STEPPS described in the book to the entire team. We then brainstormed around them and created some mock campaigns to see how they could work in the real world.


I've since used the methods described in this book in many areas of marketing and copywriting in my own business. Not only is the information helpful and informative, it presents each "contagious way of marketing" through actual stories of well-known businesses that implemented the techniques with huge success. If you run a business or work in marketing, I highly recommend reading this to get a good view of how other businesses have clearly and creatively communicated the value of their products and/or services—and how they kept their brand name top-of-mind.

Helpful

Report abuse


Jaclyn Ryan

5.0 out of 5 stars

Very good read!!

Reviewed in the United States on October 11, 2020

Verified Purchase

New york time’s best seller, “Contagious: why things catch on”, by Jonah Berger, goes through many examples of the methods used to catch the attention of the majority of people, and what gets ignored. Berger says “regardless of how plain or boring a product or idea may seem, there are ways to make it contagious…”. The author presents real life examples to illustrate points in order to inform the reader on why things catch on, in a marketing perspective. Berger has studied why things go “viral” and claims that most communications of products are not through the internet, but by word-of-mouth. This book is useful when learning about why some businesses fail and others have booming businesses. It is split up by the acronym STEPPS- Social currency, Triggers, Emotion, Public, Practical value, and Stories, with examples of real businesses in each, which is also useful.

Traditional marketing suggests that the factors that determine a business’ or product’s success are quality, price, and the advertising. Berger explains that it is much deeper than that, and that the more important factors are word-of-mouth transmission and social influence. Word-of-mouth is much more effective because it is persuasive, because people trust more what others recommend rather than what they see on T.V. or social media. This was very interesting to read and I agree with his points- and the numbers prove it accounts for 20-50% of all purchasing decisions. Shockingly, only 7% of word-of-mouth advertising is done through social media.

The author's main arguments are split up by the STEPPS acronym, and each is successfully argued with facts and experience. The first chapter starts with Social currency. This chapter puts emphasis on being “in the know” on something, and wanting to share it with others. The example Berger used was the hot dog restaurant having a secret bar hidden with a secret door in a phone booth. The restaurant and bar have done well for years because people feel like they are “in the know” and recommend it to others, as if they are a part of some big secret. The next chapter, Triggers, is about how one thing triggers another. Such as buying coffee and donuts, peanut butter and jelly, and specifically in the book it is mentioned that the Mars candy company saw a spike in sales during the time in 1997 when NASA was organizing a mission to Mars. Emotion is all about how when something provokes emotion or inspires you, you are more likely to share it. Public is about how people imitate others, with the example of how people are more likely to choose a restaurant or store that has more people in it, and to walk past the ones that are empty. Next, practical value is about how important information is more useful to share, and relies heavily on buyer behavior because people like to help others . Finally, stories explains how a good story is likely to be told especially when it provokes emotion, and thus makes people want to share it with others.

In my opinion, “Contagious: why things catch on” by Jonah Berger is a very interesting read with useful information. As soon as you pick up the book it is difficult to put it down, as it keeps the audience engaged and interested. It is very easy to understand and it allows the reader to put into perspective that marketing is deeper than just advertising on social media. This book could be particularly very useful to students who are interested in studying marketing, interested in psychology and why people are influenced by certain things and not others, or people who have plans to start a business- or just anyone on social media. “Contagious” could even be useful to people who simply do not want to be manipulated by businesses and gain the ability to see through the different marketing strategies. Not only are you given real life scenarios and statistics, but also you are shown proof on how STEPPS can help create a booming business. The stories that are provided are especially useful as they keep the reader engaged while also providing useful information. The only negative of this book I found was the way it is written, as it repeats a lot and could be interpreted as reading a children’s book, and some may get a bit bored. Readers may want to skip over parts as it repeats the same ideas during the chapter and may find it to be a bit redundant at times.

Overall the information is useful enough that I did not mind it too much as I found it just makes it a quick read on why things go viral and how businesses manipulate customers. I enjoyed reading this book, and if you plan on developing a marketing plan or strategy for your business, “Contagious: why things catch on” would be useful to test the strategies to make sure it would be successful. The author successfully explains the STEPPS to making a business successful and used his own education and research to back up the claims being made. The book did not really come off as persuasive, just informative of what works and what does not. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about how marketing strategies work and how companies can manipulate you.

Similar books to “Contagious” include: "Diffusion of Innovations," by Everett Rogers, “Influence” by Robert B. Cialdini, and “The Nuclear Effect” by Scott Oldford. Jonah Berger also has other books that talk about marketing and how to influence other people, such as “The Catalyst” and “Invisible Influence”. Overall, “Contagious” by Jonah Berger is an excellent book to start off with if you want to understand the aspects of marketing and advertising and what can make a company successful, especially when today it is harder than ever to find what will stick to consumers, this book brings about the most effective and prosperous ways on making your product or business contagious.

Helpful

Report abuse


Alfonso Dee

5.0 out of 5 stars

Incredible!

Reviewed in the United States on June 27, 2018

Verified Purchase

I'm looking to launch a new product into market soon, and I've read a lot of books over the last few months. I have to say hands down, I've learned the most from this book out of them all fundamentally. There is so much incredible information in this book, studies, real world examples, tried and true methods, etc - That's its actually hard to gauge exactly how much I've learned and taken away from this book, as it's that good. The best books change our entire basis of thinking going forward into the future; and for me? This is one of those books. Simple Incredible and HIGHLY recommended!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Annemarie M. Osborne

5.0 out of 5 stars

Exceptional insights about social media and marketing in the digital world

Reviewed in the United States on January 7, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is the first book I have found that really exposes the myth of social media as a critical business influencer. The author's research provides a clear understanding about how ideas are shared and what really works in a business to business environment. The notes in the back of the book offered additional sources that I found very useful in conducting further research into this subject. The book is a few years old, but the ideas remain timely.


HappySmiles

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great refresher for every brand manager

Reviewed in the United States on January 7, 2018

Verified Purchase

The book presents information in a candid, easy to follow manner. I always evaluate a book based on what changes I make in my daily personal and work life after reading it. In this case, the book helped me tweak several initiatives at our company. I particularly liked the examples of how to create scarcity and exclusivity for products that are not scarce and thus make them more appealing. I also liked the section on psychological priming which the author calls "triggers." The data on social communication and how much (or little) actually goes online was very enlightening.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Aki Kalliatakis

5.0 out of 5 stars

Brilliant and Practical

Reviewed in the United States on December 22, 2020

Verified Purchase

I have to admit that prior to reading this book I thought that word of mouth was a random process that needed a lot of luck. However, Jonah Berger has shown that WOM can be planned and executed successfully provided some basic criteria are met. He’s given hope to marketers everywhere that this powerful marketing technique can be harnessed effectively. Loved the stories and case studies, and would like to see a future edition with international cases rather than American only.

Helpful

Report abuse


Ignacio Zamora

5.0 out of 5 stars

A very interesting read on viral events and the psychological reasons behind them

Reviewed in the United States on June 8, 2021

Verified Purchase

I enjoyed this book. I have read similar books that provide more depth information on the psychological phenomenons that lead to ideas becoming massive hits and the science of choice, however this book still provided valuable examples and insight into some of these known events and more importantly the unique perspective in how to leverage them to benefit one’s goals, particularly in marketing.

Helpful

Report abuse


Listen2HIm

5.0 out of 5 stars

Practical, entertaining, insightful!

Reviewed in the United States on December 26, 2018

Verified Purchase

This is an enjoyable book even if you're not looking for ways to advertise more effectively. But if you are, this will enlighten you to things to catch and hold people's attention that never crossed your mind before. It's given me new insights into marketing my own products and why y attention has been 'caught' by others.

Helpful

Report abuse


Cindy A

5.0 out of 5 stars

Brilliant! I've literally told all my entrepreneur friends!

Reviewed in the United States on June 3, 2017

Verified Purchase

I read a lot of business/marketing books and many of them have a sentence or two worth reading surrounded by fluff that we've all heard before. Contagious is NOT that kind of book. I just finished it and I'm going to read it again with a notepad - this requires study and implementation. What a great, easy, interesting read!! It's so good, I'm leaving a review... I never do that! :)

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Justin

5.0 out of 5 stars

Content Creating must read

Reviewed in the United States on September 27, 2017

Verified Purchase

Possibly one of the best marketing/behavioral psychology books I've read. Its short, to the point, doesn't bore you with info you don't need to know. If you're into marketing or creating content and don't want to get bogged down with the deeper psychology of everything, then this is for you.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Rhonda Bolling

5.0 out of 5 stars

Lightbulb Moments Throughout

Reviewed in the United States on November 10, 2017

Verified Purchase

Enjoyed the research that went into this book. The writing was clear and impactful, motivational and entertaining. I'd say any book that creates lightbulb moments in our own brains is a GREAT book. Learned so much about social currency and why things catch on. Well worth a second or third listen! I'd rate as Excellent. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Timothy D.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Eye Opening

Reviewed in the United States on May 27, 2021

Verified Purchase

This was such an informative read. It provides insight into the psychology of advertising, and how our emotions are tapped into to provoke action. Whether you're in business or a consumer, this will help you to understand the how and why of what you see and read.

Helpful

Report abuse


Justin Leibforth

5.0 out of 5 stars

Read This!

Reviewed in the United States on March 21, 2014

Verified Purchase

Jonah Berger's book, Contagious: Why things catch on, discusses why some businesses do well or "take off" while other businesses fail quickly. Most people would say that the answer is in advertising. Well, according to this book, they would be very wrong. Word of Mouth & Social Transmission are the biggest reasons why businesses do well.


I really liked this book because it was an enjoyable read but also very easy to understand. Jonah Berger was not using vocabulary that most people do not know. He talked about many different way people talk / socially transmit, not just one way. The book was also kind of interactive; the book would ask you questions & make you think while reading which helped keep me interested the entire time.


I did not find many things that I didn't like but I felt like the book was going against many of the classes that I have already taken. Many classes I took were being hard on marketing & advertising but the book was saying people to people interaction was most effective. Based off of their reasoning, I am agreeing with this book.


This is a good book for an Entrepreneurship student because it is an easy read but also what they say makes sense (I do not want to give it all away). I learned / relearned many things & I know many other students can do the same.


I am a University of Baltimore Entrepreneurship Student, this was a recommended reading but I will read this again. #ENTR300

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jordan Green

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great read for marketers at any level

Reviewed in the United States on March 31, 2018

Verified Purchase

I chose to read this book for a course in my MBA marketing program. I thought the idea of word of mouth being the most prominent and effective marketing medium in our technology-saturated world seemed a bit far fetched at first, but Berger's well laid-out case and data to back it really impressed me. Overall I think this is a great book for anyone just getting into marketing but also for those who have been at it a long time. Berger explains a lot of links between the way human psychology, social tendencies, and modern technological connectivity interact. I believe an understanding of these interactions is vital to successfully marketing in today's world.

Helpful

Report abuse


Joseph Brooks IV

5.0 out of 5 stars

Interesting, informative and useful.

Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2017

Verified Purchase

I am not a marketing or advertising student/graduate, so I don't know whether a lot of the stuff in here is common marketing knowledge. I am currently studying industrial design and thought this book would be useful and if not useful, at least interesting. I am currently half way through the book, which is great. I think anyone interested in human behavior would enjoy this book and learn a lot from it.

Helpful

Report abuse


rmh_woody

5.0 out of 5 stars

Best business book that I've read in years

Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2014

Verified Purchase

I read a lot of business books. Let me rephrase...I read parts of a lot of business books. Most, even those that are recommended by others, have 20 pages of content in a 200 page book so I end up skipping to relevant useful bits. While there is some of that here, it is 10x better than anything else I've read in the past couple of years, and I read it cover to cover. In fact, I got this book originally from the library, but it was good enough that I wanted to highlight, take notes, dog-ear, etc, so even though I had the library copy, I ordered one from Amazon too. I am now re-reading it, taking notes.


The best part of the book is that it gave me concrete concepts that I could immediately apply. I even told a friend about it (making it contagious), and have started having Kit-Kats with my coffee (read the book and you'll understand).

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Zoe

5.0 out of 5 stars

Surprised me with how awesome it was

Reviewed in the United States on October 16, 2021

Verified Purchase

Honestly an amazing book! I thought I would have to force myself to read this book because the subject matter seems dry but I could not stop reading! The book is gripping and extremely well laid out and very easy to understand. It is also surprising in ways I didn’t expect which is one of the reasons I wasn’t able to put it down.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Julie Ewald

5.0 out of 5 stars

Fab read for getting a handle on "viral"

Reviewed in the United States on May 2, 2015

Verified Purchase

I think that it's important to note that there is no real recipe to making something catch on or go "viral." You cannot make something catch on. However, there are actionable items, strategies, techniques, and proven commonalities among things that go big, and these give your whatever it is a better chance of going viral--and this book digs into these things. Those looking for a sure-fire recipe shouldn't knock the book; that doesn't exist outside of mind control. If you can brainwash the masses, then you guarantee your whatever will go viral.


The intended audience isn't expert-level folks when it comes all things viral. It's for marketers who are embarking on their journey (or trying to figure out why the things they've been doing didn't catch on). It provides a good overview, case studies, some in-depth analysis, and things you can actually do. And it's for those who aren't marketers who realize that these concepts could be applicable to what they are doing as well.


Because of the audience, I'm sure the book could seem pedantic and rudimentary to those with more experience, but frankly, I enjoyed it. I think most others in the marketing arena would also enjoy it, even with more experience under their belts. There were some fantastic reminders in there, a few things I hadn't thought of before, and case studies I'll be sure to revisit.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Mark H ✨

TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE

5.0 out of 5 stars

I know it will make a difference in my business

Reviewed in the United States on February 1, 2018

Verified Purchase

So grateful for this book. In the spirit of Malcomb Gladwell, Berger captures the heart of why we get captured by certain kinds of media. I am on my second read and I keep getting great ideas about Social Currency and its importance in our lives. People want to feel like they have that special "thing" and they want others to know it.


It's an easy, honest and charming read and I am asking my staff to get it and read it.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Brendan J.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Pick it up and don't expect to do anything until you're done reading it.

Reviewed in the United States on March 17, 2017

Verified Purchase

My favorite non fiction book for these reasons:

1. Keeps you entertained from start to finish.

2. Really interesting case studies.

3. All around useful for launching new products.

4. Great stories to share with friends and concepts to introduce to the unaware.


Can't say enough about how much I enjoyed this book. Looking for the next great read.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Zack P Thomas

5.0 out of 5 stars

Read this now, and again!!!!!!!!

Reviewed in the United States on November 10, 2020

Verified Purchase

Insanely great, I don't re-read books too often but I have reviewed this twice since I read this initially. A lot of information and I plan on reading a few more from this author.

Helpful

Report abuse


Ronald Covington

5.0 out of 5 stars

The book was a joy to read and I believe all of its content ...

Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2015

Verified Purchase

As a part of a Survey Entrepreneurship course at the University of Baltimore, a suggested reading was the book Contagious, by Jonah Berger. As a college professor, Berger spent many years researching the reason why certain ideas and products really catch on. He turned his research into a course at the Wharton School of Business, at the University of Pennsylvania, called Contagious. The book is a manuscript of the course content. From his years of research looking at hundreds of messages, ideas, and products, Berger came up with six principles: social currency, triggers, emotion, public, practical value, and stories. Based on his extensive research, he believes that these principles are consistent with ideas, messages and products that go viral. He emphasizes that all of them may not be present in each instance but there is some representation of at least some of the principles in things that catch fire.

Berger’s use of case studies, with detailed stories, was an effective way of explaining his principles. The stories were compelling and connected with the reader. The book helps the reader understand the science behind his thinking in a way that appeals to a diverse audience including academic and nonacademic, experienced business people and the novice. The book was a joy to read and I believe all of its content is relevant, particularly to entrepreneur students. The book Contagious provides an in-depth way for the entrepreneur student to gain insight into what makes the products and services we hope to sell become viral

Helpful

Report abuse


Grace M.

5.0 out of 5 stars

legitamently the best book I have ever read on marketing

Reviewed in the United States on April 4, 2018

Verified Purchase

legitamently the best book I have ever read on marketing. Read it once, listened to it on audible twice, going on the third time now. Get something new every time. A MUST READ for any marketer.

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Fantastic real world examples that provide great fodder for discussion with friends, customers and business partners

Reviewed in the United States on May 17, 2016

Verified Purchase

I am only a few chapters in --and will have to write another review once I am done--, but I love this book. Jonah is probably not teaching anything ground breaking but he does have a unique way of en-capsulizing his points with colorful stories that provide you with mini epiphany like "aha" moments. Wonderful book for anyone with an interest in marketing. Fantastic real world examples that provide great fodder for discussion with friends, customers and business partners. Highly recommended.

One person found this helpful


Hagop Kaneboughazian

5.0 out of 5 stars

Gets my juices flowing ;)

Reviewed in the United States on January 29, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book really helped me get ideas flowing for how to market my children's book - Hidden Gems: Quest for the Great Diamond. The insights it provides is extremely useful and practical. I can't wait to put some of what I learned to use.

Helpful

Report abuse


Dr. Doom

5.0 out of 5 stars

An enjoyable read.

Reviewed in the United States on May 30, 2018

Verified Purchase

Yes, I enjoyed reading this book. If this subject interests you, then you probably want to read this. Jonah Berger seems to be as expert on this topic, and he wrote a very readable and engaging book.

Helpful

Report abuse


JEFFREY

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Book

Reviewed in the United States on February 16, 2021

Verified Purchase

I was searching around Amazon for books about using psychology to sell products to consumers via e-commerce. I love this book and I've learned so much from it. Highly recommended!

Helpful

Report abuse


Von Wong

5.0 out of 5 stars

Enlightening book

Reviewed in the United States on March 31, 2017

Verified Purchase

One of the best marketing books out there - and relevant to the world we live in today. Jonah explains beautifully phenomenon we observe but don't quite understand. Highly recommended

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Gabriel Hamilton

5.0 out of 5 stars

excellent book

Reviewed in the United States on July 6, 2019

Verified Purchase

great for anyone who wants to know about marketing. it also has some life lessons in there if you're open enough to hear them.

Helpful

Report abuse


Peter D Schneider

5.0 out of 5 stars

If You Ever Wonder Why Something Goes Viral, then read this NOW

Reviewed in the United States on May 24, 2014

Verified Purchase

My wife got this recommendation from her associates at Juice Plus and found it to be very Informative and easy to take action on. I'm a author and found the information very powerful to create a buzz for my marketing campaign. Read the book get the information and you will be let in on the secrets on what makes stories go viral.Get intrigued with a place called Please don't tell. This is a wonderful book and a fun read. If you need a book to read on vacation or for pleasure this will be a great read. You won't wonder why that stupid story or you tube video went crazy. Enjoy the ride.

Helpful

Report abuse


Debbie's World of Books

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great read!

Reviewed in the United States on December 22, 2015

Verified Purchase

I initially listened to this book on an audiobook I borrowed from the library but I enjoyed it enough I wanted a copy of my own that I could highlight and tab sections that were really useful. A lot of the info isn't a surprise but it's a good reminder to keep those things in mind as you make marketing decisions. It's written in an engaging voice and never dragged for me.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


angelica

5.0 out of 5 stars

COULDN'T STOP READING

Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2019

Verified Purchase

Lot of great knowledge for people that is trying to start their own business and even for the consumers of the products to understand more about the marketing behind everything and how we get influenced mentally by them.

It opens your mind to look around on the strategies every business uses with a certain intention.

Helpful

Report abuse


Kaing

5.0 out of 5 stars

Viral marketing doesn’t need big budget

Reviewed in the United States on November 7, 2020

Verified Purchase

One of the best marketing book resonated by real life examples from big global brands I’ve ever read! Love the simple and ease of reading from this book. Highly recommended for those who are looking at great marketing communication.

Helpful

Report abuse


Acamea

5.0 out of 5 stars

Equal Parts Story and Resource

Reviewed in the United States on December 20, 2019

Verified Purchase

Rather than simply run through a list of technical studies and market research, this book tells interesting stories to prove it’s point. It’s an engaging read. Bonus is that it’s also helpful and offers actionable advice. Loved it.


J. Shorter

5.0 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Book

Reviewed in the United States on August 13, 2018

Verified Purchase

LOVE this book. Fast read. Great information. A lot of great ways to think about how people are trying to sell you everything, including themselves. Buy it. Read it. Love it. Read it again. :)

Helpful

Report abuse


Glass River Media

5.0 out of 5 stars

The perfect balance of form and function.

Reviewed in the United States on February 5, 2020

Verified Purchase

There are a lot of books out there on branding, messaging, and communications. Some are deep dives full of jargon and require a PhD in communication just to understand. Others are as useful as a fortune cookie.


Contagious, Is the PERFECT middle ground. Jonah Berger’s ability to make complicated concepts very approachable and easy to understand and apply is hard to match.

Helpful

Report abuse


Kenan

5.0 out of 5 stars

The best book on viral content out there

Reviewed in the United States on January 10, 2021

Verified Purchase

Everyone is trying to crack the background behind viral content that flows around us, but Jonah is doing it in an extrordinary way by combining science sith real life examples. Every marketer out there should read this one. I had it on my shelf for a long time, feel sorry now that I didn’t read it before. Amazing book.

Helpful

Report abuse


Kug

TOP 1000 REVIEWER

5.0 out of 5 stars

Cover the Topic Well

Reviewed in the United States on May 26, 2018

Verified Purchase

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I've been interested in how ideas take off and were​ afraid this would be another trite try at explaining the phenomenon. Not the case here. The Author delves into the subject with both feet. It is well written, backed up by examples of his research and stories you'll recognize and relate to easily. I found it an interesting and informative read.

Helpful

Report abuse


Rivka Hodgkinson

5.0 out of 5 stars

Want people to be talking? Read this book!

Reviewed in the United States on May 14, 2013

Verified Purchase

I read a lot of marketing books and blogs. I listen to a lot of podcasts and webinars about marketing. There is good information, but rarely does something really stand apart. This book managed to do that.


Rather than a few case studies, or even just opinions, Jonah Berger has put together the most comprehensive research based information about creating viral content in the modern day. If you can grasp his STEPPS to viral content you will be equipped to apply them to any project, any industry, or any endeavor. I can't recommend this book enough.

Helpful

Report abuse


Justin

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Read

Reviewed in the United States on May 10, 2017

Verified Purchase

Very enlightening read. It was a page turner and kept my attention. Strongly recommend reading this book.

I actually had a friend randomly share a product with me because of his customer service experience and the funny thing is that Jonah described my friend's experience and why he shared the product with me to a 't' in this book.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


CS

5.0 out of 5 stars

Good book

Reviewed in the United States on December 29, 2020

Verified Purchase

I previously had this book and it was a good read bought another book for a friend

Helpful

Report abuse


C.Nunez14

5.0 out of 5 stars

Amazing book

Reviewed in the United States on November 15, 2018

Verified Purchase

If you're into Marketing, I highly suggest you take the time and really read this book. It will open your mind to new ventures. 10/10

Helpful

Report abuse