Jerry Newell Jeff Lerner Review

Meet Jerald (Jerry) Newell. Before ENTRE, he tried to build out another business idea but got really frustrated and eventually gave up. But when he joined ENTRE, he felt the difference within the first few days. He really appreciates the fact that he has a personal advisor that's there for him 24/7. ENTRE's training is helping him get on the path to creating more options in life, and it's also helping him realize it's not all about money. He loves that he's going through a fully-rounded program that enhances all aspects of his life.

Welcome to another episode of Millionaire Secrets!


Does it seem like you can’t catch a break?


Does it feel like the challenges in life just keep stacking against you?


In today’s episode, I talk to Real Estate expert, coach, and speaker Matt Aitchison. He talks about the power of the human mind and setting off domino runs in your life…


...And how to set those dominoes off in the POSITIVE direction.


Matt Aitchison has forged an amazing career for himself. He’s flipped hundreds of houses and built a Top 1000 real estate team in the U.S from the ground up.


But in Matt’s own words:


He’s not the fastest, the smartest, or the strongest.


So the secrets to success he has to offer can be applied by ANYONE!


Matt is so passionate about helping others find freedom and fulfillment in their business and personal life.


Now he wants to help you!


Matt attributes his success to SIMPLE life switches which he shares in today’s interview. These are strategies you can start implementing TODAY!


He also teaches you how to get WAY more out of your failures than any of your successes!


Tune in to find out:


How to harness your version of Dr. Jekyll, and keep Mr. Hyde LOCKED UP.


The steps to setting your LEAD DOMINOES off in the right direction - and how to ride that momentum going forward!


The rules of the Bowling Alley of Life, and learning how knocking down one pin can still be an advantage!


Matt emphasizes the importance of mental and physical health and is ready to share his wisdom with you:


It’s time to start taking care of YOU - then the business will take care of itself.


I have a LOT of respect for Matt as we are very similar people.


We are both deeply committed to helping other people - AND - we’re both incredibly dedicated husbands and fathers.


He’s worth watching and listening to on that merit alone.


💰 Claim Your Free 'Millionaire Shortcut' Book Here 👉 https://millionairesecrets.com/MattA


Check Out More of Matt’s Content Here 👇


💻 https://mattaitchison.com/


💡 https://www.therichlifeacademy.com/


🎙️ Millionaire Mindcast Podcast 👉 https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/millionaire-mindcast/id1109801013


📲 Text 👉 844-447-1555


ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/in/maitchison


📺 YT 👉 https://www.youtube.com/c/MattAitchisonMedia


🖥️ FB 👉 https://www.facebook.com/mattaitchisonmedia/


⌨️ Twitter 👉 https://twitter.com/officialmattya?lang=en


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/officialmattya/?hl=en


Jerry Newell Reviews

The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich Hardcover – December 15, 2009

by Timothy Ferriss (Author)

4.5 out of 5 stars

16,053 ratings

New York Times best-selling author of The 4-Hour Bodyshows readers how to live longer and do less work today, with over 100 pages of brand-new innovative, cutting-edge content.

Do not be deceived by the old idea of retirement and the deferred-life plans-there's no reason to put off retirement and no reason not to even in the most uncertain economic conditions . Whether your goal is to escape the hustle and bustle, enjoying luxurious world travel or earning a five-figure income that requires no control, The 4-Hour Workweek is the ideal blueprint.


This step-by-step guide for luxurious lifestyle design teaches:

* How Tim changed from $40,000 per year and working 80 working hours per week, to $40,000 for a month, four hours per week.

* How do you outsource your work to virtual assistants in other countries for just $5/hour or do anything you wish

Blue-chip escape artist traverse across the globe, without quitting their job

How to get rid of 50 percent of your workload within 48 hours by applying the concepts of a long-forgotten Italian economist

* How to trade in a long-haul career in exchange for short work breaks and regular "mini-retirements"


The updated version of Tim Ferriss' The 4-Hour Workweek includes:

• More than fifty useful advice and case studies of the readers (including family members) who have increased their income by a third or gotten past common roadblocks and reinvented their lives with the help of the book as a reference point

Real-world templates that you can take to help eliminate email or negotiating with bosses and clients, or arranging an exclusive chef for less than $8 per meal.

• How Lifestyle Design principles can be appropriate to the unpredictable economic climate

* The most recent techniques and tools along with technological shortcuts to living like a millionaire or diplomat without having to be either



All the things!

5.0 out of 5 stars

Flipped my thinking on its head

Reviewed in the United States on August 29, 2018

Verified Purchase

I am honestly not entirely sure what to say about this book. The message is stop working harder, start working smarter. As a USA Today bestselling author with multiple number 1's under my belt, I wasn't completely sure how the advice in this book would apply to me, but actually, I came up with several ways to implement this without quitting writing (to move into sales) or hiring a ghostwriter. I was uncertain how to take my personal development to the next level before I bought this book. I'm now working more efficiently. I spent the last 2 months on a mini-retirement traveling the world with my husband, and my book sales are up on new titles. I am spending FAR less time on the little things and overall I feel like I have a positive plan going forward, which is exactly what I needed. If I ever meet Tim Ferriss in person I'd like to thank him.

162 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


jennifer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent read, life changer

Reviewed in the United States on May 1, 2019

Verified Purchase

I think when it comes to Tim Ferris you either love him or love to hate him. I particularly like his books, blog, podcast among other things. I will put his feet to the fire if I feel a book is not useful or did not meet my expectations. The 4 Hour Work Week ultimately met and exceeded my expectations.

I had moments of reflection in my life. The 4HWW made me reflect on the value of my time and how to use it better. Now, can you apply everything he says? No, at least not in the beginning. However, that was never the point. The point was to use your time better and find hacks and ways to live a more joyful and fulfilling life.

After reading this book, I began publishing my books, started a blog and outsourcing jobs and assignments that I cost me too much time and getting them down for a fraction of time all while I nap.

I have this book in Kindle format and paperback. Made a difference in my life and I reread it from time to time.

23 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Chris

5.0 out of 5 stars

Bursting at the seams with value, actionable steps and motivation

Reviewed in the United States on July 29, 2018

Verified Purchase

I have never read a book that has been so action-packed with useful information, great case studies, and general content that makes me change my mindset on multitude facets of life. My copy is marked up extensively with highlighter, notes in the margins, etc, and for good reason.


If you work to understand and apply what it taught/revealed in this book, it will change your life. Even if you don't achieve the 4-hour workweek, there will be many distractions and overall negative aspects of your life (both professional and personal) that will be switched off, and you will (no exaggeration) live a better, more fulfilling life.


I cannot recommend this book enough especially to entrepreneurs (whether just starting out or seasoned vets).

22 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Out DorsieTop Contributor: Camping

5.0 out of 5 stars

Practical, but use discernment

Reviewed in the United States on November 28, 2017

Verified Purchase

This book can be controversial if you don't discern. Yes, some of the tips given in the book sound amazing but not realistic (or legal in some situations), but that's where your gotta use critical thinking skills (or common sense) to determine what works best for you.


I value efficiency, and this book encompasses that. Great, easy read. High re-readability too.

59 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jesse Langel

5.0 out of 5 stars

A lifestyle-design masterpiece. This changed American business.

Reviewed in the United States on November 10, 2019

Verified Purchase

Play Video

The 4-Hour Workweek by Tim Ferriss shatters existing mental models and modernized the concept of lifestyle design.


This is the 800-pound guerrilla of productivity, self-improvement, and time management. Live anywhere and join the "new rich" (unrestricted time and mobility). The 4-Hour Workweek is about options; It's about decluttering your life, freeing yourself from a job and mortgage in pursuit of a happier life.


Tim Ferriss shows us how to build a "muse" (online business), automating streams of income, and taking mini-retirements. While you're young and vibrant, free your time to lick the lid of life. Take advantage of geographical arbitrage by spending less in other countries.


Tim raises awareness and shows us in a practical guide how to gain autonomy and live life to its fullest. Claim your personal freedom. He gives us ideas, and plenty of options, resources, and tools to escape the 9 to 5 paradigm that we've been living within.

10 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Rob Lee

VINE VOICE

5.0 out of 5 stars

Inspiring, don’t just read it, apply it

Reviewed in the United States on July 5, 2018

Verified Purchase

I find myself rereading chapters of this book every couple of months or so. It is all about efficiently managing your time and getting the most output for your input. My priorities on life were completely rearranged. There’s so many random sentences in this book that are quote worthy. I ended up doing his dreamlining and breaking down my goals into actionable tasks and I’ve improved my situation in every single category.

20 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Pat the Rat

5.0 out of 5 stars

A must read for anyone wanting to do business over the internet

Reviewed in the United States on December 26, 2018

Verified Purchase

This book really got me revved to have an online business with passive income, meaning I'm not trading hours for money. The money rolls in even when I'm sleeping and I have it all pretty much automated. I run a software business over the internet and when someone buys, they get a download link and a username and activation code automatically. So I wake up in the morning and i might have a couple hundred bucks in sales from Australia or something. Pretty cool. Anyway Tim has lots of good advice and lots of services and resources for anyone who wants to live a free lifestyle. btw, I still have a full time job, but this passive income has helped my quite a bit and it doesn't take up much of my time. Don't trade your hours for money. If you do that you're limited in how much you can make by the number of hours you can work in a day.

12 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Peter Butler Jr.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review: "The 4-Hour Workweek"

Reviewed in the United States on December 3, 2019

Verified Purchase

I inhaled The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich by Timothy Ferriss – and I have put his other books on my wish list.


To look at the title, you might think it pure fancy or illegal, but it’s not.


Ferriss argues that it is much more important to do what is meaningful to you than to fill a seat from nine to five. That sounds reasonable to me.


The sections of the book spell D-E-A-L.


Definition: what do you really want to do? What is meaningful to you? What would you want to do if you had no restrictions or limitations on you? (Legal things, of course.) You must have a solid idea of what you want and how to get there fulfilling the meaning you seek.


Elimination: what don’t you need? What takes you away from is meaningful? Excess stuff – excess nuances – anything that is not necessary in achieving what is meaningful for you should be eliminated – whether people, clothes, or your current job.


Automation: in the long run – and even in the short run – paying someone else to do what you don’t want or need to do will increase your ability to achieve what is meaningful for you. Spend your time and effort only on what you enjoy doing on the way to your meaningful goal.


Liberation: go. Work from home, from another country, take min-retirements.


Ferriss includes many examples and websites to check out. The book concludes with a selection of his best blog posts and testimonials of those who followed through with what he explains.


Now, you may love your job. I do. But there are things you wish you didn’t have to do, right? I know there are for me. See if someone else will do them to allow you to fulfill your call. Set short term goals and get to them now.


I am also setting long term goals which begin now, certainly, but things I want to achieve. I love my job, but there are other things I would like to achieve as well. And, though I don’t have much interest in going to other countries, I would like to take more vacations at different times of the year to be in the place that I find most beneficial to my achieving meaning.


Even if you don’t follow everything he says – he is not in favor of reading a lot – I disagree – taking time to figure out what is meaningful and what things would be better out of your life or handled by someone else is a worthwhile activity.


[This review appears on my blog, Amazon.com, and Goodreads.com.]

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Misha

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book has been referenced more amongst my friend group than any other

Reviewed in the United States on December 22, 2018

Verified Purchase

This book is on the list of the top 5 books that have changed my life. I remember around the second year I was working in Tokyo as a recruiter, a friend of mine mentioned the book in passing. It sounded interesting but didn’t think much of it. I was going through a phase where I had achieved some success at work, but still felt like my life was a rollercoaster in terms of health and focus. I also felt that I wasn’t making my way towards my goal of eventually starting a business as I had set out to do a couple of years before.


After downloading the book on Kindle I let it sit there for a few weeks and then eventually I picked it up lazily one weekend afternoon. I couldn’t put the book down and I finished it on the same day, and I felt like I had just been given and granted access to an extremely valuable treasure — a Holy Grail of sorts. I wasn’t sure if I should spread the word immediately, or just heed the advise and start working on myself. I did both, but of course, people get annoyed when you try and evangelize “how this book changed my life.”


Every time I meet an entrepreneur they always reference Tim Ferris and this book as being the the switch that got them to where they’re at now. The reason it was so powerful is because it essentially gives you permission. Permission to not be in the rat race, it gives you permission to live life on your own accord, and it gives you an action plan to actually make that happen from somebody that’s done it.


A lot of people get turned off by the title of the book because it sounds like “oh you only have to work four hours a week.” Many people see Tim Ferriss as kind of a self-help guru or a lifestyle guru. The root of this criticism is usually fear or a lack of understanding (most people who critize haven’t read the book).


There’s also problem with the phrase “self help.” Whenever we read nonfiction, isn’t everything technically self-help? What is the purpose of us reading a book? We’re all out there to learn something and unless it’s a fiction book which is just for enjoyment, typically even reading a biography of Benjamin Franklin you’re looking for some sort of insight and wisdom from somebody that has done something great. From this perspective, Aristotle and Plato and Seneca are all self-help. Sure, there is a lot of fluffy self-help where people are just trying to sell their products. But it’s important to keep in mind that the category stretches far beyond what most people think.


A lot of the things I had started to get interested in a few years ago, for example taking supplements to increase my focus at work, or being more productive, or learning a new skill, or creating it a plan to make a side business, or mustering up the courage to quit my job…All this is covered in the book, and it was the first time I was exposed to it in an organized manner.


Now, can somebody really only work four hours a week and make a living? If you think the answer is no, then you don’t know very much about the internet. Let’s pick a simple example, writing a e-book. The economies of scale on an e-book are amazing, because you only have to write it once. From there you can make royalties on a daily basis while you are literally sleeping. There are million ways to create passive income, and once set up properly maybe only need to work one hour or five hours or 10 hours…or no hours per week.


With that said, I wanted to share some of my favorite quotes, but these are just snippets and do little justice to the book. Of course if you haven’t read it, quiet the internal critic and pessimism for a few hours and go pick up a copy.

9 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Gen Xer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Be 10x more productive is what it is about, that applies to us all, even those that can never work just 4 hours a week

Reviewed in the United States on November 26, 2017

Verified Purchase

The book that put Tim on the map. Only issue is the title. I know from his podcasts that there were few good names to choose from but when he explained to think of it as how to be 10x productive (eg 40/10=4) not literally a 4 hour work week (no one he respects works 4 hours a week) then it makes sense. Work smarter not harder would have been a boring title but more accurate.

38 people found this helpful


Chris Bello

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book changed my life! I quit my boring job to pursue my dreams

Reviewed in the United States on April 1, 2021

Verified Purchase

This is such an amazing book. I am reading it again after several years and am finding that I’ve applied so many concepts in this book.


I can definitely attribute reading this in 2017 as a major contributor to quitting my joyless oil & gas career.


A few years later, I have a thriving real estate business that requires ~10 hours a week of time, and I have people in place to handle nearly every aspect of it. I’m even doing the digital nomad thing, closing real estate deals in Texas from my new place in Colorado.


Thank you, Tim, for this gem of a book. It truly changed my life.


4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


MoBarbs

5.0 out of 5 stars

One of the best business books I've ever read.

Reviewed in the United States on August 3, 2017

Verified Purchase

One of my favorite books of all time. Excellent read full of insights. Even though some of the things will be outdated, the modern reader can adapt the principles to today's opportunities for business. My favorite aspect of the book is his emphasis, analysis and application of the 80/20 rule. He shows that it's one of those points of leverage in life that help you accomplish more with less. 80% of the results come from 20% of the causes. I go back to this concept all the time. It's one of the few books that I buy people and read more than once.

10 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Megan

5.0 out of 5 stars

Awesome book!

Reviewed in the United States on April 5, 2019

Verified Purchase

This will be the one book that saved my life. I've read hundreds of books over the course of my life, and a great many over 400 pages long. This was by far the fastest read with the most usable content. I'm so impressed with how easily he laid out the concept of lifestyle design into terms that your average Joe can understand. I was able to incorporate so many fresh ideas into my business and will soon be leaving my dull desk job to be a full time entrepreneur and vegabonder with my wife and dogs. This gave me all the keys I needed to succeed. Get the book if you're looking for a remodel in your life.

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


The Lot

5.0 out of 5 stars

Finally Bullet Point Instructions.

Reviewed in the United States on December 27, 2019

Verified Purchase

So many books that are supposed to be giving guidance regarding starting your new business or achieving a particular goal are set generalities making it quite difficult to lay out a plan. I do get that not everyone is the same and yet step by steps that allow you tweak for your busn or goal or personality actually lit the light bulb for me. So thank you Tim! I highly recommend for anyone but especially those (like me) who like things layed out in 1-2-3 format. OCD... perhaps, but the heart wants what the heart wants. Entertaining and interesting as well, the 4 Hour Work Week is a great read.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


bear

5.0 out of 5 stars

practical and motivational

Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2020

Verified Purchase

Love this book.


Tons of practical information and resources. honest and down to earth. very well written, sometimes even poetic. this one came as a pleasant surprise, I expected this book to be full of practical advice and information, but I didn't expect it to be so well written. I know Tim is an avid reader, but I didn't know he is such a good writer.


Deep and thought-provoking. the last part about life after achieving freedom not being a bed of roses is refreshingly honest and his views about the pointlessness of some philosophical questions and service for the right reason show that he is a deep independent thinker. I used to spend a lot of time pondering philosophical questions, like, what is the meaning of life? but now I agree with Tim~these are questions not worth pursuing. if you peel these philosophical questions like you peel an onion, in the end, you will be taken to a void. The only meaning of life is simply to live, live life to the fullest, squeeze every drop out of life while you still have time~that's all.


What impresses me the most is how Tim always tries to think outside the box. You may or may not agree with everything he says or does, but you can’t deny that he is a creative thinker and problem solver. I think if we only learn this one thing from him, our life will be greatly improved.


I also like his passion for lifelong learning and personal development.


Overall, a great book. motivational and practical. highly recommended

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


H. Dingui

5.0 out of 5 stars

Can help you feel better about work and business

Reviewed in the United States on January 24, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book is great. It gives me hope for financial freedom and independence. Since reading this book I have been much more productive at work and confident in my skills. I have learned strategies to maximize your time and have learned how to accomplish much more in less time. I especially liked the success anecdotes: they were very encouraging. You don't have to waste time doing the same thing that doesn't work. The tips he recommends are very easy to implement and will help you feel better about work and business.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


bbrown67

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book - a few dated references but don't let that stop you!

Reviewed in the United States on March 28, 2021

Verified Purchase

Tim Ferris did a great job with this book. Some references from the original edition are now inactive as it was originally written in early 2000s, but it's still a gold mine for ideas. He updated it in this version to show what websites / links are now inactive.


It definitely makes you think about outsourcing work and how to create a business that empowers you to live the life YOU want. He also has some excellent book references in the back which are gold mines of business information / personal development information as well.


Five stars!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


EncryptedSoliloquy

5.0 out of 5 stars

A very enjoyable read for this interested in this genre and well presented

Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2021

Verified Purchase

Very good read for this interested in this genre and would like further information on this topic. The author expresses themselves very well throughout this literature. I would recommend this book to those who like to have a better understanding or those who already have an appreciation of this and would like to immerse themselves more on this topic. Highly recommend this book / author and seller. Shipping and handling arrived new and without defects and well presented packaging.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


the_learner

5.0 out of 5 stars

Pretty much Lifechanging

Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2021

Verified Purchase

Reading this really made me rethink my life. Some of it may need to be disregarded if you don’t use debt but that’s honestly one percent of the book maybe. The rest is excellent.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


David Tsai

5.0 out of 5 stars

Change your life for the better

Reviewed in the United States on March 17, 2019

Verified Purchase

We all know things can be better but we don't know how to get started or we think it takes a lifetime. Life and work gets busy and we get tunnel vision and habits that reinforce the lifestyle we have instead of the life we should have. This book (And Tim's Story) has helped me get get the tools to start on a new path towards a new journey where we know the concept of destination is illusion. Be happy in the journey, not just the destination for that is what life is.

7 people found this helpful


California Resident

5.0 out of 5 stars

Will Change the way You Think About Work.

Reviewed in the United States on April 23, 2018

Verified Purchase

More than being about a literal four hour work week, Tim Ferris' book is full of practical tips and ideas to help you focus on what you love to do, while getting what you don't like to do delegated to others. He also provides a lot of good advice on how to ween yourself out of a frustrating corporate setting and into your own business.

9 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


MG

5.0 out of 5 stars

My Review of the Negative Reviews

Reviewed in the United States on August 9, 2013

Verified Purchase

I read "The 4 Hour Work Week" when it first came out. I picked it up at an airport bookstore, not expecting much because of the title, and I was more than pleasantly surprised. It has become one the most important books I have ever read, on business and life.


I compare it to a modern version of "Napoleon Hill's "Think and Grow Rich," with language and information that speaks in terms of the world today.


So I was rather shocked to see so many negative reviews weighed towards the top. I decided to read some and try to understand their view - ie, did they read the same book that I did? Where is the disconnect?


I think I know. One of the reviews says that this book is not for 98% of readers. Ironically, that reviewer is right, although not for the reasons argued. The bottom line is that most people will never take action. They prefer the pain of what they know to the risk or uncertainty of what they do not. They prefer seeing excuses instead of opportunities. The reviews remind me of comment threads on the Small Business section of sites like the Huff Post - people just prefer to be victims, and that includes being a "victim" of reading this book or other motivational writings that suggests you do not have to settle in life.


I rarely write five-star reviews. And this is not an "outsourced review." I give Tim Ferriss' book five stars for how it affected my life - how I chose to learn from it. The reviews here that are focused on the questions - is he really a tango expert, kickboxing champion? - are, in my opinion, missing the forest for the trees. (Kind of like those who questioned Robert Kiyosaki's service in Vietnam, instead of understanding the message of his "Rich Dad, Poor Dad.) But, like I said, that's why 98% of people are never truly successful.


After being laid off several years ago (Tim is right, sometimes being fired is the best thing that can happen to you), I started to take his perspectives to heart. The biggest change for me was the eye-opening freedom of mobility - of separating how you make money from geography. I still refer to his book often, whenever I need to remind myself that the 9 to 5 world is arbitrary and unnecessary.

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Victoria Wang

5.0 out of 5 stars

Gamechanger for your average 9-5 schmuck

Reviewed in the United States on January 29, 2022

Verified Purchase

Excited to implement the tips and tricks discussed in Ferriss’ bestseller after putting off reading this for a few years. Despite some outdated links and tech, with today’s technology advances, there is absolutely NO excuse why you shouldn’t become part of the NR, especially in this post-pandemic, remote work era!! A chunk of the problem solved, leaving you more time to work on automation and dream lining.

Helpful

Report abuse


Kindle Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Informative Read

Reviewed in the United States on July 16, 2021

Verified Purchase

I made a note of all the websites the author shares to help people streamline their workflow and increase efficiency. I liked the advice and plans of action to help people take control

Of their time and priorities. I recommend this book to aspiring entrepreneurs.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


A.Bart

5.0 out of 5 stars

Mind changing - life change next

Reviewed in the United States on February 22, 2022

Verified Purchase

I’ve heard about this book and had it in my ‘to read’ list. This has turned up the heat to my goal of adding another day off. I’m self-employed in the beauty industry so additional days off translated ‘no work, no pay’. But this book sparks so many ideas on how to make it happen. I’ve got a lot of traveling to do and the 4HWW show me just how to make that happen. A must read!!

Helpful

Report abuse


Qwikby

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great read

Reviewed in the United States on February 3, 2018

Verified Purchase

First Half of the book is describes why you should trim the amount of time you spend working, the author is opposed to "work for works sake". The second half suggests how you can spend all your new free time!

9 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Eric Oliver

5.0 out of 5 stars

Motivational and Effective

Reviewed in the United States on January 8, 2010

Verified Purchase

Since reading this book, I'm consistently surprised with how often I'll be talking with someone about their lives and something relevant to "The 4-Hour Workweek" will come up. While this book is, on the surface, about minimizing "work" hours so they can be spent on really living, the CORE of this book is about being aware of and consciously living your life. Tim takes this rather weighty topic on with a combination of humor, frankness, and specific advice which yields an extremely motivational and effective system for taking better control of your life.


So many books of this type are 90% "Rah-rah-rah-you-can-do-it!" and 10% "here's how". Tim reverses this formula and fills his book with practical tips, tactics, strategies, and case studies. At the end of each chapter you'll find books, websites, and/or companies that that you can immediately begin to work with in order to implement the topics covered.


On the other side, many books of this type are flimsy "get rich quick" schemes, aimed at people who don't want to work. Again, Tim bucks the trend and provides a system that actually advocates hard work, but forces you to be more personally clear about how you should be DIRECTING that work. The end result is that you're not necessarily working LESS, but you're working BETTER and focusing that work on things that end up really mattering to you and producing results. Plus, the "work" really feels less like work because it's more inline with your core values.


Personally, I'm a bit of an unusual student of Tim's since a lot of my goals in life differed from his. I'm not working at a job I hate and my goal is not to live in random places all over the world. I have a home and a life that I love, and I was simply looking for ways to enjoy more of the life that I had already established. If you're in the same boat as me, this book will not disappoint. I have not yet implemented all the principles in this book, but I've been stunned how by implementing some of the most basic advice, my quality of life has improved dramatically. My days are less stressful, I'm achieving more of what I want in life, I'm making more money than ever in my business, and I'm much happier.


How appropriate to have the revised version just in time for 2010. I'm looking forward to taking more of Tim's advice and enjoying a healthy, prosperous decade. I wish the same for you!

9 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Yulia A. Pogodina Ambrosio

5.0 out of 5 stars

lifechanging read

Reviewed in the United States on April 1, 2019

Verified Purchase

it's technically my Bible. i realized that i live the life of the "new rich" for quite some time without knowing it, but still there were so many useful tips to learn. i can see how this book can annoy someone who is not ready. 5 years ago i would hate it myself. but if you agree with Tim Ferris' opening statement that "the perfect job is the one that takes the least amount of time" - this book is for you. i book-marked it throigh and through, and i recommended it to a dozen of friends.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kirk - Eastern US

5.0 out of 5 stars

You cannot just read this book...

Reviewed in the United States on January 13, 2010

Verified Purchase

The 4 Hour Work Week is a fantastic book that I have been very excited about for a couple of months now. I read the first edition last November - which lead me to pre-order the second edition -- one for a Christmas gift and one for myself. I'm glad I did! The second one is even more fun than the first!


There's so much information in this book that it makes it hard to write about. It's funny and smart. It's FULL (and I do mean FULL!) of ideas and concepts to help you shorten the way you work - like becoming more "effective" instead of just "efficient". One of the first things I benefited from the 4HWW book was freedom from my email inbox. (Thank you, Tim!) I went from checking email multiple times a day to a controlled time ("batched", as he calls it) and in a controlled manner. In a world where email has taken over so much of our daily lives -- this one concept alone was worth the price of the book.


The 4HWW this book is a book you cannot just read -- you will have to do something with the information you gain. No, you will WANT to do something abut it! This book is about regaining some sense of control of your day, your week and your life. It's about NOT being a captive to your work, your schedule or your geographical and mental barriers.


How much is that worth?


This book will inspire you, inform you and force you to think about the way you go about your day with a new perspective -- and you'll love it the entire time!


I don't know, but the new perspective I get from this book feels like...power. Maybe it's just me.


Thanks Tim!

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Alexander Clemens

5.0 out of 5 stars

It will work ... if you're really sharp and confident and focused...

Reviewed in the United States on February 20, 2010

Verified Purchase

Tim's book is extraordinary - for extraordinarily intelligent, extraordinarily productive, and extraordinarily focused people. (Nope - I'm not one of them, but I hope to be someday.) His concepts and rules are thought-provoking and intriguing, and as someone who's been putting various parts of them into practice - haphazardly, to be sure - for the past few years, I can attest to the fact that they work. And I'm pretty sure they'll work even better when I attempt to structurally follow some of his guidance.


But I worry about the potential human toll on the over-egoed amongst us. The folks who aren't quite that on the ball, but think they are. You know the kind - you work with one or two of them. (I used to as well.) They're gonna put these ideas into play, quickly find themselves out of the job to which they were marginally holding on to, and perhaps they'll be somewhat embittered. Just saying - perhaps this book should come with a disclaimer, so that unemployed meatheads don't wind up stalking Tim and trying to kick his ass.


(Oh, and San Francisco is misspelled on page xv, and in the Kindle version as well. Just something for the editors to work on for the next edition. However, besides that typo and my suggestion of a disclaimer to protect Tim, this book is pretty much spot-on.)

One person found this helpful


Someguy

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Read for the productive-minded

Reviewed in the United States on July 25, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book is awesome because I think we can all agree the old ways of approaching work are pretty archaic, time-consuming and don't foster a life of value. This book was not only educational but validating too as I naturally started doing some of these things since I work for myself and there is no need to work yourself to the ground unsustainably.

Helpful

Report abuse


Rick Mujica

5.0 out of 5 stars

Glad I bought it

Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2010

Verified Purchase

I have the original book and I found it very useful. I'm not looking to get rich, only to maintain my current earnings level while having more time to spend with my family. I happen to be a work-a-holic because I love what I do for a living. However in the past, my work-a-holic attitude has cost me two wives. I'm on my third wife and I have a beautiful four year old daughter. I want to keep this wife and I want to be there for my daughter. I don't want her to spend more time with a baby-sitter than with me.


This book has been helpful in that it has allowed me to see that there are ways to delegate the 80 percent of the tedious knick-knacks that take up my time and keep me from doing what I love and from spending time with my beautiful wife and daughter. I've even found a way, thanks to Tim's blog, to work out my body, see real results, and not be completely exhausted the rest of the day.


For me, the case studies at the end of the book were reason enough to buy this upgrade. Seeing how others have designed their lifestyle, has given me many ideas for mine.


Many thanks to Tim.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Thembe Khumalo

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book changed my life

Reviewed in the United States on June 24, 2020

Verified Purchase

While reading this, I started to see how life can be lived differently, to dream a different dream and chase a different set of goals. Tim Ferris articulates with clarity ideas that might be in our heads but are hidden and fuzzy. He has done the research that many of us are too lazy to do and taken the trouble to experiment. However, I do think you need to be a particular personality type to embrace everything he says wholeheartedly. It's not a book for the fainthearted or conservative. Highly recommended.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


vslane

5.0 out of 5 stars

Best Book I picked up on Accident!

Reviewed in the United States on January 15, 2010

Verified Purchase

After a particularly crappy day at the office, I was stressed and burned out. I randomly wandered into a Barnes & Noble bookstore, intending to buy a day-planner, and just happened to see this book on the shelf as I walked past the Business/Money section. The next thing you know, I read the book cover-to-cover. I bought a copy for my husband (so I could still use mine for getting started), and our business [...] was born the next week!


This book absolutely changed our lives. We continue to implement the time-saving principles taught in this book, and have been learning and growing ever since. Bless you Tim Ferriss!


Another good book I recommend is "Simplify Your Life" by Elaine St. James. She teaches many of the same principles for streamlining your life, albeit her book was written in late 80s/early 90s and is not an entrepreneurial guide like 4-Hour Work Week.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


DKDANE

5.0 out of 5 stars

Exciting and looking forwards to penciling in the important info.

Reviewed in the United States on September 24, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book is very informative and as I was using the audio I new I need the book so I could highlight the point he spoke highly of. The book is very sturdy so it’s a keeper.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Alysia McDonald

5.0 out of 5 stars

Work smarter, not harder

Reviewed in the United States on September 17, 2020

Verified Purchase

Great book! Highly recommend if wanting a view of work and life other than the typical 9-5 daily grind. Eye opening and great book to inspire you to work smarter and not harde.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Chris Hanlon

5.0 out of 5 stars

An Expanded Edition for an Expanded Life

Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2010

Verified Purchase

There are a lot of things I don't do. I don't write a lot of reviews. And I don't buy the later edition of a book I already own.

-Ever!


But I was so taken with Tim's original 4HWW that I pre-ordered his expanded and updated edition.

I have to admit I was set for disappointment when I finally got around to reading the 'updated and expanded version'. I mean to say what could he really add?

I am happy to say that I was not disappointed. The additional comments from readers, and their experiences added to the message of the book and made it feel "more real".


If you have never read the 4-Hour Work Week, then you simply must. It is one of those books that I intend to return to again and again. Everytime I have read it, (4 times now), I have gained something else from it, as I have seen it from a new point of view as I have 'evolved'.


I am not saying that it is the 4HWW has caused me to change and grow, there are many things responsible for that. But I contend that 4HWW is one of the few books that can keep pace with you as you do learn and grow. And that is why it remains one of my favourite books.

Helpful

Report abuse


Jay Johnson

5.0 out of 5 stars

An Outstanding Investment

Reviewed in the United States on October 3, 2010

Verified Purchase

I am one to give credit where credit is due. I thought that this book was outstanding. Before doing this review I went through all the negative reviews to see why others didn't have the same impression. In my opinion the book isn't for everyone. However, there are certain readers, such as myself, that will be much more impacted by its content than others. Not everything Tim writes you may agree with but overall the book is inspiring. A couple parts go off on a tangent but overall the majority of the content was extremely helpful. I recommend the book mostly to anyone who has dreamed of starting their own company but didn't know where to start. As a result of this book I have now registered my company and received my tax ID. After spending the last 12 years slaving away in Fortune 500 companies I am ready for this new life challenge.

Helpful

Report abuse


M. Rogers

5.0 out of 5 stars

Definatley worth a read...

Reviewed in the United States on January 13, 2010

Verified Purchase

Though its half BS, the other half is PRICELESS ! Pareto is right,

80 pct of the value is in 20% of the read...but DO NOT MISS THAT 20% !


Sure people who love their job