Alberto Torna Jeff Lerner Review

Meet Alberto Torna . He was looking for something to help him get to the next level and learn how to create multiple streams of income. Al says for what he paid for the blueprint training it’s worth 10 times more as its helped him learn how to get from point A to point B.

Today I’m excited to introduce Darren Prince on the Millionaire Secrets Podcast.


What’s interesting about Darren’s journey is that he’s shown that you can achieve great financial and entrepreneurial success in life, despite being a less than perfect individual.


What do I mean here?


In the first half of the podcast, Darren tells his story of drug addiction and his life-long battle with the mental strains that come with it.


Fighting and winning his own battle, he’s made helping others his main focus in life.


Darren’s deep and emotional recollection of his early years moved me to tears and I can relate to some of the points he brings up, due to my own addictive relationship with food.


In the second half of the podcast, we get on to talking about the celebrities and sports stars that Darren works with including Magic Johnson, Dennis Rodman, Charlie Sheen, and many more.


He speaks of the common success traits that he’s noticed in almost all of them. Traits that we can all mirror to find our own success.


Enjoy!


💰 Claim Your Free 'Millionaire Shortcut' Book Here 👉 https://getentre.com/La2qp


Check Out More of Darren’s Content Here 👇


💻 https://officialdarrenprince.com/


💻 https://www.princemarketinggroup.com/


📖 Aiming High - https://www.amazon.com/Aiming-High-Prominent-Sports-Celebrity/dp/1732500800


📲 Banyan Treatment Center Phone 👉 888-6-DARREN


ℹ️ LinkedIn 👉 https://www.linkedin.com/in/darrenprince1


📺 YT 👉 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL084sfMoNzUAP0Hj_mVEwHawfgcTSedXr


🖥️ FB 👉 https://www.facebook.com/officialdarrenprince


⌨️ Twitter 👉 https://twitter.com/agentd_p


📲 IG 👉 https://www.instagram.com/agent_dp/


Alberto Torna

The Obstacle Is the Way: The Timeless Art of Turning Trials into Triumph Kindle Edition

by Ryan Holiday (Author) Format: Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars

10,274 ratings


Book 1 of 3: The Way, the Enemy and the Key

#1 Best Seller in Philosophy Movements


#1 Wall Street Journal Bestseller

The Obstacle is the Way has been made into a classic cult that is loved by people from all over the globe who employ its advice to be more successful in anything they choose to do.


Many of its admirers include a former governor and film actor (Arnold Schwarzenegger) as well as a hip hop iconic (LL Cool J) as well as an Irish tennis professional (James McGee) and the NBC sportscaster (Michele Tafoya) and players and coaches of the winning teams such as those of the New England Patriots, Seattle Seahawks, Chicago Cubs, and the University of Texas men's basketball team.


The book's inspiration comes from stoicism, a Greek idea of enduring hardship or hardship through perseverance and resiliency. Stoics are focused on what they have the power to manage, let the rest go and turn each new challenge in a chance to become stronger, better, and more resilient. The way Marcus Aurelius put it nearly two centuries in the past: "The impediment to action can be a catalyst for actions. What blocks the way is what becomes the way."


Ryan Holiday shows us how the most successful individuals throughout history -- from John D. Rockefeller to Amelia Earhart to Ulysses S. Grant to Steve Jobs --have utilized stoicism in overcoming challenging or even impossible circumstances. The way they applied these values ultimately was more important than their inherent talent, intelligence or luck.


If you're struggling with frustration and demoralized or in an unproductive cycle This book will assist you in turning your struggles into the greatest advantages. It will inspire you with a myriad of authentic stories about the most famous people of every era and age.

Talia

5.0 out of 5 stars

A philosophy I can apply to every hour of my waking life

Reviewed in the United States on June 3, 2017

Verified Purchase

I looooove this book. The ideas aren't entirely new. It's more like the author has taken the most important aspects of wisdom and compiled it into effective examples and phrases that really hit home. I've underlined every page. It's really helped me be less reactive, more intentional, more disciplined, and even keel. I wish the book was longer and that there were more authors writing about this philosophy. The premise is simple: focus your energy on the the things that are in your power to change, and don't waste your energy on emotional turbulence or hyper-analyzing everything. The reason this philosophy has the power to inspire so many more books is that it can apply to every aspect of our life: how and whether we muster the courage to make a change, how we drive our cars, how we schedule our days, what we choose to eat, how and whether we resolve conflicts.


One of the most helpful applications of this book is changing the ways I interact with my family of origin. My parents and siblings are anxious, doubtful, and pessimistic. For the most part, I am not. However, for years I've struggled with my own reactions to being around them. Every family holiday or vacation caused me to regress to adolescence, and after each event, it took weeks for me to recover. Through this book, I realized that my reacting to their reactivity was totally ironic. I don't have to react to them. Once I became aware of this, it became a choice. Now, I can choose to see these family events as opportunities to feel grateful for my own equanimity. And when I do lose balance, I can be easy on myself, because I remember that new habits take a while to develop. I can also choose to remove myself from environments that aren't serving me.


Very empowering, very practical. Thank you, Ryan Holiday!

439 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


almost there

5.0 out of 5 stars

A lesson learned...

Reviewed in the United States on December 3, 2017

Verified Purchase

One huge lesson Ryan has taught me is to not be too quick to prejudge the value of a book about life based on the author's age, an inherent bias I suppose a a lot of people my age has. I am 62 years old and believe that wisdom only comes with experience and education, and experience is a function of quality and quantity. It is rare to find someone in their early 30s with such insight into life. This book is excellent and has ignited in me the desire to learn more about Stoicism. I enthusiastically recommend this book.


Joe Junfola

85 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Outstanding. I used to have a practice. Each ...

Reviewed in the United States on December 9, 2016

Verified Purchase

Outstanding. I used to have a practice. Each year, at the end of the year, I would take about 20 minutes to write a list of all of the "bad" things that happened that year. Then, I would take the list outside, burn it and bury the ashes. Kind of a release from the burdens or pain that came from the tough times. They were over. I could move on. Now, I make the same list, but instead of burning it, I go back over the list and beside each "bad" thing, I write a positive development that came from it. I think about what I learned or how I worked through the challenge. This empowers me to actually appreciate and show gratitude for the tough things that happen. Positive change of mindset from reading this book. Thanks.

323 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Sam

5.0 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly worthy of reviews

Reviewed in the United States on May 16, 2016

Verified Purchase

The most actionable advice from a self-help book that I've seen. I don't know the motivations of the author, but it doesn't matter. So much usable material packed into one place...my version is highlighted and marked up and I open it up to a random page whenever I need some inspiration.


So many years, so much pop-psychobabble, yet the ancients had the most pragmatic approach all along. Makes sense, when you stop to think of how much harder and less predictable life was.

92 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

They are easy to read

Reviewed in the United States on September 10, 2017

Verified Purchase

I'm into self-improvement and optimization, and many of the podcasts I listened to have mentioned Ryan Holiday and his books, primarily this one and Ego is the Enemy. I have a lot of books on my shelf, but Ryan's writing truly stands out. The chapters are short, effective, and extremely well-written. It's actually entertaining to read this book, which consists of short stories that will genuinely change your mindset.


Most chapters are only 4-8 pages long, but they pack a punch. They are easy to read, but so thoughtful and packed with content that you can spend days just going over and absorbing the lessons from a single chapter. On the other hand, you can also read 100+ pages in one sitting, because it's truly hard to put down the book.


Usually books like this will feel boring - like you've already heard the subject hundreds of times and can anticipate what's coming next, leaving your mind to wander. Ryan's books are rare, instead they read like a hidden treasure, as the knowledge in the books is powerful, but easily read and applied. I've since ordered and read all of Ryan's books, and they are gold. Anytime I feel stuck in life, I know I can pick up this book and receive motivation and insight to keep conquering seemingly insurmountable challenges. Timeless and can be read again and again.

25 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


mike

5.0 out of 5 stars

Took my time with this one.

Reviewed in the United States on August 4, 2017

Verified Purchase

I came across this book because I really enjoyed EGO IS THE ENEMY. As for being a broke college student with creativity that he wants to share. I figure I'd read something like this. Ryan's writing is simple and practical. This isn't meant to be read like a novel. It's a book where you could pick it up and find a chapter that seems to intrigue you at that moment and just go from there. I also follow his blog (i highly recommend it) he talks about how to take notes when reading a book (that explains the post it flags)


43 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Peter Butler Jr.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review: "The Obstacle is the Way"

Reviewed in the United States on June 13, 2020

Verified Purchase

The Obstacle is the Way is the first of a three-book series on the philosophy of Marcus Aurelius and other Stoic philosophers. “Stoicism” has a bad name in modern times, but the name has been corrupted in a similar way to how the name “Puritan” has been corrupted. Stoicism is – in many ways – what we now call Cognitive Behavioral Training.


In this volume, Ryan Holiday introduces the reader to three wide themes of Stoic philosophy – and this is a practical and easy read – don’t worry.


The first theme is perception. In this, the Stoics said to look at your situation – what is happening – as objectively as you can. What is this really? Putting aside emotions and presuppositions – What do I actually have here, and can I turn it into a positive? (This is not positivity thinking but turning whatever is before you over – looking at it from every angle, understanding what is truly is and from what perspective it is good, bad, or neutral.)


Once you have an objective understanding of what is before you, you then ask what is in my power and what is not in my power? What can I change and what can’t I change?


The second theme is action. That is directed action. This is a planned action to remove the obstacle in front of you and/or to transform it into the way in which you want to go. You set you actions and keep doing more, because there is always more that can be done. That does not mean there is no rest – you need to take action to rest, as well.


“Persist in your efforts. Resist giving in to distractions, discouragements, or disorder” (80). Do your job and do it right.


The third theme is will. “Will is our internal power, which can never be affected by the outside world” (125). This means to “bear and forebear. Acknowledge the pain but trod onward in your task” (131). This is the process of saying, I will do this and then I will do this, and so forth until my goal is accomplished. There is no giving up.


It is also to accept that no matter how well we perceive, no matter what actions we plan, we may fail to achieve what we desire. The biggest realization to keep before us is that we will die – we are finite creatures. Eventually, no matter how well we perfect perception, action, and will, we die. It just is. It is something we must accept. We are not to be morbid about it, rather we accept it as truth.


In the end, if we perceive the obstacles rightly and considered what we can do and what we cant’t do, and then we set up a plan of action and act upon it, and we persist and will our way towards the goal, we will always be happy, because there is nothing more we can do. We will have done everything.


The book ends with an extensive “selected” bibliography and recommended reading list, as well as ways to get in contact with the author.


I am finding Stoicism to be helpful in working forward in my life. I am also using his book, The Daily Stoic, which are short primary readings and commentary, as a devotional. And I look forward to reading the other two books in the series.


[This review appears on my blog, my YouTube channel, Amazon.com, and Goodreads.com.]

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Star Quest

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent book!!

Reviewed in the United States on December 19, 2020

Verified Purchase

This is my fourth Ryan Holiday book that I have read, and I must admit this one is by far the best one. No surprise considering it was his first book in this series and came straight from the heart before book deals and contracts probably put him on a forced schedule to crank out some more. That usually hinders creativity. It’s like a band that comes out with an excellent first album, and then the rest are mediocre because the label putting deadlines takes away the creativity through corporate pressure. Anyway, this book was awesome! It has a lot of good, authentic, and genuine examples, both current and historical. The main focus is on how to use obstacles to our advantage. If I were to sum up the concept of this book in one phrase, it would be “Accept reality without accepting defeat.” I also bought a copy for my nephew and hope it helps him recenter and focus on a better path forward.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Isaiah Hankel

5.0 out of 5 stars

A book for successful businessmen and academics

Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2014

Verified Purchase

The Obstacle is the Way digs into how knowledge and reason are in fact the highest good, as well as how to stay indifferent to pleasure and pain and how to respond to the vicissitudes of fortune objectively. The key is to not let your emotions color your perception of the world.


Ryan not only provides a great review of stoicism, he does an excellent job at articulating exactly how this school of thought can be applied to any problems that you might be facing now as you try to advance your career or transition from academia into a new career. He also provides an ample number of takeaways in the book. The Obstacle is the Way goes beyond the philosophy of stoicism simply by making the philosophy actionable. Reading this book will make you take action. Rational action.


If you're looking to:


-Take your career to the next level by getting a promotion (even though someone else is standing in your way)

-Transition out of academia and into a new career to finally get paid what you're worth (even though you don't have any business connections)

-Quit your job and start your own business so you never have to work for anyone again (even though you don't know how to run a business)


...then this book is for you. The Obstacle is the Way is rooted in concrete, everlasting principles, not processes or fads that come and go with the wind. By reading this book, you will understand these principles and you will be able to make use of them to get what you want.


If you want to get ahead, the Obstacle is the Way is highly recommended.

35 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kevin Tumlinson

5.0 out of 5 stars

Philosophy as action

Reviewed in the United States on December 23, 2019

Verified Purchase

I started studying Stoicism by reading a smattering of books and articles. I’m new to the philosophy—though I have apparently a studied and practiced it all my life without realizing. What I never learned from what little I’ve looked into, this far, is this simple fact: Philosophy is action as much as thought.


This book showed that truth to me, and it’s hardly the only lesson to take away after reading. In fact, if I could recommend any book as a starting point for learning and incorporating the philosophy of Stoicism in your life, this is the one.


This guide is at once practical and deeply profound in its complexity. It’s easy to follow, even for a newcomer, and easy to incorporate into your mental lexicon and daily practice. Not simply a how-to, but a how-to-be.


I’ll return to this book again and again to remind myself of the lessons herein. But it also serves as a springboard for diving deeper into this philosophy, with reading lists and recommended reading, quotes from Stoic authors and biographical and historic examples that provide both inspiration and insight.


This is the book to read, either first or as soon as possible.

3 people found this helpful


Arizona EAGLEtarian

5.0 out of 5 stars

In my Top Five most personally influential books ever

Reviewed in the United States on June 22, 2019

Verified Purchase

I rank The Obstacle Is the Way in my Top Four (maybe Five) favorite/most influential books (in my life) ever.


Two are The Bible, which I read a great deal (repeatedly) as a young adult and; Sapiens by Harari.


The historical overview of humankind Harari presents in Sapiens substantially changed my perspective on humanity.


"Obstacle" provides/provided me with understanding to put my life experiences in a new perspective and focus my outlook on all that I have and still want to accomplish in my life.


From the Bible, in the New Testament book of Ephesians 4:14-15a Christians are encouraged to "no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of people in their deceitful scheming. 15Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will grow..."


Viewing all of life as a series of inevitable challenges and obstacles, if we play it right the obstacles are never the end of the road or ultimate finality. Before the inevitable death we all will face that is.


Further, insights in "Obstacle," make it dramatically easier to not be tossed about when facing life's uncertainties. Rather, one can steadily develop a vision for life and stay focused much more easily.


Oh, and M Scott Peck's The Road Less Traveled would also be at the top of that list. Peck's opening line in that book is, "Life is difficult." He goes on to explain that accepting that reality makes it so much easier to cope with the realities a person faces. Stephen Covey's 7 Habits of Highly Effective People fits the category too.


I enthusiastically recommend The Obstacle is the Way.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Cailey

5.0 out of 5 stars

REALLY GREAT READ !! Great one to have in your collection.

Reviewed in the United States on May 4, 2020

Verified Purchase

This book is great, my cousin actually referred this book to me. This book is a great motivator, a great perspective on many things you probably are somewhat familiar with but never really invested too much time or thought into. Or maybe you just had a narrow point of view on the subject.

And the history in this book is genuinely interesting and informative, leading you to many more opportunities to seek knowledge, and learn to grow. This book really opens the mind and your awareness to the power being present, embracing the moment, and making the most and more out of everything. This is truly a great and well written, down to earth read. Always an interesting and educational experience through every sitting. If you’re all about truly and actively bettering yourself and your life this is a great book to have.

I will be lending this book to close family and friends.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Amy R

5.0 out of 5 stars

This book that changed my life

Reviewed in the United States on September 29, 2021

Verified Purchase

This book came highly recommended by my business coach. I was not looking forward to reading because i am not a reader and have not read a book in almost 17 years. But this book was life changing for me in many ways. Having no interest in reading this book was an easy read. I have read it cover to cover twice and listened to it 4 times on audible. I plan to reread at least yearly in the future. The book is a basically a beginners guide to stoicism which i never knew about but am not immersing myself in thanks to Ryan. I have since bought all his books and look forward to reading each and every one of them. Thank you Ryan for all that you have done and will continue to do in your writing, podcasts and daily stoic / daily dad emails. I have developed a routine centered around the philosophy, journaling and reading all thanks to you and the stoics!

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


VoyageAmazon

5.0 out of 5 stars

It Does the Job

Reviewed in the United States on October 10, 2019

Verified Purchase

Some reviewers might say, "there's nothing new here." Maybe that's the case for some, and indeed, many of these concepts I've read about many times from different authors for years, but that's not the point. The point for me is that I always try to get a daily dose of positive in my head.


Again, this is worthwhile reading for me because I regularly read things that are uplifting and encouraging. Ryan Holiday does a good job at giving his own voice to these ideas.


I think this is a good book for beginners to these concepts, and it's also a good book to keep feeding the ideas to my head so that the importance of them doesn't wane.


Honestly, one other thing, I like the size of the book in my hands. My arms get tired holding up larger books but the size of this one is very easy to deal with.

Helpful

Report abuse


johnkenrick

5.0 out of 5 stars

Insightful and life changing

Reviewed in the United States on June 7, 2020

Verified Purchase

I purchased this just before the Covid 19 crisis struck mynpart of the world, and as things went into lockdown, this book had a tremendous positive impact on how I dealt with it all. We've all heard the maxim "when all you have is lemons, make lemonade." This book goes deeply into the ways we can deal with seeminly insurmountable obstacles. This is not just philosophical theory, and there is no woo-woo nonsense. The author makes every idea here totally accessible and practical. You can readily apply these suggestions to your own life. I am grateful this book came along at a moment when I needed it, and I reccomend it to anyone who is seeking a new and constructive way to deal with life's inevitable difficulties.

Helpful

Report abuse


Wesley Angel

5.0 out of 5 stars

Ageless Wisdom for Modern Times

Reviewed in the United States on July 12, 2019

Verified Purchase

This is the first time I've read from Holiday but I can easily see why his books are in such demand. His prose is factual, punctual, and yet still fun to read. He laid bare the facts without paying homage to himself or trying to sound as though he is far removed from the common layperson - as I have had experienced before.


Stoicism is a philosophy that seems to agree with my own, in that, I believe there is a balance to all. I've always been intrigued since my teens, but hesitated because it had been described in such a clinical, dull way, that I didn't feel right in going further. When I heard about this book from Tim Ferriss Show, I knew I had to try.


This is a win! Easily readable. Easily absorbable. Easily the right choice for the modern thinker. Thank you Tim. Thank you Ryan. Thank goodness they both have more content to devour.

Helpful

Report abuse


Lionel S. Taylor

5.0 out of 5 stars

Inspirational Stories Of How To Turn Turmoil Into Triumph

Reviewed in the United States on September 11, 2019

Verified Purchase

This is a small book filled with inspirational stories of people who faced different difficulties and adverse situations in life and managed to turn them to their advantage. People from all walks of life and periods of time are given to show that while all problems and difficulties are relative, there are certain issues that are universal when dealing with hardship and that no matter how difficult or grim the situation there is always action that can be taken that allows one to maintain one's dignity and core values. This book can be read straight through or picked up from time to time for inspiration. I highly recommend it!

Helpful

Report abuse


Patrick Donley

5.0 out of 5 stars

The Way of Having a Swift Kick in the Ass...

Reviewed in the United States on April 17, 2015

Verified Purchase

I came across Ryan Holiday after seeing his name on both James Altucher's and Tim Ferriss' podcasts. I briefly looked into him and initially dismissed him due to his age. One uneventful evening I decided to listen to his podcast with Tim Ferriss. I was really impressed with the interview which, to my surprise, covered one of my favorite topics, Stoicism. Once I found out Ryan was a research assistant for one of my favorite authors, Robert Greene (Mastery, 48 Laws, Seduction), I knew reading The Obstacle is the Way would be a great use of time.


Obstacle is a 3 Act book with short and concise chapters that skillfully shows how philosophy is not only for white tower academics arguing over nuanced nonsense, but for men and women of action in today's uncertain and challenging economic and social environment. Drawing from the ideas of the Big 3 of Stoicism (Epictetus, Marcus Aurelius, and Seneca) who are all great men of history, Holiday, in the fashion of Robert Greene, uses historical stories and examples to make his points.


Stoicism has been a major influence on such great men as George Washington, Teddy Roosevelt, and Thomas Jefferson who all were active students and practitioners of the philosophy. It's essentially a philosophy of realizing there's much we can't control in the external world, but we can always control our reactions and subsequent actions to these outer events. Too often, we react from negative emotions which only compound a problem. Often our lens on the world is faulty due to wrong perceptions and thinking.


Stoicism gives us a new perspective on problems and hurdles in our life and flips what is often viewed as a negative and turns s*** into sugar. This is a philosophy that needs a resurgence and hopefully, books like The Obstacle is The Way, will generate ongoing enthusiasm for what is essentially a new OS on how to look at the world and how often our greatest setbacks/challenges can lead to great things. Through perceiving reality clearly, taking creative and consistent action, and having the humility, resilience, and flexibility to accept the outcome, many of us can achieve far more with our lives.


The bibliography is loaded with great books to further explore both Stoicism and the lives of the historical figures Holiday uses to show his points. This is my only complaint with the book. I have WAY too much to read now.


This is a book I wish I had in my twenties. This book is a kick in the ass. It is an inspiration. It shows what's possible and encourages one to bring forth the potentials inside us all.

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Sophia

5.0 out of 5 stars

The Obstacle is the Way by Ryan Holiday

Reviewed in the United States on January 31, 2019

Verified Purchase

Keep Calm and Carry On. Easy to put on a bumper sticker, harder to do. This small book will help you. Based on Stoic ideas of Marcus Aurelius and Seneca, the author makes the case that ancient philosophy can help post-modern, pre-apocalypse dwellers like you and me.

The choice is yours: panic and be blocked by obstacles, or step back, take a good hard look, and figure a way around them. The wisdom isn’t new; the book starts by pointing out Marcus Aurelius himself condensed the thoughts of earlier writers. The chapters, divided into three main headings – Perception, Action, and the Will, are small, pithy bites accessible to use as a ‘daily devotional’ for rational thought.

5 stars

Helpful

Report abuse


California Bill

5.0 out of 5 stars

An Essay On Conquering Adversity

Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2017

Verified Purchase

This book will gust a wind of self-empowerment into your lungs. In a world where young people are riddled with doubt and self-pity - "The Obstacle is The Way" urges self-reliance, internal fortitude and the construction of a stoic iron will. I can't think of a better book to gift to a young person entering college or the business world.

3 people found this helpful


J. D. Rolle

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great book that may lead you to many others

Reviewed in the United States on December 5, 2017

Verified Purchase

The Obstacle is the way


Holiday's simple dialogue and compelling stories launched my interest in the Stoics. Having a business, rather than liberal arts background, I was not exposed to the philosophers. Ryan's contemporary application to the ancient works made them interesting. I have since purchased and read more works by the Stoics and the readings have impacted my daily life. I especially enjoyed Mediations of Marcus Aurelius and Letters from a Stoic by Seneca. Such diversity in thought yet synergy in perspective. This book also led me to Tim Ferris “4- hour work week” which I have read three times since reading this book. Great book to read on perspective of life.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Jim_Roddy

5.0 out of 5 stars

A coworker recommended I read this

Reviewed in the United States on November 11, 2016

Verified Purchase

The Obstacle Is The Way takes perseverance to a whole new level. A coworker recommended I read this, and I’m awfully glad I did. I think this book can give all of us a much better perspective on the challenges we face and can be life-changing for folks who feel they're stuck in their current situation. Some of my favorite quotes from the book are:


"Obstacles are not only to be expected but embraced. These obstacles are actually opportunities to test ourselves, to try new things, and, ultimately, to triumph."


"You’re always fighting uphill. Get used to it and train accordingly."


"Persistence: Everything directed at one problem until it breaks."

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Assisting the Reader

5.0 out of 5 stars

The greatest of the great leaders in every field throughout history ...

Reviewed in the United States on July 5, 2017

Verified Purchase

The Obstacle is the Way: The timeless Art of Turning Trials into Triumph by Ryan Holiday should be a compulsory read and then, apply the tools within it. The greatest of the great leaders in every field throughout history have lived and succeeded as a result of the strategies and tools shared in this book.


People as far back as the Ancients are still being used as examples of brilliance, kindness, and caring, good ruling and justice. To this very day they are being quoted.


Secondary schools should introduce the material in this book as a compulsory subject. It will help removed the floundering and boredom that the younger generation is experiencing as a result of the easy availability of information which has taken the wonderment of self-discovery away from them.


Adults and children will see a renewed self-worth and a reason for being. they will see that their life is of their making and not to depend on others fulfilling their aspirations. The entitlement syndrome will be obliterated when people become aware of the power for good that they have within. It's based on the ancient concepts of Stoicism.


A must-read - without a doubt - and then apply what you have read.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Kindle Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Just what you need to read!

Reviewed in the United States on April 18, 2021

Verified Purchase

FANTASTIC READ!! A quick quote from this book to get you going;" The philosopher and writer Nassim Nicholas Taleb defined a Stoic as someone who “transforms fear into prudence, pain into information, mistakes into initiation and desire into undertaking.” It’s a loop that becomes easier over time. To be sure, no one is saying you’ve got to do it all at once. Margaret Thatcher didn’t become known as the Iron Lady until she was sixty years old. There’s a saying in Latin: Vires acquirit eundo (We gather strength as we go). That’s how it works. That’s our motto."

Helpful

Report abuse


JONATHAN FLEMING

5.0 out of 5 stars

Embrace your life battles with enthusiasm

Reviewed in the United States on February 18, 2017

Verified Purchase

What you read mimics the mindset of the person at times. Maybe it helps you build that mental muscle for the hard tasks ahead in life.


Presently, I am reading a good book titled:”The Obstacle Is The Way” by Ryan Holiday. Books might not change you they reveal you in some ways.


Building a business is hard work, long hours and stressful. Beyond those issues the thoughts of where you should even be trying to run a business are issues that manifest in our minds.


Holiday’s book is a short walk through history about crazy hardships other people encountered along the way building a business; building a dream; and trying to accomplish something truly hard.


What do I love about his book? Just the hardcore reminders that through hardships you build a better you. I have colleagues that have spent their whole existence looking for a short cut; the man on the white horse; and the get rich quick propaganda.


Holiday makes the struggle seem romantic, authentic and he won’t leave you feeling alone in your quest to make it at whatever goal you might take in life.


It has been a good read of how to overcome issues in life by learning about how we perceive hardships is our choice for how we will attach hardships.


In closing, embrace your obstacles with an energized zeal because it might be the fighter you need to confront in life to make you better for life.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


R. Lee Barrett

5.0 out of 5 stars

Wanted to hate it. Couldn't put it down. Loved it...

Reviewed in the United States on April 18, 2017

Verified Purchase

There are a handful of books that mislead me to believe that I am really going to dislike them; then in a flash, something reaches me at a level that elevates the book to a lifetime keeper. Holiday's book is one of that group. Three pages in, I had no intention of finishing. The prose wandered aimlessly and had the feel of a hundred bumper stickers compressed into a book format. Holiday found the magic words that make this book resonate, and now I am contemplating a bulk purchase for my children, my co-workers, my Scouts, random people on the street... A chapter a day might be a good year round exercise.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


Bronx Book Nerd

VINE VOICE

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent intro/summary of Stoicism for modern living

Reviewed in the United States on May 7, 2021

Verified Purchase

An excellent distillation of the most salient practices of Stoicism as applied to modern life. This ancient practical philosophy has been revived over the nearly las two decades and has generated books, groups and conferences. Among those I have read this is one of the most efficient presentations of the Stoic program. The chapters are short and digestible and include no fat. The biggest takeaway is that life always has obstacles and the best way to deal with them is accept them and then work through, nuder or over them or even be prepared to not move them and learn a lesson from hat.

Helpful

Report abuse


DJ

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great way to reprogram your mind.

Reviewed in the United States on May 18, 2020

Verified Purchase

Who has not come across obstacles in either professional or personal life? We all struggle with these obstacles and sometimes we get too narrow minded on fixing it that we miss the bigger picture. This book was great to break that norm thinking and helped me starting viewing things from a different light. There is an opportunity in each obstacle and it is up to us to find that opportunity and leverage it. I know you will enjoying either reading it or listen to it.

Helpful

Report abuse


javagirl7

5.0 out of 5 stars

Short book, packed with historical insights and examples. Life (not just work). game changer.

Reviewed in the United States on July 22, 2019

Verified Purchase

This book has changed every aspect of my life. Two years since purchasing this wonder book, I view hardships differently, evaluate and break down issues that used to be massive walls into smaller, scaleable mounds, or learned to look for other routes instead of banging my head against the one, proverbial shut door needlessly focusing on what won't work, rather than steppinf back and bringing into focus the infinite other possibilities. Read this small, pocket sized book and prepare to get your mind blown.

Helpful

Report abuse


Nathan Barrett

5.0 out of 5 stars

The most important book I have ever read

Reviewed in the United States on March 4, 2019

Verified Purchase

I read this book at least once a year in order to reset and reframe my approach to my life's goals and struggles. This book is stoicism condensed down to its actionable precepts and made memorable with stories of well known people throughout history that have put them into practise. There is no one master "key" to solving your life's challenges. It is different for everyone. And if anyone claims to have your specific key then they are lying. But if there ever was a key maker. It is this book.

One person found this helpful


Reader

5.0 out of 5 stars

Let not your heart be troubled...

Reviewed in the United States on January 14, 2018

Verified Purchase

This book is for people who want to succeed. It is for those who have goals and the courage to do whatever’s necessary to reach those goals. Holiday is well read and effectively uses famous examples to make his points. He is thoughtful and practical. He has both failed and succeeded. And he knows how to talk to us about both situations.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse


T.S.

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great First Book to Begin Your Self-Discovery Journey

Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2021

Verified Purchase

I read this book after listening to a Tim Ferris podcast interview with Ryan Holiday. It was at the perfect moment. My brother had passed and I was figuring out how to be a happier individual in addition to a career transition. It was perfect, absolutely perfect. I believe I've listened to the audible version more than 7x while walking to work. That led me to listening to most of Ryan's books and steered me to philosophy in a big way. I have gifted this book the most to many friends and clients.

Helpful

Report abuse


Steve Teske

5.0 out of 5 stars

Read, Apply, Change Your Life

Reviewed in the United States on November 17, 2020

Verified Purchase

Much like Stephan Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, Ryan Holiday’s The Obstacle is the Way provides a refreshingly different perspective on life. The entire book focus on changing your perspective about circumstances as the key mechanism to embrace personal proactivity and take action. If applied, the content in this book has the potential to help you change your trajectory in life or accelerate your current path.

Helpful

Report abuse


P. Dershem

5.0 out of 5 stars

Easily Digestible, Unintimidating, Primer on Stoicism!

Reviewed in the United States on August 12, 2020

Verified Purchase

Some folks are put off when I suggest reading Meditations by Marcus Aurelius, despite their expressed interest in learning more about stoicism after we talk. I recommend this book to those people, and others, because it is approachable and easy enough to comprehend that implementing the book's suggestions seems likely. I would have no hesitation in recommending this book to middle-school or high school students; such a book can be life changing.

Helpful

Report abuse


Dion

5.0 out of 5 stars

Life Changing

Reviewed in the United States on May 23, 2021

Verified Purchase

I am glad that I stumbled across Ryan on YouTube which lead me to his body of work. This book has changed my life in a great way. I practiced this and believed like this but this book has opened my eyes to new practices and new techniques. Time to pick up a few more of Ryan’s books. I know that they will be just as enlightening. This book is written for anyone who wants to become a better stronger more capable human! Great job Ryan!

Helpful

Report abuse


Kindle Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars

Timely.

Reviewed in the United States on September 13, 2020

Verified Purchase

When we are our own worst enemies, when we lack direction, when we feel overwhelmed, when we are resistant to change, the path forward requires an acknowledgement of obstacles....whether of our own making or from external forces. Based on ancient wisdom traditions, Holiday creates a framework to help the reader rationally work through things, like unforseen circumstances or wrong thinking, that hinder our progress.


There are few books I keep close; adding The Obstacle is the Way to that short list.

Helpful

Report abuse


Juan

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great introduction to practical Stoicism

Reviewed in the United States on October 30, 2021

Verified Purchase

I started following The Daily Stoic because of this book. This book is one of the best holistic approaches to solving obstacles in your life. By telling you ideas on how to percieve them, act on them, and how to endure. Easy to read and well written, I found out there's an action guide on The Daily Stoic website and I'll be getting that too. But just getting this book, reading, taking notes, and making adjustments in your life and your behavior can, in my opinion, really better your life.

Helpful

Report abuse


Thomas

5.0 out of 5 stars

Well worth it.

Reviewed in the United States on July 21, 2020

Verified Purchase

I love Ryan Holiday's podcast - Daily Stoic. Ryan's podcast has been extremely inspirational in my life. I would say life changing. He has turned me towards stoicism and I'min - its now how I roll.


I read the Obstacle is the Way and it is good. I probably would say it is excellent, but I had heard all of it before on his podcasts so reading it was redundant for me.


I would highly recommend reading the book.


I will be reading his others.

Helpful

Report abuse


PJ Stef

5.0 out of 5 stars

Gives practical, concrete advice and steps to take!

Reviewed in the United States on June 13, 2020

Verified Purchase

What I really liked was then just the advice, but it gave real life examples and actual steps to take. The idea is simple-look at obstacles as an opportunity to improve the situation. It is a simple idea, but hard to do. Holiday gives advice that isn't just have a positive outlook kind of stuff, but practical things you can do to come out of a situation better than you thought. I am already using this approach to try and improve some things at work, my personal life, etc...I feel like I look at the world in a different way.....

Helpful

Report abuse


Hermès Trismegistus

5.0 out of 5 stars

Life Saver

Reviewed in the United States on November 7, 2021

Verified Purchase

We live in a very difficult time full of challenges. This book will help you deal with those problems. It gives you steps to take to solve problems and change your perspective on life itself. It even uses real life examples based on historical figures to prove that these strategies work. It’s practical and useful. I highly recommend this book to anyone serious about improving their mindset, perception, and life.


M C Gee

5.0 out of 5 stars

Tackling Adversity Head-On

Reviewed in the United States on August 9, 2018

Verified Purchase

The Obstacle is the Way is an excellent, insightful book that motivates one to push through adversity and take a new perspective on situations.


Holiday takes key aspects of the stoic philosophy and blends them with stories of famous individuals that have faced arduous situations, pressed through them, and ended up becoming stronger for it.


It is by no means a comprehensive tome of the principles of Stoicism, but rather a brief introduction to several of the basic precepts as espoused by Marcus Aurelius, Epictetus, Seneca and others and how beneficial they can be in our daily lives.


I highly recommend this book to anyone in leadership or facing arduous circumstances. Read this book with an